x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia E5 User Reviews

9 Based on 16 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia8.8/10
Internet9.1/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery9.2/10
Reception9.3/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality9/10
Text input9.2/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed8.1/10
Camera8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

vafamostaan
posted on 19 Apr 2013, 01:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Apr 2013)

8

many cars Squished my E5

vafamostaan has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Hi, i have dropped it an 8 cars went on it with one front wheel and one rear wheel,, and i just had a broken LCD,,, and in that time it could be turned on... honestly it was wonderful.. and by spending 15 dollars i had my phone back in my pocket...really amazing

Build quality 10/10 Hi, BCZ i have dropped it an 8 cars went on it with one front wheel and one rear wheel,, and i just had a broken LCD,,, and in that time it could be turned on... honestly it was wonderful..
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

eisenbricher
posted on 05 Sep 2012, 06:53 (Posts: 970; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

9

Awesome business phone for young employees

eisenbricher has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

After using this phone for 6 months I totally affirm that this is an awesome phone. The software glitches, as posted in earlier reviews, looks like nokia has addressed them in later software update. With the latest update this phone runs smooth, UI speed is improved. I've never, never seen a moment where music player skipped due to heavy load of otehr apps. And I assure you that I'm a heavy phone user. Tested with 15 apps running in the b/g and still it goes strong. Also I have a memory card loaded with 7GB worth songs, but music player runs really well.

One of more interesting aspects I've seen is that, when you plug in a standard 3.5mm earphone it asks whether it's a headphone, line-out or music stand. Selecting 'Line Out' will boost up the volume by arounf 200%, without any degrading. Pretty usable in case of quiter earphones/headphones.

Battery life is average compared to other Nokias, but pretty much higher than standard android smartphones. Build quiality is awesome too, I simply love the steel back panel.

On the software side nokia covers up nearly all essentials. Quickoffice, maps, exchange mail client are the additional premium flavours of Nokia. It's been quite a while since this phone is launched but I still recommend it. This phone is worth it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Good battery life
  • Nice sound quility
  • Nice still camera

Cons

  • Somewhat slower UI
  • Screen resolution
  • Poor video capture (at 15 fps)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Crazyman77
posted on 24 Jun 2012, 10:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Jun 2012)

8

Really?

Crazyman77 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone sucks. I have had to send it off three times because it keeps freezing up on me. this last time was O.S probs. it said not enough memory delite stuff off of C: phone memory, Well there was nothing on C; not to mention it always flashes. yeah after three times im DONE

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • over all its okay tough lil phone gets good service and reception its built good but OS sucks

Cons

  • freezing issues, slow loading

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mhzmask
posted on 30 Dec 2011, 01:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Dec 2011)

9

Critical Review Of Nokia E5-00

mhzmask has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I went through so much of *cheesy* and *good-best* category of comments on this mobile and i thought its quite a biased opinion because "if i own it, doesn't make this mobile the best"
So, had an idea to give this one a hard time by mentioning the dark side of the phone.

Dark Corners:
1. The Nokia E5-00 software starts hanging when you use the any other application along with music player. Its like if you have opened Messaging and Music Player is running in back ground, then using the default task manager if you switch to Music player it take pretty noticeable time and in the mean while the phone hangs. This lagging time could range from 4 seconds to 6 seconds

2. The battery life of the mobile isn't good at all. If you use the mobile for WLAN purpose the time figure decrease more significantly. Beside the starting months when everything appears to be so new, after using the phone for a couple of months the battery life exists for not more than one and a half day, this figure is upon the basis of using the mobile for texting and calling only. If you start browsing using WLAN or listen to tunes by Music Player the figure is even smaller

3. The browser doesn't support video playing i.e. flash. Although you have YOUTUBE application by default on the phone to run videos from youtube but for me YOUTUBE isn't the only source of videos there are many other sites as well and in this respect the phone lacks

4. The HOME and MESSAGING dedicated keys are not mounted properly and as of...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • For further information about Nokia E5-00 or any other phone of any brand... you can contact me at ....

Cons

mhzmask alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

eng.maem
posted on 14 Dec 2011, 10:13 (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Dec 2011)

9

E5 is wow!!

eng.maem has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Nokia E5 is a good phone for calls and SMSs in addition to a good 5MP camera and a not bad internet.
As engineer I need it for work and also for fun with friends.
About its battery I personally find it a great one long life.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10 the music speaker is not pure and need more support.
Camera 8/10 need resolution variety like 16:9 ratio in addition to 4:3
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 very comfortable QWERTY keypad , easy & fast.
Display 8/10 Nokia E5 is 256K color, if 16M color it will be a super resolution.
Battery 10/10 good battery on the range of 6 to 4 days according to your usage

Pros

  • 1. Good battery, that is what I personally seek up to 6 days life.
  • 2. QWERTY keypad.
  • 3. Shape and colors.

Cons

  • 1. Multimedia need more support
  • 2. Games and applications
  • 3. Up and down side music button is so hard

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

e5fan
posted on 06 Nov 2011, 01:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Nov 2011)

8

Everything is good, infact great! firstly signal strneght, next the smartness of this smartphone, it is really smart, and not just a smartphone for being able to connect to the internet like some other brands in market

e5fan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Compared of prices to other phones offering same features, this Nokia phone is way ahead in terms of value for money
A truly smart phone! I was using a smartphone for about 2-3 years now, but never got the kind of result that nokia E5 is giving me! My earlier smartphone was smart for namesake, just that it had a undpendable, and poorly performing internet access facility. I can say with conviction, that this phone can replace a laptop when on the go and travelling, it truly is similar to wokring on a laptop when comes to emails, and basic surfing. No complaints about Symbian, I find the OS extrememly performant, the response time to the user commands is mind blowingly fast (atleast compared to my older Samsung Corby pro). The email app is kick ass, i honestly feel that i wont take out my laptop just to check emails, or surf something on the internet, this phone does that for you. But afterall it is a phone, and its screen size cant match that of a laptop, neither can the RAM size, etc, and the feature richness that all these allow, so thats the only thing that I feel stops me from saying that this is a laptop replacement.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Everything is good, infact great! firstly signal strneght, next the smartness of this smartphone, it is really smart, and not just a smartphone for being able to connect to the internet like some other brands in market

Cons

  • Volume controle is slightly uncomfortable
  • Video calls not possible, no frontal camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

varund9290
posted on 08 Aug 2011, 10:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Aug 2011)

9

Review

varund9290 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am a fan of NOKIA so i bought this phone plus i didnt have any options of any other phone with a keyboard in this budget.I love the multitasking on the phone.
Nokia should provide more apps n also improve the current 'Facebook' APP as it lacks CHAT.
THIS PHONE IS VALUE FOR MONEY.

Build quality 8/10 IT COULD HAVE BEEN 9-10 IF IT HAD MORE METAL
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10 THE BEST
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10 AMAZING KEYBOARD
Display 8/10 IT SHOULD HAVE HAD 16M COLORS DISPLAY
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Battery Life
  • Speed
  • Multitasking

Cons

  • Plastic Body
  • Volume Rocker
  • NO FRONT FACING CAMERA

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

faraaz
posted on 22 Jun 2011, 03:45

10

nokia E5

faraaz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

the email functionality is good...bestthe phone has excellent features wid cheap price...email box functionality is gud...camera wid auto focus has bettr image quality wid flash on video recording...long battery stand by wid power saving mode...gps...internet surfing is fast...processor speed is gud...overall its a bst smart phone... :)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HTTP404
posted on 12 Jun 2011, 06:27

9

Solid and functional phone with an excellent battery life

HTTP404 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone is relatively thin and fits comfortably in your pocket without looking too obtrusive. Nice curved corners. Metal rear battery cover and a nice solid feel to it.
The keyboard, small though it is, feels very nice to use.
There's no T9 interpretive text. The option would be nice.
OK. Symbian as a mobile OS is not the most intuitive and looks dated when compared to the likes of android and iphone. If you can accept this then what you get is a workhorse of a phone. It may not have a lot of bells and whistles, it may lack some subtleties and nuances but what it does - it does well.
It integrated with my web mail seamlessly. It runs facebook and various instant messenger applications with ease. I should also mention the fact Nokia provide these phones with OVI Maps - there GPS navigation free of charge. You can download additional maps from the Nokia site for free. As far as I'm concerned this application is superior in use to the google offering. It just works a lot better in the real-world.
Other excellent applications I've been using are Endomondo and Sportstracker for my running and cycling activities.
Internet browsing is never going to be great on a screen this size. And input is provided only by keyboard navigation. An altogether different experience - if you want a touch screen - but then again you knew that already. Right?
Incidently, Opera browser runs well on this phone.
Battery life is exceptionally good for a smartphone. Refreshing!!

Build quality 9/10 Nice keyboard. A solid feeling phone.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10 Keyboard navigation is not ideal but works well. Opera browser works well.
Multimedia 8/10 Good quality sound from the speakers.
Camera 7/10 5MP but fixed focus.
UI speed 7/10 Every now and then - seems a little unresponsive.
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10 Small screen. Not too good in bright light. But otherwise nice.
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Excellent battery life,

Cons

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hbhk786
posted on 09 May 2011, 11:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 May 2011)

9

superb phone for such a low price!!!!!

hbhk786 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

gr8 business phone with nice built body smooth to handle it.it has good call clarity..gr8 battery life.....faster internet browsing with wifi/3g/edge.....qwerty keypad for fast typing.........good pics with 5mp cam and average video recording......
excellent phone on the go...........recommmend to anyone.......

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • good battery life
  • good 3g/internet phone
  • good call clarity

Cons

  • no secondary camera,difficult for video call

hbhk786 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jastud_21
posted on 24 Apr 2011, 21:14

10

First Smartphone - Excellent!!

Jastud_21 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have been using this phone for 1 month, and can't seem to put it down, even when i am at home. This happens to be my first Smartphone, and it very SMART!! So many features, and everything works! Battery life is dependable, as i can go 2 and 1/2 days without charging. Camera is average, but it is 5MP, so no complaints. Pictures are detailed, once you take them during the days. I could go on and on about this phone.!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything on this phone is PHENOMENAL! I have had this for a month, and have done Firmware upgrade once, and it is a very very Stable Phone. l Love IT!!!

Cons

  • Camera is average, but once you get the hang of it, Picture taking with this phone is a Breeze.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

deeeeeeeeeeejay
posted on 24 Mar 2011, 00:13

10

Excellent phone to hang on

deeeeeeeeeeejay has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

this phone is solid, packs a lot of features, gCan be use as a all in one gadget (camera, mini computer, mp3 pl The battery lifetime is very long. The camera quality is average, but do the job pretty well. The built in apps (quick office, PDF, Zip, Ovi maps for free etc.) and the IBM Lotus and Microsoft Exchange support, are that i need for my bussines purposes!!ayer).reat battery ni

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • every thing is good

Cons

  • nothing

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

technologicalme
posted on 11 Mar 2011, 06:56

10

all A smartphone needs to be packed with

technologicalme has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

a phone which is the bEsT for everyday usage and its call clarity is good text input is faster
this phone has everything which a SMARTPHONE really needs
it is a phone which i will recommend
nokia is creating phones which are really really good and have the capability to serve better
HATS OFF NOKIA...

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • awesome build quality
  • awesome UI
  • awesome data transfer speeds
  • AWESOME

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MiChi
posted on 05 Dec 2010, 12:43

9

Superb smartphone

MiChi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very complete mobile telephone. Εxcellent built quality and very good ergonomy. The battery lifetime is very long. The camera quality is average, but do the job pretty well. The built in apps (quick office, PDF, Zip, Ovi maps for free etc.) and the IBM Lotus and Microsoft Exchange support, are that i need for my bussines purposes!!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery, QWERTY keybord, the amount of RAM, CPU, solid built

Cons

  • no accelerometer sensor, no video call

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gerald
posted on 04 Dec 2010, 16:44

8

A mini computer on the go

Gerald has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Used it for 2 days and still learning other features like using gps and map plotting. Good for mp3 storage and I put more than 100 songs that is enough for me to be entertained while traveling.

Good internet equipment, fast browsing if there are good Wi - Fi 3G connection.

Can be use as a all in one gadget (camera, mini computer, mp3 player).

It can lighten my backpacking trips.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Can be an all in one gadget
  • Good for internet browsing

Cons

  • Hard to find camera settings to lower down shutter sound volume level
  • camera no autofocus

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

arsalan zaffar
posted on 09 Oct 2010, 15:54

8.7

good phone

this phone is solid, packs a lot of features, great battery lifei rate it 9 out of 10! it is missing autofocus and its head phones are not so great, but with a 3.5mm jack my ipod head phones sound great.. will recommend to anyone

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • solid built
  • lots of features
  • great battery
  • fast processing

Cons

  • no autofocus
  • head phones not good quality

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories