x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Chocolate User Reviews

7.3 Based on 54 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed3/10
Camera4/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet2/10
Call quality6/10
Battery9/10
Reception6/10
Display7/10
Build quality8/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

cowsrockalot
posted on 20 Nov 2010, 19:23 (Posts: 34; Member since: 02 Nov 2009)

8

Not as bad as you'd think

cowsrockalot has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The touch pad took a lot of getting used to. The Camera was less than Average. The keyboard was a little flat, but overall it was for some reason okay! It felt great, it had an expansion slot, and the music support was great. I never used the internet on it, but I'm sure it's as good as all phones of that type.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • there is no battery cover, it's connected to the battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Caillie
posted on 24 Nov 2009, 16:05

9.7

L-O-V-E

 Okay, so I've had my chocolate since August of..2007? Yeah a long time, and I've only had one problem with it, and it was my fault. (I just texted someone with it 2 seconds ago) The problem was that I gave it to my sister and she either dropped it, or dropped it and stepped on it, so the screen went all messed, but I sent it in and got it fixed, and now it's perfect again! It's really scratched up, but seeing as I've had it for nearly what?.. 2 and 1/2 years? I think that's respectable. I recommend this phone! AMAZING

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

J-Moneyyy $
posted on 22 Jul 2009, 01:46

4

DISGUSTING

I got this phone Christmas 2007,  and I was so happy to have gotten this free phone (I guess). But that's also the day my nightmare began. Before my 2 year contract ended, I've gone through 4 of these sickening devices. The first wouldn't charge, the second one's screen would automatically go to a white screen, the third also went to a white screen and its internal speaker broke (ON MY JUNIOR PROM DAY!), and the forth ones charger broke INSIDE it so it couldn't charge anymore. Overall this phone is atrocious and should be burned into flames the size of Russia.

Design 7/10
Features 4/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • read above

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Db@!!er
posted on 13 Dec 2008, 12:29

2.3

PIECE OF S*%#!!!!! I HATE IT!! BURN IN HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I HATE THIS PHONE SOOOOOOO MUCH! I CANT WAIT TO GET A NEW PHONE AFTER HAVING THIS PIECE OF CRAP FOR ETERNITY. THE SCREEN KEEPS BREAKING AND OVERALL EVERYTIME I GET A NEW ONE ITS ALWAYS SOMETHING NEW WRONG WITH IT!!!!!!!!
 
DONT EVER GET THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • NOTHING

Cons

  • EVERYTHING

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tenspeedpdx
posted on 21 Nov 2008, 20:34

1

Worst. Phone. Ever.

I got this phone as part of Verizon's 'New Every Two' program. I can't believe I had to suffer with this lousy phone for two years.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Nice color.

Cons

  • Everything else.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Miss jones
posted on 11 Sep 2008, 13:06

6

I AGREE ITS A BAD PHONE!!!!

I have went through two phones already, I am on the third now and sick of the phone but the insurance ompany keeps giving me the same old phone. Th efirst phone's screen turned white and the phone was unresponsive, the second did the same thing, hopefully if i happens again I will recive an upgrade for free. Unfortunaely I've only had the phone a year this month!!! SUCKS REALLY BAD!!!!!

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Looks nice

Cons

  • Too sensitive not sturdy

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

doug
posted on 30 Jul 2008, 20:00

3.8

horrible phone

4 of my friends have (had) this phone. 3 of them have completely snapped in half, the slider began to wiggle and just fell apart. All of my friends went through at least 2 of vx8500s. I am the only person I know of to still have their original chocolate for almost 2 years. The only thing i replaced was the battery. Never get this phone, thank god its discontinued. My touchpad takes 15 seconds to load with all of the buttons. It always calls the last person i talked to. Now I am finally eligible to upgrade and plan on getting the LG Dare.

Design 2/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 4/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TyRc84
posted on 26 Jul 2008, 00:00

7.6

What a Phone!

I dropped this phone down a waterfall (accidentally), then stepped on it a couple of time (accidentally) and various other accidents... and the phone still works great!! It is amazing, the buttons all work and are very responsive. I've never had any problems with this phone, I've never accidentally disconnected a call, but will ocassionally will push a wrong key on the pad because they are small. I wish the memory card capacity was higher than 2 gigs but it will do for now. I love this phone, and have had it for 2 years now. It is time for an upgrade, but I almost don't want to upgrade... almost!!

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 23 Jul 2008, 09:31

4.8

wow,

worst phone I've ever had. The screen would always become unlocked and it would call people all the time, WHILE IT WAS IN MY POCKET!!! the "wheel" thing sucked too. you had to push it maybe three or four times for it to work.

It played music really well though, so i thoght to let it just go,
but then the phone broke! It just kept turning off when I pushed the music button. So I got a new one from our insurance company. And then that one, the two sections came apart! and then the phone after that one, froze.

so three phones later, I got the Chocolate 2, much better phone.

Design 6/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 1/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 22 Jul 2008, 21:36

4.4

dissapointing

I've had this phone for abot two years now. I can tell you, that I made a horrible decision. The camera quality is very poor and sluggish. The touch pad can be annoying, and when I put it in my pocket, it calls people randomly. The keyboard is cramped and makes it easy to dial the wrong number. I wouldn't recommend this phone to anyTHING on the earth.

Design 4/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

slapshotryan17
posted on 24 Apr 2008, 18:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Apr 2008)

4.6

While this phone gets you by, its by no means one that will last you very long. After dropping this phone once, the clear and call buttons work half the time at best and navigational buttons are absolutely insane.

I will select my messages and it decides to scroll through all of them and no let me select any of them. And instead of clearing back to the page before, i must shut the phone and start again. It remains the same for texting except if i mess up i must make the choice of starting over or leaving a random word in the text.

Thank god verizon is getting rid of this phone and hopefully this phone will never make its way back to the market.

Design 3/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Matthew Wells
posted on 17 Jan 2008, 13:41

4.6

A glitchy nightmare

I got the VX8500 Chocolate for Christmas last year, in our first few months together, I loved this phone. It was impractical and had more than a few downfalls from my old phone(VX7000), but it looked cool and it was built well. Now, the only thing I can still say good about this phone is that yes, it is built extraordinarily well. It HAS to be considering all of the times I've chucked it into a wall from frustration only to have it still work, sometimes better than before.

Even in signal-rich areas, I'd frequently drop 4 bars at once, while my girlfriend's phone, an enV, would have steady uninterrupted signal. Top this off with the schizophrenic touch pad, which I'd often pull out of my pocket to find it cycling through menus, or see that I'd inadvertantly called somebody.

When the touch buttons do work, it's nice to have them, due to their silent operation, but the phone itself is just a mess. How Verizon can tout this as a music-ready player, and include this massive tumor of an "adapter" just to allow you to plug in 2.5mm headphones is absurd. And back when I got this phone, 2.5mm headphones that weren't earbuds were an absolute rarity, in fact they probably still are. Point is, I don't care to play music on this thing when I've got an 80GB Zune I can use instead.

Maybe I missed the point of the Chocolate, a music-centric device, I mainly bought it for the looks without taking into account any negative reviews, and now I regret it. I hope to replace it with a Voyager very...  

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 4/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Meloch
posted on 04 Jan 2008, 14:48

4.6

2007-2007

Yes, that's how long my phone lived. Couple of months. I like the features and everything, but the screen turns white or black... bad phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 18 Nov 2007, 23:14

8.4

pretty good

I have had this phone for a while now, and I have to admit it is pretty good. I have tropped it probably 100's of times on concrete, my kitchen floor, etc. and it still works perfectly, of course with scratches. I think this is the best bang for your buck. It has pretty good features and it looks really nice. Since this phone is old I wouldnt recomend getting it but if you dont mind getting a year old phone i say go with this one. The only problem i ever had was i accidently spilled water on it and the touch controls got messed up, but if your careful, unlike me then you should really enjoy this phone.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tina cooleo
posted on 20 Oct 2007, 23:42

9.4

i like it a lot!!!best ever!

I bought my chocolate one year ago and it is still as good as new! I know some people have trouble with theirs but mine works great! I am very satisfied and I haven't really had any troubles with it!

I LOVE MY CHOCOLATE! I like it a lot!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Joe
posted on 29 Sep 2007, 20:01

9.2

Mainly User Error

I have had The Chocolate phone for over a year and it has yet to give me any problems. I feel that all the main problem people have with this phone is the fact that they don't take the time to learn how to use it. If they start to have trouble they blame it on the phone and say it's defective.
Of course I have seen some chocolate phones, (I think mainly the colors other than Black), that have had internal problems such as the screens going white and it stops working. Also b/c it's not a flip phone, the screen is vulnerable to scratches.
I would have to say that the phone has been great to me. The sensitivty bugged me for a while when I first got it, but it's like getting any new phone, it's gonna take a while to get used to it b/c you have been using your last phone for over a year.
I would not suggest this phone for impatient people and/or older people.
If you get this phone, spend a good 30 mins to an hour going through the features and getting used to the sensitivity and button locations.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andy Y
posted on 21 Sep 2007, 18:00

5.4

FrustratedOwner

My kids each had one of these phones. The first one was replaced twice until we decided to get a different phone because the kids have them for emergencies and if they don't work, what's the point. The second phone has been a little better but now it has failed and we are going for a replacement. I have never seen so many failures with a product before. And Verizon only gives you a replacement during the warranty. And the replacement could be a remanufactured phone which probably won't last either. Once you are through the warranty period, I guess we are stuck. And the contract is longer than the warranty period. The warranty should have to be as long as the required service contract. Maybe then things would be different.

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Crimsin
posted on 05 Aug 2007, 17:36

9.2

Great Phone

I've had my phone going on 3 months and i haven't had no problems with it. I done dropped it like 4-5 times already. It still works fine to me. And to those others who say that the chocolate phone doesn't have speakerphone, it does. Your have to press the camera button on the side while you are calling someone or just talking to someone.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

...
posted on 01 Aug 2007, 02:54

5.6

piece of crap and waste of money

this phone is so horible. most peolpe complain abou the screan, but i havnt had that problem, yet. ive had this gayy phone scince september 7, 2006. ive had to change it twice and they wont let me change it again cuz i dont have insurance. the first time was cuz the send button broke or something i dont know. i had to keep my fingure on it for 10 seconds so it wud work. even though it wasnt a major problem cuz my phone keeps calling peolpe from inside my pocket. the second time was cuz of the battary. they gave me the same version. they wudnt give me the new one. now its been like less tha 3 months since i got a new one and its horible! the battary life is soo bad that i cud hardly talk on the phone for 20 min between charging it. when i talk to someone it just dies when im in the middle of a conversation.
i dont recoment that anyone gets this phone cuz it sux. end of story.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

phone freak
posted on 14 Jul 2007, 00:57

7.2

Piece of Crap!

this phone is a poiece of crap...i alredy had to get three new ones cause every time i opened it...it would automaticly call people and it would scroll even though i wasnt pressing the button...and no...i didnt drop it or anything...but it happend to two of my phones and i have 5 friends with choc. phones...and they had to get new ones too........this phone has poor manufacturing.....needs an upgrade ( and i agree with davo smavo below me )

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

davo-smavo
posted on 13 Jul 2007, 03:03

7.6

umm...well....

umm...well..i had this phone for like a year and its not the best phone ive seen...first of all...evryone thinks that this phone is so hard to work...but after the first week...ull get the hang of it..LG just came out with the new upgraded version of the chocolate..( thoose losers )...i ha d to get the old versoin. well...its ok..but now i want the iphone...that phone is so awesome!!!!!!!!!!...but this phone is pretty desent...its calls people...yep..thats what a phone is sopposed to do.......call people....duh!!

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

N/A
posted on 06 Jul 2007, 02:32

8.2

Right

I don't have this phone but I've seen a ton of them and they're great for calls and music THere is a lot of glitches in a lot of phones like one time my bro started charging his razor and when he unplugged the charger the charging screen wouldn't go away and the phone locked up. We just ended up taking out the battery and putting it back in. This phone may have lag and stuff but it's still a great phone.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Mike
posted on 17 Jun 2007, 08:21

6.2

Not Worth It

I got this phone on August 7th last summer when it was first released and since then i have gone through four Chocolates. My first phone had touch screen issues and the keys on the slider did not function properly. However, this problem was worked out by LG when they released a newer version of the Chocolate a few months later. Despite this fix in my second Chocolate, i have still had mysterious problems with it. The screen has frozen twice and one time my screen completely died, but i was still able to make calls and turn it on and off. I am an excessive texter so the compact keys were tough to use at first. This takes alot of patience and some getting used to. The camera which i rarely used was average and one time it served as an off button for every time i clicked it. The battery time is not that great and if using the music player i suggest having a charger handy. I love the size and design of this phone but overall its just a looker with no solid qualities. If you plan on using this phone alot like myself, i suggest that you look into more user friendly phones. I am fed up with this having to go to verizon and replacing this phone every two months. I'm considering an enV or the new samsung dual flip phone. Trust me, if you are looking for a fancy well rounded phone i dont suggest buying the LG Chocolate. You will soon run into troubles after using it for a few weeks. I hope this offers some good advice

Design 9/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Jimmy
posted on 11 Apr 2007, 16:36

6.2

Sorry, Still Not That Great

Unfortunately this phone is definately not one of the best of them out there. I work for a wireless company and this is our demo phone. Everyone here pretty much gets irritated and hates it, but of course we do our best to try and sell it anyway. It is our job to do so after all isn't it? I've even had the distinct pleasure of taking this phone home with me to continue to learn about the features and it's capabilities. I'm in no way impressed by this phone. There are at least two other phones in the same price range that fit the bill better than this one claims to be. I've physically handled this phone probably more than most average consumers in the same amount of time. True that you have to get used to the touch keys, but they still lag and don't work as they really should. The current sensitivty settings on the phone is on medium and sometimes it's too sensitive, and other times it's not sensitive enough. It's a gamble using the touch keys a lot of the time. Oh I also found out another great problem with this phone, when talking on in, make sure to not have the touch keys touch your face otherwise it'll start doing things like trying to save a new contact, jump into one of your speed dial contacts, and one or two other things. Luckily the phone beeps when this happens so I can react and see what in the world is going on. I've read the manual btw, doesn't make the phone work any better imo. It's not a good thing that I keep finding out more flaws with this phone...  

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Kandys
posted on 10 Apr 2007, 12:36

9

Dear Jimmy

Hey guy (",) If you (Jimmy) are reading this... I would like to tell you that obviously you have not been reading the phone's manual. In it, it tells you exactly why the touch pad is disabled after closing the slide. This phone is perfect. It does take some time to get used to the touch buttons and all because a touch is a move. So take the time to read through the manual and c why it is so important that the pad disables. This phone's perfect, if you are contemplating on buying yourself a Chocolate, ignore Jimmy, take in all the good things, and get yourself this phone. Also, all phones has its lttle glitches... Have a great day (",)

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories