x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus L3 User Reviews

7.8 Based on 12 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality8.3/10
Battery8.8/10
Reception8.4/10
Display6.2/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input7.6/10
Everyday usage8.2/10
UI speed6.9/10
Camera5.5/10
Multimedia7.7/10
Internet7.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

mni21
posted on 14 Jun 2014, 06:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Jun 2014)

6

Only good for the basics

mni21 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Does the basic staff like making calls seemlessly. UI response tends to slow down when you have many apps installed. The build quality is very good, have dropped it a couple of times but its still ok. Camera a big let down, one of the worst 3.2 megapixels i've ever come across. however the battery life of this phone is very impressive, can easily go jus over 3 days with moderate use.

Build quality 9/10 very solid phone
Reception 6/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 3/10 the camera is that bad
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 7/10
Display 4/10
Battery 10/10 with moderate use can go for over 3 days on a single charge

Pros

  • excellent battery life
  • good built quality
  • cheap

Cons

  • very poor camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

aniallation
posted on 15 Feb 2014, 21:34 (Posts: 3; Member since: 16 Aug 2013)

8

actually fine for the price

aniallation has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Picked one of these up on sale for $50. Looks nice, and actually works great. Issues that people complain about like the low resolution screen and poor camera, come on. It's a very cheap phone. What do you expect? The phone looks much nicer then other phones for the price. And gingerbread actually really helps it be quite fast. For what I use it for, unlocking the phone, making a call, writing a text message, or putting on some music, actually feels faster then an S3 on TouchWiz 4.3.

It however is a very durable phone and this is thanks to the touchscreen which is capacitive but actually plastic and not glass. Although it's much easier to scratch, it's pretty much impossible to crack. You can drop this phone all day and not have to worry a bit about it shattering from a 3 foot drop like most smartphones.

Phone creaks, but then again, so does my "quality" Nexus 7. The screen is actually fairly easy to type on, and although the screen is QVGA, keep in mind that this gives it the benefit of more performance and better battery life then HVGA counterparts as it only has half the pixels to power. Also on that note, the battery life on this thing is AMAZING. I haven't been able to kill it in a day of usage. When I'm not trying and just doing my regular usage, I'll end the day with at least half the battery left by the time I get to bed, where my previous S2 Skyrocket would barely last until 4PM with the same usage. Network reception is about average compared to higher end phones,...  

Build quality 8/10 Creaks a bit, but for the price, acceptable.
Reception 10/10 How far away from another device do I have to go before the bluetooth drops?!
Call quality 7/10 Meh
Internet 6/10 Pretty decent and smooth web browser, however QVGA screen hinders experience
Multimedia 9/10 Still love the stock Gingerbread music player. Never has any issues unlike Play Music and all that nonsense. Simple, straightforward. Also, sound quality through headphones is very good with minimal hiss.
Camera 5/10 It's 3MP. What else can I say
UI speed 9/10 In light tasks, it honestly does not feel like an 800MHz processor.
Everyday usage 9/10 It's light, durable, pocketable, and still manages to look nice.
Text input 8/10 Surprisingly easy to type on despite it's small screen.
Display 5/10 Even for the price, QVGA, TN panel, distorts on hard presses.... Meh.
Battery 10/10 I have had flip/slider phones that don't last as long as this thing on a charge.

Pros

  • Small, light, pocketable
  • Looks nice
  • Really good WiFi reception, Amazing bluetooth reception
  • Good brightness
  • Fairly smooth UI
  • Ridiculously good battery life
  • MicroSD slot
  • Front-facing speaker

Cons

  • TN Panel
  • QVGA resolution (but honestly worth the performance advantage)
  • Internal storage
  • No front-facing camera

aniallation alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

intasar
posted on 08 Jun 2013, 13:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jul 2012)

8

Average phone but all over good phone

intasar has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is an awesome phone guys :) if u want more memory on this device then just follow this steps
1) root your device download -> http://vulnfactory.org/public/spectrum_root_window​s.zip

Connect your phone via USB cable with PC.
Extract the downloaded zip.
Open the “run.bat” file.
Wait for the process finish.
Your phone automatically reboots after the process is complete.
Note :- in settings -> Applications -> tick Unknown Sources and go to development and tick usb debugging

After rooting complete go to play store install ClockWork Recovery then open it up and select 2nd options (Flash recovery image) select your device scrolling down and choose L3 when completed next step

download this file and transfer it in your memory card > https://mega.co.nz/#!oBQQCIrT!L7q0xjsB4E2TeNB57JYA​1V93-gN2MV8S8_r7UvS9Mjo

then download this file and put this in your memory card > http://sendfile.su/803923

then open ClockWork Recovery and select reboot into recovery a new menu will be shown then select all these options
NOTE : volume UP and DOWN to move up and down and power button to select

Wipe Data/ Factory reset
Wipe Cache
Wipe Dalvik Cache ( in Advanced )

then go to flash zip file from SD card then
Flash Step 1, the phone is automatically reset, wipe all again
Flash step 2, the phone is automatically reset, wipe all again
Flash the ROM, wipe all, DONE
then you will have about 1.15GB of memory for apps and data !

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 6/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Android
  • Battery

Cons

  • Display

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

OctaneOwl
posted on 28 Mar 2013, 00:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Mar 2013)

7

Average performance, for very little cost.

OctaneOwl has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Besides for, the camera, display and android 2.3, it makes a very nice phone, display is only 125PPI, which is easily noticeable, camera is very laggy and blurry, and android 2.3 doesn't support many apps and less features. Also this phone has very good battery life.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 4/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • Reception
  • Call Quality
  • Internet
  • Multimedia
  • UI Speed
  • Everyday Usage
  • Text Input
  • Battery

Cons

  • Camera
  • Display
  • Android 2.3

OctaneOwl alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

hanykesho
posted on 18 Dec 2012, 07:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2012)

3

WOREST phone in the world

hanykesho has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

very sloow with a dirty cam you will think that it is awesome at the first but after 1 months it turned to a piece of junk and now i am not using it at all i hate don't ever think to buy it is just a junk

Build quality 7/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 3/10
Display 2/10
Battery 5/10

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AwsZaza
posted on 14 Dec 2012, 09:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Dec 2012)

10

Great Android Smarphone

AwsZaza has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Best Smartphone I've Had : Stylish , Fast , Great Phone For Apps & Games and everyday usage (calling texting and Emailing ) ,the 3.2 Inch screen is not that bad , 2.3.6 android virsion ,383 MB Ram ,1Gb internal memory makes installing and oprating games A Grat thing , the 800 Mhz processor Works Perfectly that'not bad at all in matter of fact it's great .

Build quality 10/10 Nice and solid Design And fits perfectly in the hand .
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Fast web browsing 3.2 inch screen multitouch
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 The is not grat but it's ok
UI speed 10/10 Fast processor
Everyday usage 10/10 Big keboard , good call quality
Text input 10/10 Big keyboard
Display 8/10 Low reselution screen but it's ok for the price range
Battery 10/10 Big battery (1500Mah)

Pros

  • Processor
  • Keyboard
  • Inernet Browsing
  • Games And Apps
  • Ram
  • Android Version

Cons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

carilotoz
posted on 17 Nov 2012, 08:56 (Posts: 12; Member since: 31 Jul 2012)

10

NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

carilotoz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it is very nice espicially with 1 gb internal memory a cheap devices like galaxy y ........................................... has only 160 mb or less.

and with 3.2 inch screen which is nice.


and the bad thing is the display with only 125 ppi .

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MossKarma
posted on 06 Nov 2012, 20:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Nov 2012)

8

Good phone, lacks one thing.

MossKarma has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Really good phone so far have found no problems with it at all, there's only one thing bad about this phone which is it's grainy display at 125PPI, other then this perfect for anyone, this phone also has a amazing music player.

Build quality 9/10 Very nice build design and quality.
Reception 8/10 Really good reception, I always have three or more bars of reception.
Call quality 8/10 Calls are amazing on this phone, can hear people perfect and the microphone performs really good.
Internet 8/10 The internet on this phone is pretty good and works really well with adobe flash support.
Multimedia 9/10 The music player is amazing and easy to use and looks nice.
Camera 7/10 The camera lacks a flash, but picture quality is okay.
UI speed 8/10 The UI speed on this phone is amazing.
Everyday usage 10/10 Awesome phone for everyday use, especially for myself I listen to music on it 24/7 and browse the internet easily and awesome for Facebook users.
Text input 8/10 The on-screen keypad design is okay, very easy to use and fast response time.
Display 7/10 Display is the only thing that let's this phone down, but it is okay for regular phone use, just might be grainy when watching 480p videos.
Battery 10/10 I love the battery on this phone, it has amazing battery life, I barely need to charge my phone, I can listen to music at (MP3/320kbps) for three to four whole days and nights, without it dying on me.

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • Reception
  • Call Quality
  • Internet
  • Multimedia
  • UI Speed
  • Everyday Usage
  • Text Input
  • Battery

Cons

  • Camera
  • Display

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

turk75
posted on 05 Nov 2012, 13:43 (Posts: 2; Member since: 05 Nov 2012)

7

Optimus L3

turk75 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The phone seems pretty good to me (It is my first smartphone though). I have one big question though. How do I get flash to work? The review said it worked but now that I can't download it from google play how do I get it to work! PLEASE HELP ME!!!

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 6/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

nagisa
posted on 03 Nov 2012, 16:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Nov 2012)

9

A nice one

nagisa has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Though it is a level entry smartphone has some good specs which makes it good and affordable. First, lets leave clear the battery its quite good. Using 3G, listening to music and brosing just drains a 50% of 100% in a long period of time. For an entry level, its a good number.

Thin, handable, good sound quality and wifi and calls reception. A very good smartphone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 4/10 so sad its 3.2 mp are a shame
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • great battery lifetime
  • smooth and fluid
  • its 800 mhz processor
  • 1 gb internal sd

Cons

  • camera resolution too bad
  • few internal default storage 150 mb

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

dane723
posted on 08 Sep 2012, 21:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Mar 2012)

8

Smart P5K Phone

dane723 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Improved UI after recent update, bright and vivid display, fast, do video calls, good battery, 1GB internal memory, supports 32GB external memory, can play HD games, free jelly case, fast youtube playback but not HQ/HD...
Must-have apps:
360 camera
Quickpic
Opera Web Browser
Memo Widget
Skype
MX Player
Youtube
Flashlight
Battery Widget

Suggestions/Questions ---> click reply
Please like the review if worth it ---> below

Build quality 8/10 screen is soft, plastic...
Reception 10/10 depend on your network provider...
Call quality 8/10 good
Internet 8/10 basic stock browser... need Opera! supports flash
Multimedia 8/10 fast youtube but not HD/HQ, support many file formats, basic speaker no extended bass, free 1GB internal memory...
Camera 8/10 basic camera... try 360 camera!
UI speed 8/10 improve UI after recent update
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 6/10 not as precise
Display 7/10 Bright display but low resolution... need HD wallpapers!
Battery 9/10 standby a week, occasional use 4 days, heavy use a day...

Pros

  • fast
  • improve ui
  • bright vivid display
  • nice apps
  • P 5,390
  • does video call

Cons

  • sometimes lag on heavy usage
  • low text clarity
  • pixelated
  • screen glare

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

middle007
posted on 28 May 2012, 11:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 May 2012)

9

A brilliant phone so far

middle007 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone has been the best phone I've had in my life, it does so much i could use it as a computer (well all most as a computer.) i mainly go on this phone to text, call people and go on the internet and all those things are great. The keypad is good to text with, when your talking to someone on a call the voice is quite clear and that's good and the internet is good to research and Facebook etc.

Games take a while to load up like temple run and angry birds but the games play well, the loading up of the games doesn't matter it's just the playing what counts.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • good Internet usage
  • easy to use the keypad for messaging
  • good speed to find something
  • loads up something quick
  • great apps to download

Cons

  • 3.2 mega pixel camera
  • Low-resolution video capture

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories