x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Pop GD510 User Reviews

6.9 Based on 18 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception8.7/10
Display8/10
Build quality8.3/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage8.7/10
UI speed6.7/10
Camera7.3/10
Multimedia7/10
Internet6/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

teej16
posted on 27 Dec 2012, 16:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Dec 2012)

6

"It's a'ight..."

teej16 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Meh. I had this phone for over a year and it did it's job. For a cheap phone I couldn't complain as it had some quite nifty features and if you aren't all up in technology it would serve you just fine, but the fact of the matter is that it just isn't good enough for the average user. Day-to-day you wouldn't notice major problems but that is because you are blinded by it being the only phone you have. It is OK and if you don't need to use your phone a lot then it's nice but I wouldn't recommend it if you want anything more.

(I know this is out-of-date but just testing this out. I don't even think they sell these anymore XD)

Build quality 6/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 4/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • Nice & compact
  • 3 customizable home screens
  • User friendly
  • Can mostly edit to suit your needs
  • Surprisingly good sound quality

Cons

  • Screen damages easily
  • Screen gets dirty easily
  • Not very touch sensitive
  • Lag & Freezes often
  • Lack of apps & games
  • Camera isn't that good
  • Battery life is poor
  • Lots of bugs
  • Awkward to connect to laptop

teej16 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

praveen vtec
posted on 20 Feb 2011, 07:20

8

about music sound qality in head phoes

praveen vtec has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i want to buy this phone gd510, am a music lover, so i had doubt , weather the sound quality is good enough or not, user's pls tell the sound in head phone is loud and it having bass. how many hrs it can be played continuously music via headphone, becoz i love hear music while traveling.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Poweradmin
posted on 04 Dec 2010, 03:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Feb 2010)

8

LG POP

Poweradmin has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Good little cheap phone. Certainly good value for money. My one refuses to play MP4s as well as having a strange battery. Sometimes the battery says it is nearly empty and when you unlock it in 5 min. it is full! The microSD slot is the biggest advantage. It also supports .jar/.jad games - like apps for iPhones. You can download as many as you want and many are free as well!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10 Sounds good
Internet 8/10 Good, not perfect
Multimedia 6/10 Doesn't play mp4
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10 The battery behaves 'Weirdly'

Pros

  • Weight
  • Size
  • SD slot

Cons

  • No Wi-Fi
  • Does not play MP4
  • Strange-acting battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ikhwa
posted on 01 Sep 2010, 02:17

9

Hand Phone with one-button touch screen!

Since I first saw that I was very fond of these mobile phones, with wide touch screen display with a very Multifunction button,Affordable prices in Indonesia.
but just like LG GW300, he did not support the theme from the outside, only available two themes, but two themes that do not make us bored, because it looks very similar to the iPhone. :)

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • a very responsive touch screen
  • Solar panels at the rear (optional)
  • Resolution good camera

Cons

  • batteries are less durable.
  • Only available two themes.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sandesh
posted on 29 Aug 2010, 08:39

7.7

Specs

All features are good like 3 way UI, image editor,muvee studio, audio is good but it should have provided Streaming option,all other phones in 7k range comes with streaming option..............................................................................

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • 3 mp Camera
  • Touch sensitivity
  • Audio quality
  • Image Editor
  • Muvee Studio
  • 1 touch Social sites(Facebook Twitter myspace)

Cons

  • No Streaming

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 21 Jun 2010, 22:46

3.7

voice being soft and not audible

LG GD510 which I bought recently.... The person at the other end of the line always complained about my voice being soft and not audible. I had to speak pretty loudly and at times had to keep repeating what I said. Previously I was using Nokia and had never faced this kind of problem, I am using same SIM card...

Design 5/10
Features 3/10
Performance 3/10

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gracie
posted on 11 Jun 2010, 08:25

6.7

Pop

I, do like the Pop. I like the design and I do think it will be suitable for tweens and teens. Expect, there is no Wifi. That is what I'm looking for. So instead I looked at another LG Cookie phone, and I found the LG Cookie Wifi (KM555). And I like the Cookie wifi. Although its a  little bigger. And doesn't have a Solar Power battery charger, It does have wifi. So for you people that want to get a phone with wifi, thats still part of the Cookie series, and much cheaper then the Cookie Pop, I recommend the Cookie Wifi. It only PHP 7,990, In the Philippines.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Sleek
  • Great Design

Cons

  • NO WIFI!!!

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

luis1234554321
posted on 09 Jun 2010, 19:37

9

as having no performanse?

for me is one of the best that LG sold out
is a verry complete cellphone functions such as say a cellphone yith the necessary funcions and compact and alsohas the option to purchase a solar battery on the back has a very nice menu with glide bars with icons for each of the functions that with java 2.0, MP3 and MP4 player music and video 
and finaly its a very very very very very very very very good phone

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • touch screen
  • accelerometer
  • solar batery (optional)
  • script reader
  • one button for answer and end calls and go to menu

Cons

  • no wi-fi
  • no 3G
  • no external qwerty keyboard

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bipin
posted on 25 May 2010, 06:05 (Posts: 3; Member since: 19 May 2010)

4.7

A phone that is stylish. The only drawback to this amazing phone is that “The person at the other end of the line always complained about my voice being soft and not audible”. I had to speak pretty loudly and at times had to keep repeating what I said. The most important feature of any phone is its microphone should be perfect and that is lacking in this phone.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 2/10

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 25 May 2010, 00:54

8.7

A great phone that is stylish and also works extremely well for everyday use. The only drawback to this amazing phone is that there is no 3G or WiFi. Definatly recommended. Good interface and good controls that are made eaiser by the SmartKey that is the "home" button of the phone. Customizable themes are really spectacular and the apps are really quality done and work amazingly well.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Great Features
  • 3 Organized Screens
  • Small and Compact Style
  • Good Performance
  • Working Camera

Cons

  • No 3G
  • No WiFi

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bipin
posted on 21 May 2010, 01:58 (Posts: 3; Member since: 19 May 2010)

5.3

voice being soft and not audible

LG GD510 which I bought recently.... The person at the other end of the line always complained about my voice being soft and not audible. I had to speak pretty loudly and at times had to keep repeating what I said. Can anybody suggest me where is the problem. It’s in the handset or in network? Previously I was using Nokia and had never faced this kind of problem, I am using same SIM card...
I have set the profile to loud and observed same issue... I am not using Bluetooth headset. I use the handset for talking.

Thanks in advance for any suggestion....

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Performance 3/10

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mikael
posted on 28 Apr 2010, 12:30

8.7

LG Pop GD510

 This phone is awesome. Just look like a smaller Iphone.Got a lot of apps for free on getjar.comI have to admit that sometimes it slowdown, it have some bugsbut its just minor bugs. I really like that phone it looks good, the keyboard is perfect.Some people are talking about the qwerty that bug and everything... they probably type in a rollercoaster cuz Im alway using the qwerty and never had any problems.pictures are awesome... high rez and perfect... just like a camera... for the price this phone is way better than any other phones...By far my favorite phone... (Im breaking 1-3phones per years so I tested a lot of phones)I like it!only thing is that the java applications are slow... like facebook goes faster on the web than their apps but I still prefer to use their apps cuz its well designed and works fine.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • free apps
  • included apps are good
  • well designed
  • Awesome interface
  • light weight
  • easy to use

Cons

  • slowdown sometimes
  • small (can be hard if you have big fingers... I still do mistakes typing keys around the one I want...)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jonathan Taylor
posted on 19 Apr 2010, 09:45

7

The Faults don't make up for 'LG POP'

I really loved this phone when i first bought it, but soon after I started to have serious and extremly annoying problems with it. Problems such as:It freezes- Randomnly and after unplugging from charger.Battery life varies- it had awful battery life when i first started using it, but has gotten gradually better :)The qwerty keyboard jumps back or forwards, (randomnly,) when typing- Really annoying as the keypad is slow.It vibrated randomnly- even when vibration was completly off and especially one time where it vibrated,froze, flashed on and off adn wouldn't stop.Recently the touchscreen function is none responsive and to be honest i feel i've been cheated out of  80 pounds considering i bought it less than 3 weeks ago.It really is a great phone but it has so many bugs and things that happen to some peoples pops :@ they really need to sort them out! NOW! Thanks 4 reading :)Johnny

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • Good design
  • Great internet connection
  • Lots of different settings , to completely customise your phone :)
  • Great entertainment
  • Lots of apps and games :)
  • Awesome music Player :)

Cons

  • Awful battery life
  • Unwanted freezing
  • Unwanted vibration
  • Hard to handle when typing
  • Sometimes slow responsive
  • Touch screen stops working
  • Jumps randomnly through text when texting

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Desmond Hume
posted on 02 Apr 2010, 15:08

8.7

Perfect touchscreen for basic needs.

I own LG POP for 4 months now and i am very satisfied.Design & dimensions :It is slim,lightweight and compact.Not like other touchscreen phones that look like a brick.The materials do not look cheep.Display screen :The 3'' inches screen delivers good contrast and vivid colors.It also does not need much pressure to execute a command.Menu :It's menu is easy to learn.Very user friendly.It was the first time that i bought an LG and i learned it quite quickly.Battery :The battery last for 2,5 days with regular use.Camera :The camera takes nice shots (for a 3.1 megapixels camera ) but only in day light.I did'n buy it for it's camera anyway.Video :LG POP does not record video with qood quality but if you put a converted 240x400 pixels video in it, it displays it with very nice quality Signal reception :No problem with the signal reception.Problems so far :None.Conclusion :The perfect choice if you need a slim lightweight touchscreen mobile phone with 3'' display and with not much money to cover your basic needs.If you don't need wi-fi,gps and high resolution camera,i strongly suggest it !

Design 10/10
Features 6/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Slim & compact
  • Lightweight
  • 3'' inches touchscreen display
  • Good materials,look expensive although they are plastic.
  • User friendly menu
  • No firmware problems

Cons

  • It doesn't have wi-fi and gps
  • It doesn't have high resolution camera
  • Low quality video recording

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

C Pow
posted on 31 Mar 2010, 15:05

8

Fun Phone

I picked up this phone a couple of weeks ago so that my husband and I wouldn't have to share a phone anymore, plus it was a special offer through Rogers.  I love this phone.  I have not encountered any problems with error messages, freezing or over heating.  I love the touch screen and think its good quality for an inexpensive phone.  The camera is great if you are outdoors or in excellent lighting. There is no flask.  The 3 menu screens are cool.  There is a drawing program like "paint" on your PC.  So you can draw pictures for your friends/familys caller ID which is cooler than just a picture.  The games are all demos, so once you've played a couple of times you have to buy it.  The key pad is a bit small but works well for a tiny person like me.  I read a lot of reviews before I picked this phone up and was worried, but I absolutely love it. 

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sreejesh
posted on 22 Mar 2010, 09:04

1.7

The Phone gets too hot after few minutes of use

I bought it yesterday the phone is really good but the LG PC SUITE really sucks!!!!! and even LG support 1800 # sucks. When I called them and informed about the issue with the software they told me to get my Phone serviced he he :) those guys are really maaad!!!!!! and even doesn't speak English as English. They think English is korean!!! guys try it and check it out

Design 2/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • 3 menus are very unique from other phones.

Cons

  • Overheating, very low battery backup, slow navigation,

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kerry bryant
posted on 02 Mar 2010, 09:08

5.3

good but freezes and then froze completely

i do too love this phone as its everything you want in a smart phone but mine started freezing then all of a sudden froze completely and i cant use it only had it 3 weeks so cat use it waiting for it to be fixed lol! so please e aware that this  can happen and when  freezes you have no buttons u can use if touch screen goes like mine has so phone becomes useless

Design 3/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • good memory
  • smart
  • loud

Cons

  • freezes
  • no buttons incase of touch screen breaks

13 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chelseax
posted on 20 Nov 2009, 14:30

9

Good Phone

This phone is amazing. I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants good memory and an easy to use phone. This phone is really the best phone i have had and i would never get rid of it (unless it broke i guess). i think its really good. This phone is really the best and i would recommend it to anyone who wants an amazing phone. Thanks x

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Good Memory.
  • Long Lasting Battery.
  • Easy to use.

Cons

  • Sometimes freezes (not often)
  • Dark screen (needs to be lighter)
  • Hard to change settings.

76 out of 95 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories