x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Kyocera Laylo M1400 User Reviews

4.2 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality5.3/10
Battery3/10
Reception5.7/10
Display4.3/10
Build quality5/10
Text input1.7/10
Everyday usage3.7/10
UI speed5.7/10
Camera3.7/10
Multimedia3/10
Internet4/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Ismael Penis
posted on 03 Dec 2010, 22:37

7

what's not to like

Ismael Penis has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My mom lost her Verizon phone...Off contract. I wanted to get her an inexpensive phone so I added her to my MetroPCS plan. (Remember to tell the metropcs clerk to knock $5 off each month per member of the family added to the plan). I bought her this phone for $20. It is a good looking phone and I wasn't expecting it to have a camera.
I agree with most reviews except, this phone is an upgrade to what I was using. On this phone, I am able to make unlimited calls, text, go online, read the news, blogs, forums, sports scores, etc. This thing has a very capable GPS system. It can route a trip and has voice turn by turn GPS functions. And thanks to some tips from other reviewers(look around), I was able to free up enough space to take a few more pictures. I will try and use my PC to create low memory custom ringtones and transfer using Bluetooth(Again, thanks to the other reviewers). This phone is not as bad as others have made it out to be. Everyone is getting so spoiled on the rapid changing technology, that they forget this phone probably out-shines anything they owned 4 years ago. I'll end it by saying, "STOP BEING A BUNCH OF SPOILED ROTTEN CHILDREN"(I AM looking at you "GROWN UPS").

Build quality 7/10 doesn't feel cheap
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10 nice camera, very low memory
UI speed 8/10 it does the job
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 2/10 i hate these things
Display 9/10 for its size and look and feel
Battery 7/10 not sure yet. I don't talk on the phone all day.

Pros

  • makes calls

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mjames
posted on 29 Nov 2010, 21:09

1

worse phone ever

mjames has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've only had this piece of shit for 3 days and im feed up with it. I get sick of MetroPcs voice activated system when you need help. No memory at all. Got this shit cause my blackberry broke and needed a replacement. Tomorrow im going to get that Android. Every little thing you do the memory go away. Tell me why when you delete everything off the memory doesn't go back up it stays at zero. Only thing good is the look of it. Everything is slow. Feel like throwing this shit across my room just typing about it.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Look

Cons

  • Everything you can think of.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ProDigit
posted on 24 Nov 2010, 08:11

2

Kyocera M1400, Bad piece of crap, worst phone ever!

ProDigit has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Phone has definitely a memory issue!
It says 18 of 20MB used, where of only 2MB in pictures, and 1MB in wallpapers (that you can not delete).
Where the other 16MB went, I don't know!

It is slow as hell, holds battery charge for little less than a day and a half, has no good sounding ringing tones, and all that metro crap banner is really annoying,
It also has lots of bugs, like whenever going on a website and entering a password, the capitol letters are selected for the first word (Abc instead of abc), but it writes everything in small letters (abc). The T9 is not intuitive, takes a while to figure out how it works.

The cell also turns on and off sporadically, sometimes interrupting internet connections!

Don't buy this one!

Build quality 6/10 cheap plastic
Reception 8/10 good reception
Call quality 7/10
Internet 3/10 poor internet experience, no movies no animated pictures.
Multimedia 2/10 No storage for multimedia, only mid, wav, or jpeg.
Camera 2/10 No storage for photo's, cam is good
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 2/10 low battery,
Text input 2/10 bugs in the ABC,Abc,abc caps system
Display 3/10 too small for comfort
Battery 1/10 too low to even have a 1 day charge when calling lots.

Pros

  • good receiving
  • external speaker
  • cheap

Cons

  • no battery life
  • No memory, memory bug?
  • small screen
  • bad internet experience

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Daniel Martinez
posted on 03 Oct 2010, 16:29

5

keyocera_any picture phone

I'm used to taking a couple of pictures [pix], maybe keeping a few to stare at or a couple to send to an enemy or two.You can keep but 2-3 pixs because of memory limits. Having trouble sending out pixs to make room AFTER I delete to take more pixs that I can't save because of memory limits. the pictures go round & round, round &..........The phone is nice for unlimited texting & telephone calls but...........pictures ( and it supposed to be a PICTURE PHONE !!)

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Unlimited texting & telephone calls

Cons

  • Limited & not!! upgradable memory
  • no software for USB cable to download or upload suptomm (something)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

crissy
posted on 15 Sep 2010, 10:44

2.3

metro should kill themselves for this

last night my phone was working good, this morning i wake up to call my fiance and i cant hear ANYTHING. he could hear me but i couldnt hear him. i take the battery out, cut my phone off, all the things you do that can usually fix these problems and STILL a no go. the last couple of months my phone has been slow in responding to the things i try to do on it. slow texting, slow ending programs, etc. and around 2/3 months ago my internet starting giving me problems then stopped working, AND somehow my navagation was deleted? memory is crap, and then it wont let you view pic messages if your memory is full even if you just want to look at it. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!

Design 5/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • nothing

Cons

  • everything

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jillm52
posted on 13 Sep 2010, 17:55

2.3

Worst phone ever

I've had plenty of cell phones over the years but this is absolutely the worst one ever!  It has almost no memory, responds extremely slowly, and takes forever to end a call. The first one I bought was defective so I returned it and had to wait 12 days for Metro to replace it. The camera is half decent if you use the highest resolution and it's small and cute but does not function well as a phone. The ringtones and wallpapers are the cheesiest I've ever seen and they use up most of the phones memory. You can download free ringtones from sites such as myxer.com, however it only takes 2 or 3 of them to use up the rest of your available memory. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.

Design 4/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • small and cute

Cons

  • everything that really matters

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anther
posted on 29 Aug 2010, 18:53

5.3

A phone that's acceptable as just a phone.

I've had this phone for at least 8 months and I'll start off by saying that when I first received this phone, it was one of the most disappointing things in the world to me. The one thing I asked the man helping me at the phone store was, "Does it at least move smoothly through the menus?"He told me he couldn't answer, but the phone was only for 60 bucks so I took the gamble.I was happy with the look of the menus, but lo and behold, it takes about a full second just to get through every menu item in order to reach your text messages.That translates into 1-3 seconds for the messaging menu to appear, and another 3-4 for the text messages, god forbid you just received a message and it has to trudge through its slow memory operations to make space for the new one.To summarize, it takes 10 seconds to get to your text messages while travelling through the menus as quickly as possible.  The phone loads every menu very slowly.  Ii would've been happy with a black and white display if it would at least just navigate itself quickly.Another thing that disappointed me was the amount of memory.  There's enough memory for you to have 2 or 3 extra picture files that you like, while you'll definitely want to leave space if you want to be able to send a new picture messages another person within a 3 minute window.  Fortunately, the phone's bluetooth used for picture and audio files works very well, and by using bluetooth you can transfer custom ringtones and backgrounds...  

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • - GPS Feature works very well
  • - Low Cost
  • - Does the basics (Call, text)

Cons

  • - Slow response time through menus
  • - No expandable memory
  • - Buttons feel just a little cheap
  • - Texting can be a real chore thanks to the slow menus

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 13 Aug 2010, 08:28

4.7

When i first got this phone after taking 2 pictures it said the memory was full. I took it back and they said it was a defect and gave me a new one. Same thing happened after ten pictures. Took it back again. Erasing the 'Metro PCS' banner took up space. Setting the wallpaper took up space. Going on metro web used memory. Sending pic messages.... everything you do on this phone uses the memory until its full and u cant do anything on it anymore. I will be taking my third one back and hopefully they will give me a completely different phone. Somehow all of these are defected!

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • NO MEMORY!!!
  • DEFECTED

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Little Girl Upset!!!
posted on 02 Aug 2010, 15:54

3.3

Omg cant hear

 I can't hear anything out my phone and this just happened i am very upset!This means I'm gonna get in trouble and its your fault Metro Pcs!I cnt hear voices or calls!!!It is very sad and made me very mad!!!I called my friend but could not hear her voice!What if i am outside and I can not hear my moms voice when she calls me!They really need to handle this!I mean it is gonna cause a lot of problems for a lot of people and its not fair!But they probably won't care!I hope Metro Pcs is sued!

Design 4/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Doug Carroll
posted on 30 Jul 2010, 11:34

4.7

Functional vs. Aggrivation??

Every negative comment here is ACCURATE!! Unfortunately...

I received this phone as a gift from a family to stay in touch while on the road. With MetroPCS, this is great because there is no counting minutes and using the mobile apps to surf via "MetroWEB" holds my attention. (i.e. http://m.facebook.com and http://m.yahoo.com)

It has taken me 3 months to figure out enough tricks to make this phone worth holding onto.....FOR NOW:

The first problem I had was with the camera....."not enough free space" or "must delete files". Eh, so I won't use the camera. I twiddled with those complicated menus and deleted mail and texts whenever it frustrated me enough that I was willing to lose everything.

But today, it began giving me this intermittent orange screen on top of my home/wallpaper screen, "not enough free space", and began kicking me out the web.....something about the "host server".

MY PRO:

After downloading the PST and skimming the users guide again I CALLED KYOCERA (800-349-4478)!

- Apparently, in the first month, "BREW" applications were downloaded and installed.
- I was instructed to go to my main [MENU]
- go to [@metro]
- over to [my apps] tab
and
- DELETE any applications/programs I was SURE I did not want (THEY ARE NOT RETRIEVABLE!)

I've been happy for the last 20 minutes and even took a new batch of pix!

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • MetroPCS rates
  • Kyocera support & documentation
  • Price
  • Design (wish I got black)
  • Easy Camera
  • Speakerphone (the lost art of...)

Cons

  • MetroPCS 100% automated "support"
  • Automated Application/Program downloading
  • Unnecessary alerts
  • Menus are too long (poor organization)
  • Very little memory space
  • Poor battery life

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Donna De Jesus
posted on 23 Jul 2010, 23:34

1

Kyocera Laylo M1400

  By far the worst phone I ever had. The very first day I got the phone it would not take a picture memory was full. What memory it was brand new. Ringer tones are not loud enough and are to short for you to answer on time. Now I have these alert messages that pop up like Tip of the day, Battle of the sexes. The phone won't ring if one of these alerts are being displayed. I need the phone to ring. I took it to metro pcs not even their own tech could fix it. Had to wait a week for a replacement phone. What a joke the replacement wasn't any better. Battery doesn't hold a charge long neither.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Sleek design

Cons

  • Low memory, ring tones not loud enough and to short. alerts that pop up like weather or trivia etc.. phone won't ring when the pop up alerts are displaying on the screen. camera problems with memory.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Leonavitch
posted on 28 Apr 2010, 10:59

3.3

Kyocera Laylo M1400

I do not like this phone, you can't get the pictures out of it, what is the use of having a camera.  I got the phone for Metro PCS and there were few choices and I NEEDED a camera for work.  I purchased a USB "data" cable only to discover it is only good for a charger.  I believe you can send pix via email and download from computer that way but it is way additional fees for email access.  And yes pay attention, on Metro PCS Internet Access DOES NOT INCLUDE SENDING EMAIL!   I also do not like the ring tones it came with and they are not loud enough and I can't find a way to dowload them.  Perhaps there is a way to pay and have them delivered through the phone.  Ring tones do not last long enough and I'm never able to answer before it is a "Missed call"  Battery Life SHORT too

Design 5/10
Features 3/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • Not Much

Cons

  • Can't get pictures
  • Short Ring Tone
  • Hard to Answer

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mellocat
posted on 15 Mar 2010, 18:14

6

I had high hopes for this cool looking phone

This phone was cool at first, until I started using the text messaging.  Since I really hate to go through my messages and delete the old ones so my inbox doesn't get full, I was excited to find that I could enable the phone to automatically delete the old ones as a new message comes in.  You can select this option for the inbox, outbox, or both.  The phone tells you it will automatically delete them *without a warning* if you enable auto-delete.  However, EVERY time I receive a text message an alert pops up saying "Inbox is full. Messages will automatically be deleted."  Every time.  And I'm tired of it, so I'm exchanging this phone for one that does what it says it will.

Not to mention that almost every option menu is SUPER LONG and you have to scroll aaaaall the way down just to get to one thing.  And I can't forget how much I dislike the fact that the Inbox and the Sent Message folder are super far apart from eachother.  This is the messaging menu, for all of those who are curious.
______________

*Inbox*                <-------
New Text Msg
New Pic Msg
Email
IM
Voicemail
Web Alerts
*Sent Msgs*      <-------
Outbox
Saved Msgs
Drafts
Msg Settings
Erase Msgs
Message Count
Help
_______________

Also, the battery life and memory are not all that great.  I had just started using my phone and more than half of my memory was taken...  

Design 5/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Looks cool
  • Easy to use

Cons

  • Slow texting
  • Unnecessary alerts
  • Menus are too long (poor organization)
  • Very little memory space
  • Poor battery life

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FRE
posted on 21 Feb 2010, 10:28

4

LAYLO M1400

well what i thought was a good phone turned out to be a scam!!!! this phone is my worst so far i took two pictures and downloaded one song on it and thats it for my memory. i can no longer take pictures or send picture even get pictures on it. what is the point of paying for having a camera phone for picture texting if you cant. this phone holds no battery at all. my previous phone would charge for 2 hours and last me 3 days. i constantly find myself trying to find an outlet with this phone.so for a few extra bucks get a better phone trust me!

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • LOOKS NICE

Cons

  • LOW MEMORY AND BATTERY LIFE

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

laylo
posted on 07 Feb 2010, 10:52

3

laylo

this phone is just ok it doesnthave gd memory wen u take like 10 picture s its full and it only stay chargd 4 like 30 min. i mean if u wanna a gd phone this is nt it ....trust me.........it doesnt text gd it too small wen u press buttons there kinda loud and if ur gettinf etro i would go with thesamsung fone thts just my thought on it...and pretty much all the metro phone kyocera is like tht it only stay charged 4 a while and wen u think about it ur paying more with the light bill in the long run....so just get a better phone

Design 5/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jayla
posted on 02 Jan 2010, 21:22

5.7

Down side to the K laylo

This phone is kind of strange.  When I attempt to take pictures the message says my memory is full, even though I have no pictures on the phone. Secondly, my metroweb stopped working it says "network unavailable"  the metroweb is the feature that is most important to me. Finally, the ring alerts are very strange. It doesn't run long enough for you to hear it, all you get is at single "beep" or "beep beep". No common melody.  Only by chance if you happen to hear the reminder will you notice you txt message. It is also worth mentioning that this phone does not vibrate and ring at the same time, you have a choice of one or the other NOT BOTH. The biggest benefit I found on this phone is the GPS, it is really good. Also the contacts may have over 3 phone number associated with it.

Design 10/10
Features 4/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Look,GPS

Cons

  • No/low memory.
  • Phone can't vibrate and ring at the same time.
  • Alerts are no diverse enough.

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karon
posted on 15 Dec 2009, 16:00

10

 this is a great phone, i would highly recommend this phone to people. there many good things about this phone. they it has a camera, it slides, and its not too expensive. the price is only 100 dollars. that's a great. this are the things bout this phone.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • slides feels soft camera low price

Cons

  • doesn't have a full qwerty keypad no camcorder

15 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories