x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus Black User Reviews

7.7 Based on 16 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Text input8.3/10
Build quality7.3/10
Display8.7/10
Reception7.4/10
Battery7.3/10
Call quality7.6/10
Internet8.2/10
Multimedia8.4/10
Camera7.4/10
UI speed7.6/10
Everyday usage7.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

123mobile
posted on 21 Jun 2012, 06:12 (Posts: 3; Member since: 21 Jun 2012)

10

I LOVE IT!

123mobile has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

LG OPTIMUS BLACK IS WAY BETTER THAN I-Phone 4!
i love the design,
i love the weight,
i love the size,
i love NOVA DISPLAY!
I love the UI speed.
I love the battery
i love the quality,
i love the internet browsing speed,
i love to use it in my everyday!
i love the price!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 GREAT QUALITY
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10 VERY FAST INTERNET CONNECTION!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 perfect display NO QUESTION!
Battery 10/10 Satisfying battery life!

Pros

  • THE DISPLAY IS NO QUESTION! PERFECT! THE BATTERY IS GREAT TOO. THE DESIGN VERY IMPRESSIVE & THE BETTER PERFORMANCE OVER I-PHONE 4! THE PRICE IS WORTH IT! !

Cons

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gifted11
posted on 11 May 2012, 17:04 (Posts: 3; Member since: 11 May 2012)

9

I'M JUST BEING HONEST USER OF THIS PHONE!

gifted11 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

THIS PHONE IS REALLY A NICE PHONE .
NOT THE BEST , BUT IT'S ONE OF THE BEST SMARTPHONES ON THE MARKET!
VERY GOOD LOOKING DESIGN !
PERFECT SIZE AND WEIGHT !
FAST INTERNET BROWSING !
PERFECT LCD SCREEN! PERFECT COLORS!
GOOD CAMERA!
GREAT BATTERY!
LOVE IT! EASY TO USE IN MY DAILY...

Build quality 9/10 ITS GOOD FOR ME! ALMOST PERFECT FOR ME... I'M VERY SATISFIED WITH IT!
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AlexSmith
posted on 19 Apr 2012, 22:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Apr 2012)

3

Got rid of it for something that would work

AlexSmith has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought this phone hoping to get away from the high priced contract phones. I'm not sorry that I went prepaid but I am sorry that I went with this phone. I don't know if poor quality internet and call quality was due to the device or the plan but it was just horrible. The phone states it is 1GHZ, but I just switched to virginmobile and their 1GHZ phone is much faster on loading apps and for the most part does what I expect it to. Would recomend this phone to my boss but wouldnt recomend it to anyone else.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 4/10 camcorder sucks
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 6/10
Display 9/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • poor call quality could barely hear the other caller even with volume all the way up
  • gps would take over 5 min to lock on every time
  • processor isnt anywhere near where a 1GHZ processor should be

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jaminman20
posted on 19 Apr 2012, 10:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Apr 2012)

5

Not great but not terrible

jaminman20 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

My girlfrined just posted her review and told me I should review my phone as well to "warn people" away. We both bought this model phone about 6 months ago and she has had lots of issues with her devices, but I have not had as much trouble. I will say that the batter dies abnormally fast even for a smartphone- my buddies EVO 4G lasts longer with stock battery than my phone does and most know that 4G phones run through the battery. The main gripe I have is false advertising- the front camera isnt 2MP- not even close!! How do they get away with that its a 0.3MP front camera at best. The processor is 1GHZ but not a quick as a snapdragon at 1GHZ- dont really understand that but I guess not all processors are equal. The reception isnt good here lots of dropped calls that I didn't have with Optimus V (VM). Internet is spotty in 3G and GPS isnt very strong and has trouble with turn by turn directions- very laggy. The back camera takes good stills but the camcorder is low resolution. I have wifi at home so at least phone works okay when home.

Build quality 1/10 False advertising front camera is VGA not 2MP and camcorder is very low res
Reception 2/10 Lots of dropped calls I didnt have with Virgin Mobile
Call quality 3/10 When call isnt dropped quality isnt that bad but dropped calls lowers this score too
Internet 4/10 Works fine on Wifi but 3G is spotty at best
Multimedia 8/10 plays music and videos fine once entered into phone- without wifi connection good luck downloading
Camera 3/10 5mp stills are good- camcorder is dated and low res front camera is only VGA not advertised 2MP
UI speed 5/10 Peppy but not the equal of a snapdragon. Side by side my friends snapdragon 1GHZ is at least 10 to 20 seconds faster at completing the same tasks
Everyday usage 4/10 This score is down because of the horrible battery life even among smartphones the battery dies rapidly
Text input 9/10 virtual keyboard works fine- better if it had a query keyboard
Display 10/10
Battery 1/10 worst battery life I've ever seen in any smartphone

Pros

  • beautiful display

Cons

  • not the equal of other 3G 1GHZ smartphones out there

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

hottotrot
posted on 19 Apr 2012, 10:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Apr 2012)

1

How can you other people think this phone is so great?

hottotrot has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I decided to give this phone the benefit of the doubt and keep it for at least 6 months now I just want rid of it. I swithched from the Optimus V on Virgin Mobile to this phone and I cant believe that an older phone with less technology was actually better. The battery only lasts half a day, I cant complete a full phone call without calling the person back at least twice because of dropped calls, the phone is actually slugglish at times, I had to move a bunch of apps to my sd card becuase the internal memory already filled up and the phone laggs bad running those apps, the camcorder takes low res jumpy video, the touch screen doesnt work that great some areas i have to push hard others enter the letter twice as it is so sensitive there. I returned 2 of these phones to WalMart and am on my third that is just as bad. If I stay prepaid I'm going back to VM maybe get the Triumph, but this phone soured me to prepaid in all likelyhood I'm going to get a 4G phone that can actually make a call and surf the web.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • when put on a stack of documents with the window open will stop wind from blowing documents across room

Cons

  • overpriced underpowered device

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

iamROCK
posted on 03 Apr 2012, 17:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Apr 2012)

10

The Android Black Sheep

iamROCK has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

With rising of new android phones sporting dual core processors, the Optimus Black can be forgotten.... I think not. The LG Optimus Black gives a powerful punch that most 1 GHz android phones can't. Its display is very wonderful. The UI that LG gives is very easy to use.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • 4'' IPS LCD NOVA Display
  • If you buy it now, it already has 2.3.4
  • Good battery life (2 days with above average usage)
  • ICS promised by LG
  • Great body design and very thin
  • 2 MP front facing camera
  • G-Button for Gesture
  • Very good price range in my country (Philippines)
  • Great camera shots both photos and videos (maybe because of the gingerbread update)

Cons

  • Slow processor (1 GHz)
  • The placing of the its speaker (situational)

iamROCK alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

therocker
posted on 14 Mar 2012, 04:16 (Posts: 14; Member since: 03 Jul 2011)

10

best of all

therocker has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

using it since last two months.it also got android 2.3.4 update.not havin any problem wid it.........battery life is also very impressive even after having a slim battery.....nice video quality......display quality is excellent and crisp clear.......its very slim.......dont wanna buy a new cell in place of this one ;-)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • thin body
  • fast processor
  • nova display
  • up to date os(2.3.4)
  • 720p video recording
  • front facing 2mp camera
  • fab sound quality
  • extreme viewing angles
  • excellent display quality(~233ppi)

Cons

  • ppl think lg phones are not good(they pay for it afterwards)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

green
posted on 09 Jan 2012, 14:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Jan 2012)

6

bad lg company policy

green has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

good phone to use ,but,,,dont ever try to update or upgrade by PC,,there will be a big chance for you to have trouble in your device ,,,if so ,,your agent (at least the one in jordan) will say that LG dont uprove the (official lg website) !!!!!!!!!so your out of waranty .

Build quality 5/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 5/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • thin,,

Cons

  • out dated OS ,,,bad suport
  • finger print
  • front camera sy 2mp but qlty is vga

green alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dsdfdfdf
posted on 10 Dec 2011, 18:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Dec 2011)

10

Awesome

dsdfdfdf has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Sitting alongside the LG Optimus 2X, the LG Optimus Black is a top-end smartphone, slipping in at just over £400, attempting to compete with the Samsung Galaxy S2 and Apple iPhone 4 for the smartphone crown, but with considerably fewer features and less processing power than its LG stablemate.

Build quality 10/10 feeld solid
Reception 10/10 great quality
Call quality 10/10 clear as crystal
Internet 10/10 quick n snappy
Multimedia 10/10 too good to be true
Camera 10/10 pretty nice
UI speed 10/10 zippy
Everyday usage 10/10 just nice
Text input 10/10 ok
Display 10/10 mind blowing
Battery 10/10 good

Pros

  • Display !

Cons

  • None

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rashrocking
posted on 09 Nov 2011, 12:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Nov 2011)

10

Daddy Of All in This Range....

Rashrocking has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Mind Blowing Device.....speedy perfomance....excellent camera....and daily usage...
superb video quality....and easily hackable.....
LOVE 2 HAVE IT.... .................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • 2MP Front Camera
  • LED Flash
  • Super Bright Diplay
  • Sleek
  • light weight
  • Sound

Cons

  • Little bit battery...but all android have it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

muhafaja
posted on 11 Sep 2011, 07:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Sep 2011)

10

muhafaja

muhafaja has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great,
Display
Internet browser
2MP front facing camera
Music quality
battery 1500 mah
i love in the slimmest design
only 9.2mm at the thinnest thickness
NOVA 700nit brightness strong in the sun to maintain visibility outdoors is good
1ghz cpu
512mb ram
5mp camera with LED Flash
109g weight

Battery 10/10
Display 10/10
Text input 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Camera 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Internet 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Build quality 10/10

Pros

  • android 2.2 to 2.3 upgrade capacity

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

varvish
posted on 12 Aug 2011, 12:38 (Posts: 2; Member since: 12 Aug 2011)

10

varvish

varvish has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great,
Display
Internet browser
2MP front facing camera
Music quality
battery
the sexy design
only 9.2mm at the thinnest thickness
NOVA 700nit brightness strong in the sun to maintain visibility outdoors is good
1ghz cpu
512mb ram
5mp camera with LED Flash

it's awesome

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • android 2.2

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cchanco
posted on 30 Jul 2011, 08:33 (Posts: 2; Member since: 30 Jul 2011)

10

All in One Phone

cchanco has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

For me this phone is All in One Smartphone ! :))) because of the sexy design and it fits in the pocket . Battery is good i can use the phone 24hrs . The User Interface is very smart ! its pretty cool other than smartphones. The display is good enough for daily usage :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Good UI
  • 1ghz
  • Front Camera
  • LED Flash

Cons

  • Android 2.2

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

maro-zero
posted on 25 Jul 2011, 06:41

7

lg optimus

maro-zero has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

NOVA is just ok ,not very well .samsung galaxy sII (super amled) color is much more soft !!
Since after 2011, LG began to actively put into the Android market, following the world's first dual-core machine after the launch of LG Optimus 2X, LG continues to add new family members Optimus - Optimus Black, and this the greatest killing machine with, than is the use of NOVA screen, providing 700nit brightness, showing that the brightest cell phone, the clearest picture, but also strong in the sun to maintain visibility outdoors, and energy-saving performance is very good, compared to traditional LCD power consumption savings of up to 50%. In addition, only 9.2mm at the thinnest thickness of only 6mm of the body is one of the main features of this phone.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 6/10
Battery 7/10

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Amit khare
posted on 24 Jul 2011, 07:54

8

buy if looks, front facing camera & display is main concern.

Amit khare has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great Display, Internet browser, Call quality, 2MP front facing camera, Multimedia & Looks .................
poor reception, Finger Print magnet, Music quality, Speaker, battery & old Froyo 2.2.2....................................
Buy if looks, front facing camera & display is main concern.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JM
posted on 18 Jul 2011, 01:33

4

Abt Fone

JM has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

LG Suxxxx,it is jus the fone to c a beauty,its not a worth buy!!!!!!!

after using this i'll suggest u dont go 4r it better go for lg optimus 2x,samsung galaxy s2,or nokia N8,c7.....................................

Thank YoU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Build quality 4/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 5/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • gud display

Cons

  • android 2.2 whn already 2.3.3 is available

JM alternatives:

5 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories