x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus L5 User Reviews

8.3 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed8.4/10
Camera7.1/10
Multimedia8.3/10
Internet8.3/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery8.9/10
Reception8.7/10
Display8/10
Build quality8.7/10
Text input8.3/10
Everyday usage8.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

jonas1999
posted on 08 Mar 2014, 14:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Mar 2014)

9

very good

jonas1999 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

it was good but my internal screen got cracked. you can root it with kingo android root. the phone is highly recomended for cheap buyers. the only big con with it is that it doesn't have an internal camera.

Build quality 8/10 if you drop it in the wrong way the screen can get some really big internal cracks.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10 avarage speed, root it for better perfomrance. using kingo android root.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • good for the price
  • can be upgraded to 4.1.2 without root

Cons

  • no inner camera
  • not 64 gb micro sd card compitable

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

hpfangirl
posted on 01 Sep 2013, 17:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Sep 2013)

6

Poor Phone

hpfangirl has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is okay but has major problems.The phone will sometimes lag for no reason and has been known to crash apps (including browser and messaging). I wish had not bought it and would definitely NOT recommend it to anyone.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 3/10 Crappy picture quilty, no front camera
UI speed 6/10 It sometimes lags for no reason and crashes apps
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 3/10 Keyboard stops working while in messaging 1/3 of the time
Display 7/10 Screen glares Not great tough responsiveness all the time
Battery 10/10 If I only use my phone for messaging, I don't have to charge it for 5 days. Great battery life

Pros

  • great battery life
  • good call quality

Cons

  • Keyboard stops working while in Messageing 1/3 of the time
  • no front camera
  • crappy picture quality
  • If the phone powers off, you can't recieve messages for about 24 hours
  • screen glares

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Naresh0808
posted on 30 Oct 2012, 02:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Oct 2012)

8

"Alternate to High end phones with big display"

Naresh0808 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I would suggest those who are willing to have a big screen display at an affordable price can go for it. As far as the other feautures are concerned its overall good. I hope the below ratings can help you out. For more feedback you can reach me on 8019163279.
"Happy to help You"

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

thephonedude
posted on 06 Nov 2012, 03:47 (Posts: 51; Member since: 27 Oct 2012)

8

Superb big smartphone for its low Price point!

thephonedude has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is my second android phone.., first being the cute HTC Wildfire S.

The LG Optimus L5.. is actually not bad at all! The phone is fast, responsive, and has a good quadrant benchmark score of 1470, good for a 800mhz single core ARM/Qualcomm processor. Screen-wise.. is a big 4 inch screen that dominates 95% of the front of the phone. The downside is that.. the Screen resolution is 320x480, a little to small for a 4 incher, and with its weak viewing angles and puny pixel density of 144ppi, its not a good screen...
But hey! It comes out-of-the-box with Android 4.0.3 ICS, and I am hopping for a Jelly bean update :P Also, LG UI 3.0 is great- Little modifications to the stock holo ICS UI... and it still have that holo feel to it. Playing games are a joy with very minimal lags and choppiness- Running temple run on it is mostly smooth.
The 5MP Camera also does a great job with details and brightness.
I seriously recommend you this phone if you don't want to spend loads of money on smartphones. GET THIS! :) You will never regret it.

Build quality 9/10 Bulid quality is superb! Feels very sturdy and comfy in the hand.
Reception 7/10 Reception is good but not too great.
Call quality 6/10 Call quality is not bad.. but sometimes feel a little hollow.
Internet 10/10 FAST FAST FAST! FAST FOR A 800MHZ SINGLE CORE PHONE!
Multimedia 7/10 The speaker are not too loud but not too soft.. still average.
Camera 8/10 Great Camera. Great saturation in colors and brightness. Loads of picture editing options are added in too! Downside is the slow shutter lag, which is around 2 to 3 seconds....
UI speed 10/10 One word- SPEEDY! Not even slowing it down when multitasking.
Everyday usage 8/10 Its good for everyday usage. But not the SCREEN :(
Text input 9/10 Good text inputing thanks to big screen and big keyboard.
Display 4/10 Well not too good.. due to bad pixel density and humble screen resolution. Viewing angles are also bad.
Battery 9/10 Lasts long, up to 3-5 days with minimal usage.

Pros

  • Big Screen
  • Fast snappy web browsing
  • Speedy User interface
  • Good benchmark for 800MHZ Single core phone
  • Playing games is a joy
  • Good battery life
  • NFC(Some countries)
  • ICS Out of the box

Cons

  • Screen is not too great and not the worst.
  • Weak viewing angles
  • Unable to store apps to SD unlike any Gingerbread phones.
  • No NFC (For some countries)

thephonedude alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ganeshraja555
posted on 19 Sep 2012, 23:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Sep 2012)

8

Superb Smart LG

ganeshraja555 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My first Android mobile.Totally satisfied with this product.Bought it for Rupees 12500 and almost it has all the features of SMARTPHONE for the mid-range smart products.Please do not compare other products which is above 13K worth.Compare L5 features with others from 11K to 13K products.I have done lots of research and comparison before buying this. MOBILE IS GOOD so LIFE IS GOOD :)
Go for it.

Build quality 8/10 No scratch resistant glass.Leather pouches are not available for this product.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10 Adobe FLASH contents are not working
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10 superb 5 Megapixel Auto Focus for day light
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Slim
  • Big Display(4inch Screen)
  • Good Battery backup
  • lots of features available
  • Affordable Price(Rs.12500 in Chennai,INDIA)
  • Android ICS OS
  • 5 Mega Pixel cam with LED Flash
  • Easy and Nice user Interface
  • wi fi direct
  • 800 mhz processor

Cons

  • No physical camera buttons
  • No physical Music buttons to play,pause,forward etc
  • Leather pouches are not available
  • Screen lacks scratch resistant proof
  • No FLASH support for browsers

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karbon
posted on 05 Sep 2012, 05:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Sep 2012)

10

must read!!!

karbon has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

good but not better than blackberry lg is okkkk as optional phone .no complains but blackberry rock's!!!!!!! more design's must be launched .......look's must atractive with new features like like android 5.0 when lauched

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

macias
posted on 06 Sep 2012, 03:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Aug 2012)

9

Edgy killer

macias has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is my first Android phone and to my surprise my best pick (the second one was Galaxy Ace 2). Thanks to just basic but usable resolution the battery can hold long -- no problem with going on a bike trip for a day with GPS turned on all the time. At the end I have solid 40%.

I am happy this phone has almost every feature desired (maybe except for light sensor), those features are not top-notch but they are usable and considering low price (in Poland, at the time of writing around 600 PLN) this phone is a killer. I higly recommend it for women, in case of men make sure it will fit into your pocket -- 4" requires some space. Because of that for myself I decided to buy Galaxy Ace 2 -- however Ace 2 fails comparison in every possible aspect except for rounded corners and smaller size.

It is not a perfect phone though -- the weakest point for me is always enabled volume buttons and Android itself (it has so many holes...).

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 6/10 Please note I rate that comparing to the desired quality (as for digital camera), not as relative quality for just cellphones.
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10 Not best for multimedia, but considering readability in sunlight, effect on battery, and UX of cellphone it is very good for sure.
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • metal frame
  • price
  • battery
  • good readibility in sunglight
  • plenty of features
  • Android 4.0 (version)
  • thin
  • snappy UI

Cons

  • weigth
  • impossible to disable volume buttons completely
  • Android (still not polished)
  • hardly available cover
  • no ambient light sensor

macias alternatives:

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories