x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Thrill 4G User Reviews

8 Based on 6 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet8.2/10
Battery6.5/10
Call quality8.5/10
Display8.5/10
Reception8.8/10
Build quality9/10
Text input8.8/10
Everyday usage8/10
UI speed8.7/10
Camera6.7/10
Multimedia8.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

MRkowalaBEAR
posted on 24 Nov 2011, 04:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Nov 2011)

9

LG Thrill 4G, Innovative Devices At It's Best

MRkowalaBEAR has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love how the device feels in my hand, heavy and sturdy. I'm a big guy with big needs. Never had a dropped call, EVER! I always experienced great crystal clear quality calls. Awesome and smooth internet usage, although recently the 4G speeds have been jumping up and down.

The LG Thril 4G has everyone someone needs to view pictures, listen to music, and watch your videos. The camera overall is good, but it could've had at least the new standard 8MP. I mean, we have 3D, but not a better camera quality? The user interface, meaning the main screens, slide about smoothly and quickly. One thing I noticed is that when exiting applications, there is a lag. Not a slight lag, but a really noticable lag.

Overall device usage, it's a great new toy with a lot of extra goodies. With the 4.3'' screen display, horizontal or vertical typing is a lot better than smaller screens of course, but I strongly believe ALL smartphones should have a physical QWERTY keyboard. The screen is AWESOME and picture quality is AMAZING!

As far as battery usage, it's horrible. But everyone that buys ANY, and I mean ANY, smartphone, realize that you are no longer buying a phone but you are buying a hand-held laptop with benefits of phone calls.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Big Sturdy Device Design
  • Ultra Clear 4.3
  • HDMI/3D Capabilities

Cons

  • 3-4 Hour Continuous Battery Usage
  • 3D Is Not Up To Par
  • Laggy Application Exiting

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rex0422
posted on 29 Oct 2011, 03:37 (Posts: 30; Member since: 12 Aug 2011)

7

LG Thrill 4G- Do you want 3D?

rex0422 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

AT&T customers who are waiting for 3D on your phone, it is now your showtime. Here is the LG Thrill 4G.

First, this is a high-end phone, but I think it fails a lot of areas, especially on PHONE. Call quality is below average, reception is not on-par with other AT&T 4G phones, but data speeds were great because I usually get 5 Mbps down and 2 Mbps up. I mean, call quality is not great, static and muffled voices are heard through the earpiece and speakerphone fares even worse. Also, reception is not great. I live in a high-coverage area for all four nation-wide carriers (Verizon, AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile), but I don't get good reception on the LG Thrill 4G, usually 2 to 3 bars.

The Internet or Web Browsing experience isn't that great. Pinch-to-zoom is not as fast and it stutters every now and then, but pages does render faster than average.

However, the multimedia and everyday usage are great. 3D displays a little better than the HTC Evo 3D, but it is ever-so-slightly better only. The UI is good, but still not on-par with HTC and Samsung and even Motorola, but speed is definitely fast.

I hated Samsung keypad, and LG keyboard is next. However, it is slightly better than Samsung's keypad because it has a pattern for me to follow. That is something to consider.

Also, display is large but pixel density is not that great. The colors definitely pop-up but I think the viewing-angles can be better as well as the brightness output.

Battery life isn't good at all, and it is even worse...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10 Muffled voices on both ends of the line, and speakerphone just gives me atrocious sounding voices that are mute in tone and choppy voices.
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10 1080p video shoots at 24/21 fps in my experience, and they look very cartoon-ish, very jumpy. Audio recording is terrible, accompanied by muffled voices. Still shots are lacking in dynamic ranges and colors look very bland. I think it can be much better.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 6/10 With checking emails every 30mins, average of 4 to 5 hours of web browsing, 1 to 2.5 hours of phone calls and regularly sending text, I was able to squeeze in 8.5 hours or 9 hours if I am lucky enough. Luckily, it charges relatively faster comparing to LG Revolution.

Pros

  • 3D is great, better than HTC EVO 3D
  • UI is one of the better one on the market, and it is fast
  • Display is pretty nice-looking, definitely above average
  • Data speeds has been good

Cons

  • Camera performs below average
  • Reception and Call Quality are almost atocious at times
  • UI can be even better
  • Not as fast as it should be considering it is dual-core processor
  • Disappointing battery life
  • LG keyboard needs improvement

rex0422 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

pagusman
posted on 25 Sep 2011, 20:55 (Posts: 8; Member since: 30 Jan 2011)

8

Awesome phone for the price.

pagusman has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'll start my review by saying that when I tell friends about 3D most of them think of it as a gimmick. However, when they see photos and videos on the LG Thrill, they change their mind. Yes, this technology is far from being widely accepted but the LG Thrill makes the conversion to the 3D side smoother. It's far from being perfect, though. For starters, the price tag is not set to compete with the rest of Android devices, and for a reason. If you are looking exclusively performance, I think you're better off with the upcoming SGS II.In Antutu Benchmark, I got a 4825 score (stock), about the same an LG Optimus 2x, but far from the 5773 a stock SGS 2 offers.. Nevertheless, if you are willing to give 3D a try, this phone will not dissapoint.

Build quality 9/10 It has a nice brushed steel finish on both ends of the phone. It doesn't feel cheap even though it is mostly plastic.
Reception 10/10 I haven't had any signal problems whatsoever. It is also worth mentioning that it has better reception that my previous phone, which was a Palm Pre Plus.
Call quality 10/10 Excellent call quality. Sound on both ends was loud and clear.
Internet 9/10 It offers a great internet experience mostly due to the dual-core, dual-memory
Multimedia 7/10 It has some demo videos and games in 3D so you can check out the parallax barrier screen. Not much after that, not even on youtube 3D. I recommend users to create their own content or rip 3D movies which look great, by the way.
Camera 6/10 Camera is kind of hit-and-miss. You can take your own 3D photos and videos but photos look blurry if the object focused moves. It also takes a long time for the app to open. 2D photos do not offer a significant improvement over its 3D counterparts.
UI speed 8/10 Generally speaking, it is fast. I have come to some instances in which the UI is somewhat laggy, but nothing major.
Everyday usage 9/10 Awesome for most tasks. Complemented with the android market and its zappy dual-core, we have a great android device.
Text input 10/10 LG Keyboard is great. I did not encounter problems adjusting to a touch-screen even though I've been a long time qwerty keyboard user. I recommend to also try swype.
Display 8/10 Very bright and with a nice contrast ratio. Resolution could be better, specially compared to the newer android phones.
Battery 6/10 Battery is my main concern with this phone. I'm thinking about getting and extra battery since I'm struggling to make it through a day. However, to speak the truth, I am a heavy user so depending on how often you use your phone you may experience some differences.

Pros

  • 3D is fun
  • Comes with microSD card and HDMI Cable
  • Affordable
  • Dual, 5mp Camera on the back and Front facing camera

Cons

  • Not much 3D content
  • Poor Battery

pagusman alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

prdmshrl
posted on 09 Sep 2011, 21:35 (Posts: 20; Member since: 05 Jan 2011)

9

A great phone for a great price

prdmshrl has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am not a huge fan of the whole 3D idea on a mobile phone, but when I saw this phone I was pretty impressed with the 3D feature without glasses. But the price is even more amazing. The phone has a great build and does not look cheap. No issues with call quality or reception, except in areas that are already known with poor cell coverage. Internet speed is good, even though I prefer the speeds from a Motorola Atrix or Samsung Infuse. The performance of the phone while playing multimedia is pretty great. 3D pictures and videos look very good. I like a lot the picture quality for 2D pictures, very vibrant and crisp quality. The only disappointment is the fact that there is no flash while taking pictures on 3D. Great user interface speed, after all the phone is a dual core 1Ghz TI OMAP processor with 512 MB of RAM and don’t forget DUAL CHANNEL. That makes the phone perform faster than a regular 512 MB RAM phone. My biggest disappointment is the battery. Not good enough and that will impact your everyday usage.

Build quality 9/10 Good build quality. The phone does not look cheap at all.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10 HDMI output to a TV is great.
Camera 9/10 Great 2D Camera, but not dying with the 3D Camera. The lack of flash functionality while on 3D is not that exciting. Giving a 9 since it is an easy fix thru an update.
UI speed 10/10 Great thanks to the Dual Core processor and dual channel RAM
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10 Touchscreen very responsive.
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10 Not the best, but not the worst among smartphones.

Pros

  • Dual Core 1 GhZ
  • Dual Channel RAM
  • 3D
  • HDMI
  • Front Facing Camera
  • Great Price

Cons

  • Battery
  • Email client
  • No flash when taking 3D pictures

prdmshrl alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

popndad210
posted on 08 Sep 2011, 07:51 (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Mar 2011)

7

LG Thrill

popndad210 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just got the phone skeptical about purchasing a 3D device and now I know why. The battery life on this thing is horrid as I charged it all night woke up to get on Facebook for 10 minutes and used up literally 30% of my battery. Charged it again to 100% before taking off to the office and after 45 minutes I'm down to 87% battery already from texting sending a total of 10 text messages. This is going right back to the store. Getting tired of hit or miss android phones.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10 Kind of slow for even HSPA+ (4G)
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Good price...
  • Doesn't feel cheap
  • Great keyboard and capacitive screen responsiveness

Cons

  • Battery is a ridiculously weak.
  • Camera not that great.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Meedlies
posted on 07 Sep 2011, 16:12 (Posts: 8; Member since: 06 Sep 2011)

8

Great Phone. Great Price. Slightly Gimmicky.

Meedlies has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Disclaimer: I am an At&t sales rep and this review reflects my opinion only.

I have spent the last few days testing the Thrill and I have to say it is a great value for $99.

Build Quality: The soft touch backing is very comfortable to hold and the phone itself feels like it has a good weight to it. The brushed finish above and below the screen gives the phone a classy look.

Reception is good and seems to be slightly better than the samsung infuse 4g. Calls are clear but I seem to get better call quality out of my Motorola Atrix.

The stock browser is quick and has a navigation bar at the bottom which is useful so i dont have to hit the menu key to bring up settings or open multiple windows.

the camera is a decent 5mp shooter but doesnt hold a candle to the quality of the HTC inspire or the samsung Infuse. The addition of the dual lense 3d design lets you take some cool looking 3d videos and pics but it really only shines on the phone's screen.

UI speed is very snappy. Apps load quick and even the 3d games dont stutter or experience fps drops. That, of course, is to be expected from the Dual-core engine under the hood.

The LG keyboard seems more accurate than the stock samsung or motorola keyboards however swype is not preloaded.

The display is clear and bright. When 3d is turned on, however cool it may be, the clarity and color suffers.

All in all a great phone even without the 3d. And for 99 bucks only the atrix stands in its way.

(1500 characters...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Dual Core, 3d, big screen, fast UI, good build quality, front facing camera. HDMI port and HDMI cable. $99 freaking dollars!!!

Cons

  • 3d is cool but not all its cracked up to be. Half the RAM of an atrix.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories