x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 520 User Reviews

8.7 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality8.7/10
Text input8.7/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed9.1/10
Camera7.6/10
Multimedia8.3/10
Internet8.9/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery8.5/10
Reception8.9/10
Display9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

vels4693
posted on 08 Sep 2014, 03:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Sep 2014)

9

my lumia 520

vels4693 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

good and best mobile and very speed internet and procces and best updastes softwares is good and android vs windows runnig good and battery charege is bad ccharge charge is only 4 hours internet using only

Build quality 9/10 9.1
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • internet

Cons

  • battery charge

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Danny.434
posted on 21 Aug 2014, 09:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Aug 2014)

10

Nokia Lumia 520

Danny.434 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The Nokia Lumia 520 is the best phone I have ever owned. My opinion is that it is one of the best phones on the market, especially for the price that they are selling it for. Although the memory isn’t that good you’re not stuck with only what the phone can produce, you can add micro SD cards into it which can enhance your memory more than any other top smart phone. When I first got the phone I was disappointed by the app store but as time goes on the app store seems to be becoming more popular which means it is being opened up to more apps. As you already know the windows phone links into the Xbox so when you register your account you can then look at all the new information available, control your Xbox and even use the Xbox store for music etc. which you can also use on your Xbox as well as your phone. The Nokia Lumia 520 has the best voice recognition of any phone on the market, even better than Ciri on the IPhone and that’s without the phone downloading Cortana. I have put my phone through a lot over the year or so that I have had it, it has sustained being dropped, thrown at walls etc. with only showing a few scratches on the screen.

Build quality 10/10 Most durable phone on the market
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Clearest speaker ever
Internet 10/10 easyest I have ever used
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • bright screen
  • vibrent colours
  • well built

Cons

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mwildans
posted on 02 Aug 2014, 21:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Aug 2014)

9

Not bad

mwildans has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Lumia 520 is a Good. Considering its rate, it offers a lot than other phone.
What i Liked -
1. Design - Looks & Feel so classy
2. Good Music System
3. Fast processor and awsome surfing experience (With 3G data plan)
4. Covers all the basic Apps which is required on adaily basis. (No need crib on Google PLay)
5. Here Maps is fast and accurate
6. Light in weight
7.Had A FM in my country
8.The quality of camera increase after i update the camera to nokia camera
Cons OR the Features i want to add ---
2. No LED notification lights

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

guptaraghav_1990
posted on 18 Jul 2014, 00:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jul 2014)

6

Good camera phone. Only good 'camera' phone.

guptaraghav_1990 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Yes... its Fast, Good display, No lag, great build quality !!

I needed a phone for music, a little internet surfing and some calling – so I placed my bet on the Newly launched phone in 2013.
But after using it for a little more than a year, i would like to put it as the worst phone that was pawned off by Nokia... for the below mentioned reasons:
1. Fast - It’s fast just because it has nothing to offer to the user. There are still no good quality (playable) games on the Marketplace, no really usable apps. So you don’t install anything on the phone which in-turn makes it fast. So yes it’s fast.

2. Cheap – Rather than calling it as affordable, cheap is more suitable word.
Pretty cheap on functionality and features.

3. Great camera – The camera quality is good, and is in-fact the only selling point of this phone or any other Lumia phone for that matter.

4. Music Player- The worst music player seen till-date. Sometimes songs don’t play on it, sometimes they do – no logic identifiable here.
The one thing that put me off was – no playlist. There is an option given in the interface but hard you may try but you can’t simply make any playlist. The ‘add to playlist’ feature simply puts all the songs in the list to the playlist… pff.

5. Internet – The default IE sucks as usual and the bad news is none better is available on appstore. So you’re stuck with it.

6. Facebook/Whatsapp/Viber – Due to security reasons (as touted by Nokia developers) the user is not able to upload pics or...  

Build quality 7/10
Reception 6/10 due to odd position of antenna, the reception drops drastically while browsing internet.
Call quality 7/10 Phone hangs considerably while calling.
Internet 5/10 on IE. How good can it be, we all better know.
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10 Lags and usually kills the app on its own. Wake up the phone with Whatsapp running inside and you will get the feel of - the lag.
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10 Good. Is well readable in sunlight.
Battery 7/10 battrey is good and lasts a day. Consider that there is nothing to do on this phone.

Pros

  • camera is good

Cons

  • only camera is good

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Laura4cake
posted on 14 May 2014, 16:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 May 2014)

9

Nokia Lumia 520 Review

Laura4cake has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I only got this phone a few days ago but I'm very impressed with it. The only main drawback that I've encountered so far and have been quite disappointed about is that it's very tedious to make music playlists and there isn't a way of managing these playlists once they've been created. But, the rest of the phone is pretty good for it's price.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • Creating playlists is difficult and tedious.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

windowssmiler
posted on 02 May 2014, 17:49 (Posts: 7; Member since: 25 Feb 2014)

9

It is a quite good low end phone

windowssmiler has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Lumia 520 changed my mind and my opinion towards windowsphone as it is a cheap phone and is very good compared to its price. With windowsphone 8.1 it is altered completely to a better phone in my opinion Nokia has made a great job with this phone

Build quality 10/10 The phone dropped from many times in dangerous situations and hasnot any small scratch
Reception 10/10 The phone is very smooth and easy
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 lag of the flash and has small lags
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 not the best but is quite good
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • 8gb is quite good
  • windowsphone 8.1 is very good
  • different colours avaliable
  • micro sd card slot

Cons

  • no flash
  • no front facing camera
  • small battery

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ahmed.gm108
posted on 02 May 2014, 01:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Jan 2014)

8

nice smartphone and it's not expensive

ahmed.gm108 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I like the display and typing style and useful applications and easly OS and the camera is very good but it's not good in darkness because no flash and i think it will be more useful if it had 1GB of ram and flash and no front camera and no 4G support and it has a fast internet browser and the build quality is very good i rate this phone 8/10

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • fast processor
  • good typing
  • good display
  • good build quality
  • good battery
  • fast internet browser

Cons

  • 512 MB of Ram
  • no LED Flash
  • no front camera
  • no 4G support

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hazem.Hadid
posted on 28 Jan 2014, 17:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jan 2014)

10

nice phone

Hazem.Hadid has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

nice phone its better than iPhone 4 and same iPhone 4S its have nice touch screen and nice OS (Windows Phone ) but have 512 MB of ram you cant download new game but you can download this big game ( Six-Guns , Asphlat 8 : air brone .......) the phone not have system error and have 5 MP from the past i have nokia c5-03 the camera 5 MP i see my old phone camera better than lumia 520 camera but in first time now i see the camera same 8 MP symbian phone old nokia (X7-00) C6-01 ........... but i love my lumia and i hope to buy the monster lumia 1520

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • very fast
  • nice touch screen
  • better than Iphone 4
  • WP OS the best

Cons

  • 512MB Ram

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NationGuettaTR
posted on 21 Jan 2014, 06:59 (Posts: 36; Member since: 28 Dec 2013)

8

User Experience of Nokia Lumia 520 RM-914

NationGuettaTR has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

build quality is : Quite enough but not super
Internet : IE 10 still crap.
Multimedia : Not so bad not so good
Camera : So bad. Sorry
Text Input : In my language (Turkish) it's so hard to type anything.
Display : IPS LCD excellent but too low resolution

Build quality 5/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 5/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Dual-Core processor with cheap price
  • Smooth UI
  • 235ppi
  • 720P HD video recording
  • Offline GPS
  • 4.0" IPS screen

Cons

  • 512 Mb RAM
  • Low screen resolution
  • Old GPU
  • Very small screen (should be at least 4.3")
  • Very low apps/app compabilty
  • Doesn't get much support from Microsoft or Nokia
  • 8 gb (5.6 user available) is too low, at least it needed 16 gb version
  • Lacks file explorer
  • WP8 OS (Still in beta form and unusable for most people)

NationGuettaTR alternatives:

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kaloyan98
posted on 17 Jan 2014, 11:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jan 2014)

10

lumia 520

kaloyan98 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Lumia 520 is my first phone with Windows. Before the Lumia I had android and actually I like the Lumia more .... The OS is really good , I wasn't sure should I have to buy Windows phone or Android and I'm glad I made this choice. The phone is really fast thanks to the dual core processor and there is no problems or lags with playing every game or to run app ... everything is running good , fast and without lag. The screen is perfect size and the colors are awesome. The camera make amazing videos in HD and the photos are pretty good too :). Really good call quality.
Battery is good enough for me. I can earn one they with one charging, but I play a lot of games and I'm using many apps and having 10-20 calls for the day so I guess it's good .... I think the phone is the best on that price , and you won't be disappointed if you buy it for sure ! :) ow , and It's one of the best looking phones for me :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • The display is great
  • Good call quality
  • Low price
  • Fast processor

Cons

  • The battery could be better
  • It is not possible to set your music for ringtone

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

leon234
posted on 18 Dec 2013, 22:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2013)

9

quality phone

leon234 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone has really nothing wrong with it apart from it hasn't got a LED flash light but that does not matter, another thing i would say i didn't like was the app store there are really no very known games but i cant knock it because of that.This phone will last if you use it properly. A great thing about the phone is that it is at a very low cost for what it is worth.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 i can get great reception and most of my family don't get it where i live.The text go straight through so fast it unbelievable for a 3g phone.
Call quality 10/10 i dont really know about the calling because i never hardly rang any one but when i did i could hear them clear.
Internet 10/10 the internet was great i could change it to computer form or keep it in phone form,it was quick and didn't crash at all.
Multimedia 9/10 the music was great and loud the louder i played it the tinnyer it got that was playing it out loud.It was easy to use.Great short cuts to get to the music.
Camera 10/10 the camera is superb it takes great shots even though it is 5mp and you can get panorama as a app which works on the phone fine
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10 it was great and i could rely on it for the day,
Text input 10/10 really easy to text on and people where getting my text really fast, i would get a text back saying man u text fast
Display 9/10 really nice and clear but sometimes to hard to read text ect out side in the sun.The brighter you have the phone the clearer the screen is.
Battery 9/10 got me through a full day and a half,but if I needed it and was using it the whole day i would have to charge it up almost every night

Pros

  • great camera
  • cheap price
  • colorfull
  • great strorage
  • sd card slot
  • easy to use
  • clear screen
  • texting is easy
  • you can make it personal
  • keep the kids entertained in kids corner

Cons

  • not the best appstore
  • the screen gets scratches but not big scratches and can be repaired with a screen protector

leon234 alternatives:

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Price-Hunt
posted on 23 Nov 2013, 07:11 (Posts: 5; Member since: 23 Nov 2013)

7

Awesome phone. Its no less than any Android phone

Price-Hunt has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

before buying it, I was also confused regarding buying windows or android OS phone. I thought to Right this review to kill the wrong myth spreading regarding windows phones and Nokia Lumia:-#You can share Photos, videos, Music via Bluetooth. Apps are coming. We now have Temple Run 1 in WP store, so its sure we will get updates from that developer. 4"'screen, 5 MP camera. Front Facing VGA camera for Video calling needs
This phone is awesome, and will not disappoint you in any case except mentioned above. Highly Recommended, worth every penny you invest. enjoy
For lowest price, have a look at http://www.price-hunt.com/mobiles/nokia-lumia-520.​php

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • budget friendly

Cons

  • no secondary camera
  • It has no LED flash for camera, hence bad pictures in low light.

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Pritam015
posted on 12 Aug 2013, 01:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Aug 2013)

9

Cheap but Good win phone 8

Pritam015 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

must buy it.....who need it.....in budget
there are many hidden features.....u will know it..
if the ram could be 1gb then it would rock..the apps..
its good for daily usage.......its batry backup is a bit more than pther lumia phones..

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • good pixel density
  • hd video support

Cons

  • No front camera
  • no compass

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karnamkotil
posted on 29 Jul 2013, 04:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Jun 2013)

9

A very good phone for its price

karnamkotil has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Lumia 520 is a Good. Considering its rate, it offers a lot than other phone.
What i Liked -
1. Design - Looks & Feel so classy
2. Good Music System
3. Fast processor and awsome surfing experience (With 3G data plan)
4. Covers all the basic Apps which is required on adaily basis. (No need crib on Google PLay)
5. Here Maps is fast and accurate
6. Light in weight
Cons OR the Features i want to add ---
1. No FM
2. No LED notification lights
3. No GTalk (U can use it via NimBuzz)
Overall, the Pros r more than the Cons :)
5.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Lumia 520 is a Good. Considering its rate, it offers a lot than other phone. What i Liked - 1. Design - Looks & Feel so classy 2. Good Music System 3. Fast processor and awsome surfing experience (With 3G data plan) 4. Covers all the basic Apps which is required on adaily basis. (No need crib on Google PLay) 5. Here Maps is fast and accurate 6. Light in weight

Cons

  • 1. No FM 2. No LED notification lights 3. No GTalk (U can use it via NimBuzz)

karnamkotil alternatives:

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wolverinexmen9
posted on 02 Jul 2013, 23:30 (Posts: 85; Member since: 31 Mar 2011)

8

Nokia Lumia 520

wolverinexmen9 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bought this phone for my father for father's day. He's still getting use to it. He hasn't had that much time to play with it yet. But so far he likes it. This is his first smart phone. My father and I are both new to Windows phones and the interface. T-mobile is asking $150 full price. I found it $25 cheaper online. Most of the time you get for what you pay for but with this phone that's not the case. You get more from this phone than you do on an android phone at the same price. 5mp camera, 4 inch screen, and Windows 8. I'm not going to list everything it has. You can read the specs page for that. But for details from our experience... If you have big fingers the keyboard is tricky to use. Auto correct is very useful. There is one type of keyboard and that's it. No swype. I don't know if you can download other keyboards from the market, haven't tried yet. Market place doesn't have every app android and Apple have but that's only because Windows wants their apps to be bug free. Calling is pretty good. Internet browsing has a little lag but it's still good to use. You need to be in some type of light to take pictures with the camera. No flash makes it impossible to take pictures. But with auto focus and brightness, it's takes some pretty detailed pictures. No lag in phone it's self. I heard you couldn't see this device in direct sunlight. Not true! Where we live we get LOTS of sunlight and the phone has auto brightness and yes you can see it in direct sunlight. (Tip: you can use...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Great price!
  • Large Screen (not too big, not too small)
  • Great out door usage
  • No lagging (that I can see)

Cons

  • Keyboard could be built better
  • No flash
  • No front facing camera
  • 8gb is a little low for now days

71 out of 75 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories