x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 820 User Reviews

8.6 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet9.3/10
Battery7.5/10
Call quality8.7/10
Display9/10
Reception8.8/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input8.7/10
Everyday usage8.5/10
UI speed9.5/10
Camera8.9/10
Multimedia8.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

GJanee
posted on 05 Mar 2014, 12:58 (Posts: 196; Member since: 29 Jun 2011)

9

Best way to go in terms of price/value

GJanee has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Had the phone for a year now, and except some bugs it is really working fine. Satisfied with all the options and services it provides and somewhat annoyed by some unfixed long time ongoing issues. See below.

Build quality 9/10 The build quality is really nice, a bit quirky here and there, the battery fits a bit loosely (maybe just my phone) but overally really well built and nice looking phone.
Reception 9/10 Very rarely does it drop a call, mainly due to service but on it's own: almost never. 3G/4G works like charm.
Call quality 9/10 The earpiece is on the weaker side. Now that we have 3G voice calls the quality is much more like when you're Skype-ing, crystal clear and really nice, but on phones that can't take advantage of this service, it's sometimes a bit on the quieter side, and hard to understand someone on the other end. As for the microphone, based on the feedback it's really good, they can always hear me well.
Internet 10/10 WiFi and 3G/4G works like charm. Really fast, especially thanks to IE (or Nokia Xpress if needed) and there isn't much to say about this part.
Multimedia 10/10 The music player, the camera (especially with the Nokia specific apps) is the best experience I've ever had with a phone. Love the UI, the Audio settings Nokia provides (EQ and Dolby Digital enhancements), the camera apps like NokiaCam, Cinemagraph, etc. is the best experience you can get on a mid-high range phone like this.
Camera 10/10 Not being PureView, still takes some nice photos. Even in low light. The quality is really good, with all the details necessary. NokiaCam puts a wide range of options in our hands too, to be able to lift the image quality even more.
UI speed 10/10 It's Windows Phone 8. Lightning fast, fluid, functional and beautiful. No competitor here.
Everyday usage 7/10 The apps and services are amazing, all the Nokia, HERE and Bing apps enhance the the experience hugely. The -3 points are for the still unfixed duplication problem where music and pictures get corrupted and duplicated in the phone memory and on the SD card as well (this issue can affect any WP8 phone). However this issue was promised to be fixed before Lumia Amber, but still wasn't fixed. This impacts the usability in terms of multimedia hugely, so yeah. It's quite the annoyance. Will wait for 8.1 and hopefully I can drag this bar back up to 10.
Text input 10/10 I loved the typing experience on my Omnia7 before, and hasn't changed since then. The emoticons are a great addition, and really love them. The keyboard adapts to me, and I can type really fast thanks to that.
Display 10/10 The AMOLED panel does a great job, I personally don't think that the 480x800 resolution is that bad on this phone, it isn't noticeable at all. The colors are as vivid as on my previous Omnia7 and I love it!
Battery 9/10 I like the battery performance of the phone as well. This was the only selling point in which I was thinking if I should buy the 720 or this. And I went with this one, because even though the 720 has a larger battery, the 820 also pulls out at least 22-24 hours with heavy use, 1day and 10-15 with moderate use and even !3 days! with rare/light usage.

Pros

  • WP8 as a whole
  • Nokia/HERE experience
  • Beautiful apps and interface
  • Nice cameras
  • Nice screen
  • Good microphone
  • MicroSD card slot
  • Very satisfying battery life
  • Connectivity (NFC, BT, 4G LTE)
  • Wireless charging

Cons

  • Earpiece is on the weaker side
  • Speaker is on the quieter weaker side
  • File duplication system bug (WP8 issue)

GJanee alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

AlexIvanov
posted on 05 Feb 2014, 13:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Feb 2014)

9

LUMIA 820

AlexIvanov has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If i except fast baterry drain, all other things like camera, display, function are great. I love HERE DRIVE, all things that you can pin on your desktop, live tiles is simply great.Absolutely different from all android phone!!!!!!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

davemann75
posted on 09 Oct 2013, 07:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Oct 2013)

8

Nice phone, better than the price tag suggests

davemann75 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Use this as my work phone. Windows Phone 8 OS is great, only down side is the lack of apps compared to Apple/Android however this is changing and there are more apps appearing. Camera is good quality and the phone is very reliable.

Build quality 8/10 Solid build, plastic case but what do you expect for the price??
Reception 9/10 Gets a signal where a number of other phones I've had don't.....
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10 25mbps down, 22mbps up in London. 18mbps down, 17mbps up in Sheffield. Can't grumble at that.....
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10 Takes good pics as do most Nokia's
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10 Rubbish out of the box, change the touch sensitivty to normal in the settings and it's as good as an iphone.
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10 Get a day out of it but if you're a heavy user take your charger with you

Pros

  • Build quality
  • camera
  • price

Cons

  • lack of apps

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

McAllister
posted on 07 Oct 2013, 02:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Oct 2013)

9

Great phone at the begining

McAllister has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

When i purchased this phone it was great for the 1st few months. Amazing camera and great display. The Battery life was also better than android. But since the past 4 months have been facing a lot of problems. Screen Doesnt respond sometimesand needs a Soft reset to try to get it working again. Currently Its at the service centre and i hope its back to its best. Speaking just about the phone its amazing but the problem has made me lose faith i this phone!!
P.s- i may be at end of some misfortune of getn a faulty piece.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10 best came
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10 amazing display... loved it!!
Battery 9/10 better than android phones

Pros

  • great camera
  • best display
  • some great small size apps

Cons

  • lot of problems!!!1

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Apostolis_Vlv
posted on 15 Sep 2013, 04:16 (Posts: 1; Member since: 15 Sep 2013)

10

Nokia lumia 820

Apostolis_Vlv has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

One of the best smarphone in the world. I believe that smartphone is realy cool and awesome! This phone has got a excellent camera and great quality. The screen is amazing and the text input highly good..... Ι suggest it implicitly!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

AlHaptismMY
posted on 26 Aug 2013, 23:26 (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Aug 2013)

9

A Good Move

AlHaptismMY has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

this phone makes a wow on me after a purchase. interchangable lens, lte and nfc support, superb 8 megapixel camera with zeiss optics, crystal clear amoled display, micro sd support, butter-smooth metro/modern ui, uncluttered wp8 and update to amber. though it did'nt have ois, pureview tech, quad core processor, neither fhd or hd resolution on the tow but it's enough for me for everyday usage. maybe nokia should consider about further design and make it more wow

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • full hd video recording support
  • nfc, bluetooth, and lte
  • interchangable back cover
  • uncluttered performance

Cons

  • screen resolution only wvga
  • no ois neither pureview on the tow
  • only dual core processor

AlHaptismMY alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

tom4820
posted on 20 Aug 2013, 14:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Aug 2013)

10

Nokia Lumia 820 is the best

tom4820 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is a awesome phone
Great phone, camera is best and reliable the interface is smooth,
The Display was beautiful, compared to an S3 mini, which was poor. All though the PPI on the Lumia 820 was lower, the S3 mini shows pixels at a longer distance, while at normal distance(The distance you normally use your phone) the 820 shows no pixels at all! Honestly, I was shocked. WP has most of the apps I use, so I don't really care about apps and games. The glossy back on my white Lumia 820 feels compact and doesn't feel like a brick at ALL. Heck, it only feels a tad thicker than the likes of an S3. It's the PERFECT size phone. I assure you. Please, buy the phone, you won't regret.

Build quality 10/10 Sturdy but not too bulky! You get used to it quick and then you will not be bothered by it at all.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 You can have all the apps you want on the main screen where they are easily accessed. The calendar is not simplistic enough for me to use it as a reminder for things like I used to, I had to download a Task-list app for that and I dont use the calendar at all. You can download all the basic apps you need (Facebook, Twitter, Youtube etc.)
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • UI speed
  • Build
  • Display

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Miippu
posted on 04 Aug 2013, 15:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Aug 2013)

7

Great phone for daily use

Miippu has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It is a great phone, fast in everything it does. Offers a variety of in-built applications (maps, Nokia TV etc.).
Camera quality is more than enough for someone who is not a camera freak.
It is easy to use (don't listen to anyone who says you can't figure out a Windows Phone - you most definitely CAN! I can say this having jumped from an iPhone straight to Nokia Lumia 825, first time for any kind of Windows phone!)
I was overwhelmed how customizable it was compared to the iPhone, it felt great actually having options to choose from!

Build quality 8/10 Sturdy but not too bulky! You get used to it quick and then you will not be bothered by it at all.
Reception 8/10 It has not had any huge issues.
Call quality 7/10 Good - the voice does sometimes feel a bit distant though, but only slightly.
Internet 7/10 I am not a fan of Internet Explorer but it did work properly though. I just didnt use it very much.
Multimedia 6/10 I was slightly disappointed at the music player, it is very hard to create a playlist (or maybe I'm just dumb). Videos work great though!
Camera 8/10 For me, this camera is neat! Photos are not blurry at all. There could be a bit more contrast when you take a photo, but you can easily add it afterwards. Videos are excellent.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10 You can have all the apps you want on the main screen where they are easily accessed. The calendar is not simplistic enough for me to use it as a reminder for things like I used to, I had to download a Task-list app for that and I dont use the calendar at all. You can download all the basic apps you need (Facebook, Twitter, Youtube etc.)
Text input 6/10 I find this keypad harder to use than iPhone's one. Maybe its the size of the keys? I also don't like how the auto correct capitalizes random words occasionally. A huge plus comapred to iPhone is the fact that you can actually move the cursor in the middle of a word to fix a letter!
Display 8/10 If it's really bright, then it is a bit hard to see what's on the screen but other than that it's all good. Photos look great, I prefer a bit more contrast to them so I always have to add some later on but that's just me. Touchscreen responds fast and smoothly.
Battery 6/10 I browse online a lot during a day and I use my phone a lot in other ways as well so I have to charge it every evening. The battery would last till next day for sure, I just prefer to charge it when I sleep and don't need it.

Pros

  • Customizable
  • Camera
  • Fast
  • Maps (City Lens!)

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Lack of official apps

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

daqwid2727
posted on 07 Aug 2013, 13:45 (Posts: 10; Member since: 16 Mar 2011)

8

I love this phone

daqwid2727 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love it, its my first wp8 phone, and its way better then my HTC one S witch i sold some time ago. wp8 is really amazing os. There are many apps that i used on android, many of them are unofficial, but still good enough.

Edit: after GDR2 update, it gets even better, and now it can stay alive on full charge for two days using wifi! amazing!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • ui speed
  • many lumia apps
  • amazing support from nokia

Cons

  • some apps are unofficial

daqwid2727 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MelbTrain
posted on 01 Jul 2013, 02:13 (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Aug 2012)

8

Amazing!

MelbTrain has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I previously had a Windows Phone 7 device and loved it, but found it limted and not complete, when I upgraded to the Lumia 820, I couldn't believe how I lived without it. The device in the hand feels great, solid and premium. The fact that removable backs and different colour options really make this device stand out. The AMOLED screen, makes the blacks, really black and attractive. The PPI count of the screen is quite low, but colours do really pop, and blacks are black, whites aren't that good though. Nokia has some really good apps included; like Here Maps, City Lens and many more, this makes the 820 stand out from devices like the 8X. In the pocket the device isn't to heavy. Typing on this is really good, and the screen size makes it perfect for me to type extremely fast. Talking about fast, the 820 is super fast, slicing through intense apps and tasks without a stutter or lag, something that Android or iOS can't do as well. IE10 is really good, loading pages really fast. With only 8GB internal, the microSD card slot, comes in really handy. What isn't so good is there is no feature that allows me to install apps on the SD card, only store them and install them on the phone so 8GB is a little small, with SkyDrive, it's a bit better. MS Office, is a nice addition, and I do use it occasionally, with some awesome mobile features. The volume/speaker is a bit low, but will easily get the job done and it makes it up with the amazing sound quality with headphones. Nokia also provides...  

Build quality 9/10 Have dropped the phone from around 1.3m onto concrete and tiles and no scratch or bump or crack. Phone is a little heavy and gets hot.
Reception 9/10 Fast speeds and 4G is awesome to have, though it doesn't have the strongest receiver.
Call quality 9/10 Not bad, doesn't always produce good sound.
Internet 9/10 IE 10 is fast, but has little features to make it perfect.
Multimedia 8/10 Everything is good expect the Music + Video hub. The app constantly crashes and the app is always laggy and really slow, it was better on WP7. Though the headphone sound quality is great.
Camera 7/10 Camera is a little disappointing, colours are dull and not realistic looking and the flash is a little weak.
UI speed 10/10 WP8 just flies, never lags or stutters and does all my jobs super fast with no stutter. (Apart from the Music + Video hub which stuffs up)
Everyday usage 8/10 The phone is always up to speed and date and my things are done super quick. Battery lets it down, both being short in life and the phone getting hot.
Text input 9/10 Easy to type on, the keys are a bit small, but does the job.
Display 7/10 PPI count is low, but colours do pop and blacks are black.
Battery 7/10 The battery life is short and gets hot fast.

Pros

  • Build quality
  • WP8 is awesome
  • Speed
  • 1GB of RAM- makes WP8 fast
  • Good processor- makes WP8 fast
  • microSD card slot
  • Wireless charging
  • Strong phone

Cons

  • Poor camera- could be better

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shennawew
posted on 24 May 2013, 09:53 (Posts: 3; Member since: 24 May 2013)

8

Great Phone!

shennawew has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great phone, camera isn't best but it's reliable in some conditions. the interface is smooth, rarely have I experienced lagging so far. Battery is pretty bad, it only lasts 4-5 hours if I go full browsing and streaming.

Build quality 8/10 It's nokia build quality! you never doubt it.
Reception 9/10 Good
Call quality 9/10 Good
Internet 10/10 Faaaaaast!
Multimedia 7/10 Speaker isn't the best, but pretty good
Camera 7/10 Over-saturated sometimes
UI speed 10/10 it's windows phone! It's smooth as hell
Everyday usage 8/10 Good, not too bulky
Text input 8/10 easy
Display 7/10 good
Battery 6/10 Only lasts 4-5 hours when full browsing and streaming.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JojoGo101
posted on 11 May 2013, 17:15 (Posts: 211; Member since: 17 Dec 2012)

9

Blasts Android phones in the midrange!

JojoGo101 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I could have sworn the display was more than 480p. I mean, it's brilliant. On WP, you see a lot of blacks, unlike Android which is very color full. The Display was beautiful, compared to an S3 mini, which was poor. All though the PPI on the Lumia 820 was lower, the S3 mini shows pixels at a longer distance, while at normal distance(The distance you normally use your phone) the 820 shows no pixels at all! Honestly, I was shocked. WP has most of the apps I use, so I don't really care about apps and games. The glossy back on my white Lumia 820 feels compact and doesn't feel like a brick at ALL. Heck, it only feels a tad thicker than the likes of an S3. It's the PERFECT size phone. I assure you. Please, buy the phone, you won't regret.

Build quality 10/10 Top-Notch, feels WAY more premium than a more expensive S3
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 IE10 is impressive!
Multimedia 10/10 I thought it was an HD phone sometimes.
Camera 10/10 Those neat features are nice.
UI speed 8/10 Was a wee bit slow when scrolling through the start screen, maybe cause i'm used to Quad core phones.
Everyday usage 10/10 Smooth, and I can rely on it.
Text input 10/10 No Sywpe-like features like on Android 4.2 but it's a VERY good keyboard
Display 10/10 For a 480p phone, its the best of it's class. The Clearblack and AMOLED display shows not blacks.. but pure blacks. WAY better than 480p droids
Battery 8/10 Not the best, but got me through the day. An extra 1 point for wireless charging.

Pros

  • Smooth like iOS
  • Bright
  • Shows midnight blacks

Cons

  • Best 480p phone, but face it, it's 480p anyways.
  • Battery could be better!

JojoGo101 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

spqwerty
posted on 15 Jan 2013, 05:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Jan 2013)

9

Two Thumbs up for this mini beast

spqwerty has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A good phone for after having an Arc s, UI is smooth sexy and its unique. Everything is pretty much good. Xbox games should be bought. you can try some apps. apps store growing weekly. can't send music via bluetooth.

Build quality 10/10 Strong enough even for some drop tests i guess.
Reception 9/10 Didn't have any problem with the reception. its clear as well
Call quality 10/10 Pretty clear
Internet 9/10 Internet works well
Multimedia 9/10 Buffers videos really well.
Camera 9/10 Camera is good. Extremely good when your using the apps like smart shoot, panorama, bing vision is amazing, etc.
UI speed 10/10 Sexy UI, pretty strong compared to Android and Apple. Very responsive and in everyway its fast
Everyday usage 10/10 way above the average. Good to use
Text input 8/10 Works well, but when you want to erase a letter or something its really annoying.
Display 10/10 Excellent
Battery 8/10 Battery went down to 25% after playing games through out for about 3 or 4 hours. Good enough to hold up for a day after a reasonable consumption of battery.

Pros

  • Build quality
  • UI
  • OS
  • Camera

Cons

  • No radio
  • most of the apps in the market should be bought
  • low resolution

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

murali1224
posted on 10 Jan 2013, 05:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Jan 2013)

9

best to buy

murali1224 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

so far no problems ...main drawback is lack of gorilla glass screen, games and apps.....this is the most intresting phone i had so far....smooth back panel ,its really awesome.....its a cheap smart phone to buy

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • good built
  • fast processor
  • good camera quality
  • awesome windows 8 os
  • nokia city lens
  • easy way of geting connected with social network
  • wireless charging facility

Cons

  • little heavy
  • less games and app
  • no gorilla glass screen

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

damago1
posted on 06 Jan 2013, 22:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jan 2013)

7

Great windows os, excellent build, poor phone

damago1 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

If you want to use the phone straight out of the box - it is a great phone.

Great build quality. I dont like light plastic feeling phones. I don't understand run for lighter smaller phones. I prefer better build quality and larger battery instead. Nokia gives at leat the first one.

Hardware wise the problems are: very poor call quality. Everybody noticed that I have changed the phone. I was nearly unrecognizable. In despair tried to use earphone with the microphone and finally gave up for another phone.

The phone hangs from time to time. And does it while being locked (at least mine did). To turn it on again you need to do the two button reset (vol- and power).

Os: Windows phone 8 (wp8) is a fantastic idea. There is a great pleasure in using the phone. User experience I can say is much better the with IOS even. The metro tiles are great idea. Very clear, ergonomic icons, nicely designed. No comparison with other platforms.

Better selection of apps than on android. Yes, I really mean this. For instance on android to choose a podcasting application there is a choice of 50+ applications, 40 of which are very poor quality. Here I found just a few apps, all perfectly doing their work. Not overloaded with useless features.

And you have this great feeling untill you will encounter one of many annoying limitations which will be a deal stopper for you. Because unlike with android or even symbian the phone api will not allow developpers fixing microsoft's limmitations.

For me...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 3/10 Everybody noticed that I have changed the phone. I was nearly unrecognizable. In despair tried to use earphone with the microphone and gave up.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 2/10 I don't know how can the phone have theoretical 10 hrs talk etc. It does not survive one full day on battery. And forget weekend without charger

Pros

  • Great nokia collection apps
  • Wp8: great out of the box phone to start using
  • Wp8: great user pleasure and os ergonomics

Cons

  • Very poor call voice quality
  • Nokia did not add breathing light to this phone
  • Wp8 problem: no silent mode
  • Wp8 problem: api which is causing that many usefull apps will never exist
  • Battery which can not last one single day if you use the phone

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories