x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola DEVOUR User Reviews

6.4 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality7.5/10
Battery5.8/10
Reception8.8/10
Display7.8/10
Build quality9/10
Text input8.5/10
Everyday usage6.5/10
UI speed6.5/10
Camera6/10
Multimedia5.8/10
Internet6.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

christony1120
posted on 09 May 2012, 16:42 (Posts: 65; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)

6

My first and worst android phone

christony1120 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The build quality of the phone is great. It is all made with this sturdy aluminum that can take any fall, I also like that it had a battery opener on the side. The reception on the phone is alright. It fluctuates way too much and sometimes drops down to 1x even if I'm in a 3g area. The call quality is a little better than bad. Everything is real clear and crisp if your in a quiet room, but when a noisy you cant hear anything even with the volume on max. The internet on the phone is straight out bad. It lack full flash support, to zoom in you have to do by a little icon which means no multi touch, the pages render slowly, and it's really laggy with it's movement. The multimedia is alright, my only complaint is that in force closes on many apps and doesn't use any apps that don't support android 1.6. The camera on the phone is really horrid. The shots has really bad light balance and the shots come out really grainy. It also takes a good 3 seconds to take the whole shoot. The U.I speed is descent. It lags a little but not as extensively that your not even able to use it. The text input is very good because of the keyboard. The on screen keyboards are really laggy and doesn't hit the letter your finger is pressing on. The display is actually really pleasant in my opinion. It has really good brightness and everything looks nice and crisp. The battery life on the phone is really bad. It dies really quick with heavy usage and your lucky if can even get through half of the day with the...  

Build quality 9/10 Nice aluminum body. My only complaint is that the screen feels like it's made out of plastic instead of glass
Reception 6/10 Fluctuates too much
Call quality 8/10 Earpiece volume is pretty weak
Internet 6/10 Its good because its an android but cant pinch to zoom
Multimedia 5/10 Has android market but force closes to most of them
Camera 4/10 Sucks just cant give it a good score
UI speed 7/10 Lags too much
Everyday usage 6/10 Its not that good
Text input 9/10 I give props to the keyboard
Display 9/10 Very bright and crisp
Battery 2/10 Horrible

Pros

  • Android
  • Physical keyboard
  • Screen

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Plastic screen
  • Slow internet
  • Slow processor
  • Camera
  • Android 1.6
  • Call quality
  • Reception

christony1120 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

spridgeon
posted on 03 Jun 2011, 14:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jun 2011)

6

Unreliable.

spridgeon has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone has brought nothing but pure stress to my life. For the first month or so this phone worked fine, an occasional glitch, but not a big deal. Then one day it started to freeze, shut down anytime I would set an alarm, calendar event, or set it down wrong. Another thing that it started doing was, it would randomly not receive text messages. I would then force the phone to shut down, by removing the battery, and then start it back up (which took a while) and then I would have about 16 missed text messages. There was another occasion where the SD card was in place, and the phone was working fine, and then I went to make a call and I had zero contacts, the phone had just deleted them all. I shut the phone down, let it sit for about 5 minutes, restarted it, and then all my contacts were back.

The phone is sturdy though, and can handle being dropped, and the keyboard is very nice. The phone sounds like a good idea, but then once you start using it you realize what a mistake it was.

I also live in an area of very very poor cell phone reception, for any service, and this phone always managed to get at least a bar, so it has great reception. The internet on this phone though is VERY slow, and it takes a while for it to start up.

I personally do not like this phone because I text often, and I use the internet just as often. I need a phone that will be reliable to keep up with what I do, and this phone is just not doing it for me.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 3/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 9/10
Display 7/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Sturdy
  • Reception
  • Qwerty Keyboard

Cons

  • Freezes
  • Stops receiving text messages
  • Shuts down
  • Slow

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Stan
posted on 15 Dec 2010, 17:04

9

The devour is a great phone!

Stan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a great phone. Very user friendly. I have no idea why people have so much bad things to say about them. I am very picky about my phones. I go through 5 different phones within 1 month. This is one of the phones i have kept longer than usual. As well as the HTC Incredible.

Build quality 9/10 Is very durable.
Reception 9/10 Never dropped calls!
Call quality 9/10 Never had problems with people saying they couldn't hear me. Unlike the Samsung Fascinate.
Internet 8/10 Could be better, but this IS a basic android phone.
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10 Sadly only 3MP...
UI speed 8/10 WAY faster the the HTC ERIS and the Devour has less Mhz the the ERIS. But over all fast, never lacked.
Everyday usage 9/10 Great everyday usage.
Text input 9/10 Awesome qwerty keyboard and great error corrections.
Display 7/10 Very small display..
Battery 8/10 Battery is great, just depends on your usage.

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • looks great
  • feels great
  • very built

Cons

  • Camera
  • display
  • The fact that you cannot upgrade android software...
  • kind of bulky

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cody
posted on 27 Oct 2010, 10:38

8

Good phone. Don't see what all the hate is about.

Cody has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for about 8 months now and it has yet to break or become unusable. This bad boy is cased in solid metal so my clumsy self can drop it all day long without worrying about it breaking.

The MOTOBLUR software isn't very good at all. I'd say that, along with the 3MP, are the only drawbacks to this phone.

If you're having stability issues with this phone (I.E. - Turns off randomly or Camera won't work properly.) just bring it back to Verizon and exchange it. It's that easy... If anybody finds a phone that NEVER bugs on you, let me know. Because as far as I am aware, they don't exist.

Build quality 9/10 Very durable, but as a trade off it is somewhat bulky.
Reception 10/10 Verizon 3G and phone's built in microphone are up to par with anything on the market.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10 Video format is limited due to copyright issues with other companies. You can always download Third-party software to fix that problem. Hooray for Open-Source!
Camera 4/10 Camera is not good at all compared to other smartphones on the market.
UI speed 8/10 Can lag at times, but nothing ridiculous. Besides, the phone is only $80.
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Durable
  • Slide out keyboard
  • Very good reception
  • Android Market

Cons

  • Camera
  • Screen size
  • MOTOBLUR

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lola
posted on 04 Oct 2010, 14:53

4.7

Horrible Phone!

 When I 1st got this Phone I loved it, but less than a week i had it the Battery Slider Holder thing. just broke! So i got a New Phone and now it Freezes, Turns off, The Camera wont even work, It gets dents and scratches in it SO easily and it's just not worth it at all. The only thing i like was the Moto Blur but now instead of just Status Up dates and New Profile Picture, it now has all of the Question Apps in Facebook, like So and So answered a Question about you and "does this person have nice eyes" and the person who answers it says yes or no, but they are posted on OTHER people's wall! Bad Phone over all!

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • Look
  • Android
  • Moto Blur

Cons

  • Pretty Much Everything

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kay
posted on 31 Aug 2010, 15:01

1

Don't get it.

Freezes, get's hot. Not worth the money, spend your money on something else. I read reviews online that said it was good, but it's horrible probably the worst verizon smart phone out there. I will never waste my money on an motorola, moto blur phone. I had to spend $350 to cancle this phone and another $200 to get another phone!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Cute,

Cons

  • Bulky, battery life, weight, heats up, dies

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

joeshmoe _has_devour_phone
posted on 24 Apr 2010, 16:01

8.7

I really like it

BatteryEveryone says the battery life sucks.. well to be honest, it depends what you do with it. You have to remember it is surfing the web, downloading different things constantly, uses motoblur which takes alot and so for what it has you cant expect a battery to last you two days. If you say that you just use it for calling or for texting then obviously you are useing it a lot for that battery to be dead. they have a battery manager setting if this really becomes an issue for you. When the battery is low and almost empty it will tell you and bring up a "why" key and it will tell you how long stuff ran for and can give you an idea of what to use less of to keep the battery alive longer.Apps&GamesApps on this phone are really cool. they have hundreds maybe even thousand of apps both usefull and useless. Even still it reminds me of the Ipod touch. The games are similar to that of the Ipod Touch and i think they are cool too. Some of the apps do freeze up and time out but if you retry it should be all set. it all depends on the internet connection.. it does run off 3G so verizon cant cover everywhereTouch ScreenThis is great also. very easy to use and responds to your movement.. i guess this means if you drag the grey arrow on your home screen half way and dont let go it stays where your hand is and moves with you, it doesnt just go automaticly up, which i like. When people say that it touches multiple buttons at once (or types where they dont want to go) this could just be...  

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • read above please.. seperated into sections for you, you decide..

Cons

  • read above please.. seperated into sections for you, you decide..

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

IT/tech/social king :)
posted on 01 Apr 2010, 01:04

9.3

Phone is amazing as is any device that has android on it.  The Devour is like the little bro of the droid. the motoblur system is ehh.  The reviews for the technologically retarded as the 0 reviews on this site, wow i mean could you sound more like a 70 year old using string and cups.  The apps work great, battery is as expected 1 - 2 days.  these phone just take time getting use to them, you impatient, inept technology rejects need to sit and get your a.d.d. under control and learn the device because it can be frustrating with anything new the first couple days.  Verizon gives 30 days to try the phone. use the whole 30 days and then write your review. phone gets a 9 from me

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • blur, battery, apps, market, keyboard layout, design, android

Cons

  • blur, not for old people

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nito
posted on 26 Mar 2010, 21:41

1.3

BOOOOOOO!

From day one this phone has done nothing but give me problems. freezes trying to text!!!freezes opening facebook!!!always error msgs!!!force closes apps all the time!!!apps available are limited!!!!pic quality could be better!!no accessories for phone yet!!!!!!blur is annoying!!!we doesnt run like droid!!google maps is ***!!!!!

Design 2/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • good paper weight!

Cons

  • everything

6 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

suzukifan
posted on 26 Mar 2010, 21:34

4.7

devour is a no

Other than Facebook taking forever to load and the phone freezing all the time. then you have force closing going on all the time. i would say this phone is terrible as far as androids go. i would not recomend this phone at all. i have used almost everyphone out on verizons network and this by far is the worst. if it had better software it would be ok, it needs the same software that the moto droid has to even compete in droid merket. also touch screen does not always work. you have to touch several time for it to do action you want.

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • keyboard, blur if it worked well.

Cons

  • software is really bad needs about 2 newer versions before it will be good phone

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bc
posted on 07 Mar 2010, 13:51

9.3

:) pretty cool

**I think someone said there isn't a directional pad.. There is one... It is the little black square on the right.. It's not technically  on the key board but with a swipe of the thumb it lets you move left/right/up/down with the text cursor... You can also just tap on the screen but its handy if you want to just go back a letter or two** Ok, last time I posted a review it was for the samsung glyde after having had it for 3 days.  That was a huge mistake, I went through 5 of them and it was the biggest lemon ever.  First things first, this phone is available at retailers like w@lm@rt and beztbuy.  The verizon store told me last week that they wouldn't be released till the 15th of march.  So if you want one you can get one.On to the phone.  So far it has been mostly great. The few things that I have found are that I tend to put my hand over the microphone when I talk so I need to learn to hold it right.  Other than that the call quality seems very good.  The key board is great, it is very usable unlike the droid's.  It may not be the absolute best but I think it is definately one of the better ones I have ever used.  The touch screen is very responsive and the screen looks pretty great.  I have gotten pretty good service in terms of downlaods.  I have been able to watch youtube without too much buffering.  setting up my gmail was a breeze.  The calander built into the phone could be nicer, but I am sure...  

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Interface is easy to use
  • Call quality is good*
  • It feels well constructed
  • Keyboard is very good

Cons

  • *easy to accidently cover the microphone with hand
  • Not many voice selections for google navigator
  • could use a better calander

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

afd3350
posted on 04 Mar 2010, 22:13

8.3

Love this phone

I have been using this phone for a few weeks now and I love it.  I like the design layout and love Android OS.  I like the keyboard and the phone is very responsive.  If your into social networking, Motoblur does an awesome job integrating the services all into one.  The battery life could be better as my batter lasts about 9 hours give or take a little. 

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • MotoBlur is cool
  • Keyboard layout is good
  • Nice solid phone (been dropped several times)
  • Android OS runs smooth

Cons

  • Battery life could be better
  • Camera resolution is 3MP

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HanfordStore
posted on 04 Mar 2010, 19:59 (Posts: 18; Member since: 04 Mar 2010)

9

Moto Blur

    One of the best technology inventions ever, has Moto Blur, which allows you to use all your social networking on one device. From updating all, Face Book, Myspace, And Twitter updates through just one update, to viewing all your friends updates and moods right from your phone book.     Also has the ability to track your phone through GPS and lets you know exactly where it is on a map, and if is out of your hands to get it, you can wipe all the information on your phone right from your computer. And when you do get your replacement device, log in, and everything shows up as if it were your old phone. All walpapers, widgets, and apps are right where you left them.Moto Blur...

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Moto Blur

Cons

  • Internet fee

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 02 Mar 2010, 00:09

8.3

 Got this phone the day it came out and absolutely love it. Yes, I am a member of the younger targeted audience for this device. (16-24). I have previously used both the eris and Droid and this phone seems to be a middle compromise of the two. Yes, the processor isn't that of the Droid, BUT it is FAST and loads web pages and applications quickly. *though i did notice a slight lag when sliding open the keyboard, but this is very subtle.BATTERY - The battery life is pretty good, on the day I got the phone I charged it then used it pretty heavily with high screen brightness, wifi, and full 3g coverage and got a full 15 hours out of the battery, which is amazing. On days with normal use and power saver mode on I get it to last almost 2 days, probably would last the full 2 days if I were able to stay in complete coverage the entire time.SCREEN - The lower resolution screen than the Droid is only noticeable when placed side by side, holding this phone you appreciate the great screen.KEYBOARD - This keyboard is awesome! It is very spacious and provides good click feel. The phone lacks a directional pad but does include a touch sensitive directional selection area. (i forget what they actually call the thing). Honestly, this is almost useless, it can be used in all situations, but it is just easier to tap the screen or slide the page on the screen.SIZE - The size of the device is basically the same as the Droid, because of the fact that the bottom side of the device curves inward...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Battery
  • Android
  • Design
  • Battery
  • Keyboard
  • WiFi

Cons

  • Native Blur apps
  • Verizon apps
  • Size

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

stitch nicklas
posted on 01 Mar 2010, 02:14

1

avoid this phone!!!!

this piece of junk has been one problem after another!!!!

1-you can't transfer contacts
2-you can't get the back up manager app
3-app attempts all fail
4-system is NOT user friendly ..this is a kid phone

bottom line wife is taking it back after 2days and ditching it


avoid this phone verizon customer service is useless on the phone and in the store

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • none

Cons

  • all and everything

0 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Devour is NOT the Droid
posted on 28 Feb 2010, 13:21

7.7

EmAyTeeTee

This phone is NOT the droid, not even ment to be compared to it, and thats what alot of people are not realizing.  Its an android, yes.  Its a motorola, yes.   BUT it does'nt have 2.0/2.1....for a reason.  It has MOTOBLUR.  Motorolas own type of android software.  Its more for the social person.  Its a solid phone with pretty good battery life, great touch screen and a little more spred out keyboard.  Its not going to have all the features the Droid has, and the Devour is not going to have all the features the Droid has.   So before you judge and accuse that its not the Droid, remember that its not.  They are two totally different phones.  

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Battery life, Touch screen responsive, MOTOBLUR, Very social, marketplace.

Cons

  • Doesnt have free GPS, yet.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Steve143
posted on 28 Feb 2010, 07:20

7

Motos Devour vs. its older sibling, the Droid

CONS * Camera is very average and has no flash. Battery is average. Some options aren't present here like on the Droid. Older software than the Droid. Cant delete contacts from Facebook from your phone if Facebook is synced up. You have to filter them. Bummer. Get a rubber cover as soon as one is available because if you drop this phone or lean on it, it may scratch and with this silver color I know it will be very noticeable. Hard plastic snap on covers are available right now but thats not my style.

PROS * RF. Touch screen is very responsive and a tad better than the Droid. Volume. Feels solid. Texting is accurate. Better keyboard layout than the Droid but not the best either. When the keyboard slides out, it feels very solid. Good job on the mechanics on this phone MOTO! The Droids slide out character feels somewhat sloppy. Some options not here like on the Droid BUT ... there are some options on here not found on the Droid. Battery/SD card on the side of the phone. 5 home screens is nice.

OTHERS * APP STORE ( The Market ) is getting better each day. Its not communist like Apples App store! Motoblur. I'm not a fan of this. This is my opinion though. Like I said feels solid but silver is not my style. Optical track pad is useless to me. The track pad works fine but like I said is useless and makes the phone look silly. This phone is heavier than the Droid. Notification light is on the bottom left and is blue. Silly position to me. FYI. I couldn't play...  

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Verizon network -n ( RF ) Feels solid. Apps.

Cons

  • The Droid minus one star

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories