x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Nokia 2690 User Reviews

7.7 Based on 13 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia8.5/10
Internet8.3/10
Call quality8.8/10
Battery7.3/10
Reception9.3/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality9/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed8.8/10
Camera5.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

piplu_sandip
posted on 18 Aug 2011, 05:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Aug 2011)

9

Cool Phone

piplu_sandip has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

excellent phone of its range. very good performance in all respects except e-mail and Camera. sometimes e-mail gives problem. otherwise it is superb. Camera is VGA and picture quality is not so good. Battery back up is good. After using of more than 10 months charge required once in 2 days.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 6/10 sometimes e-mail gives problem
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 4/10 VGA Camera.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • 3.5mm socket
  • FM Radio
  • Expandable Memory upto 8GB
  • Good software at low price, Bluetooth
  • stylish sleek phone
  • Good Sound Quality
  • Great Features Compared to Price
  • exceeds my expectation

Cons

  • Camera VGA
  • e-mail problem

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sumedh
posted on 09 Mar 2011, 02:43

7

Value for Money

Sumedh has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought this phone just after it launch, phone fulfills all primary requirements additional 8 GB expandable card,Blue tooth call conference facility is great,radio sound quality is good with auto frequency scanner which detect all available stations,
3.5 MM audio jack which can be used in computer speakers, camera & keypad is quite disappointing but we can negotiate as compared to others features. video player is quite impressive. Web browsing is also good, in built opera pleases browsing experience,and above all it's tough body, my phone fell down from 1st floor of building i thought its now broken down but surprisingly it was working absolutely fine, it just remind My first phone Nokia 3310 which was rough & tough.overall good phone with value for money.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10 Opera Browser is available which pleases browsing experience.
Multimedia 8/10 It support almost all types of major audio formats,caller video facility is also available animated screen saver/wallpaper can be used.
Camera 3/10 Camera is basic VGA, picture quality is average.
UI speed 7/10 Phone speed is good, till now i didn't faced any problem only if phone memory is nearly full then phone might be hanged which is normal, but i have checked by using 2 GB card fully loaded with songs,picture but still phone performance was good.
Everyday usage 9/10 I'm using all primary functions that is messaging,blue tooth some time is not discoverable then i have to restart phone and again it starts working, i guess this problem is with my phone only, call history is good it keeps history upto 15 days.
Text input 6/10 As i mentioned earlier keypad is hard and creates problem while fast typing, which is quite irritating.
Display 8/10 Phone display is OK i can keep animated gif files as wallpaper brightness is also impressive.
Battery 6/10 This is where phone lack battery back up is not as much as expected, generally small segment phone batteries have long back this phone battery needs to charge every day even i don't use any application like radio,media player,games etc.

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Great Features Compared to Price
  • Tough Build
  • Easy Navigation
  • 3.5 MM audio jack

Cons

  • Hard Keypad
  • Average Camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sibi Chibi
posted on 24 Jan 2011, 04:11

7

Nokia 2690 Rocks !!!

Sibi Chibi has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

A very good budget phone, which has all the basic feature phone specs. Very loud speaker performance and good music player. Plays videos at resolution up-to 360x240. The browsing speed is very fast, and has opera mini 4.2 installed already. The battery performance is poor, but the phone will last you a full day. The keypad is a bit hard, but one will get used to it. A exellent budget phone choice.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 6/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nokia maniac
posted on 30 Oct 2010, 21:10

10

cheap and awsome phone

nokia maniac has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this is a cheap phone it works very well in my opinion it is an excellent opinion if you want to buy a phone if you dont want to waste money im from mexico and i investigate about this awsome phne and it has everything i want so the only thing i want to say is buy it!!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • good camera
  • good resolution
  • 2.9"
  • cheap
  • awesome

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vidhush
posted on 25 Sep 2010, 00:35

5

This is a budget phone It has a VGA camera and also records video  . And the Music player is good it plays all the mp3 formats and the video player plays 3GP video formats . It can connect internet and also has an OPERA MINI 4.2 Browser , which is very useful for downloading files for mobile. keypad is not bad . but it is very hard to message and also for playing games .This phone is installed  with JAVA which is useful to install all games and themes . but the display is very small to see some webpages . The mobile is very compact and available with black , blue , pink,white colors. The Battery stands for the whole day . The speakers are also good to hear songs without earphones.Overall It Is a good phone .

Design 5/10
Features 6/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • -the speaker is superb
  • -with a 3.5mm jack
  • -the battery is good

Cons

  • -the camera is bad
  • -the displays is small
  • -keypad is bad

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 23 Aug 2010, 00:14

6.7

I accept the plus points  they listed above in the reviews.But  still now I am not getting connected with Nokia PC suite.I tried a lot.But same PC suites works for another Nokia mobiles and Use the Internet connection from Airtel.If  I tried in Nokia 2690 Airtel is  the provider it wont  connect with the PC suite.I dont know why?

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • All the points listed in previous reviews

Cons

  • Struggling connecting with PC suite

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Akash Bansal
posted on 18 Aug 2010, 22:45

7.7

Value for Money

Good phone @ less then Rs. 2900 I have another phone E71but this phone is also good if you do not require business featuresI have connected it using blue tooth & sync / transfered all contacts from my OutlookIt has capacity of 2000 contacts. No need to buy memory card for this.I guess memory card is needed to store musics.For music any capacity may run out of memory lol

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • value for money
  • stylish sleek phone
  • exceeds my expectation

Cons

  • hard central button
  • rest buttons are also hard

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

VarunK
posted on 29 Jul 2010, 08:30

6.7

Excellent value phone

 Bought Nokia 2690 last week for INR 2650 plus Rs.200 for 2GB MMC card, here're my observations in the last 7 days:

1.Good built quality (accidently dropped it twice). Battery cover is quite sturdy.

2.Excellent phone in this category, above average sound quality and volume. Earpiece sound very good.

3.Excellent stereo bluetooth support, my motorola S9 bluetooth stereo headphones works better on this phone then my Motorola Rokr E6. 

4. "3.5mm socket" for headphones. Try good quality third party headphones, produces noise-free sound. You can connect your home theater system to this phone.

5. Opera 4.2 pre-installed, works like charm

6. Keypad is quite hard to press. Not for heavy texters. I'm OK with it with 30-40 msgs daily.

7. Display quality is better than Samsung phones in this range. I compared it with Samsung 2120 and Samsung 3010 (it has 2" screen)and same wallpaper looks more sharp and vivid on Nokia 2690.

8. Camera is very average (as all phones in this range).

9. Support java games, i've installed a few, works like charm

10. Can connect to PC via PC suite (Data cable not provided). You can surf the net via PC and the speed is quite good bcoz it supports EDGE. I am using AIRCEL unlimited Pocket Internet Card in India.

Design 5/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • -Good Sound Quality
  • -Stereo Bluetooth support
  • -3.5mm socket
  • -Opera 4.2
  • -Good battery backup (2 days on heavy usage)

Cons

  • -No call or messages blocking

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anjali
posted on 10 Jul 2010, 14:37

8.7

I m in complete love with the phone, its simply awesome.i mean just look at the price and the features u get in exchange. the sound system is awesome,very nice quality and the camera even though VGA is good(can't expect more at that low cost)Very nice that it has got bluetooth and the memory card and the data cable ports,appearance is also cool.Even allows video clips,enternet can also be accessed and the hardware seems strong too.Basically its fantastic,especially for those seeking for a mobile with all the basic features at low rate.But seriously would say once again that the music player is superb and the phone design, both for the hardware and software is also pretty cool.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • almost everything,especially the music system
  • the low cost but the excellent features

Cons

  • the stupid headset nokia provides but replace it with better ones and then the music is awesome
  • a bit poor display but then thats ok, its not very bad or anything, just fine

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sandy
posted on 22 Jun 2010, 04:48

5

Pathetic Quality

I bought Nokia 2690 in last week. Pathetic phone. Its ringer stopped working in three days. Can you imagine, a phone from Nokia and a basic function stopped working in three days. Now it does not ring(only vibrates), no speaker phone etc. I went to Nokia priority dealer (from where I bought phone) they asked me to get it repaired from nokia care. I mean phone for repair in three days...I went to Nokia care, called up Nokia on the customer care phone number given on the box. But no help they want me to get it repaired. I sent email to Nokia customer care but got no response.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • 1. Good software at low price.
  • 2. Bluetooth, expandable memory upto 8 GB
  • 3. Price tag of 2650.

Cons

  • 1. Pathetic hardware quality
  • 2. Poor screen resoultion.
  • 3. Ringer Stopped working in 3 days.

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FJ
posted on 22 May 2010, 09:46

7.7

This phone is a steal

Previouslly I had been using Nokia 5300 and then Samsung Star. My Samsung Star got stolen and the 5300 had become very old, so I needed a new low cost phone till my next birthday. And looking at the feature set of 2690 it seemed perfect. So I bought it, using it for sometime now, I have fallen in love with it, and now I plan to stick with it and not buy a new phone.

Also something new I found in this phone is that you can have Flash Lite themes.
Which means you can have differnt stylized Clocks and Battery Indicators.
Also I found Nokia Life Tools useless, I don't know what are the here for.

And the best part *drumroll* (this is'nt actually very much to do with this phone in particular but Nokia phone in general)

Connecting it to my computer, and by downloading and using the free Ovi Suite, I could backup or rather sync my Contacts, Messages, Photos, Music, Notes, Calendar, etc automatically. I know this feature has been there for years, but I just felll in love the interface of the Ovi Suite 2.

PS: To connect the cellphone to the computer you need a data cable, which has to be got seperately and not included in the bundle, but it can be bought for a reasonably cheap price. You might already have the data cable from one of your older phones, I used the one from my Nokia 5310 Xpress Music. But you'll have to check if they match because not all data cables work with all phones.

Design 4/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Great Value for Money
  • Cheapest Nokia Phone with Expandable Memory
  • Nice, Crisp Interface (Nokia S40 5th Edition)

Cons

  • Slightly uncomfortable Keypad
  • Bundled headphones are horrible, replacing with better ones makes the music awesome.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HR - New York
posted on 08 May 2010, 19:40

9.7

Just bought it for a local prepaid ohone

May 3, Bought in Dubai to use it with a local UAE SIM cardPaid around US $75, great little phone, fit in Shirt pocketsound is fine, screen a little small, had a hard time to change the set up from arabic to englishPlug is a english 3 plug, had a converter at homewill use as a phone with prepaid sim cards when traveling, as I use my US Blackberry for email only, talk to expensiceinstalled my gmail email address asely in one minute, radio is nice when sitting at the airporta steal of  phoneforget the camera, would never use it, exept for a car accident with a rental car 

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • inexpensive

Cons

  • none

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 05 Apr 2010, 16:19

9.7

Great Basic Phone

I just bought the White Model..Pretty nice design and lightweight..Camera kinda sucks on it,but don't all camera phones.Nice FM Radio,1 hour of voice recorder,up to a 8GB microSD card,Quad-Band GSM,MP3 player,and sound is clear as a bell even on speakerphone.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Nokia Quilaity
  • FM Radio
  • Talk time
  • Sound Quality
  • Ability to customize shortcuts on D-Pad and Both soft keys
  • Lightweight

Cons

  • Camera is only VGA,but even if it were 2MP it's still a Phone

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories