x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola Clutch i465 User Reviews

4.8 Based on 18 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed1/10
Camera2.3/10
Multimedia1/10
Internet3.7/10
Call quality3.3/10
Battery5/10
Reception2/10
Display5/10
Build quality2.7/10
Text input2/10
Everyday usage1.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

bubbles3_77
posted on 26 Jan 2012, 13:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Jan 2012)

4

ok Phone

bubbles3_77 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I had this phone before I thought I would up grade. I now miss this phone. I llike it had good spaker internet pick regular phone. it was slow on sending and recieving and camera wa not the best. I liked the fact the buttons were nive for my big fingers.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 4/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ridah93
posted on 08 Apr 2011, 17:13

2

first phone with boost, worse experience of all

Ridah93 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i bought this phone for it's QWERTY keyboard among other convenient features. it started out really nice for what it was when it first came out. and then the problems started. if JOE1 sent me a text, i would start typing a reply. if JOE2 texted me while i am typing a reply to JOE1, when i hit the send key to send my reply to JOE1, the reply would go to JOE2 instead because he was the last person to text me. i got in trouble several times for that. screen quality is bad. picture quality is bad. what drew the line you ask??? 4 months after i bought the phone the battery charger slot on the phone gets loos and goes bad. this is the time when i find out that this is one of the few phone that motorola gave only a 90 DAY WARRANTY!!!!! so i was stuck with the phone having a hard time charging. this is when i decided to never buy from motorola again. i also had problems with their bluetooths as well. in order to have a phone, i had to basically kiss boost mobiles but for them to send me"a" phone at all.

Build quality 1/10 charge port goes bad after 4 months of daily use. motorola's warranty on this phone is ONLY THREE MONTHS!
Reception 4/10 reception was okay, just a few dropped calls here and there but nothing major for me in my area.
Call quality 4/10 once i am outside, i am fine. being inside of most buildings is my only problem.
Internet 3/10 never got on the internet unless i had to. didn't like the experience.
Multimedia 1/10 just garbage. storage sucks, music quality sucks, formatting sucks.
Camera 4/10 camera quality is bad overall. pictures taken from this phone should only be viewed on the phone.
UI speed 1/10 very slow. sometimes crashes.
Everyday usage 1/10 i can only say that the phone was there when i needed it the most. however, most of my respect goes to boost mobile themselves.
Text input 1/10 the absolute worse experience i have ever had with texting. inputting the letters/words is great, but sending and recieving is i totally different world of hell.
Display 4/10 good for somebody who wants something extra simple, but sucks badly for me particularly.
Battery 8/10 battery life is about the best thing this phone has to offer. it's not the longest overall but no complaints from me on this one.

Pros

  • battery life
  • good emergency situations

Cons

  • bad WARRANTY
  • bad quality
  • bad reception in buildings
  • slow internet on small screen
  • bad sound quality
  • crashes
  • texting is the worse
  • display too small

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

extreamly agrivated
posted on 01 Feb 2011, 19:31

1

This phone is the the worst phone ever.

extreamly agrivated has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

At first the phone is all cool, then in couple months it turns too crap.. when i got this phone it was for the unlimited everything, and this phone does non of that. The web is horible.. Texting is disaster and talking on the phone doesn't happen most of the time. Half my text don't get sent out and i don't always recieves people text, and the phone is always droping calls.Couple weeks ago on a sunday, i text my friends to go bowling, and waited for responce but now one did,until days after. They didn't recieve the messages for like 3 or more days after.. Im always getting droped when im talking on the phone, and its not the signal bec. it has a full bar. I WILL never get a phone like this again. Its the worst phone ever.and battery is horible, and so is the camera... Nothing is good about this phone...

Build quality 1/10 because its the worst phone ever.
Reception 1/10 horible
Call quality 1/10 im always getting droped and no one can hear me..
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10 no one ever gets my text and i don't get there's.
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10 the battery is horible,

Pros

  • nothing

Cons

  • everything

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

i465 hater
posted on 19 Aug 2010, 16:20

1.7

not happy at all !!

i got this phone about 1 month ago..  the screen goes white constantly,  it drops calls and takes forever to download a text message,  how in the world do you get it to do predictive texts anyway??  still can't figure that one out.   I have my phone on the charger more than i do in my ear,  i can charge it all night long and by noon the battery is dead!
I have tried to talk to boost about this but its so hard to get a live person on the phone that i just give up .   I'm going back to T-mobile, anyone have any suggestions about a really good phone with them?

Design 3/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • the phone rings when its charged and lets you talk for a bit

Cons

  • battery dies very quickly, no predictive text, camera is crap, cant download music, charger is going bad after 1 month.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Leasha
posted on 15 Aug 2010, 09:41

3.3

Phone Failure

I also have a phone that the screen began going white and dropping my calls.  It took several minutes of trying to take battery in and out to get it to turn back on.  The first time I thought it was because my battery was low.  Now it's doing it every few minutes and will barely stay on.  And wouldn't you know, I bought it just a little over 90 days ago!  My last Motorola phone!!!!

Design 8/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • It works good the first few months!

Cons

  • Four months into it and now I'm left spending another $100.00 on a phone.... but guess what! It won't be a Motorola!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cindy
posted on 01 Aug 2010, 18:55

2.3

AWFUL!!

I have the Motorola i465 phone. It looked great externally, but once you've owned it for several months, the screen begins to fail and the text messages take several minutes to download....DOWNLOAD! Who has ever hear of their damn messages having to download?!?!? I called the Motorola Tech Dep. and they gave me some BS about turning in my phone to get reparied due to its warranty expiration. Why should the customer pay for their product's malfunction? It's not fair! I wouldn't go as far as not buying any motorola products because the Incognito actually does work. Now I'm stuck with now phone, and am afraid I might loose all my FREAKING information because of this issue. I HATE THIS PHONE!!!

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Michelle P
posted on 31 May 2010, 20:04

5

Motorola does not back up this phone!!

I bought this phone for my husband and I for Valentines Day!! My phone has been great but his has a glitch that Motorola can't fix. The screen will go white while your talking on the phone and you'll loose the phone call. You have to take the battery out and put it back in to get it to work. We called Motorola and they told us to send it in, it cost us $20 to have it shipped to them and when they sent it back it still wasn't fixed. Now they want us to send it in again and pay more shipping because they didn't fix it the first time! We had to be with out the phone for 2weeks and lost all the ringtones and games. It's costing more money to get it fixed under warranty then it would just to buy another phone. I'll never buy anything from Motorola again because they don't stand by their phones. I have read several reviews of people complaining that their screen goes white and just turns off so this is a malfunction in the phone. Why does the consumer have to pay for their mistakes!!

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 1/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cd
posted on 12 Apr 2010, 09:05

9

Good phone for what it's supposed to do.

This phone is great for my purposes.Full keyboard, Direct connect, Bluetooth. Quick keys for text, web and camera. great.Its a phone with a full keyboard,  not a pda or smart phone. So you can't stream video or music. Read the specs, its not designed for that.Yes the battery life stinks with bluetooth active, but that's why I bought a spare battery. And i Get about 3 hours of talk time on a full charge. Couldn't get that out of my previous smart phone, had to change the battery about twice a day. And 50.00 for unlimited everything and no local calling area great. Works great for checking email( I have multiple for work). a little slow compared to 3g etc. but I'll reiterate IT'S NOT DESIGNED FOR THAT. Most Iden phones really aren't. They are more setup for  Text, talk and ptt. If you want better speed, for internet, select one of the cdma type phones. As to the service. Yeah you will sometimes get delays in text messages. This has more to do with inter-carrier as opposed to in carrier(in my experience). Haven't had any problems with in carrier(boost/nextel, not counting sprint phones).If you want a good phone with a full keyboard, it's a great choice. IF you want to have a ton of stupid apps on a phone, get a blackberry. Or a different service. And remember to always check the specs before you buy and you'll be less disappointed with your purchase. Don't just buy a phone because it looks cool. It might not do what you want it to do. Caveat emptor(buyer beware), ...  

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Bluetooth
  • camera
  • Direct connect
  • Quick keys for text, web and camera.
  • unlimited plan rocks compared to the others.

Cons

  • battery life(with BT Active)

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KonichiwaBella
posted on 29 Mar 2010, 18:43

2.7

This Fone Is Crap

i have had this phone for about 3 months now and i dont recommend this phone to anyone. it dies quick, it shuts off randomly, it freezes, the internet conks out, you cant download apps, you cant add music i could go on and on. i bought the phone because it was similar to a blackberry without having to pay blackberry price. i guess its true, you get what you pay for.

Design 6/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • the qwerty keyboard, the buttons on the side makes it easy to access the internet, messaging and browser

Cons

  • everything else

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

camille
posted on 26 Feb 2010, 19:06

2.7

mortorola crap 1465

I've had this phone for about 1 year now and its has ALOT of problems. Like it freeze up, shuts off, internet is slow, bad battery, charger is starting not to work, and some on call it tells you a different person is calling and when you answer the phone is still ringing then you have to take the crappy battery out put it back in and call the person back if you can find signal. I would'nt tell anybody to get this phone. Phone buyers beware.

Design 2/10
Features 3/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • has a stong body

Cons

  • everything ealse

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Folash
posted on 31 Jan 2010, 15:16

4.3

the motorola clutch i465

I got my phone used off of ebay for $90 and i would say its not worth that much. Ive had my phone for about 6 months. The problems i am having with phone is the battery. It is terrible it has hardly no battery life. Can use the battery if it is fully charged for one day by the end of the day the battery is dead and i have to charge it again. Also another problem with it would be the slow messaging. It could be a default of the service tho. Sometimes messages dont go thru or come in. I get messages hours after they were sent sometimes, as well as find out they messages were recieved hours after i sent them. The camera resolution isnt that great. the pictures are usually blurry, but at the time it was the best phone boost mobile had with their company. Now that they are getting some better phone i think im gonna switch...

Design 6/10
Features 3/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • +looks like a blackberry.. a lot of people think my phone is nice until i tell them its not a blackberry or anything like one lol
  • +Holds a lot of calender notes
  • +can use music ring tones

Cons

  • -Slow...dark age phone.lol
  • -a lot of the webpages on the internet dont work
  • -cant download many apps
  • -there is a lot that is not compatible with this phone
  • -can't make a contact's ringtone to be silent
  • -can add music to the phone

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Miss.Lady
posted on 28 Sep 2009, 08:48

6.7

The i456 Clutch

Wow this phone is a mess. ive only had it  for about a month and a half and its already messing up.As of now it cuts off and runs slow. Like when youre recieving a text message it takes a while to download a message.It wont allow you to view any MMS message if it has music attached to it . But as far as the battery ,signal,and the look its a good phone.Boost just has to work on the slow messaging and the ringtones.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Good signal and battery

Cons

  • Slow messaging and you have to only use boost mobile's websites for ringtones

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ryan8186
posted on 21 Aug 2009, 18:15

7

the i456

ive had my clutch for a little over a month now and the main issue i have with it is texting witch is supposed to be its big apeal i love the full keyboard but it doesnt hel when you cant read or send texts as i type ive been waiting for this thing to downlaod a texts since 4:20 and its not 6:04 and it has similar issues with sending the texts but that im told is the networks fault not the phones but ive been with boost for over a year and never realy had a problem sending and reciving texts but im not here to bash the phone there are alot of good things about it like the full kebouard and chirp the cameras not great but if i realy want good pics ill use my actual camera its a realy tuff phone i havent realy droped it or anything but you can tell by holding it that it can hold up to abuse promarily i am a flip phone fan so i do take issue with the screen geting scrached up but thats nothing a little stick on protector cant handle the games that come with it are ok but you only get a few plays before thay quit working :(
what happened to the days where you got at least one full free game when you bought a phone ...(BRING BACK SNAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) but anyway the ohine it realy user friendly as far as learning all the ins and outs of it and theres a quick button for just about every function of the phone so out of 10 i give it a 7

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

Cons

  • slow text laoding

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zorkref
posted on 28 Jul 2009, 08:15

8.3

Wodnerful Phone

The Motorola i465 is one of the best phones I have owned. There are of course many things that could be changed about it, but overall it's a good phone. The design of the phone isn't the best, mainly because it's a bar phone and I've never liked those type, not to mention there is only one color and it's not the best combination of colors.
Overall:  It is a good phone if you travel a lot and mainly just talk and chat and check a few things on the web like Facebook, Myspace or just to check the weather.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • How it recieves service is better than any other phone that I've had. I can go to places where before I would have phones that ran off the same towers and I couldn't get service at all. Now I go with this phone and I'm getting 4 or 5 bars off the bat. It's also nice since it's with Boost Mobile because youc an pay for the $50 monthly unlimited plan. That makes it so much easier to text and get on the web as much as you want, and if you're on the go like me, that's soemthing you need.

Cons

  • It is a new phone so there isn't a lot of programs already made for it, so you can't do a lot of stuff on it off the bat. Not to mention that since Boost Mobile blocks any downloads not from thier own website. This is bad because Boost only has 1 IM chat program and it doesn't work on this phone, so you have to use the browser messengers, which ain't as good. It's also bad because they don't have any programs for email and the phone isn't installed with one already unless you get it from Sprint.

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Art Vandeley
posted on 19 Jun 2009, 17:07

8

Tres Bien Motorola!

I'm a fan of the i465. If you're looking for the pay-as-you-go equivalent of the Apple iPod, you're not going to find it here.  This is not a portable hand-held personal computer in the tradition of higher-end phones.  You're not going to spend hours browsing the web and checking e-mail on this little guy, and it's not as aesthetically appealing.  But if you want a phone that can call and text with the best of them, along with the most reasonable monthly rate around ($50 for unlimited everything), and you don't feel justified pledging 1/50 of your life to a phone company (as with standard 2-year contracts you have to sign with other companies), then you could do a lot worse than the i465 with a Boost Mobile plan. The screen resolution could be better, and the camera's just for kicks (you won't be snapping nature photos for National Geographic with it), though for many those are very minor disappointments.  My only major dissatisfaction with the phone itself is the absence of any sort of covering for the keypad, and the battery life isn't what it should be.  You'll want to plug it in anytime you're driving to ensure continuous operation if you're a heavy talker.  As for the Unlimited plan, quite frankly this is what I've been dreaming of since the invention of cellular phones. Finally, a flat monthly rate regardless of usage! And with the push-to-talk feature, the "Star Trek" vision of wireless instant communication has finally become...  

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 7/10

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yusef
posted on 17 Jun 2009, 16:54

8.7

construction dude

I love this phone! It's great .Tough , email , text , push to talk , qwerty key pad! Ahhhh Im conected on all levels at all times ....Camera , MMS messaging, Nte pad alll for 129.00 ...I love this phone! I can't afford all that other stuff,so this is the one for me.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 14 Jun 2009, 01:38

9

if you like to text alot this is the phone for you. i got one and i love it

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 13 Jun 2009, 15:11

1

it is a nice phone with qwerty board for people who like to text alot but overall it sucks!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • nothing

Cons

  • everything

14 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories