x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia Lumia 800 User Reviews

9.5 Based on 16 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.4/10
Call quality9.7/10
Battery8.9/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.4/10
Build quality9.7/10
Text input9.8/10
Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed9.9/10
Camera9.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

lumiaperson27
posted on 25 Mar 2013, 16:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Mar 2013)

10

Best Buy Ever!!!

lumiaperson27 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is truly amazing. It is fast the apps are great, everything I need just on one device. I've had blackberrys, HTCs and samsungs in the past but none compare to this. The nokia lumia range are all super but this just has to be a personal fav!

Couldn't do without it! It helps get me through the days and lasts forever on full battery and the battery saver is a great tool for when you have to work over time lol

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 So fast
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Never fails
Text input 10/10 Fast, fluent
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 Lasts forever could go for 3 days without charging!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jack_mccarron
posted on 18 Feb 2013, 07:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Feb 2013)

8

Okay but not great

jack_mccarron has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Nokia Lumia 800 was my first "premium" smartphone with great features, I thought. This phone wasn't that different to the Nokia Lumia 710 I had before therefore I wasn't pleased.
I have had enough with the Windows Phone ecosystem and I can come to conclusion that it is a very stable operating system, but the lack of apps and customization options really pulls me apart from this handset.
Overall, the experience was good but the hardware is frankly average.

Build quality 7/10 My white version is built like a tank but it is really Slippy. Just 3 weeks ago, I found that the screen was wobbly.
Reception 8/10 Good, only 3 dropped calls over 2 months
Call quality 10/10 Great call quality, the voices are very clear
Internet 10/10 Runs very smooth (most of the time) and it can handle most websites
Multimedia 7/10 OK, not as refined as Android or iOS
Camera 8/10 Average at best, it is let down by a purple spot in the middle. The flash is very bright and macro shots are very strong
UI speed 10/10 Very smooth, rarely ever lags, opening apps isn't as fast probably due to single core
Everyday usage 7/10 OK, haven't had the best experience
Text input 10/10 The keyboard is very good, nice responsiveness and the auto correct function works brilliantly
Display 5/10 Sadly, the super amoled panel is pentile so my experiences with the display are poor. You can see lots of pixels in the battery icon.
Battery 9/10 With the battery saver feature turned on with average usage, I could easily get 1 day and a quarter on one charge

Pros

  • Battery
  • Smoothness
  • Camera
  • Reception

Cons

  • Display
  • apps

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

WindowsPhoneUser7.5
posted on 13 Dec 2012, 11:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Dec 2012)

10

Nokia Lumia 800 Running Windows Phone 7.5

WindowsPhoneUser7.5 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Although i do not own a Lumia 800, i have used one and borrowed one for review purposes.

The build qaulity of the Lumia 800 shines bright, this is not a mid-in handset! This is high end qaulity! :D

Firstly, starting off with Multimedia the Nokia Lumia 800 does a fantastic job just like the Lumia 710 (Which i have). Video playback is smooth and runs very well, and the people hub that is a feature in Windows Phone also runs very well.

Onto the Operating System (OS), Windows Phone 7.5 runs extremely smoothly and the Bing services (local scout, Bing Search, Bing Maps etc) is the icing on the cake! :) And the Lumia 800 will get even better with the Windows Phone 7.8 Update that is promised to come to Windows Phon 7.5 devices in the new year. (Hopefully!)

Aesthetics of the device also look great, however, part of this stunning looks have been taken from the Nokia N9 (Not running Windows Phone OS at all). None the less, the colour choices the lumia 800 comes in is ok, not bad :)

In conclusion, the Nokia Lumia 800 makes a great smartphone, and unlike android, you won't find any lag or malware in Windows Phone 7.5.

Take a look at the ratings below! :)

Cheers.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Great Camera!
  • Comes in a few different colours
  • Good build qaulity
  • The design is amazing, how its built and how it looks, aesthetics is the main highlight :D

Cons

  • Battery life isn't the best, it will get you through the day however with moderate use.
  • No front facing camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Belleke
posted on 05 Dec 2012, 04:54 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Dec 2012)

9

Best choice ever!

Belleke has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I just love the phone! It's a beauty, it's very practical. It does everything you want and it's everything you need. If you like social media than this phone is for you a gift. But also email en txt messaging is easy to use. Nokia maps en drive are two handy tools and they work perfectly! The tiles from windows phone are very cool. I can't wait for an update tot windows 7,8!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Windows Phone
  • Social media like Facebook, twitter,...
  • People hub is a handy tool
  • The smartphone looks great
  • The amoled screen
  • Fast processor
  • Easy to use
  • Nokia Maps, Drive,...

Cons

  • Camera
  • Maybe the battery by full use

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

vibrant500
posted on 06 Nov 2012, 18:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Jul 2011)

10

Amazing!

vibrant500 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I was originally going to get an android way back in December when the Nokia Lumia 800 was announced. Now i was originally going to get the black version but after seeing the Cyan version in the phone shop well it's safe to say it was love at first sight.

The build quality of the phone is fantastic now initially i had a software issue with my phone but that got resolved after visiting a Nokia Care centre since then and well before then i loved the phone quite frankly it's the best handset i have owned. The os is great, fast, socially integrated with my facebook, twitter etc. I always get people staring at my phone and commenting that it's nice. The camera is also fantastic and the support from Nokia is second to none! If you get a windows phone get a Nokia windows phone.

Build quality 10/10 Just excellent!
Reception 10/10 Never had an issue.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Just love it!
UI speed 10/10 Super fast! Honestly!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Easy and fast!
Display 10/10 Love the fact there is a curve in the screen makes it seem more premium.
Battery 7/10 Average like most smartphones but due to issues with it at the beginning i would be lying if i said this wasn't an issue for me. The battery has improved from 12 hours to about 24 hours since getting the firmware resolved. But as it's a Nokia i always expect a legendary battery.

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • Curved Display
  • Camera
  • Internet Explorer
  • Social Integration
  • Fast UI

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • No Front Facing Camera

vibrant500 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

shahasane11
posted on 27 Oct 2012, 11:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Oct 2012)

8

my posonal phone

shahasane11 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

get is used for email chat sharing 2 social
all is grt go for it no douit bec its is nokia and main is the app nokia app nokia drive nokia maps transport
get is used for email chat sharing 2 social
all is grt go for it no douit bec its is nokia and main is the app nokia app nokia drive nokia maps transport

Build quality 9/10 grt grt grt
Reception 2/10 ????????????????????????
Call quality 9/10 clear voice
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10 good -2bec no sending why bt
Camera 8/10 micro mode is not so good
UI speed 9/10 is soo smood bec of light os not like heavy android
Everyday usage 10/10 every day i see the mobile it fell fresh no symbian no android os that why
Text input 9/10 good but no swipe
Display 9/10 boc amoled and cbd
Battery 8/10 its desent but while gaming.u should pluge in the charger 2ur mob and play

Pros

  • all is grt

Cons

  • no bt sharing
  • no sd slot

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

microsoftnokiawin
posted on 18 Sep 2012, 19:11 (Posts: 977; Member since: 30 Mar 2012)

9

Good Phone

microsoftnokiawin has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great Overall Phone, does the job very well. Has a great music experience but video experience needs improvements. Strong screen and great build. Fast UI, clean, crisp and snappy. Marketplace improving by the day. Bright good quality screen. Clearblack AMOLED, screen bright in the sun (little glare).

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Fast UI
  • Great Music Experience
  • Strong Premium Build
  • Good Quality Screen
  • Internet Browsing
  • Capacitive Touch
  • Camera Button
  • Carl Zeiss Lens

Cons

  • No front Facing Camera
  • No Dual/Quad Core
  • Camera Quality Good be better in the dark
  • Few Bugs
  • No Blutooth Transfer

microsoftnokiawin alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kimyhang
posted on 31 Jul 2012, 22:10 (Posts: 14; Member since: 17 Jul 2012)

10

amazing phone by nokia

kimyhang has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best windows phone.
I've had the white edition
I love the OS and I love the design of this phone.
I love the way it feels in my hand.
i would give this phone a 10/10 because of its outstandding performance and design.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • All Pros

Cons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abhishek0180
posted on 01 Jul 2012, 12:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jul 2012)

9

Nokia Lumia 800 review

abhishek0180 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is my opinion....after using my phone for 7 months now.
The build quality of the phone is excellent except for the battery with drains out very quickly on using the internet
But still it is a marvellous phone and worth the cost

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Windows mango software
  • Phone Quality
  • Phone speed

Cons

  • Battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

nikecy6
posted on 31 May 2012, 03:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 May 2012)

10

Greatt

nikecy6 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nokia lumia 800 is very good phone despite some of the OS cons like the bluetooth transfer but also this phone is very user-friendli also the clear black amoled display is amazin despite its small size. Also for me the small size to the phone is one of its pros.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • nokia Drive,Maps and music
  • Build quality
  • small screen and phone dimentions

Cons

  • Bluetooth
  • No front faceing camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

neil3251
posted on 22 May 2012, 00:43 (Posts: 4; Member since: 22 May 2012)

10

A good comeback by nokia

neil3251 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

got this cell as a replacement for my E-63 got to say that i am not regretting it. A good cell created by nokia. the windows 7.5 OS is working great for me it makes all my older cell phones look bad .I have been a huge fan of nokia and this cell phone hes been a good one to pave way for nokia's resurgence in the cell phone market

Build quality 10/10 i am a very clumsy person dropped the phone many times still looks as good as new
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10 needs some of the features that are not there like text reflow
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 way better then Symbian s60 class from which i upgraded
Everyday usage 9/10 great experiance
Text input 8/10 needs the vibrating option for emulating key press
Display 9/10 not as good as my nokia e 63 but overall ok
Battery 10/10 good enough for a whole day and half if i use it for music and reading and taking calls

Pros

  • good build
  • cloud sync
  • user friendly
  • unique device (for now)
  • great display in sunlight

Cons

  • no bluetooth file transfer
  • not able to connect to nokia suite to download maps
  • no micro sd card support
  • 16 gb memory not enough
  • no smartdailing

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

daymler
posted on 09 May 2012, 09:00 (Posts: 12; Member since: 09 May 2012)

10

The Best Phone!!!

daymler has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had the white edition and i have to say - that phone is ICONIC!!! Unique design and very smooth and beautiful UI. Everithing is just enough (RAM, Processor, Storage etc.). I love the way it feels in my hand and it's the best phone i ever had (my last was iphone 4s).

Build quality 10/10 The phone feels very exclusive in my hand.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Unique colors and contrast.
Camera 10/10 Carl Zeiss...!!!
UI speed 10/10 Windows Phone...!!!
Everyday usage 10/10 Windows phone again...
Text input 10/10 The best keyboard
Display 10/10 Clear Black AMOLED
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Unique Design
  • Gorilla Glass
  • Carl Zeiss Optic
  • Windows Phone looks amazing!

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

billscotts
posted on 22 Jan 2012, 09:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Jan 2012)

10

bill scott

billscotts has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I change handsets every few months. Used many many handsets, iphone android, symbian blackberry and what not...This one is the most amazing phone yet. Beleive me, its awesome. The design of this phone and the interface of windows phone both fit into each other very perfectly. I am currently enjoying it alot. Though the apps in marketplace are not as much as in appstore but new apps are coming very fastly . So hopefully after sometime, there will be enough apps. i would give this phone a 10/10 because of its outstandding performance and design.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • great design
  • great Operating System
  • works very well and fast

Cons

  • no 1080p video recording
  • display is smaller than lumia 900
  • no front facing camera
  • no dula core processor

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kylie
posted on 22 Jan 2012, 06:28 (Posts: 9; Member since: 22 Jan 2012)

10

kylie

kylie has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

this is not only the best windows phone but the best mobile phone i have ever had. I love the OS and I love the design of this phone. This phone is made for windows phone and windows phone is made for this phone. Thats All

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • all pros

Cons

  • no front facing camera

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

drahmad
posted on 22 Jan 2012, 06:21 (Posts: 478; Member since: 20 Aug 2011)

10

Ahmad

drahmad has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just another great handset from Nokia , I recommend it to every one. The build of phone is great and works very well. No complexities like android. The user interface is awesome, looks very modern and is responsive . One thing to mention, this OS is especially optimized for the commonest things that we do with our handsets in every day life, so it makes things so easy. With respect to this, android handsets are very old looking, slow and complicated. So when ll these great features of windows phone are combined the the exceptional design of Nokia Lumia , it will make you very proud of your handset.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

varunrawal
posted on 19 Dec 2011, 16:08 (Posts: 10; Member since: 04 Oct 2011)

9

Windows Revolution,Nokia strikes back!

varunrawal has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best windows phone till date (i have used),the best budget and performance alternative to the iphone(S),skydrive a best alternative to i cloud, nokia drive is simply the best mapping and gps tool in my my opinion,good built (you get an add on silicon skin in the box),doesnt feel cheap coz of the plastic, call quality is excellent,gorilla glass is really good and gives the phone a good feel and touch.

Build quality 10/10 doesnt feel cheap at all plus u get a add on silicon or rubber skin along with device
Reception 10/10 pretty good in elevators and closed spaces
Call quality 10/10 excellent
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10 lacks front facing cam(it dint really bother me)
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10 unbelievable feel and response
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Amoled Screen
  • Refreshing UI
  • Solid build
  • Perfect feel and grasp
  • Supberb performance
  • Nokia maps & Drive
  • Pretty neat rendering
  • Sky drive is the best alternative to i cloud

Cons

  • camera may get grainy
  • slightly smaller display

varunrawal alternatives:

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories