x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus G User Reviews

8.7 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception8.5/10
Display8.7/10
Build quality8.7/10
Text input8.7/10
Everyday usage8.7/10
UI speed8.7/10
Camera7.5/10
Multimedia8.8/10
Internet8.9/10
Call quality8.6/10
Battery8.1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

xperian
posted on 10 Apr 2014, 10:37 (Posts: 2; Member since: 10 Apr 2014)

10

The best phone I've ever had

xperian has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Really good design and build quality, feels solid in hand. Display is great. Not 1080p, but 768p is almost enough not to see pixels when using normally. It's an IPS display, so colours and viewing angles are great. Battery is much better on my previous smartphones (Xda atom, xperia x8). Camera is not bad, but photos have a lot of noise and sometimes are out of focus. I'm really happy with this phone.

Build quality 10/10 It doesn't feel cheap, glass bach gives it a solid feel
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Speaker is loud enough to hear people even in noisy places
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great build quality
  • Good design
  • Powerful CPU, 2 gb RAM
  • IPS display
  • Good price

Cons

  • Camera could be better
  • Android 4.1

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

E34V8
posted on 15 Nov 2013, 07:13 (Posts: 39; Member since: 16 Dec 2011)

9

The underrated premium Droid

E34V8 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great phone with premium look and feel. Gorgeous design, excellent build, sharp screen and a decent camera. Polished software and good battery life (with Android 4.1.2 official update from LG). Connectivity is good. Both wi-fi and data are fast and stable.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mikenike
posted on 30 Sep 2013, 06:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Sep 2013)

9

Optimus G

mikenike has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I just recently bought this phone for the cheap price of only $150. For what i'm getting in it I was amazed at the bargain. Quadrant Benchmark tests destroy my previous Galaxy SIII (~5000), Optimus G (~8000) on stock CPU settings. The screen is amazing, and you can really get a lot of battery life from this phone if you configure the settings to do so. The Camera may be 13MP, but it has average focus, some pictures come out blurry from time to time. 4.1.2 Jelly Bean is buttery smooth on here. This phone is highly underrated by the bandwagon flagships. If you want an amazing phone to use as a PDA I would go with this one any day.
The build quality is incredible. Doesn't feel cheap or plastic-like one bit. The screen side all blends in when the phone is off giving it a beautiful black slate look. The back has really nice looking and sturdy glass.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Brilliant IPS HD Panel
  • Easy to recover using LGNPST (If you brick the phone)
  • Snapdragon S4 Pro Quad Core Inside
  • Up to date Graphics
  • Buttery smooth

Cons

  • Non Removable Battery
  • No MicroSIM

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sven
posted on 16 Jun 2013, 19:26 (Posts: 10; Member since: 19 Feb 2009)

10

Awesome Phone

Sven has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I think that this is the best LG till date and that it is one of the best droids there! i had many, if not all the top dog phones from all brands and believe me this is the only one who has amazed me so far, really great.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vahid2010
posted on 26 Apr 2013, 08:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Jan 2012)

10

big smart phone

vahid2010 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

this is the best phone and most powerful. it beats iphone 5, s3,xperia z and nexus 4 in terms of deign, specs, and it's user friendly! i love this phone and i really love the display. I love watching videos on this thing as well as going on Facebook and just general use.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • battery
  • camera
  • display
  • builid quality
  • price

Cons

  • no sd cart

vahid2010 alternatives:

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

soaaguiar
posted on 22 Mar 2013, 03:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Mar 2013)

10

Amazing, LG!

soaaguiar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The G arrives optimus coming. Superfluid and everything else to have a great first, second, third and all impressions. The LG really whims. I think everybody needs one. Really, is perfect. Thanks LG for the great Job.

Build quality 9/10 Great bodywork, unlike some plastic lovers, LG has made use of every resource to leave this wonderful and beautiful smartphone. But, have the sound problem.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

soaaguiar alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NokiaFTW
posted on 11 Mar 2013, 07:26 (Posts: 740; Member since: 24 Oct 2012)

8

My mom uses this phone . Based on what i've seen im giving this review .

NokiaFTW has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its a great phone . The camera & battery life could have been better , but overall its a great phone .
The is probably the most fastest Android smartphone along with its cousin the Nexus 4 . It matches the speed seen on the iPhone 5 and the Lumia 920 . The UI brings some interesting features like Q-Slide which is useful sometimes . The front camera is decent . The only thing I wish is that I could remove the battery . But anyways , its a great phone and probably the best smartphone to come out of LG's camp .

Build quality 8/10 I like the glass casing in the back . It feels nice to hold . But it attracts a lot of finger prints and dirt .
Reception 8/10 Reception is great with the handset . I use with 3G connectivity with my carrier and its reception is great . Mostly about 4 out of 5 bars in mid to low coverage areas . But its WiFI connectivity is quite weak in my case .
Call quality 9/10 Great call quality with handset . The only thing is that the speaker gets strained a lot at the highest volume setting .
Internet 9/10 Fantastic internet browsing . Great navigational controls , fluid & responsive .
Multimedia 8/10 The music & video options are good . But the speaker is not the best . Gaming is great on the device .
Camera 6/10 The camera is probably the most disappointing about the device . In low light situations , the photos are just very noisy and details are just non-existint . Videos taken are decent . I was expecting much better results from a 13 MP camera .
UI speed 10/10 This is the fastest phone I've ever used , much faster than my iPhone 4 . And 2 GB is really useful for easy and smooth multi-tasking and overall performance is just silky smooth .
Everyday usage 8/10 The UI is really good . I still prefer stock Android , but there are some nice features such as Q-slide and sometimes it comes in handy , but nothing really groundbreaking .
Text input 8/10 Text input is smooth . I have normal sized hands and the keyboard layout is very spacious and fast responsiveness . The only thing missing is swype but thats ok.
Display 9/10 The display is one the of the most impressive things about the Optimus G . Its very very sharp and clear . The only thing is that its colors are not as saturated as an AMOLED , but still its one of the best smartphones displays .
Battery 7/10 The battery is not the best . My mom gets only about 10.5 hours of heavy usage via 3G . For a high end smartphone , u'd expect better battery life .

Pros

  • Very fast processor and excellent overall UI responsiveness .
  • Sharp and great looking screen
  • Good front camera .
  • Good built quality and premium choice of materials .
  • 2 GB RAM is more than enough for smooth multi-tasking .

Cons

  • Average quality camera
  • Battery life could have been better .
  • Limited availiability

NokiaFTW alternatives:

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Muamer_Kodzaga
posted on 17 Feb 2013, 15:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Feb 2013)

1

lg

Muamer_Kodzaga has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it was a great phone. When i bought it it worked great and after 2,5 month it bricked it self :(
i went in a service to fix it but they said that they are unable to fix it cpu died :((( i was very upset because i thought that this was a great phone

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

3 out of 68 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gio1897
posted on 11 Feb 2013, 18:31 (Posts: 5; Member since: 03 Dec 2012)

10

LG Optimus G is one of the BEST phones of 2012-2013

Gio1897 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is excellent in every way. It has no cons. it does amazingly great in any situation, heavy use or everyday...
Its specs are just perfect. they match each other for ex. 1280x768 on 4.7 (high density) 13/8MP 1080Pcamera. Quad core 1.5 Krait CPU. The Adreno 320 does perfect job on the 1280x768 res. 32GB internal storage. 8.4 mm thick. Stylish modern clean design.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everithing

Cons

  • Nothing

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

roe150
posted on 31 Jan 2013, 00:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Jan 2013)

10

Best phone ever

roe150 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this is the best phone and most powerful. it beats iphone 5, s3, and nexus 4 in terms of deign, specs, and it's user friendly! i love this phone and i really love the display. I love watching videos on this thing as well as going on Facebook and just general use.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera
  • display
  • design
  • build quality
  • price

Cons

  • not enough people have this phone

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories