x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Revolution User Reviews

6.8 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage6.4/10
UI speed5.9/10
Camera5.7/10
Multimedia7.3/10
Internet7.7/10
Call quality7.7/10
Battery5.9/10
Reception7.2/10
Display7.8/10
Build quality6.4/10
Text input7.1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

fudgecakesss
posted on 17 Jun 2013, 20:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jun 2013)

4

Terrible

fudgecakesss has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It was pretty good at first, but after about 2 weeks, it starts getting really slow. About once a week it locks up on my, the micro USB connector cover fell off, the back felt loose after about a month, UI lags a ton, games lag a ton, after listening to spotify for 30 mins, the battery depleted half way, and it is very uncomfortable to hold against your ear when making a call.

Build quality 3/10 Back plate felt loose after about 1 month and the micro USB cover fell off after 4 months.
Reception 4/10 4g likes to randomly drop and go to 1x
Call quality 5/10 Average, but very uncomfortable to hold against your ear
Internet 3/10 Random scrolling and zooming in, not to mention the built in browser is slower than when I am downloading a game on steam, listening to spotify, while uploading a video on my laptop
Multimedia 3/10 Very quiet speaker with very little frequency range
Camera 4/10 Only 5 mp and the pictures are super grainy
UI speed 3/10 Lags a ton and locks up
Everyday usage 3/10 Laggy and over-sensitive screen
Text input 3/10 Built-in keyboard is terrible, laggy, and the autocorrect is the worst I've ever seen
Display 7/10 low res
Battery 3/10 Lasts about 1/6 the time as an iPhone

Pros

  • Cheap

Cons

  • Slow
  • Chep build
  • Locks up
  • Terrible battery life

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sixeleven
posted on 31 Mar 2012, 23:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Mar 2012)

4

Crap

sixeleven has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I had high hopes for this phone. I bought a refurbished one. It is getting worse as time goes by. First I installed a new UI, GO Launcher, to replace the horrible LG UI. And I installed all my favorite Google apps, which were strangely missing from the phone. But nontheless, the phone is buggy and slow. Sometimes it shuts down DURING A PHONE CALL. Just now it buzzed non-stop for half a minute, but wouldn't respond to anything I did. Then it rebooted. This is an unreliable POS. How I miss my old HTC EVO! Also the headphone jack is horrible. It barely takes a standard headphone plug, and I have to keep pressing it in or it comes out at the slightest touch. So sad I bought this phone. The camera is horrible too. Horrible dynamic range, really poor detail.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 4/10
Display 4/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Large screen, but not bright.

Cons

  • Slow. Random reboots. Horrible UI.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

christony1120
posted on 07 Oct 2011, 23:09 (Posts: 65; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)

9

Definitely a REVOLUTION

christony1120 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great phone!!!!!!Fast LTE and everything you expect of a phone. The quality of the phone is just amazing!! Especially being an android it basically lets you have a variety of apps. the is also speedy with little or no lag. The only issue I have is the battery life. The battery life last me for 8 hours if using heavily. I also love the small notification light. I love the browser especially since it supports flash so web sites looks the same as in a desktop! But the best feature is LTE!

Build quality 8/10 Has a kind of cheap plastic
Reception 9/10 Very fast but has a hard time transitioning from 4g to 3g
Call quality 10/10 Good quality everything sound clear
Internet 10/10 Just love the flash support. Pages also load up lightning fast because of LTE
Multimedia 10/10 ANDROID MARKET
Camera 10/10 Clear and videos come out perfect it also has a nice, bright led flash
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 The phone just keeps you from getting bored
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 The display could have been better but the 4.3 display is amazing
Battery 8/10 Kind of drains quickly if you are a heavy user

Pros

  • 4'' display
  • LTE
  • Android
  • Browser
  • Processor
  • camera

Cons

  • cheap material

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

grniyce
posted on 21 Jul 2011, 12:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Jul 2011)

4

LG Revolution is the furthest thing from revolutionary. Do not buy this handset.

grniyce has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

_So I got the LG Revolution and I absolutely hate it. I'm going back to the Thunderbolt. The screen is so sensitive that it's near impossible to select something. It charges slower than any phone I've ever had. The call quality is mediocre. The speaker volume is pathetic. It constantly loses wifi, even though I'm in the same room as the router. The 4g speeds are slower than my Tbolt. The dialer has an annoying vmail button on it that you can't get rid of, so if you hit it, it not only tries to sell you Verizon's s**tty visual voicemail everytime, but once you decline it, then it dials into your voicemail. When you get rid of the ignorant app categories, except two you have to keep, it doesn't sort the apps alphabetically anymore, so you have to have an eagle-eye to find the app you want. The stock keyboard is HORRIBLE, and I mean horrible, so you literally have to download Better Keyboard or Android Keyboard to even function in a text message. The last and possibly most annoying part is that it is based off of Bing everything, and even if you install Google, you still have to use Bing with the search button, unless you install Decrapified ROM; which I did, and it errored out all the time. All the way around this handset sucks ASS!

Build quality 4/10
Reception 4/10 Loses wifi and 4g signal quite often, and I'm in the same room as my router, as well as I live in Orlando.
Call quality 5/10 Decent call quality, but there's not much range in the ear speaker, nor in the phone speakerphone.
Internet 4/10 Stock browser is sloooooow.
Multimedia 5/10 It's decent with multimedia, but not as impressive as the Thunderbolt or Charge.
Camera 1/10 5mp camera on a $300 piece of equipment, not to mention LG makes digital cameras, but they got spanked in color depth and resolution by Motorola, Samsung, and HTC. The worst thing is the fact that there is no vividness in the pictures. Take a picture of something bright red, and it looks dull sandy brick red on the picture.
UI speed 2/10 Very odd that the handset has so much internal memory 16gb, but you still only get 2gb to use for installing apps, so it's slow.
Everyday usage 1/10 Everyday usage stinks, because the screen is waaaay too sensitive. You have to have the hands of a neurologist to use this device.
Text input 1/10 The stock keyboard is pathetic and unresponsive, so here you have a brand new piece of equipment, and you get a non-responsive keyboard. You have to go to the market and download better keyboard or android keyboard to use this handset. It's pathetic!
Display 9/10 I'll be honest and give the display a 9 our of 10, only falling prey to the Amoled display on the Samsung Charge, but this display is a lot brighter than the Thunderbolt. HOWEVER, if you operate it on full brightness you will get about 2 hours of battery life.
Battery 3/10 Worthless. If you operate the phone in 4G with the brightness all the way up, you MIGHT get 3 hours standby. Not talk time, I'm telling you that you might get 3 hours standby time.

Pros

  • Screen qualityh

Cons

  • Everything else is worthless!

grniyce alternatives:

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jcaz319
posted on 22 Jun 2011, 11:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Jun 2011)

9

i like it

jcaz319 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have had it only for 2 days but so far the things i like is the touch screen along with the lightness and mobility for its gargantuous size. I compared the weight in my hand to the iphone and it seemed that the iphone was heavier. ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • very light

Cons

  • speaker is not very loud

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MHAkram
posted on 13 Jun 2011, 23:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jun 2011)

4

One of the worst Android phones

MHAkram has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I kept it for about 3 weeks and then returned it. While 4G was great - the phone itself was terrible. It's well built, I'll give you that. The screen was so and so. Battery life was an absolute piece of crap. I exchanged it for an iPhone and couldn't be happier

Build quality 8/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 5/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Well Built - Hardware is solid

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • UI
  • Speed
  • Processor

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SG
posted on 31 May 2011, 20:00

9

Revolution

SG has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Good Phone from LG. I have had this for 6 days from when it came out, and am enjoying it. Camera is a bit disappointing but I have my own amazing digital camera so I do not use the camera on the phone unless I do not have my digital camera with me. Too many things to say about the phone, if I go on, I might ending up writing an essay. bye

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Everything except Camera and Battery

Cons

  • Maybe Battery life is a bit short
  • Camera is not in the high end 8MP but only 5MP

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Droid Charge
posted on 30 May 2011, 19:26

8

Mr Tech

Droid Charge has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone does what it needs to its good and reliable but what can i say this device looks like a cheap knock off of the HTC Thunderbolt. I had it for a week and returned it because it was not worth the buy. The Samsung Droid Charge is a promising phone excellent in design, quality, speed, and network ever since i made the change the Droid Charge has done alot and simplified my life

Build quality 3/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 6/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Camera

Cons

  • Design
  • LCD Screen

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mr. droid
posted on 29 May 2011, 14:05 (Posts: 278; Member since: 21 Aug 2010)

10

Best phone verizon has to offer, and probably the best they have ever had!

mr. droid has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

EXCELLENT. this phone is basically FLAWLESS. (and I should add that I am the HARDEST person to impress. period.) It has an LED indicator light, 1500mAh battery, amazing display that can be seen in bright sun light. I do not think that there will be anything that can rival this phone for awhile. (not on verizons network anyways)

Build quality 10/10 although there is a lot of plastic, it feels like some higher end plastic parts, there is some metal as well, the ONLY flaw I can find is the little cover that goes over the micro USB port when its not in use. that was a slight oversight, but I think that will be a very minor situation there.
Reception 10/10 I have yet to loose more than one bar of signal. not sure what happened with other recent phones, but signal was poor at best, but still able to hold calls, but data speeds seemed to suffer. this phone also holds on to its 3G/4G connections and does not bounce back and forth between them and 1x. very impressed.
Call quality 10/10 a little on the quiet side, but turn the volume up and that fixes the issue. good range of volumes from low to loud. and its clear. exactly what you would expect from LG
Internet 10/10 fast, reliable connection, loads even pages with lots of flash content real fast, even in 3G, which is a good thing.
Multimedia 10/10 real nice ease of music access. its right there on one of the home screens, and it sounds crystal clear. picture messages come through fast, look amazing, and the same with videos. HDMI looks great, even on my 42" television. no cloudiness what so ever.
Camera 10/10 I was blown away by this. even the front facing camera (which is 1.3mp) takes pictures that some digital cameras could never compare to. move over iPhone 4 camera, LG has you beat here. by a lot. Really smooth video streaming with no distortion at all.
UI speed 10/10 All I can say is lag? what lag?? there is NONE. its completely absent. even with multiple apps running in the background, it keeps on going and never hangs up.
Everyday usage 10/10 Ease of use is great. Couldnt ask for anything easier. everything is nice, large, clear and self-explanatory
Text input 10/10 Does not get any better. They keyboard is just like the iPhone keyboard, but BIGGER, and crisp. little to no errors in typing and even better word suggestion. Finally something that gives the droid x fits, and that has a great keyboard on it.
Display 10/10 the best screen out there is the super amoled plus. AND this screen. you can see it in bright sun light, everything is sharp, clean and clear, and very detailed. nobody can complain here because there is no better screen available besides this one and the super amoled plus.
Battery 10/10 its not the best, BUT its right on par with all android phones, so for that reason, I will give it perfect marks here, because its no worse than anything out there, and still better than some. remember, these are not feature phones. they are smart phones.

Pros

  • everything really, only one flaw that I can find..

Cons

  • the cover that goes over the micro USB port when not in use is a bit of a short cut design, but there is nothing besides that

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories