x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 925 User Reviews

9.3 Based on 19 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed9.8/10
Camera9.8/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.1/10
Call quality8.8/10
Battery8.4/10
Reception9.1/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality9.6/10
Text input9.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

vgkuja
posted on 04 Jul 2014, 17:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Jul 2014)

10

Best Phone in planet!

vgkuja has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It was the best experience we have the level of cell phones in all my life. Always used iphone or samsung galaxy, and since I moved to windows phone quiz never change. And a great operating system windows phone. The microsoft this congratulation

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ethanusha
posted on 21 Jun 2014, 08:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 May 2014)

9

For the size, This is one hell of a phone..

ethanusha has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nokia has done a great job. The camera is only 8MP, Yet it performs like a professional camera. Nokia and Microsoft is the perfect match for this phone......
Performance is smooth and fast and overall I will recommend this phone to any Windows phone maniac.................. ;)

Build quality 7/10 The Aluminum body is great. Except for the back cover as it is plastic. The SIM and the Charger ports are placed on the top, which I don't like.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 Clear and loud
Internet 9/10 Fast with the 3G version and Faster with the 4G version.
Multimedia 8/10 It lacks the third party multimedia apps. But the stock Windows phone apps are trying to cover the gaps!
Camera 10/10 Superb is the only way to describe!!!!
UI speed 9/10 Fast and smooth yet takes time to get used to it and also the Settings UI is pretty complicated!!!!
Everyday usage 9/10 Great for daily usage...
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10 Amoled display is doing a great job. But 1080p should have been awesome.
Battery 9/10 Moderate usage and still be able to use about 2 days.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Size
  • Screen
  • Battery

Cons

  • Design
  • No secondary memory

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kirk_lazarus
posted on 13 Apr 2014, 22:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Apr 2014)

10

love this phone , awaiting windows phone 8.1 cyan

kirk_lazarus has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love this phone .the Nokia smart cam app is awesome . the app highlight social app is great . the Here map & Here drive apps are awesome !!! it lets me download the maps so I won't have to use my cellular data when I use the GPS .the Bing apps are great . the low light picture quality is jaw dropping clear beautiful . the only thing missing is a sd card slot .

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • camera low light capabiltiy
  • fast os
  • Nokia exclusive apps
  • office , Here drive , Here map , the bing apps

Cons

  • it's only available in 16 gb in the us .
  • no sd card
  • needs more apps , but it's getting better everyday

kirk_lazarus alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mikec999uk
posted on 10 Apr 2014, 12:04 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Apr 2014)

9

Good phone shame about 'app gap'

mikec999uk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a very good phone, would recommend getting a protective case and screen protector when you buy. Wish they would hurry up with the Skygo app and would prefer to have the choice of web browser instead of being stuck with Internet Explorer. I am glad I sold my iphone for this.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10 Restricted to IE
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10 Battery doesn't last long enough.

Pros

  • Camera is ace
  • Nice big screen
  • Internet sharing

Cons

  • Battery drains quickly
  • App Gap

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tom4820
posted on 24 Mar 2014, 14:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Aug 2013)

10

Im ok withit

tom4820 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Awesome phone with Win8
App's in the app store still lack's ,but is building everyda now that everyone is turning towards the lumia's.
the battery suck's
awesome display
goood speed
cal quality suckish hopefully that thell make an update to fix that

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Even that the battery lack's, it's able to wireless charging
  • awesome display

Cons

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

marazulinho
posted on 19 Mar 2014, 12:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Mar 2014)

10

Fantastic smartphone

marazulinho has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is a really fantastic smartphone. The camera is the best with awesome colors. It includes optical stabilizer which works great. There are plenty of apps in the store, and not mentioning the apps from Nokia which are amazing (Here drive+, Smart cam, Pro cam, Creative Studio, etc)

Build quality 10/10 The quality of build
Reception 10/10 Reception of GPS, Radio or phone calls are spetacular
Call quality 9/10 This regard to my operator (the phone is awesome)
Internet 10/10 very fluid and fast with 4G or wi-fi
Multimedia 10/10 No comments... spetacular... it is windows
Camera 10/10 This really exceeded my expectations.
UI speed 10/10 ...
Everyday usage 10/10 Very good. I dont need another platform
Text input 10/10 Is the best. The native in Android is really bad
Display 10/10 Amazing
Battery 10/10 Also exceeded my expectations

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tim123
posted on 04 Feb 2014, 10:02 (Posts: 10; Member since: 27 Jan 2014)

9

Best low light camera phone i ever had

tim123 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have owned a lot of different phones from all big platforms (IOS, android and WP) and this has gotta be the best lowlight camera phone i have ever had. The best part is that comes in a sexy metal built that is super thin and light.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10 I am always the only one who get reception.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 I love the camera, it is the best you can find in such a thin phone
UI speed 8/10 The WP isn't the best OS but it is becoming better everyday with more apps and new updates.
Everyday usage 10/10 I love using this phone as it fit all my needs and it perfect phone for work and for free time. In addition, the NFC gives it so much more power.
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10 IT is so clear i like it better then the retina display on my iPad and it also is super sensitive so in the winter i can use it with gloves that is a very good advantage for person lie me who is on the move lot.
Battery 9/10 Got a full day of heavy use and sometimes when i didn't use it too much i could get 3 days.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Low weight, thin
  • Design
  • MS software (e.g.,word)
  • Display

Cons

  • WP OS

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sahu71
posted on 27 Jan 2014, 16:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jan 2014)

10

the best phone i hav ever used

sahu71 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Hadnt used nokia since a long tym lyk 6 yrs ,my last nokia was a n72.nd i realy liked nokia for evry thing it gives .after dat i hav used samsung (nevr gona use it again ),siny xperia x10 i guess its one of d oldest android smartphone,i used it for 3 yrs ,en i got a blackberry curve 9220 (still using),juz one thing out of all dis my 925 is my life,nt bcoz what i use it for but for what it delivers to me.i can bet no android cn give u dat satisfaction what a windows can give u (xcept custmisation).nd d os juz sits perfectly wid d awesome hardware of nokia .starting frm d design ,its got sum weight still its sleek .camera ,u cant qustion dat (1020 wasnt launched back den),low light does evry single letter what it says ,fluidity absolutely no doubt on dat ....sum says it gets heated too soon ,for them evry odr phone built gets heated ...nd d only drawback wid it isnt abt d phone its abt d software (windows) oder files eat up storage nd temporary files are unable to delet xcept for internet files ...

Build quality 10/10 Sleek ,handy,looks nd feels lyk a phone nd not lyk a brick.
Reception 10/10 No prob
Call quality 9/10 Ear piece is a bit low in volume
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 If it wasnt 1020 ,den it would hav been 925.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 With heavy use gives 12 hrs without a sweat.

Pros

  • sleek
  • unique design
  • awesome camera
  • fluidity

Cons

  • no expandable memory(16gb)

sahu71 alternatives:

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kirholstov
posted on 09 Jan 2014, 12:45 (Posts: 135; Member since: 28 Jun 2012)

9

I'm completely satisfied!

kirholstov has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The best phone I've ever had. I have bought the phone in december 2013 and it feels modern, stylish and fast! Probably my next phone will be from Nokia as well! But I definitely recommend to check it out first, because WP is not for everyone, though it is ok for me. I guarantee that you will be amazed by the in-hand feel, it outperforms iPhone's feel easily!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Full day battery life
  • Amazing feel in the hand
  • Windows phone grows fast
  • A lot of great apps in the marketplace
  • Amazing camera
  • Incredible design
  • Very good screen
  • Really love the light UI of WP8, compared to android
  • Thin

Cons

  • Screen scratches really easily, so you need to buy a screen protector
  • No micro sd card slot
  • Smart watches and bands doesn't work with WP8
  • Loud speaker, but it isn't as good, as I'd like it to be
  • You can't turn on/off wifi or other settings directly from a tile, it is just a shortcut to the settings app
  • It is hard to find some accessories
  • No Powerpoint in the Office app

kirholstov alternatives:

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ccccc00
posted on 30 Dec 2013, 20:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Dec 2013)

9

almost perfect

ccccc00 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great phone! Very simple yet amazing! Thin, light, sexy and very classy.

My only concern is the storage and the battery. How I wish it has 32gb storage or at least allow to put an expandable memory. The battery is depleting at 7.5% per hour, how sad.

But all in all, Im satisfied :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Great Camera
  • Thin, Light and Sexy
  • Almost perfect!

Cons

  • the damn battery
  • no expandable memory

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

xoxoGeorges
posted on 26 Dec 2013, 15:04 (Posts: 194; Member since: 11 Jul 2013)

9

The best WP money can buy

xoxoGeorges has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's a really good phone with a lot of class attached. I always get compliments for it! It has no direct competition except for the 920 (which is roughly the same but is heavier and has a slight camera disavantage). I never thought WP was this quick and it's very easy to use. Also, the keyboard is actually better than my E75 (which is frequently regarded as the best keyboard on a phone)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great Screen
  • Gorgeous design
  • Incredible camera
  • The keyboard is phenomenal
  • Great battery Life
  • Snappy performance

Cons

  • No MicroSD
  • Camera bump slightly exposed to danger
  • Slightly wider than average

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nimay_7
posted on 04 Dec 2013, 23:47 (Posts: 17; Member since: 04 Dec 2013)

9

Surprisingly Good Phone!

Nimay_7 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The build quality is really good it looks very classy, the UI is buttery smooth, Camera is THE BEST in its class (8 Megapixel Competitors) it outshines every other phone in low light photography, really nice web surfing, disappointing call quality, loudspeaker, reception compared to XT 910 (RAZR), really good web surfing, phones gets heated up really fast maybe due to Chasis, good text input, good enough battery, no HDMI (i require it)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Display
  • UI Speed/Refreshing UI
  • Build Quality
  • Nokia Music/Mix Radio
  • Exclusive and really good Nokia/Here apps

Cons

  • Reception
  • Call quality
  • no HDMI
  • Gets heated up
  • App Ecosystem
  • Good looking but delicate edges

Nimay_7 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

PhantomSectre
posted on 02 Nov 2013, 08:56 (Posts: 5; Member since: 25 Sep 2011)

7

This phone has numerous issues....

PhantomSectre has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Although the Lumia 925 gets rave reviews, they fail to properly address the shortcomongs of this phone. This phone has inherant problems. It gets extremely hot. Hot enough that it is uncomfortable against my face. The phone will get hot, even when 'sleeping' and the battery will drop 20% per hour. There are problems with reception as well. Pick the phone up off the table and the no service icon appears a few seconds afterward.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 2/10 handling the phone causes the phone to lose connection. You can have three bars of signal while it sits on the table... as soon as you pick the phone up, the bars drop to ZERO and the no service icon appears. well documented on the internet.
Call quality 5/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 2/10 The phone gets HOT HOT HOT and drains the battery by 20% per hour when this happens. Even does this on standby. Five replacement phones and still the same problem.

Pros

  • Awesome Camera
  • Display toughness is second to none
  • Fast, with no lag at all

Cons

  • Gets EXTREMELY HOT with light usage
  • Battery lasts less than 6 hours, even on standby
  • Windows apps are poorly done compared to Android and iOS
  • With three bars on the phone, pick it up and get NO SERVICE
  • Had phone replaced under warranty 5 times, same problems

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

samilapo
posted on 01 Nov 2013, 16:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Mar 2011)

9

Lumia 925

samilapo has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Love this phone, I hope it will be my last...




















































.........

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10 Copy and past is average
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SemperFiV12
posted on 07 Apr 2014, 19:43 (Posts: 684; Member since: 09 Nov 2010)

10

Greatest Windows Phone experience FOR ME - SO FAR

SemperFiV12 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Definitely a great feeling phone... Slim and STURDY. Nokia build quality is the best that I have used - BAR NONE. Also, very impressed with the software Nokia is pushing. Could be better, but they have frequent updates and support their "Nokia Collection" nicely. A truly wonderful experience after a series of mediocre showings from Android and other Windows Phones. New antenna device is VERY under-rated, I get better signal than other T-Mobile phones 9/10 times. 1/10 times it is equal!! Also the camera... as played out as Nokia and Microsoft advertise... DOES IMPRESS. I have convinced friends from other platforms to switch, just because of picture prowess. The screen is the BEST I have ever used, just a joy to look at and play with!! Great battery life... Truly no weak links!!! Would recommend to EVERYONE.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Amazing screen, vivid & deep colors
  • Great battery life!
  • Antenna is wonderfully construcrted
  • Great... GREAT camera
  • Nokia Collection apps
  • OneDrive helps store and manage data

Cons

  • Runs a little hot when Navigation is used for long trips
  • You become the default photographer at any outing
  • You become the default guide and navigator
  • WP8 Store still lacking few key apps
  • Expandable memory would be nice

SemperFiV12 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

curseofpharaohs
posted on 25 Sep 2013, 21:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Jul 2013)

9

awesome!

curseofpharaohs has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I'm loving this phone , very unique and beautiful design , smooth and fast OS I can do whatever I want on it. good camera , amazing resolution and super sensitive touch , and it's very light comparing with Lumia 920!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pparada
posted on 17 Aug 2013, 00:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Feb 2012)

10

pretty cool phone

pparada has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Coming from having a Lumia 710, I am really enjoying this phone, pretty cool camera, battery life is superb, what else can I say, this phone is pretty cool, especially if you're looking for an alternative to Android and iPhone, I guarantee you won't be disappointed by choosing this phone, I mean it's a Nokia, you can never be wrong with a Nokia, this is my fourth phone made by Nokia, and they always deliver.

Build quality 10/10 Its a Nokia, do I really need to explain myself?
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • very fast processor
  • 8.7 mp camera
  • AMOLED screen

Cons

  • no sd card expansion

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cdgoin
posted on 24 Jul 2013, 12:49 (Posts: 363; Member since: 28 Jul 2010)

9

Nice Phone, Excellent build quality and Outstanding camera

cdgoin has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

While still waiting for a QWERTY Windows Phone.. My 6th Dell Venue Pro finally met it maker (Keyboard died) and I needed a new phone. So I upgraded to the 925. Camera is exceptional.. low light is unbelievable even if you turn off the auto flash. Battery lasts longer than all day.. with moderate use. Much better than any of my other phones I have had, outside my Dell Venue Pro. My DVP being older has issues and doesn't get all the cool apps, to me it will always be my Goldilocks phone. Overall with the 925, I am quite happy with it. Just wish Nokia would make a QWERTY sooner than later.

Build quality 10/10 Exceptional.. A tight and very solid feeling phone.
Reception 9/10 Phone is average reception.. The weak areas of T-mobiles coverage are still weak, it didn't help with that at all. So not bad, just not any better.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10 About the same.. Makes you wonder what the big deal with LTE is.. as HSPDA+ seemed equally as fast. Seems all T-mobile did was replace 3G+ areas with LTE.. and didn't fill the existing holes of spotty 2G areas with better LTE coverage.
Multimedia 8/10 Windows Phone has a issue with opening AVIs and WMVs from the cloud. The phone and MS seem to blame codec issues. I am not sure why a video I played on a WP7.5 phone no longer works on WP8. Odd..
Camera 10/10 Exceptional low light, day light, zoomed, it does it all.. Its as good as a stand alone digital camera. If not in some ways better.
UI speed 10/10 Windows Phone OS is just simply the most fluid fastest OS out there. Not sure it could be any faster.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10 NO matter the phone, touchscreen typing is MUCH slower and less accurate than QWERTY.. and I'm counting the days/months till a Dell Venue Pro style phone comes to market.
Display 9/10 Nice.. In regular lighting it's sharp and bright and crisp. It is a little hard to see in direct sunlight.
Battery 10/10 Lasts all day and then some.

Pros

  • Camera is as good as any non-Phone camera.
  • Build Quality is absolutely perfect
  • Windows Phone OS
  • LONG Battery Life
  • Very Light
  • For a 4.3 in phone it doesn't seem that big
  • Wi-Fi Calling
  • Internet Sharing is BACK (Can tether my laptop if need be)

Cons

  • No Physical QWERTY (That said none exist in the market right so its not the phones fault)
  • A number of Video Codecs are limited for some reason
  • More of a T-mobile issue, but since this is a T-mobile exclusive it applies. Reception is not much improved over the Dell Venue Pro and other Tmo phones I have had. Either you have good service (3G thru to LTE) or you don't (2G-Edge) phone doesnt seem to matter

cdgoin alternatives:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

-box-
posted on 03 Sep 2013, 01:55 (Posts: 3712; Member since: 04 Jan 2012)

10

Appropriately codenamed

-box- has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

7/17: I just got this about an hour ago, and already I don't miss my Lumia 900 daily driver. I didn't realize that Windows Phone could be FASTER! Still getting used to some differences between 7.8 and 8, notably the different settings layout, and my previous theme color, Nokia Blue, isn't available. I also didn't realize how relatively heavy my 900 was - the 925 is sleek, sexy, and trim, and a smaller bezel, so my fingers fit even more naturally on the keyboard; the device was codenamed "Catwalk" while in development, so very appropriate for this thin, light, sexy phone. More updates to come as I get more used to it.

My only minor issues so far are related to storage and color. Out of the box, it has just shy of 12GB of available storage. It's not so bad, coming from the Lumia 900, but more is always nicer. That said, I have SkyDrive and Box for most of my storage needs. Also, the T-Mobile US version is only available in white, which is dumb, especially as the gray version is so much more cohesive and compelling. As noted above, Nokia's Blue isn't available as a theme option, but if you didn't have it before, you probably won't miss it with the other hues available. I'm using the default Steel right now.

9/3 Update: Everything is still going very well with the 925. I wasn't able to move my saved game files over from my Lumia 900, but all the other settings, music, contacts, etc, moved flawlessly. Battery life is MUCH better than the 900, even on LTE and with the much-more-powerful...  

Build quality 10/10 Feels nice and tight, no loose parts or trim to fall off later
Reception 10/10 Full bars where previous unlocked Lumia 900 was getting 75%
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 OIS works great, Lenses are fun to play with, photos come out great night or day. It's no Lumia 1020, but it's as good as it can be for its size.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Amazing keyboard
Display 9/10 Crisp, clear, bright. Would be 10/10 if were full 1080p for HD movies and such.
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Slim & lightweight
  • Great camera
  • Fast, fluid UI and everyday experience
  • Feels very premium in-hand
  • Curved edges all around make phone VERY comfortable to hold
  • Legendary Nokia build quality
  • Stupendous reception
  • Wi-Fi calling

Cons

  • 1080p screen would be nice
  • It's not the Lumia 1020
  • T-Mobile version only available in White, AT&T version only available in Black
  • Only 16GB onboard storage, no expandable memory

-box- alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories