x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 6300 User Reviews

8 Based on 29 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Text input7/10
Build quality8.3/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed6/10
Camera5.3/10
Multimedia5.7/10
Internet2.7/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery6.3/10
Display8.7/10
Reception7.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

gytisxp
posted on 07 Aug 2013, 08:11

6

My experience with the Nokia 6300

gytisxp has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

In its time this phone was great. Good build quality, good screen and functionality but now there are multiple feature phones to chose from including the nokia asha`s and similar nokia phones tho it feels great in the hand and is still usable in the smartphone dominated market.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Good Screen
  • Small Size
  • Build of Metal

Cons

  • Scratches Easily

gytisxp alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

AhmedAlboraie
posted on 02 Apr 2011, 17:25

8

Very Simple ... Very Elegant

AhmedAlboraie has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

After 4 years of daily use, this phone still working without any problems. This stylish phone did not lose its elegance after all these years. It was the first Nokia with 16M colors screen.
The call quality is very good, and of course it depends on the carrier. It also has a good music player with 5-band equalizer. The sound quality of this phone is awesome that is better than other music phones.
I did not use internet that much, and I usually use Opera Mini which is pre-installed in this phone. So I guess the internet features are satisfying to me, although it may be very basic to others.
I like the OS Sembian 40 of Nokia. It is simple, easy and let the phone away from the problems of program installation and the possibility to be infected with viruses. but it my be slow when starting the music player, especially when the memory card has a large number of tracks. You also can easily find a lot of themes for this phone on the internet.
One of the major advantages for me is the timed profile setting, and also the missed notification light.
The camera is 2 MP without flash nor auto focus, but you can capture good pics especially in sunlight. For me it was satisfying. But the video recording is really bad.
The worst thing in this phone is the battery ... it won't last more than 2.5 days (Now it's 1.5 days). May be recharged after few hours if you were using Bluetooth or playing some games. It also won't let you use the camera if the battery is low.

Build quality 10/10 Excellent touch of simple elegance - very good finishing with stainless steel - strong built
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 5/10 Basic mobile web features
Multimedia 7/10 Good music player with 5-band eqalizer - Can't play folders
Camera 5/10 Basic 2 MP camera with acceptable quality - No Flash + Poor video recording in 3gp format
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10 one of the pioneers 16M colors screen
Battery 4/10 The worst thing in this phone... won't last more than 3 days. May be recharged after as few hours if you were using Bluetooth or playing some games

Pros

  • Elegant Design
  • Stainless Steel finishing
  • 16M colors Screen
  • Very good sound quality
  • Easy UI (Nokia's S40)
  • Notification Light

Cons

  • Battery Life (< 2.5 Days)
  • Limited internal memory (7.8 MB)
  • 2.5 mm Headphone
  • No Flash

AhmedAlboraie alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Daniel
posted on 05 Dec 2010, 09:34

7

Good everyday phone

Daniel has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It's a good, simple phone in terms of everyday use. Internet features and multimedia are obviously not that great, but given that it is a budget handset it's understandable. However, it achieves the basics very well - call quality is excellent, text messaging is easy, the UI is easy to navigate, battery life after two years is still long, the display is very colourful and bright and it's friendly on the pocket. Recommended.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 5/10 It's a 2 megapixel camera with no flash so you can't expect much.
UI speed 6/10 UI speed is good in most menus, however if a nearly-full MicroSD card is inserted, the phone will lag when turning on and using the camera.
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Clear call quality
  • Battery life
  • Easy to hold and pocket-friendly
  • User-friendly interface
  • Blue indicator lights on the side of the phone is a nice touch
  • Colourful, bright display

Cons

  • Average camera
  • Not much on-board memory
  • Lack of 3G (though it is only a budget phone)
  • 2.5mm headphone connector
  • Marks and scratches easily

Daniel alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

punisher
posted on 05 Jul 2009, 00:05

1.3

6300 bad phone

worst phone ever.nokia as usual very bad phone.

Design 1/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • cant use long time
  • all cons

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vinz_lcute
posted on 16 Mar 2009, 03:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Mar 2009)

7

i guess the phone is average... its good.. actually i used the phone for internet as well... its just dont play videos because flash player is not installed... if it has, i guess i would really love the phone more than anything  else like computer... user friendly, good music or sound, good quality of pictures... and very comfortable for handy... good... everything has its wickness....

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

robix_maccue
posted on 28 Jan 2009, 10:44

8.7

hi. I have this phone for about a year and half, and the materials of this phone are the best i have ever had.
problems that i have had:
- a little slow when the music player starts ( it gets locked for about 2 minutes )
- the camera has lost its quality, ( i think that's because I've opened the phone )
- the 2'5 mm entry has been damaged with the time, inserting the headphones a lot of times.
-and you shouldn't open the phone unless you want to see the dust in the screen...( too difficult to clean )
i just miss the flash. it could make the phone perfect.
 
saludos!

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • - no flash
  • -no wifi

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zisa
posted on 22 Jun 2008, 09:58

8.2

it heats up

nokia 6300 heats up.... provided that it is my hand that warmed it up,
won't the silicon or any chips of the phone be damaged?
im a bit cynical about it's heating up...
can anyone explain, and help remove my doubt?

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alex
posted on 21 Apr 2008, 21:09

10

STILL GREAT

Bruno, unless you are beduin in a desert who lives for months without electricity or anything else for that matter but camels, you don't need a phone that last more than 2 or 3 days on one abttery with average time. Think about!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bruno
posted on 21 Apr 2008, 15:35

7

Bad Battery Life

Alex:
"THE BATTERY IS GOOD! It last for a long time with the average talk time and texting. I do a lot of both, and the battery last at least 2 days."

2 days is good?, my 2 years old K310 have 6 days now (8 when new).

Design 9/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alex
posted on 21 Apr 2008, 09:48

10

Great phone!!!!!!!!

I recently purchased this phone. I was skeptical at first, after reading the things people wrote about battery life and it heating up. Now, let me dispute the myths.

THE PHONE DOES NOT HEAT UP! Your hand warms up the steel battery cover, not the battery.

THE BATTERY IS GOOD! It last for a long time with the average talk time and texting. I do a lot of both, and the battery last at least 2 days.

Other than that, the keys are ergonomic and ARE USER FRIENDLY!

This phone is perfect for those of us that need a phone with cool features, but not over the top, which we would not use.

Sure it doesn't have Wi-Fi, but get a frigging lap top. You can't use a phone to browse web pages the way you would on a computer or a lap top.

Sure the camera doesn't have a flash, but invest in a good digital camera and have good quality everything. Phones have plastic cameras that will never compete with dedicated cameras.

Signal if very good on this phone.

Great phone, but it. Good price2feature ratio!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rajasekar
posted on 11 Oct 2007, 08:07

5

heat up even for short calls

good one from nokia, but it's heats up even for 5 mins calls,the basic functionality of a phone itself is wrong :( , and key pad is not user friendly

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 5/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Blerta
posted on 09 Oct 2007, 06:11

9

Lovely phone

I read a lot of reviws before buying my nokia 6300, and the only thing I agree about its (negative side) is the battery.
I bought the white version, not the black one. And I can assure you that it looks great. It's so beautiful. I can't stop looking at it and exploring it :)))
The camera quality is really good. I love it. Pictures look like live frozen moments!
The sound quality is also very clear and songs, mp3, radio or even phone conversations... everythings sounds like it is being played there live for you.
It's stylish and it's menu makes everything even more easier for you. Writing sms sounds like playing a game, very easy and very good features.
I'm really happy I got this phone.
So, as I said before, except the battery life...everything else is just perfect!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

J minor
posted on 05 Oct 2007, 05:25

8.2

Battery life

I purposely checked this page out for reviews to find out if my phone is sopilt, as i realized my phone battery life is rather short, it can only last like, for 2.5 to 3 days. I thought it was my battery problem, but after reading the comments posted, I believe it is indeed the battery life for this model. Other specs and functions are fine though.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

manthan
posted on 27 Sep 2007, 07:15

8.4

Sexiest

The charming and good lookig mobile ever to be seen in such a good price with a lit of features in it
Thats why the sexiest mobile

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Navin
posted on 16 Sep 2007, 03:30

6.2

sknavin

Poor battery backup and old OS. Fast enough but application support is not there. Camera is also noisy. Not very much clear pictures. Sound quality is superb. Design is superb.

Design 9/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ali
posted on 13 Sep 2007, 06:17

8

Issues in Set

6300 is quit good set, but it has some issues which i faced as yet, while i have used it 256 hours in 3 months.

It drops calls after every 51 minute.
Screen and back start burning after 30 minute of call
Batery time 2 short.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

umarr
posted on 21 Aug 2007, 14:13

9.8

Good Looking

At last nokias came with an eccentric looking phone. Now any one who has it will be satisfied. the use of this unit is easy and simple and would like it the first time you tousch it. I lLOVE IT....... Thanx

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gloria Rembe
posted on 14 Aug 2007, 13:30

8.4

6300

Absolutely love it! Stylish, yet practical. Has all the features I could use: email, camera, radio, mp3 etc. Keypad design fantastic - can send text messages without straining my fingers...

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Amithap
posted on 13 Aug 2007, 08:14

7.4

GOOD

Its really fantastic, the major drawback is battery and its generate more heat, its not cabable for rough use.. Its good mobile to keep inside shocase

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mincho
posted on 02 Aug 2007, 21:18

10

Really nice phone

I've got the phone for 3 weeks and since then it has been awesome the design is perfect slick and smooth, the camera is fine and the Os is fast and easy to use I really recommend this phone

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shraddhaa Mahapatra
posted on 13 Jul 2007, 01:30

8.6

Stylish, Sper Functional and Economical

Nokia has made yet another significant breakthrough. Often stylish phones lack functionality and those that are practical to use dont have great fetures or the look. Nokia 6300 is a unique blend of stlye, class and functionallity. THe battery life is good, the sound quality is very good, and it is light and easy to handle. The best part is that for a mere 170 USD this phone offers a lot more. I would strongly advise buyers to choose this model! I myself am going to keep this one for a very very long time. ! Way to go nokia!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

stanislas
posted on 04 Jul 2007, 18:05

10

The best

the nokia 6300 is a very nice n good lukin phone i really luv it.. i encourage anyone hu wants a phone to buy the nokia 6300!!!
Its simply the best the iz no chalenger!!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Haplo
posted on 20 Jun 2007, 15:23

8.8

Battery really sucks

Great phone, but the battery life really really sucks. If it lasts 3 days you can thank heaven. I've read that Nokia states 13 days in stand-by, well, that's just a lie.

Really, if you need a phone that don't runs ouf of juice pretty fast, don't get this one.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ehsaanullah
posted on 18 May 2007, 12:17

8

Beautiful edition

A very handy and beautiful set to have, nice slim shape makes it unique from other nokia sets. light is much better than ever as compared to other sets of nokia. I am willing to keep this set for long. cheers nokia

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report


posted on 18 May 2007, 08:14

9.8

The Best

This is fone is gr8. it duz wat i wanit 2do! i don't use all features like mp3 and radio but it is handy 2have! battery is gud and so is cam quality! takes a gud bit of dropping too wit the chrome outta casin onit! really happy wit dis buy!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories