x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Huawei M835 User Reviews

8.3 Based on 6 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.2/10
UI speed7.8/10
Camera7.8/10
Multimedia8.7/10
Internet7.5/10
Call quality9.7/10
Battery7.5/10
Reception9.5/10
Display8.7/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input7.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

blueeyedsagittarius72
posted on 04 Apr 2012, 16:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Apr 2012)

8

Great value for the price

blueeyedsagittarius72 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Yes, it is small but it is great for anyone new to Android phones. Texting requires some patience and small fingers to be accurate in spelling. There are lots of popular apps in the Market that are free. Overall I LOVE IT!!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ccorralejo1955
posted on 16 Sep 2011, 01:28 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Sep 2011)

9

ccorralejo1955

ccorralejo1955 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great buy for the money! I'm glad someone is thinking of us poorfolk that can't afford the I-phones... this phone does everything it claims to do and more. I have been very happy with it, my kids want me to trade... yeah, right??? I LOVE IT

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • only thing i don't like is the battery doesn't hold a charge for as long as I would like - forever??? LOL but i love the phone

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Punklove
posted on 06 Aug 2011, 14:34

9

Huawei m835

Punklove has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Very fun and easy to me manage. Can be slow at times with internet but when you get a new browser from the android market it is faster with the internet. it's easy to be to put in text with swype and if you don't like the keyboard you can always buy 1 from the android market

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Youtube, apps, size, easy to use

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

youngman
posted on 30 Jul 2011, 20:53

8

perfect for a lazy gut

youngman has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

its fun to use and alot less lag then i thought it would be on this phone. When i read reviews i thought it would be one big lag but it wasnt to my suprise. The phone is so easy to use and to manage and im very lazy so that go for me. Also the swype texting is fun.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • fun to use,swype texting,android

Cons

  • small screen

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hyyperchic701
posted on 25 Jul 2011, 22:21

9

this phone

hyyperchic701 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i like this phone a lot. the only problem i have with it is when i'm texting rather fast, it sometimes x's out of my text and deletes it all. but other than that, the battery life is awesome, and i love the apps. the camera is better then i expected. although the service still sucks a bit, its better than any of my other metropcs phones.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 6/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • the camera

Cons

  • the small keyboard

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NightmareEngine
posted on 05 Jul 2011, 15:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Jul 2011)

7

A Great Value for the Money!

NightmareEngine has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

On the whole, this phone meets my expectations of what an entry-level Android phone should be.

The features and stability of the Android 2.2 operating system makes this a great value, especially at the $79 price point.

The small screen size sometimes makes for a difficult time while texting, but on the whole I can't complain at all. This is a vast improvement over the M860 Ascend!

Build quality 9/10 This phone's build is great! I love the small size, and the face buttons! A vast improvement over the Huawei M860 Ascend in my opinion.
Reception 10/10 Call quality is great. I can hear and be heard just fine.
Call quality 10/10 I have yet to drop a call on my Huawei M835.
Internet 7/10 The internet is about what you'd expect from a Metro PCS phone, which is to say rather slow when not connected to WiFi but fair/good when connected to a wireless network. It's acceptable, but not fanstatic, so I give it a solid 7.
Multimedia 7/10 The multimedia options on the M835 are on par with any other low to mid-tier Android phone, and are about what I expected - which is to say YouTube, Pandora Radio, and several video apps will work just fine, but more complex things such as Netflix and Hulu are beyond this machine. I give it a solid 7 because it's about what I was expecting, but it doesn't go above and beyond.
Camera 6/10 The camera is the best I've seen so far in a Huawei device, but still doesn't really compare to the camera quality you would find in a comparable Samsung or LG brand phone. The 3.2mp camera is adequate, but Huawei could do better.
UI speed 7/10 The UI speed is a vast improvement over the painfully slow Android 2.1 found on the Huawei M860 Ascend. The Android 2.2 system on the M835 is responsive and problem free, but obviously not as fast as a higher tier Android phone.
Everyday usage 7/10 It's easy to hold, easy to store in a pocket or bag, loud enough to hear in a crowded room, and has a long enough battery life to make it through the day with light use. The ability to keep connected with so many social networking and messaging mediums is a huge point in this and any Android's favor.
Text input 6/10 This is where this phone fails me a bit. The touchscreen is so relatively small that it can be a bit troublesome texting on the phone's virtual keyboard. I frequently fat-finger the keyboard, resulting in a garbled, misinterpreted text message being sent.
Display 5/10 The small display size on the Huawei M835 leaves a lot to be desired, as does the low resolution. Video via YouTube still looks pretty good, but is of lesser quality that comparable devices.
Battery 8/10 My phone usually makes it all day long with light use, and that's with Bluetooth and WiFi enabled. I'm pretty happy with the battery life.

Pros

  • Great Value for the Money
  • Faster UI than Huawei M860 Ascend
  • Digital Surround Sound sounds great!

Cons

  • Small Display
  • Low Resolution Display
  • Difficult to Text on Sometimes

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories