x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 5230 User Reviews

8.9 Based on 20 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception8.2/10
Display9.1/10
Build quality8.9/10
Text input8.3/10
Everyday usage8.7/10
UI speed7.7/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia8.3/10
Internet7.8/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery8.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

yero789
posted on 23 Apr 2013, 14:12

9

I love this phone!

yero789 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I own this phone for about 3 years and it is gorgeous,long battery life,good reception,good build quality.The screen could be brighter for outside visibility,but for this price,it's great.The screen can't be cracked at all,because it's resistive :D Love everything about this phone,looks awesome.The camera is ok in good lightning situations,video is great,but still I use my digital camera for photography.I wish this had Wi-Fi.UI speed is good,multimedia is great for me,especially music player.Overall I love this phone! :D

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • Battery Life
  • Price
  • Peronalization in Symbian

Cons

  • Brighter screen would be very welcome
  • No chargning from usb

yero789 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

chaitanya36
posted on 17 Dec 2011, 00:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Dec 2011)

10

its a great phone with low cost...

chaitanya36 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

the phone with ultimate features like 3g,3.2 touch screen,1320mh battery,free navigation with a-gps.the phone contains a ovi store,where we can get the thousand os applications for free.Eventhoug the camera is 2mp,the photos taken in the device are very good,even more clarity than 5800xm eventhoug it has 3.2 mp cam..

Build quality 10/10 its very friendly to handle
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • good battery backup

Cons

  • slow response...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ISAAC619
posted on 13 Nov 2011, 11:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Oct 2011)

10

NOKIA 5230 REVIEW

ISAAC619 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Nokia 5230, despite falling short of expectations, is an intelligent device that offers a wealth of unique features. Whether these features match your needs is the real question. In my opinion the Nokia 5230 is a standard smart phone it has good features such as fast 3G internet unlimited apps to download and there is lots of space for music. Qwerty key board would be better if much bigger but other than that it is a brilliant phone.

Build quality 10/10 Phone is firm
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Loud speaker
Internet 10/10 Very fast internet
Multimedia 10/10 plays good music and videos
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10 qwerty keyboard better if bigger
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • VERY RESPONSIVE TOUCH SCREEN
  • GOOD HIGH SPEED INTERNET
  • VERY LONG BATTERY LIFE

Cons

  • BETTER IF KEYBOARD WAS BIGGER

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

raptoraid
posted on 23 Apr 2011, 04:18

9

Nokia 5230

raptoraid has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had this phone for a few weeks and it is excellent for a 13yr old student like me. I wanted a touchscreen, GPS, Calculator, Camera, Notes, Organiser etc. The amazing thing is that all these and much much more are presented in a mid-quality smartphone for the extra-low price of €139 Vodafone in my country. Amazing. I will recommend it to any one who is looking for some fancy features but doesn't want to spend 100s of euros.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Low cost
  • Crisp design
  • Good display
  • Sensitive touchscreen
  • etc.

Cons

  • Resitive not capactive touchscreen

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

thaniga
posted on 21 Apr 2011, 13:21

10

anice phone

thaniga has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvondferful phone
ive bought this phone in our local mall and i must say that this is the most perfect phone in its price range! imagine a bright 360x640 display with elegant 16 million colors vs. of another brands with 240x400 display with only 256 thousand colors. NOKIA sure know how to connect people with their aspired phones.. i mean i want 5800 badly but i cant afford it. then this phone saved my aspiration.

for those who want full touch phone but has tight budget. dojt hesitate to buy this! this is a great phone! in fact ive post this review using my 52

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ankit Williams
posted on 31 Mar 2011, 07:01

8

Great phone

Ankit Williams has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have used this phone for 8 months and its a great phone at this price and caters to almost all your needs.Just lacks wifi for better internet experience
Exellent camera considering it has no flash and is a 2 megapixel.
Fabulous video recorder.
Great touch screen
UI takes a hit sometimes as it has a small processor.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Good Display HDn
  • Decent Music quality
  • good build quality

Cons

  • no wifi
  • small processor
  • speak music volume low

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pavan
posted on 13 Jan 2011, 20:44

8.1

5230

pavan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i bought its a good phone it has good speed but iam frequently getting much prolm wid gps and map location so I cant think of any thing else that i dont like.
I think except music, everything is good.
.camera quality is also very nice and it is latest symbian edition s60 5th edition.

Battery 10/10
Display 10/10
Text input 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Camera 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Internet 3/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 6/10
Build quality 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hanni
posted on 05 Jan 2011, 03:59

9

Excellent Value for Money !!!

hanni has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

An excellent phone !! no 3g video call camera and speaker volume a bit low !!! very fast phone with monster multitasking support up to 30 apps at a moment !!! Superb quality screen and with smartmovie player plays divx and xvid movies of dvd resolution .. amazing video recording but a average stills camera , crisp souund reproduction and exellent music player ... Good 2 days battery life !!!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • no video call camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Fawles Rowke
posted on 30 Nov 2010, 10:54

3

Nice gadget, disastrous phone

Fawles Rowke has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I might have a defective phone (but I doubt that Nokia will honor its warranty) or Nokia admits that it made a mistake when it put the phone on the market. I am convinced that this model represents a design failure.
I have owned the phone for six months, and I feel that either there is something wrong with my phone or Nokia's decision to put this model on the market was a grave mistake. As T-Mobile had replaced two previous phones of the same model and all three ail from the same problems, chances are that this phone is a lemon.

Strangely enough, the phone excels at features that have nothing to do with a phone. The built-in free GPS can come in handy. Nokia OVI suite is also good at backing up your contacts or you can use the phone as a modem on your laptop.

After six months of ownership, I am reasonably upset and fed up with the irritatingly low call quality, the low battery life, and the irreplaceable $2-a-pop headset. While I like the GPS and the modem capabilities, the phone fails where I need it the most: making long, good quality phone calls from a low-radiation unit that does not fry my brain.

Build quality 5/10 SIM is not hand-removable. Small flip-up windows for cards are flimsy.
Reception 3/10 Somewhat poor reception in areas where my old phone (T-Mobile Wing) works.
Call quality 2/10 1. Sound quality is abysmal, it is either distorted or is missing the high tones in human speech. 2. Volume is LOW on its 2-dollar headset (of course, Nokia charges more for it). 3. A unique headset pinout makes sure that you CANNOT use the phone with anything else than the Nokia headset it comes with. You can go Bluetooth with other brands but the low volume output remains with you for the rest of the phone's life. That is an even more serious problem for those who want to listen to music on the phone. Don't bother; the sound quality does not exist.
Internet 8/10 It is there, a plus because the phone also works as a laptop modem.
Multimedia 2/10 Abysmal sound quality, short battery life, irreplaceable headset.
Camera 2/10 Basic camera.
UI speed 2/10 Sluggish.
Everyday usage 2/10 Bad sound quality, low battery life, huge radiation.
Text input 3/10 On-screen keyboard is for only those with small fingertips. No Stylus attached.
Display 3/10 Backlight is weak in sunshine.
Battery 2/10 Powerful 1,350mAh battery draining fast.

Fawles Rowke alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sebaa
posted on 03 Oct 2010, 15:22 (Posts: 27; Member since: 30 Jun 2009)

7.7

5230

Nice phone , some cons end some pro.... My pro   :  Very Good GPS chipset, i'm mean very sensitive , you will get Very fast  satellites, end Very fast lock on your location. (without A-GSP )My Cons : No Wifi , No flash camera , end speking of camera only 2 MP? badEnjoy !!!

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Very Good GPS chipset, i'm mean very sensitive , you will get Very fast satellites, end Very fast lock on your location. (without A-GSP )

Cons

  • No Wifi
  • only 2 MP
  • No flash camera

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hannibal
posted on 18 Sep 2010, 02:37

9.3

 One word AWESOME. A very good full feature phone, which delivers more than what you pay for. A superb display and awesome music are all worth the somewhat clunky and slow UI (although the recent update makes the phone significantly snappy ). The GPS reciever is excellent and after updating the phone, responds even more quickly. Should have had a video call camera because its a 3G phone. If you want wifi and better camera go for 5530, but if you want GPS and 3G this phone is perfect as 5530 doesn't have these two features. Also it has better battery than 5530, it lasts only one day with normal usage (my friend has one) while my 5230 lasts 2 days. The video recording is also superb almost as good as videos made from N86 which has 8mp camera.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Excellent Screen.
  • Superior sound quality.
  • Very responsive GPS.
  • Runs alot of apps.
  • Free navigation.
  • Very good video recording.

Cons

  • No video call camera.
  • Very average still pictures.
  • The speakers are not very loud.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rajarani
posted on 09 Aug 2010, 06:13

10

ive bought this phone in our local mall and i must say that this is the most perfect phone in its price range! imagine a bright 360x640 display with elegant 16 million colors vs. of another brands with 240x400 display with only 256 thousand colors. NOKIA sure know how to connect people with their aspired phones.. i mean i want 5800 badly but i cant afford it. then this phone saved my aspiration. for those who want full touch phone but has tight budget. dojt hesitate to buy this! this is a great phone! in fact ive post this review using my 5230!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • mp3
  • s605th
  • screen

Cons

  • wifi
  • keyboard

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ldkjah
posted on 29 Jul 2010, 23:14

10

this is the best phone in its price and i would like to recommend this phone to all.    it  has  a  very  large  touch  screen  and  360X640  pixels  of  16m  colours.  camera  quality is also very nice and it is latest symbian edition s60 5th edition.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • 3g
  • gps
  • large touch screen
  • s60 5th edition

Cons

  • wifi
  • earphones

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dodgevipergts
posted on 31 May 2010, 13:33 (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 May 2010)

10

the most kingish most quality nokia ever made make sure this is the phone in your back pocket when your on a budget this is the best phone of it's price it's looks quality, it's unexsplaibly fast and it's ovi app store may not have quite as much as the apple app store but it's pretty fucking packed and with like half of them free you can have all this for about £70 how the bloody hell have they done that well to keep costs low they have sort of put a rather shitty camera on it (2mp) but the video recorders pretty good and it's rather fat for a none keypad phone but lets slam all that crap to one side because this phone comes with 3 backs and 3 touch pens so you can losse 2 of them and you get a pretty quality sat nav so if your a tramp or on a budget or if you just have £70 to spend this is the phone for you

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • sat nav
  • ovi store
  • packed phone
  • great feel to it
  • video

Cons

  • no wifi
  • shitty camera
  • ear phones (silent killers DO NOT USE!!!!!!!!!!)

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dodgevipergts
posted on 28 May 2010, 13:35 (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 May 2010)

8.7

quality phone get it fast, touth and relierble never lets you down the only thing that annoys me is the way the ear phones are like serile killers they about deffen you intill your head exsploads and the cameras pretty shit to but all in all quality phone city unlick most Nokias this one i actuly like and comes with some great games free like NFS shift and the sat nav is great for navergating me to the sofa

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • hand wrighting messiging
  • fast
  • tons of features
  • quality internet

Cons

  • crappy ear phones
  • pretty crap camera

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zeal
posted on 02 Apr 2010, 08:35

7.7

Nokia 5230

HiJust brought this phone, so would like to post a review.PROS :-This phone is kind of a good phone with Latest Symbian 5th Edition.Batter Backup is also GoodYou won't have any problems running softwares etc for your phone.3GCONS :-They provided very cheap headphones of 7210, and they are the worst.Speakerphone is very very low, if this phone is another room, you won't even be able to hear the ring, when the phone rings.Camera should have been 3.2 MP if the features are so good of this phone.Accelerometer works on only 1 side, if you tilt on other side, it won't work.Stylus is not very good, it looks like they have made a ugly one to save some money.Its difficult to remove your SIM CARD, You need to have some pointed object to push it outside, if you are outside and if you don't have a pointed object/STYLUS then it would be difficult to remove your memory card.Back Cover is of auto lock, so its kinda difficult to remove back cover, and very much chance of breaking if you apply some more pressure trying to remove the cover.I was expecting a front camera, if it has 3G.VERDICT Overall this phone has good camera quality with 2MP, and Symbian 5th Edition would do well, but if you are looking for some music phone than this should not prove its worth. This phone has good features and touchscreen is also good. I think except music, everything is good. So you should GO FOR IT

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Symbian 5th Edition
  • GPS
  • 3G

Cons

  • Camera should have been 3.2 MP.
  • Speaker is very very low.
  • Difficult to remove Sim Card.
  • Sluggish Stylus.
  • Accelerometer works on only 1 side.

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rani
posted on 09 Feb 2010, 16:24

8

best phone so far! very happy with the 5230

I got the phone 4 days ago, very simple, cheap and smart. I like the 3.2 inc screen with  360 x 640 pixels and 16 million colors(unlike samsung star and lg cookie! Ovi store is great and ovi maps (not so great like the appstore). I would recumand the phone to evrybody!!!!

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • gps
  • 3g
  • 360 x 640 pixels
  • ovi store

Cons

  • wifi
  • only 2 megapixels
  • no usb cable

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

k8ian
posted on 30 Jan 2010, 08:27

9.7

Nokia 5230 , 2 thumbs up

Guys and gals, this phone is the best in its price.

The battery lasts for about 2 days with normal phone and less net use.

The camera is fine in outdoors and poor in less light.

The GPS is pretty accurate and is equally helpful with ovi maps or google maps.

The voice activated commands are encouragingly correct in peaceful environment.

There are a lot of free games available especially on mobile9.com

Touch screen is very good. but do not use anything except your hand or the nokia included stylus. I got a scrath trying to use a ballpoint.

The contact bar and the media player on home screen are extremely useful besides the customizable shortcuts bar

I like the phone very very much. Having said that, the practical problems that i face are:-

1)    The casing looks pretty cheap. It could have been better, or at least nokia should release replaceable casing of better quality may be.

2)    The media library: it is not possible to add multiple songs to a playlist simultaneously, and marking songs one by one is a very tedious job. :(

3)    The phone packing does not include a usb cable. but................that is easily available in the market anyway.

4)     I cant  think of any thing else that i dont like.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Good touch screen, GPS, Good battery life, large screen size, lots of free downloadable stuff, accelerometer, symbian

Cons

  • cheap casing, no usb cable provided in packing, some limitations in media player

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

joshua
posted on 12 Jan 2010, 07:39

10

just fits right

ive bought this phone in our local mall and i must say that this is the most perfect phone in its price range! imagine a bright 360x640 display with elegant 16 million colors vs. of another brands with 240x400 display with only 256 thousand colors. NOKIA sure know how to connect people with their aspired phones.. i mean i want 5800 badly but i cant afford it. then this phone saved my aspiration.

for those who want full touch phone but has tight budget. dojt hesitate to buy this! this is a great phone! in fact ive post this review using my 5230!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • bright 360x640 w/ 16m colors display
  • 434 mhz processor so smooth
  • hsdpa 3.6 mbps goodness

Cons

  • no wifi

23 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Farhan
posted on 29 Nov 2009, 13:46

10

Nokia 5230

Amazing, simply amazing i got this one 2day and very much satisfied with this cheap set performance like a big one. I just truly recommend those who really want to buy total quality Mobile Phone so this is very very much nice cellphone. Nothing 2 worry it will never let u go to change itself. Bye

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

41 out of 52 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories