x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG 300G User Reviews

6.1 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed6/10
Camera5.5/10
Multimedia5.5/10
Internet5.5/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery6/10
Reception8.5/10
Display6/10
Build quality6.5/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

DearJimmy
posted on 06 Nov 2010, 03:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Nov 2010)

10

LG300G full 87 page manual + Using Speaker Phone & Call Volume

DearJimmy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I just got my LG300G and the manual that came with it was worthless. I researched the internet for a manual and most only have 26 pages showing the phones basics. FINALLY I discovered the whole 87 page manual!!! Here it is for those who want it:

http://phone.manualsonline.com/mdownloads/e55f1836-6c61-45df-9e43-18e897103b34.pdf

Others had questioned how to use the speakerphone. That is turned on only when your call has actually started. Once the caller has picked up look at the bottom right of your screen. It should say "Speaker" To activate it push the key just below where it says speaker. (Again, it will only say Speaker during a call.)That iupper right key is called the right soft key. When your call ends the speaker will automatically be turned off.

To increase the call volume I think you need to have a call in progress. Push the upper part of the navigation button and you'll see where your volume level is. It might be at it's peak already.

If anyone has found accessories for the LG300G or what fits the round port on the back of the phone please share it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • I'll rate it after I've used it for a few months.

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

allen_mamola12
posted on 02 Nov 2010, 12:48

3

eh..

allen_mamola12 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

its a average phone if you only yous it for emergencies , it has its flaws though. no internet browsing, no downloadable wallpapers or ringtones ,no camera,and the keypad is too small. its percs, good voice quality , it has some tools that some phones dont have.

Build quality 3/10 very cheesy phone
Reception 7/10 depends on the company you buy the phone from , i had net 10 and it was good
Call quality 9/10 very good
Internet 1/10 this phone doesnt have internet browsing
Multimedia 1/10 no multi media , you cant buy ringtones download walpapers
Camera 1/10 no camera
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 6/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dion Hodge
posted on 14 May 2010, 15:22

8

Thorough Review of the LG 300G

I have used the LG300G for a couple of months through the SafeLink program. I thought the phone was a little deprived of features that you may expect in a higher end phone, but as far as text messaging and making and receving phone calls, this phone performs the job very well. It contains a "Prepaid" menu that allows to add airtime once you purchase a SafeLink or TracFone airtime card. It has a contact list that allows you to hold 1000 entries and rename groups. Text messaging is very easy and the keypad is very responsive. The phone stores recent calls, as well as the duration of the calls. It also withholds tools that allow you to set an alarm clock, schedule, perform simple algebraic equations on the calculator (it has a tip calculator, too), and a notepad. As far as games, ringtones, and wallpapers, you can't download any and the quality of them aren't that good (to be honest, they're kind of cheap). Overall, this is a good, basic cell phone that I recommend to basically anyone, with the exception of people that frequently use their cell phones.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • - Responsive keypad
  • - Good call quality
  • - Contains tools that are hard to find on even high-end phoens

Cons

  • - No Internet browsing
  • - No expandable memory
  • - No downloads available (wallpapers, ringtones, games, etc.)

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KQ4YM
posted on 31 Jan 2010, 15:25

4.7

Good Inexpensive Phone - Features Hard To Find

The LG300g phone is the first one I've had, through the free Safelink Tracfone phone program. To just make and receive calls is simple enough but finding how to use the additional features is a bit rough going since the enclosed guide just covers some basics and a very much larger section on the safety and legal issues. Those safety/legal pages are in very small print too.

If they could provide a complete operating manual it would be helpful. I've found one after much time searching at: http://www.net10.com/Common/English/Digital_Assets/DAPC1036~10.pdf

The guide linked above does show how to set the speaker and how to use the feature keys but even so doesn't explain everything very well. It's still a bit confusing on how to change the volume while talking, for example. 

And I'm wondering if the small rubber plug on the back is for a headphone.

The rubber plug on the side for the charger seems a bit flimsy and looks like the tether will break off sooner than later.

I've read elsewhere that the battery life is very good on this model but haven't had it long enough to verify. And I've read that some have had problems with the battery cover apparently breaking.

It may be helpful to discover what cell tower system your provider uses. My Tracfone works through AT&T and so I can go to the AT&T coverage maps to see where I can expect good coverage.

Design 5/10
Features 4/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • very small
  • light
  • free

Cons

  • hard to read small screen (for seniors)
  • operation manual very limited

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Brian
posted on 13 Jan 2010, 21:11

7.3

thank you lifelinkwireless

i recieveda lifelink phone today, activated it, and bought 60 min of airtime for 19.99.

the phone comes with 71 minutes prpaid a month.

the 60 min i bought got a 40 min bonus.... so 100 min for 19.99/

next i will buy a double minute card. then every 20 bucks will bring at least 120 min for 19.00. or 200.

i will gladly add airtime in 60 minute increments for 19.99.

this is my first cell phone and it was easy to use and add time with a pin.

thank you lifelink and lg for the FREE 300G phone!

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • easy to use for a53 yr young first timew cell phone user.

Cons

  • i dunno

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ginny
posted on 04 Jan 2010, 20:18

6.3

Good phone

This really isn't a terrible phone.  It is very light and small.  It DOES have a speakerphone, although it isn't easily discovered (When in a conversation hit the top right button above end and the first option is speakerphone ON).  It has held up to my 1 year old dropping it a few times, but I wouldn't recommend it since this phone does feel like it would shatter easily.  It does what it is supposed to do with no extra bells and whistles.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • small, light, fits just about anywhere. Inexpensive

Cons

  • feels fragile, no extras

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rock
posted on 22 Dec 2009, 19:03

4.7

Mister

 This is a GREAT Phone, for FREE! It's great in emergencies and just to keep in your car as a spare in case you need one. It sends and receives calls and that's that. They (LG) claim it has a Speaker Phone function, but I'll be darned if I can find it. I can't find anything about it in the book either. I have looked online and only found others looking for the same thing. I have one of these because I got it for free. The voicemail setup costs minutes so once it's done I suggest you NEVER check your voicemail from this phone. Do that from a landline. 

Great spare.

Design 4/10
Features 2/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Makes and receives calls just as a cellphone should.
  • Great to keep for emergencies of if you don't use a cell phone for anything other than to make and receive voice calls.
  • Clear fonts on a clear little screen.
  • Built in ring tones sound nice and clear, for midi tunes.

Cons

  • Speaker Phone isn't set up out of the box and there isn't any mention of setting this function in the manual either. No hands free function that I can find. No mention of the jack on the back of the phone that I can find anywhere and no one seems to even know it's there or what it does.
  • Proprietary jack for charging so no one can charge their phone without this funny little plug. It's 2009 and everything else seems to have USB support except this phone.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

VGROnline
posted on 14 Sep 2009, 13:39

6.7

Depends on WHY you have it...

  The first review rather sucks because it's not fair.  States the phone is great for emergencies, but WHY do you have it in the first place?  Should you get this if you have a contract, etc?  NO  Should you get this as a replacement to ride a contract out? YES!  Should you get this as an emergency service or prepaid phone? YES!  It's not loaded, but it's not designed to be loaded.  Talk, TXT, done.  Anything more and you shouldn't be looking at this phone or any LG to begin with as there's far better and more capable phones out there.  But it's no reason to trash this with a low rating when it does do what it states it will with solid pickup ranges from towers and coverage areas.  And the talk time and reserves are up to specs.  There are a couple of little drawbacks but nothing to prevent you from getting and using this phone!

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Small, light phone that can fit in pockets, purses, etc.
  • Variable controls and a decent menu, especially for an LG
  • Prefect for a prepaid or limited use phone.
  • Excellent graphics and larger screen are easy to read and use.

Cons

  • Small, light phone that'll get pounded if you abuse phones
  • Not meant for heavy everyday use like mainline phones
  • LG proprietary charger and jack means no USB onboard
  • HAVE to buy their Data cable to modify tones, etc.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Sep 2009, 02:17

4

its a good basic phone to use, especially for emergencies

Design 5/10
Features 1/10
Performance 6/10

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories