x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus User Reviews

6.8 Based on 5 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera5.3/10
Multimedia4.8/10
Internet6.5/10
Call quality7.5/10
Battery5.5/10
Reception7.3/10
Display6/10
Build quality6.8/10
Text input5.3/10
Everyday usage6/10
UI speed6.3/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

MelbTrain
posted on 26 Aug 2012, 01:14 (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Aug 2012)

3

Not the Best

MelbTrain has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for about a year and 7 months and thank god I got rid of it. The screen is tiny and I can cup my hand over it and ins't visible anymore. The screen input is poor with no resistive touch screen, so composing texts is a nightmare. The camera is pretty poor, especially with no flash or front camera. The phone looks good, but the build isn't that ismpressive. If I drop my phone from about 10cm high the microSD slot won't recigonce the card and the phone will power off. Closing all the apps, will make the phone run much longer but otherwise 1 day maximum. Another problem was the limited space, with only around 75-100MB of space for apps. The phone runs so slow, and is occasionally unusable.
No way on earth will I recommend this phone to anyone, I now have a HTC Titan and will never go back to this phone, ever, ever again.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Looks good

Cons

  • Limited Space
  • Poor microSD card slot build quality
  • Very, very, very slow
  • Way to small
  • Bad screen input
  • Hard to type on
  • Bad browser
  • No pinch to zoom
  • Lacks in features
  • No front facing camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

JonBjSig
posted on 04 Dec 2011, 13:46 (Posts: 176; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)

5

Poor phone, it\\\'s ok if you\\\'re new to android and have absolutely no intention to be a power user.

JonBjSig has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

When I first got this phone I found it to be a fairly good phone, now after having it for a year I\\\'ve finally had enough and I\\\'m upgrading.
The touch screen is HORRIBLE, even with careful calibration it\\\'s hard to type a 5 letter word without having to correct it.
The speaker is abysmal, for some reason they decided to use the earpiece as the speaker, but they didn\\\'t have a strong speaker but tune it low during calls, no, they made an unholy crossbreed between an earpiece speaker and a loudspeaker making playing music from the \\\"speaker\\\" almost impossible, if you turn it down far enough to get rid of the crackle it\\\'s inaudible, if you turn it up high enough to be heard the sound it makes, no matter what\\\'s playing is almost indistinguishable from the sound of frying bacon and it\\\'s still not loud enough to be heard in a fairly crowded room.
Which brings me to my next problem with this phone, the speakers are so weak that it\\\'s become quite common for me to miss calls, especially when each time the phone shuts down on it\\\'s own or powers off for any other reason other than the user turning it off himself the phone automatically reverts vibrate to off(and for some reason it also changes the language to italian).
When I got it the phone was running Android 1.6 Donut, it was very unstable, it would completely freeze at least once a day, that was fixed in the 2.1 update but that update also introduced a bunch of other problems
Now the battery on 3G lasts...  

Build quality 5/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 3/10
Display 4/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Very wide viewing angles.

Cons

  • Horrible touch screen.
  • Unbearable speakers.
  • Battery on 3G lasts only 7 hours on standby.
  • Very low storage space.
  • Big, broken blotware game.
  • Will never, ever get an update again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shreyas dsilva
posted on 30 Nov 2010, 10:42

9

an awesome phone....though with a resistive screen

shreyas dsilva has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

awesome phone..:D used it for bout a month....best cheap android phone out there.....though a resistive touch screen spoils the fun.......fastest ui.....no lag in games.....problem with the 120 mb internal memory....(no Root) buy it..:D
MP4/DivX/Xvid/H.264/H.263/WMV video formats are supported on this handset, it also haves A-GPS...looks awesome..:D

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sunil
posted on 31 Oct 2010, 13:08

8

LG OPTIMUS GT540 TOUCH

Sunil has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Though the phone looks and works great...but the touch sensor is not that great it is in samsung or in other phones..yet i rate this 7.5/10 waiting for the android 2.2. version..lets see how good this brings for this phone.other phones got this latest already

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • Touch is not quick...

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ankit2769
posted on 22 Sep 2010, 12:32

9

Android Going Cheap

 This is the best android available cheap as compared to Samsung Galactic twins and HTC Smart.
Though it has got a 1.6 Donut Android version but soon it will be getting an update to 2.1 Eclair, The user interface is very much attractive, we get a lot of options for camera mode but its camera without any flash does not works good under dark lights.

As per the applications it comes with some decent pre-loaded applications, wikitude is the best one though. LG's second android phone also have a good design, its sleek looks can catch many eye balls in the market. 

It comes with FM with RDS but lacks flash support in browser and dont know why but LG phones are still sticking with the TFT resistive touch screens rather than today's AMOLED Capacitive ones, so it lacks features like pinch to zoom and other multi touch gestures.

MP4/DivX/Xvid/H.264/H.263/WMV video formats are supported on this handset, it also haves A-GPS and an application which keeps track of your jogging(being an athlete i find it most appealing). It has got a pretty fast software and can run games even fast than HTC Desire. Gaming experience is pretty smooth for the people who use to play games to kill boredom. 

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Stylish Design
  • Fast Software
  • LG UI is pretty attractive
  • Appealing Applications
  • Cheap

Cons

  • No Adobe Flash for Browser
  • Android 1.6 update 2.1 available at Q4 2010
  • No LED Flash for Camera

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories