x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia E52 User Reviews

8.2 Based on 16 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia7/10
Internet7.3/10
Call quality8/10
Battery9.7/10
Reception8/10
Display8.3/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input5.3/10
Everyday usage6.3/10
UI speed6.3/10
Camera6.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

bawsnx
posted on 03 Jul 2012, 07:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jul 2012)

7

Not bad,neither good

bawsnx has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had this phone for about 2 weeks. The classic design is extremely nice, although I do not understand why would they release both a standard and a querty keypad unit. The qwerty is definetly superior.
The display is looking good ,rather small though. Still ,I found the colors pretty bright .
As most symbian units, it is quite laggy. I experienced slight lag on menu,camera,even when accesing contacts. However ,it is not that bad ,and you can get the hang of it.
Camera is good for it's capabilities,audio is average,and I find it a bit overpriced.
Overall,this phone clearly has a targeted market - bussines. The 600Mhz processor can handle most situations,but do not expect lighting fast speed.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10 default browser is very slow
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • good build quality

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Leostaley
posted on 02 Apr 2012, 14:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Apr 2012)

6

Texting unresponsive

Leostaley has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I got this phone because it has a music player and a physical numeric keypad for texting. The music player doesn't detect all the songs, for no apparent reason. if you tell it to refresh, it may randomly find more songs, it might lose some. The texting is unusably slow- if you type faster than the phone can handle, it just skips your letter. This is basically anything more than 2 keys per second.

I don't care about any other great things this phone might have. It is worthless to me.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 2/10 I bought this phone because I prefer a 9 button keypad for text entry. I type very quickly, but the phone isn't able to keep up. if i type "this" as rapidly as most phones can handle, it misses the h and the s. But If you're not a texter, this phone is for you.
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • lots of great things i guesss

Cons

  • slow text entry,
  • bad music player

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Obi Wan Nokia
posted on 22 Nov 2010, 02:02

9

Great Phone!!!

Obi Wan Nokia has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This really is a grea phone. I had wanted it badly for almost a year before I upgraded from E51/Samsung Galaxy Spica this past September.
It offers great quality of basic cell phone functionality (what is not that obvious with other smartphones). Sound quality is great, messaging very intuitive, the keypad is a pleasure to type on.
Nokia, however in general, is lagging behind other manufacturers in terms of.. yes... marketing. Hardly anyone knows, that without any additional downloads, this phone is a massive support in office/bussines applications.
The Ovi Maps Navigation - requires some time before you get used to the menu structure, but overall this is much better in terms of effectivness that most of the competitors out there.
Multimedia-wise, this was never meant to be a trend setter, that is why its relatively poor camera is not much of a dissapointment. It does definitely lack the auto focus feature and macro .
The sound quality while listening to music, is just... GREAT!!! When plugged to a large creative 4.1 speaker set it turns into an extremely effective music centre. I must admitt, I'm amazed.

The one thing that I find slightly annoying is the quality of the rear lid (battery cover). Despite that the phone is a nice thing to hold in my hands, and definitely very proctical to use.

Build quality 9/10 It gets 9/10 only because of the battery cover.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 The original speaker required replacement. Ever since the quality is superb.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 It is just great for a office/business phone.
Camera 7/10 Business phone, I know. But still, NOT incorporating the AF function into the camera. Come on, Nokia...
UI speed 10/10 Absolutely flawless!!!! Amazing!!!! Even with multiple applications running in the background. I only miss the "close application" option in the multitasking menu. I can only choose the application and the close it using its own interface, unlike in previous edition (E51), where you could easily shut down any application from the multitasking menu.
Everyday usage 9/10 The calendar lacks the "multiple reminders" option for most of the events. It would be nice if it could remind me of, say, a meeting a week before, so I can brief my boss, a day before, so I can make final arrangements, and half an hour before, so I can leave me office early enough.
Text input 8/10 The keypad is great. T9 - it should be, as a standard, not an option, open to incorporating user defined words from a text file installed via Ovi Suite. The dictionary, in terms of number of words, is lagging behing the dictionary available with the latest edition of Swype, for example.
Display 10/10 For an office phone with an alph-numeric keypad it's just GREAT. 2,4" inch is just enough, even for editting large MS Office files.
Battery 9/10 Nokia prides itself on offering unprecedented and unsurpassed stand-by time. Which is true. In a way. The announce the Li-Poly battery as the most long lasting batter in the industry. This may be true. They only "forget" to inform us, that for a while now, they have been putting a Li-Ion battery into the device. Stand-by time is not much lower, but the talking time gets reduced from 6-8 hrs to 4-5 hrs. I'm happy with the battery life. But I feel... misled. Shame on you, Nokia!

Pros

  • Call quality
  • Text input
  • Speeeed!!!
  • Multitasking. Intuitive, not affecting the overall speed
  • Sound quality. Both during calls and in multimedia applications
  • Build quality

Cons

  • Camera w/o autofocus
  • Battery cover - not in line with the overall build quality and device's style

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 22:07

10

Last week I bought this mobile, I have been Nokia fan since I entered into the mobile world and I have used nearly 6 mobiles excluding E52.Pros:-----1. Well built,sleek and numeric keys are big enough where you don't have to see it to press it, and as for E series goes metallic case is a regular one.2. Screen is big enough to check emails and surf internet and doesn't fade out in bright sunshine. in fact I can see the text even in light colored themes.3. wiFi and 3g does its job4. Battery backup is good, It lasted for 4 days with out getting dried-out completely (an hour call a day and few sms with an hour of surfing internet per day)5. you can charge the mobile using data card, how cool is that.6. Menu and functions works as it should, doesn't showed any bump while using it, even I activated theme effects but did not see any slowness apart from the theme fading style (its default ;))Cons:-----1. Loud speaker volume is low (Not very much)2. The two softkeys left and right are barely visible and when you try to press it you will end up hitting function keys (mail and home)3. Battery cover appears to be bit lose, you can feel it wobbles when you type sms by holding the back panel. though you will barely feel it.4. 3.2 mp cam is not giving results as expected but again it is a business phone :DOver all, it is recommended for the one who hates touch screen and qwerty like me and wants all the functionality of a smartphone. E52 is your good bet. it is VFM product.For those who needs...  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 21:54

9.7

 I have this phone for the last 6 month (used one) but superb one. I droped it twice but still seems to be good. Cool features for the price and nokia always the best and user friendly. Wifi is nice and works perfect. only disadvantage its very fragile and too sleeky. for me everything is good in this handset except less phone memory and average cam. I love it.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • MS office editor
  • Excellent connectivity
  • Excellent music player
  • Nokia messaging push email for free
  • Nokia maps GPS for free
  • Excellent battery life

Cons

  • Slim form factor
  • Memory

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:59

9.7

I like its performance.
1. Very huge very great battery timing not seen before any Nokia cell.
2. Slim and very easy to hold.
3. Back panel is very nice.
4. Nice look.
5.600 MHz 128 ram.
6. New os Symbian OS, S60 rel. 3.2.
7. Very very nice sound.
8.3.2 Camera is not so good but normal.
9. Easy to use keypad.
10. Golden Aluminium color have killer look.
11.3g, wifi, and many more. So it has all features like e72 but better then e72.candy bar shape is more comfortable. In this price u have all new and nice features. Great job nokia.go for it.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:52

9.7

The phone is an absolute gem.I have white aluminium color of E52it is very good in performance,the 600 mhz processor is great but works slowly in gallery,real player is better than video center for playing videoscamera is great and you better not hear peoples zerto pert

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • MS office editor
  • Very comfortable keypad
  • Excellent music player
  • Nokia maps GPS for free
  • Excellent battery life
  • Nokia messaging push email for free
  • Slim form factor
  • Excellent connectivity

Cons

  • the only problem with the phone is its ram. it is only approx 50 mb.if u will open more applications like opera mobile and fring the application will close in auto due to lack of ram.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:45

2.3

The E52 is a piece of junk.

I have owned Nokias since 1995 upgrading about once a year (probably 15 phones over the years).

SETTING UP EMAIL ACCOUNTS

E52 Email accounts are v difficult to set up - requiring extensive googling to force a workaround compared to E51.

REPLYING TO EMAILS NOT POSSIBLE OUTSIDE DATA COVERAGE AREAS

The E51 mail client allowed me to download Emails directly from my POP server, and also choose how much of the email to download by truncating large mails - great if you are in limited bandwidth / connectivity areas (I frequently spend time in the bush with little or no data coverage, and like to be able to download batches of Emails when I briefly get into coverage areas, and then respond to emails off-line or out of data coverage areas. I have been using the Think Outside bluetooth keyboard synced to the E51 and previously the N series to compose sometimes lengthy Email responses for work).

With the E52, Nokia appears to be trying to copy the Blackberry email server service - but failing miserably. WITH E52 I AM NOT ABLE TO REPLY TO AN EMAIL BEFORE THE PHONE HAS DOWNLOADED THE WHOLE MESSAGE. IE I AM NOT ABLE TO REPLY TO A LARGE EMAIL UNLESS I AM IN A DATA COVERAGE AREA. With v limited data speeds and several hundred emails a day several of which are over 1 meg, this situation renders the E52 completely unusable for Emails (whereas the E51 handled this situation perfectly - I could respond to all Emails offline, place reply emails in the outbox and the...  

Design 5/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

0 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:43

9

im using e52 for past 2 mnths.. Its internet speed is exceptional... Its got speed more than e71 & even n97....!!! But i am dissappointed with its speaker. Its not giving much pleasure during playback... but as a browsing phone, e52 is surely reliable. Its video streaming speed is wonderful. Downloading is also very very fast. Battery backup is also a plus point, im getting minimum 1week of backup even im using internet daily .. Light weight and super sleek design makes this phone more interesting..

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:42

9.7

To any one who is planning to buy this great device, I advise that you should not fear about the negative comments that you may see here, but rather try out the device for yourself. Having had one for the last 1 week am well pleased with it, though the first few days it had really disappointed me by switching itself off, only because I had no experience of plugging in the earphones. One cannot fail to realise the power of this machine, especially the 600mhz is working great. The screen is large enough to allow me read my class notes via adobe reader and quick office. There is a lot I can say, but we should never forget there is no device that can perform to our complete satisfaction, all in all Nokia E52 is a great phone and I don't regret having invested in it as a Finance student.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • -MS office editor
  • - Excellent connectivity
  • - Excellent music player
  • - Nokia messaging push email for free
  • - Nokia maps GPS for free
  • - Excellent battery life
  • - Slim form factor
  • - Very comfortable keypad

Cons

  • Loudspeaker is not quite load

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:39

5

nokia e52 sucks!!
i bought this phone last november 2009, unfortunately after 2 months, january 2010, it shutdown by itself and i cannot open it any more, fortunately it was under warranty so i brought it to a nokia care center and they found out that the problem was the main board so they have to replace it and i was thankfull that after 2 weeks of repair, my phone was good as new.i thought my problem was over but until june 2010, after 5 months from the initial repair, it happens again, shutdown by it self, cannot open, bring the unit to a nokia care center and the problem was the main board again!!!!!so before the warranty expires on november 2010, i decided to sell the unit at a very low price....

so please think twice before buying this unit, nokia e52!!

Design 5/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:37

8.7

bought this phone a month back. Got the car kit free with it. I was confused which one to buy, b/w the X6-16 GB & the E52. Now i am very very happy to say i made a wise decision. Here are its Pros & Cons:

Pros:
1. Amazing Battery - Charging once in 3 days (3 hrs of music, 2 hrs of Streaming Wi-Fi , 2-3 hrs of calls per day, etc.)
2. Zippy Processor, great for Multi tasking.
3. Excellent voice clarity.
4. GPS is very good & Voice guided turn-by-turn navigation is excellent.
5. Great business features-configured 5 email accounts, open/edit office 2007 docs easily & PDF, Zip files too.
6. Sturdy body construction.
7. Shortcut keys are very handy.
8. Bundled web browser is very good for flash support.

Cons:
1. Camera is average. So is the Video recording.
2. Bundled headphones are a letdown.
3. Minor s/w glitches, though none of them are show-stoppers. Did not experience shutdowns.
4. No FM Recording/Transmitter.
5. Loudspeaker lets out high treble notes & lacks the bass punch.
6. Camera flash not too bright.
7. Exposed Micro-USB slot.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:36

8.7

E52 is a great phone particularly if using on the VOIP capabilities. It is great in using skype, nimbuzz and talkonaut. It does not heat up while using 3G-talk at two VOIP's like talkonaut and Nimbuzz as they are opened together at the same time. But the battery cannot withstand more two hours if using both of these VOIP's on 3G-talk. If using talkonaut alone, it can sustain the talking at more or less 3 hours. In terms of web browsing, I found it inconvenient especially when I press the back key since what transpired is merely the preview of the previous which is in m=no way readable. And I believe this is one of the let-downs of any symbian OS. I am also disappointed that it has only a very limited internal memory at 60mb which restricts me to uploading such a variable applications available on-line. I am also disappointed to the fring developer because they developed a Voip capabilities which are in conflict with other VOIP's available out there like skype, nimbuzz, fi-call, octrotalk, smartvoip and the like which all of these features the VOIPSRV version 1.0. Overall, I am greatly satisfied with this device since I am for using this for is VOIP features with remarkable results!

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • GPS is very good & Voice guided turn-by-turn navigation is excellent.
  • MS office editor
  • Excellent connectivity
  • Excellent music player
  • Nokia messaging push email for free

Cons

  • Exposed Micro-USB slot
  • Camera is average

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:31

8.7

The phone is an absolute gem
- MS office editor
- Excellent connectivity
- Excellent music player
- Nokia messaging push email for free
- Nokia maps GPS for free
- Excellent battery life
- Slim form factor
- Very comfortable keypad
I think that this phone gives you more than what you paid for it especially if you compare it with the much more expensive SE with the same specs & features
Loudspeaker is not quite load... Even in maximum volume

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 09:25

9.3

 Very interesting package, which makes energy its trump card: super compact size (subtlety is the record) to the functions designed specifically for business users and users of midrange, every detail points to the concreteness and practicality. Whats coolest about the phone is that it gives you 8 hrs of talk time in such a slim form factor. 

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Very thin feature rich mobile
  • battery life
  • 3G+WiFi

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tarek Saleh
posted on 14 Oct 2009, 08:07

8.7

Great Phone

This is my first ever Nokia phone as im a Sony Ericsson fan.The E52 really surprised me with how fast it reacts and the great battery life.The GPS system is user friendly and dose not need much time to get used to.Shortcut keys are very practical and you can change it to really facilitate your experience with the phone.It could use some notification sounds at the start and end of call connection when the headset is connected.Usage of the camera flash as an emergency light would have been a useful addition.------------------------------I think that this phone gives you more than what you paid for it specially if you compare it with the much more expensive SE with the same specs & features

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

53 out of 62 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories