x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 710 User Reviews

9.5 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet9.6/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery8/10
Reception9.5/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.4/10
Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed10/10
Camera8.9/10
Multimedia9.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

WindowsPhoneUser7.5
posted on 12 Dec 2012, 02:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Dec 2012)

9

Nokia Lumia 710 running Windows Phone 7.5

WindowsPhoneUser7.5 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Nokia Lumia 710 is a good mid range smartphone to consider. Windows Phone 7.5 runs very well and the notible Live Tiles keep you up-to-date all the time! :)

The 1.4GHz CPU elimantes lag, i've had hardly any lag at all!

I'd recomend it, have a look at the rating!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Great 1.4 GHz CPU
  • Nice Nokia 'Clear Black' display (3.7 inches)
  • Very Good build qaulity! :D
  • Buttons may be mechanical, but no accidental presses! Well spaced out :)
  • Bing Services, Bing maps, Bing search, Local scout etc

Cons

  • Battery life-isn't the best, last a day however without battery saver on
  • Could do with a slightly better camera

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dipstick
posted on 01 Dec 2012, 13:34 (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Nov 2012)

10

99% Happy

Dipstick has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Having been a Nokia owner over the years, since 1990, and still having an N95, still in use by the wife, and still using an N900 as a back up phone, though hardly at all since getting my Lumia 710, Was really looking forward to this phone, but bitterly dissappointed to find it is not compatible Bluetooth wise with even of our other Nokia devices, let alone any other smartphone. But still pleased overall with the phone.

Build quality 10/10 Excellent, have dropped it twice with no ill effects
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 First class
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Fiddly at first, but no problems once you get used to it. particularly like being able to just press the camera button to wake the phone up to take pictures.
UI speed 10/10 Fastest I have ever experienced
Everyday usage 10/10 Cannot fault it.
Text input 10/10 My little fat fingers have mastered it !!!!
Display 10/10 First rate
Battery 9/10 Dissapointed, had to buy a spare to change when going on day trips with plenty of photo opportunitys

Pros

  • Easy of use.
  • Promise of an upgrade to 7.8 in the new year

Cons

  • No Bluetooth connectivity
  • No Expansion Slot
  • Zune needs some seriose working

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jameshoe
posted on 27 Mar 2013, 00:54

10

Simply Amazing Me ;)

jameshoe has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have use this phone for 6 months now and I love everything about it, although 710 is powered by only single-core 1.4 GHz processor, but Windows Phone optimizes its potential and performance. Nokia Clear-Black technology let us easy to look at our phone even under the sun and still keeping the great color. 5 MP camera doesn't really look good in low light and the battery is only 1300 mAh, which is still plenty to get me through a full day with pretty heavy usage. I can say that this is the best smartphone I've used, and now, I intend to buy a new Nokia Lumia 720.

Build quality 10/10 Excellent built quality, even dropped it on the floor a few times, it is still running smoothly.
Reception 10/10 It is an unquestionable... Good...
Call quality 10/10 It is working nicely with noise cancellation system.
Internet 9/10 I usually used the Nokia Xpress browser, because Internet Explorer is too simple & boring. No flash and silverlight.
Multimedia 9/10 Cannot sync music & video with other apps, low standard loudspeaker quality.
Camera 9/10 It works worse in low light, even turn on the flash, but good in day light. HD video recording is very very nice.
UI speed 10/10 Live tiles is the best UI I've used, it is fast, smooth, beautiful & innovative. No lagging, No any jamming or any application freezing.
Everyday usage 10/10 Windows Phone has everything you can get for communication, entertainment and productivity. It got many features, but the marketplace's apps catalog falls short of Android and iOS.
Text input 10/10 The on-screen keyboard is very beautiful & comfortable, but the keyboard is not editable, in black & white only, I suggest it'd better with some color.
Display 10/10 3.7 inches 16M colors WVGA resolution display is clear, comfortable and colorful, it is easy to see with ambient light sensor ( automatically light adjust ).
Battery 9/10 1300 mAh battery is only enough to work for 8 hours, so it should add some more battery to work enough for a day.

Pros

  • Innovative & Smooth UI and OS
  • Fast processor speed ( 1.4 GHz )
  • Comfortable, clear & colorful display
  • Suitable battery life

Cons

  • Lacks micro-SD card slot
  • No front-facing camera
  • Camera is weak in low light
  • Bad voice recording

jameshoe alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Zahidasad
posted on 25 Nov 2012, 04:20 (Posts: 6; Member since: 22 Jan 2012)

10

Excellent worth of money

Zahidasad has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Excellent phone, but with a problem of zune dependability, no BTF and screen sucks when wet. Only this screen problem goes t nokia where as others are Microsoft's limitations. noki maps also disappointed because of less cities covered.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 i would give 10, but because of low voice at BT and HF
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10 Can not find equalizer, also zune dependablitiy is uncomfortable
Camera 10/10 Class
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Keys should be spaced
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 battery could have been better with such a size of a phone

Pros

  • ALL :)

Cons

  • Zune
  • Touch troubles when hands sweat
  • BTF, although its update is on the way
  • Maps not as good as google's

Zahidasad alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JohnT
posted on 08 Nov 2012, 12:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Nov 2012)

9

Excellent phone that's easy to use.

JohnT has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Pros:
This is a fantastic phone that is very esay to use for texting, email and surfing. Very fast and smooth. Interface is outstanding. Texting is VERY easy (coming from a Blackberry, I was originally concerned). Internet speeds (4G on Tmobile) really are lightning speed.

Cons:
Battery life is terrible. No excuse for such a short life nowadays. Barely goes a whole day with limited usage. The Zune program is annoying. Speech program needs quite a bit of work.

Overall:
I would be very upset to have to have to change to another phone. This is the smoothest operating system I've ever had on a phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10 I only knock it down because of the poor battery life.
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 1/10 Terrible.

Pros

  • Very smooth, appealing and easy to use.

Cons

  • Battery life is bad.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

gaurav.5410
posted on 29 Sep 2012, 19:35 (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Sep 2012)

10

my best phone ,pa reviewed nokia phones wronglly always they shows samsung and apple phones better then htc n nokia bt overall nokia is the best company ...................................................

gaurav.5410 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review


very good camera
superfast processor (1.4 GHz)
very high resolution screen
excelent voice command software
lightweight
option to link multiple email into single inbox
option to use keyboard autocorrect in multiple languages

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

WWEraw
posted on 10 Jul 2012, 11:16 (Posts: 3; Member since: 30 Jun 2012)

10

My first WP 7 device

WWEraw has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

When I first saw this phone so I got interested in it and I thought I buy it and after 4 months and I owned it already: D I was surprised how good this device or its operating system really is. It is easy to use and Windows Marketplace has almost 150 000 applications point probably reached 500 000 in 2013 !!
I think I'll even consider WP8 equipment purchase in the future, perhaps even if I buy a nokia lumia 910 device: D

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 5mpix
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • fast processor 1,4 ghz
  • screen
  • battery
  • UI
  • camera
  • nokia
  • WP7

Cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alfredow
posted on 10 Jul 2012, 08:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Jul 2012)

9

My best phone yet

alfredow has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

this the best phone i have yet to have and that include 2 blackberries and an ipod touch which i know is not a phone but it has the same experience as an iPhone and i got bored of it pretty fast but this phone is amazing it have no lag unlike my dad's android tablet and its UIbeautiful

Build quality 9/10 well its kinda bulky but its light and the best part its a nokia phone it kinda gets thrown to a rocky ground and it survived with minimal scratch
Reception 8/10 its pretty good but it might be because my house is known to have bad reception for mobile operators
Call quality 8/10 sound is great and the interface gave it a plus so just great
Internet 9/10 IE9 mobile is great unlike IE 6-8 its amaing both desktop and mobile
Multimedia 10/10 the experience is amazing just like the entire phone again beautiful interface especially the feature which lets you view the artist in the lock screen
Camera 8/10 weak in low light and far away shots because the flash is weak
UI speed 10/10 windows phone will go as fast a light speed its super smooth no matter what
Everyday usage 9/10 its just awsome and battery life is really good considering the battery size
Text input 10/10 texting is a breeze with the auto correct its better than ios and keyboard and the smiley keyboard. come on, come on,come on
Display 9/10 252 ppi is just enough for anything
Battery 8/10 not as awsome a a classic nokia phone but for a smart phone for internet and everything its pretty good

Pros

  • cheap
  • windows phone is smooth as a silk
  • metro style apps are beautiful

Cons

  • non expandeble storage

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Adolfobt
posted on 17 Jun 2012, 08:53 (Posts: 4; Member since: 17 Jun 2012)

10

Lumia 710 is a great phone overall with a different experience altogether.

Adolfobt has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Other than the shortage of apps like Apple Apps the market is fairly good, The Memory is a problem with a semi loaded phone the memory runs out quick. Card Slot would be a improvement.Camera could be 8mp
Overall a great phone with allot of future ahead of it with the right Improvements.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Could be an 8 mp
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Very well put together and the apps flow very nicely

Cons

  • Memory Exp not there. No major Apps like PayPal Citibank or Others

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tegradragon
posted on 23 May 2012, 02:09 (Posts: 68; Member since: 23 May 2012)

9

Total value for money.

tegradragon has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great UI. Smooth and Fluidic interface. Awesome Nokia apps. Lacks external storage and bluetooth file transfer, but overall an absolute winner and total value for money. The phone itself feels well built, though the feel is not as good as the Lumia 800 or Lumia 900. Screen looks great. Awesome contrast. The camera is not bad too. With a 5 MP sensor with led flash, it does take good pics.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10 Due to the troublesome file transfer.
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • The UI of course
  • Nokia exclusive apps

Cons

  • Bluetooth file transfer

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rheinfirst
posted on 16 May 2012, 04:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 May 2012)

8

Best OS Today

rheinfirst has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Smooth UI. Clean apps. it can be compared to iOS in terms of best UI. Android is way behind, not just frequently crashed and hang, it also less secure.
I love Windows Phone though it still far for perfect. Proud to show to my friends.

Build quality 8/10 its plastic but very good finishing. I can change the cover too
Reception 8/10 Just I expected, though need crispier and louder
Call quality 8/10 Good
Internet 9/10 Smooth
Multimedia 8/10 Dont know how to stop music and radio
Camera 8/10 Fast and functional. But need better finishing. Still better iPhone on finishing
UI speed 10/10 Perfect
Everyday usage 8/10 Need more tweaking
Text input 5/10 Too bad, can't compare with iPhone keyboard. And of course a day dreaming to hope on Blackberry keyboard
Display 9/10 Its not AMOLED, but very good.
Battery 5/10 Worse

Pros

  • UI speed.
  • Display
  • Internet

Cons

  • Text Input.
  • Battery

rheinfirst alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mruppel2
posted on 29 Apr 2012, 18:21 (Posts: 3; Member since: 29 Apr 2012)

9

The best mid-range phone available in the market.

mruppel2 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nokia Lumia 710 has the same hardware of the Nokia Lumia 800, but with a simpler camera and less storage space. The phone is incredibly fast and provides a good online and multimedia experience. It's certainly the best mid-range smartphone you can get.

Build quality 8/10 The Gorilla Glass display and the front are great, but the rest of the phone is made of a plastic material, that can easily get scratches. The front buttons are "stiff" to press sometimes.
Reception 10/10 Unlike Apple, Nokia never had issues with antenna quality and signal reception, and this phone is no exception to the rule.
Call quality 8/10 The sound from the built-in speaker is very low compared to the standards, but the noise cancelling and the call quality make up for this fault.
Internet 10/10 Mobile IE9 is incredibly (and ironically) the fastest browser I've ever seen in a smartphone. Lacks Flash, but since Flash is a dead technology, it really doesn't bother most users.
Multimedia 10/10 Zune, Nokia Music, XBOX LIVE. This is certainly the best multimedia features you can get in a smartphone.
Camera 7/10 The autofocus doesn't work very well, and the colors of the photo camera look very unsaturated compared with other phones. HD video recording is very sharp, though.
UI speed 10/10 No crashes, no slowdowns, not a single application freezing. Blazing fast, it's Windows Phone after all.
Everyday usage 8/10 Windows Phone has everything you can get for communication, entertainment and productivity. After the last update "Mango", it got many features missing in the previous versions, but there's still some small problems that can bother some users.
Text input 9/10 The on-screen keyboard is comfortable, responsive and easy to get used with.
Display 8/10 Even though it's an TFT LCD screen, the colors are very bright and the blacks are deep (due to Nokia "ClearBlack" technology). It's not as vivid as an AMOLED screen, but it performs better than AMOLED in daylight exposure.
Battery 6/10 The battery is the biggest flaw on this device. The duration is below average, even on standby mode. Depending on how much you use it, you may need to charge your battery more than once in a day. It can bother some users.

Pros

  • Fast processor and smooth UI performance
  • Great connectivity (Wireless b/g/n, Bluetooth 2.1, USB, GSM/3G/4G)
  • Free turn-by-turn GPS navigation and maps, excellent coverage and support from Nokia.
  • Amount of multimedia features included on Windows Phone 7.5
  • HD video recording comparable with high-end smartphones
  • Price is low, considering it's a Windows Phone.

Cons

  • Battery duration is below average, and it drains really fast sometimes.
  • Lacks a memory expansion slot (8GB internal storage only)
  • Some online services and applications are not available outside U.S.

mruppel2 alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rk9flame
posted on 25 Apr 2012, 19:43 (Posts: 5; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)

9

Good phone

rk9flame has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Despite a few flaws, this phone is more than adequate for 75% of the smartphone market.

I'm having a few calling issues due to the ambient sound cancellation. Also screen smudges badly. Battery cover creaks in corner a bit. Email integration needs work. IMAP does not function as it should.

Other than those issues, this phone has been phenomenal. I paid nothing for this phone and it just works. Much smoother than android and more attractive than iOS.

If you're on the fence, just jump ship and get it sooner than later.

Build quality 9/10 For a "free" phone, the build quality is phenomenal. A slight creaking in the plastic.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10 A flaw in the noise cancellation makes my voice muffled if I cover the 2nd mic (such as using shoulder to hold phone)
Internet 10/10 HSPA + is extremely fast. Browser is great.
Multimedia 10/10 Last.fm + Zune = Awesome
Camera 8/10 Decent camera. Nothing great.
UI speed 10/10 WP7 is fantastic minus a few issues.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 Screen smudges something fierce.
Battery 9/10 easily a full day. Sometimes longer with battery saver.

rk9flame alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

cdgoin
posted on 21 Apr 2012, 19:30 (Posts: 355; Member since: 28 Jul 2010)

10

Converted my Teenage Daughter from Android

cdgoin has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

She was a bit confused at first.. but once she got the hang of it.. cant live without it. Loves the fact its people centric and not application centric. NO having to go to multiple different apps to find out whats going on.. Just go the the persons tab and find out everything.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10 Need more QWERTY keyboard WP
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cwagstaff
posted on 20 Apr 2012, 10:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Apr 2012)

10

Surprisingly good for a mid-range smartphone!

cwagstaff has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had the phone for a little over a month now and I love everything about it. I have been a fan of the Windows Phone OS now for about a year (I owned a Samsung Focus before) and this phone optimizes it's potential. The True-Black screen is easily visible in the sun (almost as much as an AMOLED) and has great color (much better than the iPhone 4 or 4S). The Windows Phone OS is right on par with iOS (and will probably surpass it with the WP8 release) and far surpasses the juvenile Android OS. For those wondering, I have had an iOS device and several Android devices, even the Nexus S on ICS. As for the PHONE part of this device, it has more clear voice calls and better reception than any phone I've had, though that is not surprising with Nokia. The only reason that I give the camera and battery a 9 rather than 10 is because the camera is only 5MP (what you would expect from a mid-range phone) and the battery is only 1300 mAh, which is still plenty to get me through a full day with pretty heavy usage. Speaking as one that likes to change phones as often as I change my clothes (not really, but almost) I can easily say that this is my favorite phone and the one that I have the most fun using, which is always a bonus in a smart device.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Operating System
  • Nokia quality
  • Great reception/call quality
  • Stylish design
  • Physical buttons vs. capacitive

Cons

  • None really

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tward291
posted on 13 Apr 2012, 07:18 (Posts: 559; Member since: 14 Feb 2012)

10

best phone ive had

tward291 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I got this phone after i grew tired of dealing with my HTC sensation 4g. As i am not due for an upgrade but i wanted to try something new the phone is only retailed at 350 so i thought i would give it a shot. I am amazed by this phone the pure beauty and elagance of the device. it moves so fast and response to every command with quick ease. the voice commands are awsome as well way better than my android hands down. i thought i would have a problem with it not having sd card support,but the apps are not that big at all i believe the biggest was 2mb. the other thing is that i was lucky that the main apps i use are on windows such as USAA, Evernote, and Bible. the downside to this which really isnt a nokia problem more like a microsoft one is the fact that the music isnt synced over a cloud and can be streamed to your phone without using storage. when i connected it to zune all it did was put albums on my phone storage.so google music will be missed alot. you can however get the zune pass and stream it to your phone which is 9.99 a month or 99 for the year. nokia got bad points for not putting a front camera on the device shame on you lol. also the battery life is amazing crazy amamzing. all in all its a good choice windows is the future. also note that the xbox companion app is crazy sick love it love it love it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 best i ever used
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery life
  • UI is fast
  • screen is beautiful
  • voice commands

Cons

  • streaming music
  • no front facing camera

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pparada
posted on 23 Feb 2012, 18:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Feb 2012)

10

LUMIA 710

pparada has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I just bought this phone about 3 weeks ago, one thing I really like about it is its super fast 1.4 GHz processor, also has a very good camera despite the fact that it is only 5mp, (they could've an 8mp), any way nokia has always had good cameras on their phones, also the screen resolution is so vibrant, gotta love that, also I just found out, you can find battery covers on different colors, about the new windows OS, love the fact tha you can linl all your email accounts into one, also I have it paired to a LG HBM-585 bluetooth earpiece and the voice comands are incredible, it even read the text messages for you, some of the things I dislike about it is that the USB connection is on the top and that it doesn't offer an Sdcard slot for memory expantion, although mine phone has 8gb built it memory, also I think that nokia committed a mortal sin not putting a frontal camera on it, another thing I really like is the light sensor for the screen , it works just perfect, all in all I am really enjoying and loving this phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • very good camera
  • superfast processor (1.4 GHz)
  • very high resolution screen
  • excelent voice command software
  • lightweight
  • option to link multiple email into single inbox
  • option to use keyboard autocorrect in multiple languages

Cons

  • No SD card expantion port

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories