x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola Admiral User Reviews

8 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage7.5/10
UI speed7/10
Camera7.3/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet7.8/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery7.5/10
Reception8/10
Display9/10
Build quality7.8/10
Text input8.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

jammin969
posted on 01 Nov 2012, 15:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Nov 2012)

4

worst phone I have ever owned

jammin969 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Battery life is terrible: about 10 hours before battery dies without using GPS, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or making any active calls. Touchscreen has lots of sensitivity issues. Managing emails is a total mess. Does not hold calls well in low reception areas. About the only plus is the camera is pretty good.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 4/10
Display 7/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • decent camera

Cons

  • Battery
  • Battery
  • Battery (yes it is that bad)
  • Slow
  • Drops calls
  • Touchscreen has serious issues

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jiffy247
posted on 26 Feb 2012, 13:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Jan 2012)

9

real quality pocket power....

jiffy247 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had this phone for about 3 weeks and i gotta say........I'm impressed. the look, feel and performance of the admiral is overall great for that person that does almost everything with their phone but doesn't want the bulkiness of lets say the size of an EVO ( which i actually switched from). as soon as sprint gets the PTT up and running to a decent level it will be a very versatile phone...

Build quality 10/10 fits in the hand very well, and the pocket
Reception 9/10 not the phone, but sprint.
Call quality 8/10 call quality is great EXCEPT for the sprint PTT
Internet 10/10 fast browser, alot of email acounts and doesn't clog
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 could have an 8 mega pixel but still a good camera
UI speed 9/10 i love how fast it is for as small it is, wouldn't change it at all..
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 blackberry die hards will go crazy for this phone( i was one).
Display 10/10 its perfect for me but if someone had bad sight then i could understand why they wouldn't like this screen.
Battery 10/10 as i am writing this, i havent plugged my phone to charge since yesterday morning..

Pros

  • keyboard
  • fit in hand very nicely
  • battery life

Cons

  • PTT( but thats not the phones fault)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jsmattes
posted on 05 Jan 2012, 23:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Aug 2011)

10

AN Android Treo

jsmattes has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Finally A phone a phone that will make me forget how much I miss my Treo. A step up from the XPRT. Silky smooth. The portrait keyboard is ideal. The screen bright and the glass feels slick, your fingers glide.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

autoexec.bat
posted on 14 Nov 2011, 08:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Nov 2011)

9

LOVE This Phone

autoexec.bat has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is fantastic. I've been waiting for a non-low-end QWERTY Android phone. I wanted this phone so bad I signed a two-year contract for it, and I am not sorry. Reception on Sprint's network is fantastic. Specifically, at my desk at work my signal is poor (around -109 dBm) and I can hold calls just fine without dropping. Amazing. That said, the battery REALLY suffers in low-signal areas - below 20% by 11pm. In areas with good signal (my house) and normal use, my battery is at around 50% by 11pm. Note this is also with Bluetooth on (but usually not connected) all day, every day. I usually leave GPS off unless I am using Google Maps.

The earpiece is VERY clear and VERY loud, which is something that's very important to me. I think this is a Motorola thing. The keyboard is absolutely perfect. It's better than the Droid Pro keyboard because the keys are angled towards your thumbs to "catch" them instead of being angled sideways like on the Droid Pro. The keys are also more rubberized than a Blackberry keyboard, making your finger less likely to slip. It makes a huge difference.

Most major apps work well. I've noticed that some apps are missing. Speculation is that app devs didn't specify Android 2.3.5 at 640x480 as a safe resolution, so some apps don't show up. Examples: Engadget app and Radio Thermostat, just to name two I would normally use.

For those who don't care about Direct Connect service, you can totally ignore it. In other words, if you don't activate DC service,...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Amazing keyboard
  • Huge battery
  • *LOUD* earpiece and speaker
  • Call quality is amazing even w/ low signal
  • High resolution for screen size

Cons

  • So-so camera
  • Battery drain
  • Wifi is flaky
  • Apps missing from Android Market

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories