x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola Quantico User Reviews

6.5 Based on 22 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet3/10
Call quality5.7/10
Battery5.7/10
Reception6.7/10
Display4.7/10
Build quality6.3/10
Text input4/10
Everyday usage4.7/10
UI speed3/10
Camera3.3/10
Multimedia3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ztbell21
posted on 08 Mar 2014, 23:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Mar 2014)

4

Durable because it's HORRIBLE...

ztbell21 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

You can drop it and kick it when you get upset because the features, such as Bluetooth, the camera and wireless emergency alerts, either don't work or when they do, they cause this device to have trouble. Calls are loud but not clear, Bluetooth also fails to recognize most non-Motorola devices (with a few exceptions from Plantronics, Panasonic and Sony), the camera can't even take a good photo, the phone is SLOW, and the phone really does need to go to the gym (especially since it's an inch thick, making it impossible to use in most in-car device holders). My personal phone, a Samsung Galaxy S III (AT&T edition), makes this look like the toy it really is. Hopefully Lenovo and Google can fix Motorola so devices like this NEVER come on the market again!

I have to use this as my work phone until Illinois Valley Cellular comes up with a good replacement, my boss switches providers to Verizon or AT&T, or we decide to renew the contracts on our phone lines.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 3/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 2/10 1 word... SLOW.
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 5/10
Display 2/10
Battery 5/10 14 days standby but only indoors at 70 degrees. 3 days at zero degrees in the truck.

Pros

  • Durability
  • Battery life

Cons

  • Everything else

ztbell21 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

eprz70
posted on 20 Jan 2011, 18:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Jan 2011)

3

motorolla quantico

eprz70 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I'had several Motorollas and they are nothing but trouble,this one is not the exception,I have to keep resetting the phone cause the volume drops down by itself to a point that i have to use the speaker in order to make calls , the only way i can get it to work right is by removing and replacing the battery.i'm very dissapointed with this brand my wife had had other brands with no trouble.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 3/10
Battery 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Unhappy
posted on 17 Dec 2010, 14:33

7

asdf

Unhappy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I'll give it to motorola that this is a tough phone. My problem is that this is the FOURTH one I have had. Everyone that I have had, after a few months, begins to stop deleting all of the texts. If you select delete all texts it will say it deleted them and then it will leave a random number of texts in the in and out boxs. I had just fifty in my outbox the other day and when deleted there were 27 remaining. They only way to remove left behind txts is to delete each one on it's own. This is very time consuming considering there were times when it would leave well over one hundred messages behind. The second time this happened to one of my phones motorola wanted my service provider to send the phone to them to figure out the problem, after two months with a loaner phone they sent me a new phone saying that they couldn't figure out the problem. I'm surprised that I can't find more on the internet about this problem considering this is the fourth straight phone that has had this problem for me.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 5/10 don't have internet
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 5/10
Display 9/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • tough phone

Cons

  • software problems that even motorola can't figure out

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

L Earl Kenney
posted on 10 Oct 2010, 14:02

7.7

Enjoying My Quantico W845

A few weeks ago, my wife's birthday present to me was to "upgrade" my cellphone from the tiny Nokia I've used for several years, to the Motorola W845.  Perhaps Motorola should have redesignated the phones when they were temporarily removed from the retail market, because the software changes seem to have corrected all the performance problems noted by many.  As for being rugged, Motorola says, "Your phone is designed to resist exposure to water and other substances, such as blowing rain, humidity, blowing dust, salt fog, and high & low temperatures."  To meet these conditions, there are three covers that have to be carefully closed, as specified in the owner's manual.  For example, doublecheck your dealer's work of installing the battery, by re-doing it yourself when you add a microSD memory card.  There are eight points/steps in installing the back cover so it is fully water resistant.  I believe that Motorola's claims are justified.I am limited in the time I have owned the phone (several weeks), but I live on the MS gulf coast where it rains often and is almost always humid.  I wear the phone all the time [except when it is on my night stand while I'm sleeping], generally in a holster, but I have also just popped it in my pocket after making sure there were no metal objects that would scratch it.  I've used it in a heavy driving rain.  I've carried it many hours in a sweaty pocket (I own a tree service business...  

Design 9/10
Features 5/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Rugged, resistant to shock, dirt and weather, huge talk and standby times, USB charging and file transfer, great *.mp3 output fidelity to earphones, camera access is easy and photo quality is good. Speakerphone feature works well. Large keys can even be used with gloves.

Cons

  • Poor display visibility in direct sunlight: screens have to be shaded.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jerry
posted on 06 Sep 2010, 23:15

2.3

VERY VERY POOR!! NOT RECOMMENDED!!!

Hi, I am a buisness owner, and work outside all day long.  I bought the Motorola Quantico about 2 weeks ago, and I have had only trouble out of this device.  I go through lots and lots of phones so about 1 year ago I bought the G ZONE BOULDER from verizon, that device is excellent, however I was having trouble with so many dropped calls I switched services to us cellular, and purchased the quantico device.  They told me the phone was waterproof up to 1 meter for 25 minutes.  That is not true, I carried the phone in my pocket during the day, and the phone was damaged due to drawing moister from sweating while working.  This phone was 1 week old, and motorola would not replace it or repair it without cost.  They have a 1 year warantee on the device but it does not cover water damage, dirt or dust damage, dropping the device, and many more things.  But they have no problem addvertising an indistructable phone.  I do not recommend this phone for anyone, no matter what the job.  I had to pay 140 bucks to have it fixed.  Thats just not good buisness in my book.  Very Very poor job motorola.

Design 5/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Rubber texture make for easy handeling,
  • Great camera

Cons

  • Not waterproof
  • Deceiving warranty
  • charger problems
  • battery cover doesnt fit properly
  • battery should be connected to the cover not inside the phone.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Les
posted on 28 Jul 2010, 07:52

8.3

quantico phone

I got this phone a month ago and in one weekend i was taking it back because the battery wouldnt stay charge up for 14hrs for me at work all day so they gave me another phone just like it and its better but still not where i think it should be or what i am use to with my old phone. Other than that the phone  has been great. It gets great service in bad areas cause i live in the sticks.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Scottie
posted on 29 May 2010, 09:25

8.3

this is a great phone

I bought this phone back in January, I am a pipeliner.   I have dropped my phone in the water, washed it. dropped it and it just bounces.  This is a great phone, I would recommend this phone for anyone guy out there that works for a living.

Design 5/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • everything

Cons

  • it's big and fat

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hates the quantico
posted on 02 May 2010, 00:00

3.7

I HATE THIS PHONE!!!

I think it is really a bad phone it doesnt hold a lot of memeory on contacks. Deffinattly is not water proof i got this gooey stuff on my phone and i was thinking i can wash it beacause its water proof i was wrong and now i need 2 get another phone. I have to ammite it has a good cam they  are way better things then that i mean soursoiley

Design 4/10
Features 6/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Good cam
  • lots of memory

Cons

  • Not water proof
  • good service only laces where there is like cable and stuff
  • short battery life:(((((((

0 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Willie T
posted on 16 Apr 2010, 13:39

9

Learned to like it

Hi, when I first got the phone I was very disappointed. But as time went on I learned to like it. It is a VERY GOOD phone if all you want is basic cellphone service. And thats what I am looking for. It has a VERY LOUD speaker. It has a GREAT KEYBOARD. It makes VERY GOOD PICTURES. It has a lot of GOOD THINGS for a basic phone. Its like going to a car lot and  looking at the cars for sale. Sometimes the one that has a lot of things in it is not the best one to buy. I tell you. Get this phone and try it out. After you learn what it can do and how GOOD it is at doing these things you will be VERY HAPPY that you got it.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 12 Apr 2010, 18:04

8.7

W845 Motorola Quantico

To everyone that has an issue with the firmware, there is an update on the Motorola website. Just make sure you have a USB/micro USB adapter available to update your phone. Otherwise this is a very well designed phone like the Brute available for Sprint.Very good speakerphone, RF and clarity.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Rugged, need I say more? Excellent RF.

Cons

  • Back battery door seems not to fasten just right. Still keeps out water very well though.
  • Make sure you do the full 3X battery drain cycle or it will not hold the charge correctly as specified.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Apr 2010, 15:52

6

Former USMC Grunt Test

I have had this phone, Moto Quantico, for a little while, about 2 months. When I first got it, I tested it like any jarhead might. I have thrown it into a sink of cold water, no damage. Even left it there for about 15 minutes, no damage. I dropped it off the roof of my house onto concrete, 1 ding in the corner but otherwise fine. It has been run over by the front tire of a full sized pick up and I keep it on me at work, which is not a dry job. I clean out livestock trailers with water, barn soap and sometimes citric acid. My phone works perfectly and have not missed a single call/ text. (S.E. Iowa/ U.S. Cellular)However, if you want to use it more than just for text talk, get something else. The phone is actually pretty slow to run internet and whatnot on. The battery is not as good as the specs say, but it stays charged for about a week, of course i get maybe about 5 calls a day and about 30-40 texts. So all in all, the phone has gained my seal of approval when it comes to basic function and durabilty.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • Great for text/talk, no problems with Bluetooth and missed calls/texts, loud for the hard of hearing, spaced out keypad, can take a bad beating. Works fine with Motorola Phone Tools.

Cons

  • ONLY good for text talk, little difficulty with charge port.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dex
posted on 05 Mar 2010, 09:42

4

Motorola Quantico - Overall Disappointing

Had this phone for a little more than a month now.  I must say that overall I am very disappointed.  Why?  Because Motorola has fallen down in the quality department.  This phone is NOT reliable.  It has many firmware bugs that cause the phone to lockup and reboot under different and apparently random circumstances.  It appears to have been rushed to market.  The Bluetooth function is highly problematic often times disconnecting/reconnecting and sometimes locking-up requiring a power cycle to get Bluetooth working again.  I give Motorola an "F - failure" in the quality department.Usability is ok.  Not impressive.  This is disappointing due to the fact that Motorola should have acummulated experience designing phones.  They don't seem to have applied that experience to the usability of the phone.The physical desgin and build of the phone is great except for one thing: the back cover doesn't quite fit flush.  There is a small gap at the bottom.  It promises to be water proof.  It looks like there is a rubber gasket around the back cover provides a seal.  All the ports have rubber seals.  The charging port is a little difficult to open because the rubber gasket cover is thick.  I hope this doesn't wear out.  The buttons have a nice size to them and are easy for a person with big fingers to press.  The flip function appears to be rugged.  The phone feels...  

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Waterproof design. Lightweight. Flip design protects screen. Feels good in the hand. Speakerphone works well. Buttons are sized for ease of use.

Cons

  • Unreliable apparently due to firmware bugs. Phone locks up and reboots periodically. Bluetooth is very unreliable and locks up requiring the phone to be power cycled in order to get it working again. Charging plug is difficult to insert.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gj
posted on 01 Mar 2010, 12:53

5

Jury is still out...

I have only had the Quantico phone for a week, with metroPCS service.  Not sure if metro has a hand in the problems I am experiencing, as in they may have done custom programming on the unit beyond a standard Motorola distribution.I am using it with a 4GB microSD card inserted.  Reading the manual, I saw no info on how big/small the memory card could be.  Seems to be working, and the device announces that a memory card is inserted each time I turn it on, plus the phone created a file structure on the memory.  A good sign I guess.I was delighted to see the device is an mp3 player, since that means I can carry one less device around.  I was using bluetooth to send files to the unit albeit a bit more slowly than I would like to.  Of course I will probably get the USB cable at some point, and it still erks me that vendors don't include one to begin with, but that's a separate gripe.  :-(So back to mp3...while downloading files via bluetooth, the Quantico kept rebooting itself and I would lose connection to my PC.  I could NOT see all the files that I had downloaded from my PC, but some did show up on the phone's menu.  :-(With the memory card inserted, there now seems to be a couple separate folders labeled as "ring tones."  Not sure where is the best place to send them.  I sent a ring tone (again via bluetooth) to one of the ring tone folders, but I could not see it after the transfer.  It did show up in the available ringers,...  

Design 3/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rick martni
posted on 25 Feb 2010, 22:44

7

machine foreman

i have the phone for around 25 days like the rugged style good ringers loud,i am having a problem with getting incoming calls This is not signal problem.My son got him one and we call each other in same room his phone picks up his incoming callls but nine does not.Still working to find the problem with this phone.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • not all phones sre made alikew hen it comes right down to it.

Cons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sean88
posted on 15 Feb 2010, 00:43

8.3

Not Bad

I do allot of work outside and not usually in the most friendly conditions i got this phone about 2 weeks ago my first durable phone since the dinosaur Nextel bricks   It is definitely a waterproof phone I've dropped it in the snow quite a few times and in a horse toff it still works just fine the outer casing is made up of a rubber and a very abrasive resistant rubberized plastic lets say you drop the phone when getting out  of your truck because you left it on the seat ...not a scratch    it gets very good reception (atleast in Northern Illinois)   Multimedia for an average person  on this phone is great  takes decent pic and video and with an 8g memory capacity you can put ALLOT of stuff on this phone  the only issue i have is the phone seems to slow down considerably when under a work load  getting on the Internet or loading music files and pics and occasionally will freeze up   The external speaker is very loud you can actually hear your phone ring  when your downstairs and your phone is upstairs    I give this phone a 9  its good for just an average guy who wants a phone that doesn't have every frikin gadget but does have useful ones and wont break your wallet

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jeff M.
posted on 28 Jan 2010, 19:58

8.3

I too have found that the phone will lock up while using applications. The 5.8 hour battery talk time is a little exaggerated in my opinion (had a Samsung rated @ 4.0 that lasted longer than this) Also experiencing missed phone calls too. Beautiful phone though. Do like the large inside display screen (clear crisp images, and a better than average camera) Not a bad competitor for phones in this price range.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fike301
posted on 23 Jan 2010, 11:52

5.7

Motorola Quantico

I am on my second Motorola Quantico with US Cellular.....both phones had issues with no ringing, again not a signal issue. This is actually a software issue that was released here yesterday 1/22/10 ....just installed on mine so far does ring every time now. wow nice? Myself have not seen anywhere near the 5.8hours of talk time....guess thats if you live beside a cell tower? phone has locked up many times too, once using bluetooth after the new software, so im very dissapointed compared to other Moto products previously owned. Going to use for another week....will then decide if to keep.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Seems strong built
  • Phone volume and speakers good
  • keypad

Cons

  • software issues
  • poor battery life (not the rated 5.8hrs of talk time)
  • green color

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HBryant
posted on 16 Jan 2010, 23:51

10

awsome phone

I got this phone for my husband, who is actually a retired marine, (I did not know what Quantico was when I bought it, the phone just seemed perfect for him). He had broken every phone he ever had previously very quickly.  So the durability is perfect for him and he loves it. You can hear very well during conversation, extremely long battery life, music sounds great, takes good pics. He dropped it in the water, no damage. Dropped it on the ground, (on purpose) not even a scratch. He's left it out in the car in very cold weather, no damage. And it has stood up to my 1 year old chewing on it and throwing it around, which speaks for itself. So far it has been an Awesome phone. Very satisfied!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dc
posted on 05 Jan 2010, 17:15

4.7

motorola... same old

Like the barage and the v750, The head phone jack is in the worst possible location....Bottom Right hand corner. Seems to be by design for the purpose of forcing you into use of blue tooth. I have called Motorola many times and they act like they do not know what i am talking about. Also the sound quality tru the plug in jack is horrible on my v750. We should have the choice if we want to use a blue tooth or not.

Design 1/10
Features 7/10
Performance 6/10

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

smid87
posted on 04 Jan 2010, 15:12

6.3

W845 Quantico from U.S. Cellular

I have had this phone for over 30 days now and still have yet to resolve an issue with not receiving some calls. This issue is intermittant, and not a signal issue. I am not getting some calls and some texts even in strong signal area's. U.S. Cellular is aware of this issue and has tried to switch me to a different band and that did not work, then they did a PRL update and still having the same issue. I am trying to find out if this is just a fluke as I like the phone otherwise. The battery life is well within my needs, the camera is adequate for my needs as well. I am going to be dissappointed if I can not keep this or a different Quantico. I have not had a chance to drop it on solid ground or into a puddle, but I am not going to do that on purpose just to make sure (tempting murphy is a bad idea).

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Well it is rugged and that is necessary for my line of work. I like flip phones. Decent size inside display. Reasonable size and battery life.

Cons

  • Having trouble getting some calls.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 13 Dec 2009, 03:47

10

I got this phone 2 weeks after it was made. I have had it for almost 30 days now. I have found no defects with this phone. The battery life seems to last forever. I really like the ruggedness of the phone and the features. The style is nice and the screen is clear. I think motorola hit the mark with this one.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

will
posted on 29 Nov 2009, 20:15

5.3

Got the quantico right after it came out. Kept it exactly 16 days.I did not have any problems with the particular one I had, but I had the oppurtunity to examine a Motorola Barrage (same phone as the Quantico, except marketed by Verizon). It was only 2 weeks old and had LOTS of play in the hinge for the flip feature.Also, the display model of the Quantico at the retailer had LOTS of play in its hinge also.And the waterproof cover on the charging port made it hard to plug in the charger.

Design 5/10
Features 4/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Supposedly rugged? The Barrage I seen had two dents in the metal hinge after falling onto the floor once!

Cons

  • Excessive play in the hinge after a very short time(2 weeks).

29 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories