x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia 500 User Reviews

7.6 Based on 13 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed7.8/10
Camera6.4/10
Multimedia7.7/10
Internet7.7/10
Call quality8.9/10
Battery6.4/10
Reception8.2/10
Display8.1/10
Build quality8/10
Text input7/10
Everyday usage7.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Sailesh
posted on 12 Dec 2013, 00:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Dec 2013)

6

A good phone, but fails to compete with the phones of the same price group!

Sailesh has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is robust and feels great in the hand, but fails to compete with the other phones which fall in the same Price Group. Excellent for simple use but not for the people who love to MultiTask. Preserving the "Nokia Built", drop it a hundred times but it wont give up. Not a phone for Social Media Enthusiasts. The Operating System fails to compete with the Windows and the Android OS.

Build quality 9/10 Dropped it a hundred times, but it didn't give up!
Reception 3/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 2/10 Extremely small and sluggish keypad. Difficult to type without making a mistake.
Display 6/10 good brightnes, contrast and color reproduction.
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Good Looks
  • Good build quality

Cons

  • No Camera shutter button
  • No Flash
  • Lags
  • Outdated UI

Sailesh alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PorkyBurger
posted on 19 May 2013, 10:59 (Posts: 184; Member since: 18 May 2013)

6

Nokia 500

PorkyBurger has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I am dissapointed with build quality of the phone. I have always trusted Nokia, for it's amazing build quality, but this time I don't. Though it has a 1Ghz ARM11 processor, its rather slow than speedy, especially when you update it to Nokia Belle Refresh.

Build quality 5/10 Cheap, plastic build. No screen protection.
Reception 6/10 A lot of death-grips, but still it's pretty good. Wi-Fi connection mostly is stable, but sometimes it doesn't connect to a host, or loses connection with it, while using it.
Call quality 9/10 Not perfect, but it's really good. Voices are almost clear, no problem with microphone either.
Internet 5/10 Stock browser experience is awful. Lags, freezes and a lot of crashes. Video buffering has some problems too.
Multimedia 7/10 Speaker is kind of loud, compared to other phones I have owned. Can listen to many music files, watch videos with nice quality, though music player is sometimes choppy, sometimes even laggy or unusable, but that happens rarely.
Camera 6/10 Camera is dissapointing. I hoped a lot more from a 5MP camera. A lot of noise in low-light conditions. Colours are unsaturated. Video recording has a nice quality audio.
UI speed 5/10 Nokia Belle update makes performance worse. Menu lags, scrolling is choppy. When multitasking, everything gets really slow.
Everyday usage 6/10 For everyday usage, it's OK. Only like calling, texting and light Web browsing.
Text input 5/10 In portrait mode, texting is hard, cause of the narrow, small buttons. Keyboard is usable only in landscape mode.
Display 7/10 Small, narrow 3.2" screen. I don't like aspect ratio, not suited for this small screen. Black colors are pale.
Battery 5/10 Only lasts a day, sometimes half a day.

Pros

  • Sharp display.
  • Nice call quality.
  • Nice design, changable battery covers.

Cons

  • Poor build quality, no screen protection.
  • Small display, aspect ratio not suited for such small screens.
  • Battery lasts a day.
  • Camera's quality is dissapointing.
  • Poor recording for a 5MP camera.
  • Web on a stock browser is dissapointing, laggy.
  • No 3D GPU. Many elements in OS are laggy, because of it.
  • Death-grips in reception.
  • Poor Wi-Fi connection .
  • Small keyboard on portrait mode.

PorkyBurger alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wpymes
posted on 09 May 2013, 03:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 May 2013)

6

MY FIRST SMARTPHONE: Good! but ready to move on and up!

wpymes has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I loved its price, the size, the screen resolution, call quality and fast processing. I hated the unconfortable size of the screen for typing, the camera without autofocus (useless for scanning documents), the very short battery life, the limited apps for Symbian Belle. I keep it in a soft case to avoid risk scratching or falls and It does feel cheap and squeaky when pressed!

Build quality 5/10 It feels cheap.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 5/10 the screen is small.
Display 7/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • Value for the money!
  • Fast

Cons

  • Camera
  • Battery Life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

OrangeFarties
posted on 02 Jan 2013, 14:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jan 2013)

6

A phone for hating.

OrangeFarties has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Well I dont like this phone. It has its cheap build,which scratches so easily. And it makes those, squeeky noises while pressed in hand.Performance of this phone is a shame, especially while talking about web surfing. Browser has big lags, sometimes impossible to use. When it comes to Adobe Flash, lets say, nice, but browser lags even more because of it. Well there are some more problems with it. Lags, freezes, most of the time restarting. Camera isnt nice, too. Photos have too much noise anf sometimes images are even blurry. Well, compared to Samsung S5230 3MP camera, which has sharper and much colorful images, its a shame for Nokia. One thing I hate about Nokia's Symbian phones. The resolution, which makes display narrow, and hard to type, but by the way pixel density is nice and display is kinda sharp. Lack of 3D GPU makes searching for a lot of good games a nightmare. Actually, its not a nice phone. Better grab an Android or even Bada phone in its price range.

Build quality 4/10 Cheap build, easily to scratch. Squeeky noises, while holding it in hands.
Reception 7/10 Its nice, but it has one problem. Lose connectivity, you'll not get it back in minutes.
Call quality 8/10 Maybe the best thing in phone, others can hear me nice and I can them. But nothing is perfect.
Internet 3/10 Worst browser I've had to use. Laggy, sometimes freezing. Adobe Flash makes it slower. Recommend to use Opera Mobile
Multimedia 8/10 I like it. Can play audio, show pictures. You know, basic stuff. I really like it.
Camera 5/10 Lacks a LED flash, autofocus. Images have too much noise.
UI speed 6/10 Could be a tiny bit faster. Then it could be incredible. But for now sometimes its choppy and slow. Otherwise,pretty decent, ok.
Everyday usage 7/10 Text input is bad, cause of narrow screen. Otherwise, everything else seems pretty more or less ok.
Text input 4/10 Narrow screen, narrow , narrow! It is too narrow for comfortable text input.
Display 9/10 Nice pixel density, display seems kinda sharp. Capacative touchscreen ia responsive too. Great, but not perfect.
Battery 4/10 For start, its ok. But now it only can hold like less than a day. Thats not okay!!

Pros

  • Sharp display
  • WiFi

Cons

  • Bad camera quality
  • Sluggish, laggy UI. Sometimes smooth.
  • Lacks 3D GPU.
  • Battery doesnt last long. And more... I just gotta go to toilet and watch a movie. BYE

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shegzyplanet
posted on 19 Nov 2012, 08:36 (Posts: 4; Member since: 19 Nov 2012)

7

Nokia 500

shegzyplanet has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the phone is a disaster cos of its RAM...camera wont open after a while, it hangs and restart by itself...TOO BAD... Nokia should have known that such a RAM will be too small to handle the processes of a phone like this...

Build quality 7/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • reasonable price

Cons

  • poor RAM...
  • no flash for camera
  • freeze and restart sometimes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

OLSTV
posted on 25 Oct 2012, 06:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Oct 2012)

9

Good phone

OLSTV has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best touch screen phone i have come across among the price category.. speed is good..display is good.. but the only issue i noticed was poor music speaker. surfing is fine if you want to check news of stock market updates apps work just quite well

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • good ui

Cons

  • poor speaker

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ubaid137
posted on 09 Sep 2012, 05:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Sep 2012)

8

NOKIA 500

ubaid137 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Nokia 500 is a good smartphone with Nokia Belle..The phone is powered by 1 GHz processor. It would be great if it has GPU and Autofocus in Camera..Any how the phone is better since it has low price...

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Nokia Belle
  • 1 GHz processor
  • Display (3.2 inches with 229 ppi)
  • Light sensor
  • Back covers
  • Light weight (93 gms)

Cons

  • Camera lacks autofocus
  • No flash light
  • no front facing camera
  • low resolution video capture (VGA 15 fps)
  • No GPU (cant play HD games)

ubaid137 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

AkashRockz
posted on 25 Jul 2012, 11:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Jul 2012)

10

Best Phone @ the range of Rs.10,000

AkashRockz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Its the Best Phone under its Price range. Its 5 Mega Pixel Camera take Great Pictures and after Nokia Belle Update its look is got more awesome. Its the Best Smartphone I ever used with its Super Fast Internet and Cool User Interface.

Build quality 10/10 Its build Quality is just awesome. Its the best
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Call Quality is also Good because its catch Good network
Internet 10/10 Internet Speed is just awesome. I got 1-1.5MB/sec. Its too Fast...
Multimedia 10/10 It supports many videos format and audio than other in its price range.
Camera 10/10 Camera Quality is very Good its 5MP What we need more.
UI speed 10/10 Its Best after Nokia Belle Update.
Everyday usage 10/10 3-5 Hours
Text input 10/10 Superb
Display 10/10 Too Good
Battery 10/10 More than Expected

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

philip10khor
posted on 09 Jul 2012, 06:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Apr 2012)

8

Great phone, great price

philip10khor has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Nokia 500 has a nice interface, good price, decent features - but you've got to update to Nokia Belle for more.
I bought my 500 with Symbian Anna preinstalled. Experienced frequent restarts. However the Nokia Belle update resolved most problems and brought along an excellent user interface, compared to Anna. Microsoft Business Apps (Office)is also available as an optional update.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10 Browser a bit unresponsive
Multimedia 7/10 Lack of options in music player
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10 Hangs at times
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10 OK, but keypad can be a little small for big fingers
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Nice UI
  • Easy to use

Cons

  • Lags at times
  • Will not receive Feature Pack updates in future despit 1Ghz processor

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

rmails
posted on 17 Mar 2012, 11:28 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Mar 2012)

9

nokia 500

rmails has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i am using the phone for more than a month, updated to belle immediately on purchase, it was smooth as silk. have more than enough widgets for comfort, 4 screens. fast, both use and internet. had some freezing problems, the mobile would freez for abt 30 sec max, would resume function thereafter. very rarely [one weekly, or lesser] now. Google maps works fine, but like said by others jst leave the wifi 'on', even if you have no wifi connection available, it works smooth. absolutely satisfied with this mobile and at its price. The 5mp camera works fine even without autofocus, in most lighting condition, atleast for every use if would use it for, i dont use it as a dedicated camera, but serves all practical functions.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 people say that no autofocus it not good, i found it reasonably good 5mp camera, good result at less than good lighting also.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • good overall, best price

Cons

  • battery life

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mikerev
posted on 26 Jan 2012, 01:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Jan 2012)

8

great piece of hardware at such low price.. nokia rocks.. keep bringing phones like that.. :-)

mikerev has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this mobile a while back.. quite frankly I m impressed with its features.. especially the navigation, multimedia and the improved interface.. any regular user should choose this phne over android at this price point.. the phone is real good.. superb experience.. Thanks Nokia.. :-)

Build quality 8/10 handset feels nyc to hold.. squeaks aren't problems until the phone is pressed too hard..
Reception 10/10 reception is good.. even in areas where signals are usually low..
Call quality 10/10 no complaints..
Internet 8/10 the internet browser and tools are just great except the ocassipnal hangs..
Multimedia 9/10 the best multimedia experience at this price.. real good with videos as well as music..
Camera 7/10 full focus isnt always succesful although it performs good in normal lighting nd fyn at low light..
UI speed 8/10 UI is fast and responsive but lags when in landscape mode.. too many open applications too tend to make it lag.. though overall its a very nyc experience on the symbian anna.. :)
Everyday usage 10/10 just enjoying it :)
Text input 7/10 not that good text input.. smallish screen becomes a pain at times.. but practice makes it easier and kinda fun.. i m a regular texter and dont find it too hard.. adding swype to it enhanced my experience to real good..
Display 8/10 thye LCD screen rocks.. brightness is acceptable in daylight.. blacks are not that good but just fyn.. pixel density is high enough to make the viewing experience the best at such a low cost..
Battery 7/10 battery is just fyn.. I am quite a power user and the battery lasts a whole day or two.. its fyn for many users..

Pros

  • low cost
  • good screen
  • just fyn camera for eeryday usage
  • AWESOME MULTIMEDIA
  • nyc UI, fast enough
  • nyc social networking integration :-)
  • belle update is coming soon :-)
  • great computer connectivity, nyc nokia suite
  • exchangable back panels, good looks, small and light
  • free lifetime navigation with A-GPS which is just awesome :-)

Cons

  • lags sometimes
  • ocassional restarts
  • no flash
  • no 3D games
  • no hd videos

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

avinfaldu
posted on 03 Nov 2011, 01:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Nov 2011)

9

nokia 500

avinfaldu has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

superb
budget
phone
i have
this
piece
and performing superb
it also support new coming os symbiam belle
it's superb
nice looking one.
it's video quality is amazing.
inbuilt 2 gb memory make it more faster.
it's hand's free is average performing as usual in nokia phone otherwise inbuilt speaker quality is good
just if it has on flash with camera than becomes one of the best selling phone of nokia.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

muneeb
posted on 28 Oct 2011, 21:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Oct 2011)

7

Monii

muneeb has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Hi Guys, I bought this mobile and faced same problem of restarting, the battery backup was very low and sometimes my display goes off. I went to Nokia Care and they updated the software to Anna 10.31. They suggested me to observe for 3 or four days without using memory card. I did as they suggested and my battery backup with usage came around 4 days and my mobile didn't restart. I thought problem was fixed and then I inserted my memory card, then again started the same problem. Now I'm using my mobile without memory card, good battery backup and it didn't get restart. I'm confused, how to use the memroy card for my mobile.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 10/10
Display 3/10
Battery 2/10

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories