x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Cookie User Reviews

7.4 Based on 23 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception8.3/10
Display8/10
Build quality8.3/10
Text input7/10
Everyday usage8.5/10
UI speed7/10
Camera8.3/10
Multimedia8.3/10
Internet7.3/10
Call quality9/10
Battery7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

IamGoinNuTs
posted on 19 Dec 2011, 13:38

7

Not the best/

IamGoinNuTs has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The phone is good, but it could be better. Why? It has those problems, like turning it self off many times, stylus pen scratches screen. Even the phone eats the battery by himself in about 5 hours. Typing SMS has the speed of the snail. Literally, its hanging up when texting. Sometimes software crashes. And those problems with screen. Ugh, dont look at this phone, just find another phone. Id suggest you Samsung Star.

Build quality 8/10 The plastic body scratches fast, but it is okay.
Reception 7/10
Call quality 9/10 Call quality is good, I like it!
Internet 5/10 Its slow, it crashes. I cant download ANYTHING from internet.
Multimedia 7/10 When I get 50 songs, music player starts to hang up.
Camera 7/10 It could be better with flash.
UI speed 5/10 Its slow, texting is slow, everything is slow. Even if I delete everything from phone, its so slow.
Everyday usage 8/10 Texting is slow. Otherwise its nice.
Text input 4/10 Im telling you again, its really annoying, cause its really slow.
Display 7/10 Display is nice. Only more colours would do the thing.
Battery 5/10 It eats by himself as I told in review.

Pros

  • Cool themes!
  • Design is good.
  • Call quality is good.

Cons

  • Battery life sucks.
  • Text input sucks.
  • Stylus pen scratching screen.
  • Internet has many errors
  • Software has bugs. ( I HAVE UPDATED SOFTWARE )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kpoguido
posted on 08 Mar 2011, 13:24 (Posts: 2; Member since: 02 Nov 2009)

9

Very Good Phone

kpoguido has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It is a beautiful phone. I've been over 1 year with him. Because its interface is made in Flash, designed to my taste is very simple.
Leaving aside that. Your 3MP camera is very good, and thanks to his screen 240x400px enjoy videos and pictures is beautiful.
Your browser is very well done, for a phone that was not created specifically for browsing the Internet.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Good Camera of 3MP
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Very easy to enter text. With its 3x4 keypad, the QWERTY keyboard, or just writing the characters.
Display 9/10 Excelent Display (240x400)
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Desing
  • Price
  • Flash Interface
  • Music
  • Stereo Speaker
  • Drawing Panel
  • Compatibility with PDF, DOC, PPS, XLS
  • Videos in MP4 or 3GP
  • 240x400 px Display

Cons

  • Batery Life

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alvin`
posted on 12 Jan 2011, 04:43

10

I LOST IT.!

Alvin` has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

actually. i had that phone before. but. it was snatched by a thief. I HATE IT.! but I enjoyed that phone. MANY FEATURES. & . affordable. The games are really COOL.! & the camera. SO GOOD. 3MP. I like the FLYING DICE. & DRAWING PANEL. & the internet connection. is SO GOOD.! and the MP3 Player.! ULTIMATE.! :D. i hope I have that phone right now. :D . THANKS LG KP500. (COOKIE). for making my GADGET LIFE MORE MEMORABLE.! LAB YU.!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • CAMERA
  • GAMES
  • MP3
  • TEXTING
  • DRAWING PANEL
  • BLUETOOTH
  • PICTURES
  • SOUNDS
  • ALL.!

Cons

  • NONE.!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Twirlybob
posted on 21 Dec 2010, 04:48

6

LG KP500

Twirlybob has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone really is not the best. Software usually hangs up, texting is slow, and I got some multi-problems about this phone. After 2-3 weeks it usually turned off by it self, and touch goes wrong. ( When you wanned press 5, it shows up 8). After 3-4 months, software goes nuts. First, it hanged up everytime. Second, on Homescreen it shows up blue square, and then i cant do anything. This phone battery is pretty nice. But I reccomend you to not buy LG. The best is Nokia or Sony Ericsson. Choice is yours.

Build quality 6/10 Build quality is not good. Its made from plastic, which scrathes fast. Really fast.
Reception 6/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 5/10 Internet is really slow, but not too slow. It's pretty normal speed.
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 7/10 Nice quality camera, but I wanned flash and autofocus too.
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 4/10 Text input is so slow. For me phone is just like a snail.
Display 6/10 Big display, but i hoped for better quality.
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Nice design.
  • Pretty nice camera

Cons

  • Software might go nuts. Literally.
  • It turns off by itself.
  • Touc

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 18 Jul 2010, 09:15

7.7

I have had this phone for a while now, and stil think its the best touch phone i've ever had...even on a student budget!

It's light, stylish, internet is good and it's good quality and very inexpensive... on a student budget i have found it perfect for texting and calling as well as checking my emails and other features...

The only issue i have is that every few months, it decides to freeze and also the games are pretty pointless...i dont have a problem with the QWERTY keyboard or the speed of the touchscreen... However, a hint to new or promising customers, i would advise that every two or three months, recallibrate the touchscreen as contant use tends to make it go abit weird...

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Light
  • Stylish
  • Good design
  • Inexpensive
  • Good internet

Cons

  • Freezes occasionally
  • Pointless games
  • Recallibration needed after a while

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ellie
posted on 27 May 2010, 05:04

6

I've had this phone for about a year now, i was thrilled when i first got it, as it was my first touch screen...Its a nifty phone, allthough the camera is preety bad quality, and photoes in a dark environment are almost impossible.The stylus pen is a plus, good for the drawing panel, allthough you wont find yourself using it much!Over the last 6 months, it freezes on a daily basis, i have to then take the battery out, put it back on and restart the phone... lately it's been freezing allthough theres no battery in the phone, how that works i have no idea.The internet is preety good but quite slow, and crashes alot, and does not have WiFi.For the teens, facebook and msn is easily accesed for a low price.As said before, it is a good phone, but i wouldn't reccomend it, alot of people have had the same difficulties as i have.The messaging is okay, but once again impossible to write fast, as its a bit slow.. the landscape qwerty keyboard is impossible as the keys are way too small, thats where the stylus pen comes in, but it takes too long, i can gurantee you will be over it by the time you write hello,The photoes are good, and the video play backs are also good, but not the best!Overall the touch is quite slow, and i often find lagging in my phonebook and messages,one of the biggest problems i have found is when you connect it to your pc, it will come up with a different error every time, and sometimes when you go into camera, like for instance it will say error with key...  

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • Design

Cons

  • Lagging alot, especially internet, messaging and phonebook.
  • Camera isnt all that good, no flash
  • No Wifi
  • Often turns itself off
  • Battery needs charging on a daily basis
  • Alot of difficulties when connected to the Pc Suite.
  • Messaging is quite slow, making it impossible for speedy typers.
  • The horizontal qwerty keyboard is impossible, as the keys are way too small, using the embrus styler is difficult as you will get over it very quickly.
  • The alarm stuffs up quite often.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Argjent
posted on 08 Feb 2010, 08:06

8.3

LG Cookie

why do you people criticise on its web browser,you can use bolt browser it has fast sliding,it is better than the default browser but it is not good looking as the default browser,and you say slow eh well you can always upgrade the firmware,and lg did a mistake putting that firmware,here is the proof that lg cookie can bee so fast:just go to dialpad and type 1809#*500# then device test and try scrolling it is a big pleasure

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Active Flash UI
  • Widgets
  • PDF/DOC/TXT viewer
  • Flash has been modified by lg so it could be unusable
  • 8 GB microsd hc /kp502 up to 16 gb
  • Drawing panel
  • Multitouch yes you heard me just go to widget screen touch one widget with the first finger,then somewhere else on the screen and you will see that the widget will move to the middle betwn you fingers,and you can do this anywhere
  • E-mail
  • Good music player

Cons

  • Wrong firmware decision
  • No autofocus
  • Slow slow edge

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jar hahs
posted on 19 Dec 2009, 11:03

7.3

 good interface and menus, includes many features for just a budget phone. but lg made it on the cheap as so many glitches and problems, while updates are hard to find and do not help much. also no wifi and 3G as well as sub-standard hardware dont help

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • good interface
  • low price
  • packs features

Cons

  • no wifi/3G
  • software problems
  • no help from lg

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

.
posted on 17 Dec 2009, 21:44

6.7

Not as great as it looks

I had this phone for a year and a half. It always shuts down, the qwerty is really bad. No 3g network. really slow at everything! The phone book and everything with scrolling is really hard and frustrating to use. My screen has alot of cracks, i got them when i used the stylus!

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • camera
  • design

Cons

  • keyboard
  • phonebook
  • no 3g
  • shuts down
  • slow

12 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Arun J
posted on 23 Oct 2009, 16:02

7.3

Overall Experience statisfactory.

   I have been using LG Cookie for the past 5  months. For the price the phone has provided very good features. The interface is good only when you used to it. If you use a touch screen for the first time its going to be tough. The widgets and the music system is really good. The QWERTY mode of smsing and mailing is good. The loudspeaker is in the front that really good. The inbulit browser in not much user friendly but there is always an option dowload opera 4.2 and 4.5 and use them they are really cool. The battery doesnt last for more than 3 hours when yu are over the phone. The another drwback is when you are on a call you cannot browse.      When you connect your mobile to your laptop via blue tooth to go online in laptop this is really good. Its seamless and really good. Even with a blue tooth head to listen to music for a longtime the battery lasts for a longtime. Further only problem i have now is that am not able to use the email feature in the phone havent got the right setup yet for my google. Am just getting connection error when i try to connect.    Overall am happy that with the phone feel happy with its working. Previously i had moto rokr E6 for the past 2.5 yrs. Comapring the both this one s made of plastic and appears to be brittle compared to the other one.

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Good Interface
  • Good music player
  • Good for browsing(once external browser is installed)

Cons

  • Not sturdy
  • Battery lasts only for 3 hrs of talking.
  • Not much support from LG on software configuration had to rely on networking sites
  • No accessories available.
  • Could have given a better earphone.

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zezoterjo
posted on 27 Sep 2009, 14:38

5.3

lg kp500 cookie

LG did it again...They proved to me that the good design doesn't always has good features and performance this phone has the best design the can make for a touch phone but i think they forgot to but the good features in it and they did the same thing in kf550 .Thanks for reading... 

Design 9/10
Features 3/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • 1.Very nice design.
  • 2.3mp camera
  • 3.Organised menues.
  • 4.Drag me softwear.
  • 5.Good price.

Cons

  • 1.No autofocus.
  • 2. Sensitive plastic body.
  • 3.A very weak organizer.
  • 4.No office document viewer.
  • 5.No flash.
  • 6.No Wi-Fi.
  • 7.No 3G.
  • 8.Very weak browser.
  • 7.No 3G

16 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mammy!!!```
posted on 20 Sep 2009, 13:57

1.7

though it has great looks it keeps stucking all the time and also it loses the network all the time really frustrating i will have to take for service after only 2 days!!! so please do yourself a favor and don't buy it!!!

Design 3/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

7 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KV
posted on 29 Jul 2009, 03:18

8.7

Worth the price

LG cookie is worth the price. The handset is fully loaded, very sleek. The touch is sensitive but you cant expect the touch feel as in iPhone. Battery backup is good. Motion sensor works well. I have been using this handset for past 6 months. and am very much satisfied.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • worth the price.

Cons

  • Touch is not that much sensitive.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gopal sharma
posted on 13 Jul 2009, 00:40

6

i m using this phone from last 2 months ,the design and featurs are cool but the problem is that i inseted the memory card in the phone it says no memmory card found and the same memory card works propely in all other phone i tried

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • great look
  • nice features with price

Cons

  • sensitivity problem with touch screen
  • improper volume control
  • frequent hang in multi application

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

b_estanislao
posted on 20 Apr 2009, 21:53

8

Sim Not Inserted!

Hi, I have been using my Cookie for the past few weeks here in the Philippines, yah the unit is great with all its features and all, thats why i bot one, now i used the SUN Cellular Network for my phone, its was an "EasyLine" program here in the philippines.  One major problem of my cookie using this line, after a few hours or so it gives me a warning and it says.. "SIM NOT INSERTED... NOW SHUTTING DOWN". What the heck? its already inserted and working for hours? Now it tells me its not inserted? So i test and test, i have used another SUN sim and its a prepaid here in the Philippines and it works fine, now i dunno if the settings of my Cookie is right for the network here and another problem is where to look for right people to ask for the correct configuration settings? Coz i have ask alot and all this people dont even know how to face the problem :(
 

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • i like all its features and wanting to find more functionalities

Cons

  • flash based programs are not running
  • picture loaded PDF files cant be read
  • video converter not included in the Suite
  • sometimes a bit slow

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

:))))
posted on 22 Mar 2009, 05:43

9

I like very much

I like very much. Almost best phone what i ever have.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • screen
  • camera in outdoor
  • design
  • games
  • voice recorder
  • radio
  • QWERTY keyboard

Cons

  • no wifi
  • camera inside
  • widgets

24 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rathi
posted on 17 Mar 2009, 23:25

5

very bad experience

it has been a week i started using the phone.. lot of frustation and irrtation caused with the handset , because of lack of feature and bugs in the operating system of the handset,
1. it will hang, when u try to use cross aplications, like while on call u try to send the msgs. and worst part is even power button will get deactivate. we need to remove the battery and replace it back
2.if we connect it to laptop and send msgs fromt he laptop through lg suit then phone will get swicth off..
3. no antenna off option
4. when we on music player from the home menu.if we attend the call then it will reduce the volume of the music player after disconnecting the call.
 
 

Design 9/10
Features 4/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • design and weight of handset

Cons

  • many bugs in software,
  • frequent hanging for cross application usage

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

S*G*
posted on 06 Mar 2009, 22:24

8.7

best of best

hi,I got it 3 days ago.its cool.stylish,handy and fully loaded with lots of features.its browsing is faster than motorocker or others in its catg.sound is good but it should have a universal 3.5 mm headphone jack what it have'nt .it has flash player, auto rotation,motion gaming and many more but i think its stylushis very small which does'nt give you the comfort of using a good stylush.BESIDE all these goods & bads its 3" display(400x240pxl) & its 3mp(NO FLASH) camera makes it great in its price catg.you can get it in india for RS.12,675/- .

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

14 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

akhil
posted on 26 Feb 2009, 20:21

9.7

LG COOKIE

Got the LG Cookie KP500, very good phone very impressed. I was worried that I would not get on with this phone as its touch screen but no problem couple of days you’ll get use to it! I find it easier to use my fingers instead of the stylus pen but then agen my fingers and not big so for the bigger finger people the stylus pen would be for you. Get this phone if not your missing out. Got everything you need for only £100.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • 3.0 inch screen
  • 240*400 resolution
  • 3mp cam
  • flash user interface
  • 2.1 bluetooth
  • affordable touch screen
  • auto rotate
  • motion sensor gaming

Cons

  • no 3g or wifi
  • a bit hard to use

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Varcoda
posted on 25 Feb 2009, 18:26

9

Great value phone

I bought this phone a week and a half ago, and its been working pretty fine. The first day i got it it kept hanging or switching off when i tried certain functions. But the shop i bought it from told me its fine for the first day for a new phone. True enough, i havent had any hanging/shutting off problem since.
The layout and design of the phone is easy to use, although the phonebook usage will take a little getting used to. i've had no real need for the stylus so far (except for drawing) as the buttons are generally big enough on the phone for accuracy.
The scratchproof surface rest assures that there wont be too much damage on your phone unless you scratch it with a reallllyyy sharp knife. No real complaints on the phone, the lack of fantastic games is made up for by downloading your own.
its great to use, with any function being just a few clicks away, and i love how much you can customise it to suit your needs. all in all, a great value for money phone, topped with a stylish design!

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • - stylish
  • - able to customize to your needs
  • - light
  • - slim
  • - cheap

Cons

  • - might hang/shut down itself the first day
  • - phonebook function needs getting used to

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bicapz
posted on 23 Feb 2009, 05:58 (Posts: 1; Member since: 23 Feb 2009)

9

LG Cookie... Great Budget Phone from LG

I have purchased this phone about 2 weeks ago, with the price of IDR 2,600,000, or approximately U.S. $ 237. I think this phone is very good especially with the facilities offered with a very affordable price. The Flash User Interface is very interesting and easy to use, it also features touchscreen is very good. Music player is also quite good, unfortunately there is no flash on the camera and the battery capacity is too small for a phone with a screen of that, but in general this phone is very good. Well done again LG!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • price
  • design
  • Flash User Interface
  • Music Player
  • Photo Editor

Cons

  • Camera Without Flash
  • Battery Capacity
  • No Wifi or 3G

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Deano
posted on 08 Jan 2009, 11:06

6

A great phone with a few problems

I brought the cookie after having Sony Ericsson w850i k800i and w850 k750i all of which were brilliant multi use phones. i expected a lot from the cookie and am disappointed LOADS . the camera is very poor with no flash so useless in bad light. i have noticed the phone also likes to switch itself off from time to time. it is a nightmare to use without the stylus if you have big fingers as its to easy to hit the wrong key and to top it of . . .to find a number in your phone book is SO FRUSTRATING its easier to remember the number than it is scroll from A to Z this is because you can not scroll from upwards from A straight to Z just all the way down through the alphabet. the games are poor apart from the pipe game. and the abilityto turn the phone to change the phone to a qwerty keyboard is a gimmick that is annoying as the qwerty is so slow to use unless your a Secretary . the handwriting entry is also a waste of time its quicker to use the ordinary predictive standard phone pad layout.  i can only say that i feel the phone is a good fashion statement but feels so fragile it would break if you sat down with it in your jean pocket. and if you drop it kiss goodbye to your £100 phone as it probably won't recover.The download games content is poor for this phone as its quiet new to the marketthe sound quality from the phone is very poor even worse when you are using the bad quality headphones/hands free supplied. very very quiet when making of receiving a call....  

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • looks nice and is a very cheap touch phone

Cons

  • bad camera. volume to quiet.sensitive touch screen. really frustrating to use. not very strong very much a gimmick phone.

12 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Flamy
posted on 30 Nov 2008, 21:25

9

LG Cookie~GREAT phone

The cookie is a very easy to use touch phone. The sound is awesome, and the games rock. The camera is very good. You can also edit your pictures! The only "problem" is that it's hard to actually use the touch screen to use the handwriting recognition. If this is your first touch phone, (like me) then it will be a bit challenging at first. Im already used to it, and i've had it for 3 days. But the rest is exelent!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • camera
  • games
  • sound
  • design
  • features

Cons

  • stylus pen
  • Handwriting recognition

85 out of 95 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories