x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Huawei Ascend II User Reviews

4.6 Based on 5 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia3.6/10
Internet5.4/10
Call quality4.2/10
Battery3.8/10
Reception4.6/10
Display6.8/10
Build quality5/10
Text input5.2/10
Everyday usage4.6/10
UI speed4.4/10
Camera2/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

vls48
posted on 13 Jun 2013, 11:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jun 2013)

2

Great for using as Skeet Practice!

vls48 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The is the worse cell phone I have ever owned. I bought mine through Straghttalk. The phone constantly shut off and restarts all on its own. I have tried factory resetting this thing hundreds of times with no luck. The processor is so slow. I constantly get low space messages when downloading apps. It has a 4gig SD card in it. It says multi tasking in the manual, thanks a joke! Huawei should be ashamed of this product!

Build quality 3/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • None

Cons

  • Slow
  • Restarts on own
  • Poor call quality
  • Texting nightmare
  • Terrible battery life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ctrabs8729
posted on 02 Jun 2013, 01:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jun 2013)

4

Okay for starter smartphone, but...

ctrabs8729 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

... this isn't exactly top of the line. It was good for it's intended purpose, which was a basic no frills smartphone. But, that's about it. As my particular Ascend got older, it's been a complete pain to deal with. It's run a lot slower on a 3G network and even on Wifi. Storage is a pain in the neck; it doesn't allow you to store too many apps on memory and you're still stuck with apps that you don't want, need or use. I'm not sure if there's a newer model on the market, but I don't think I'll recommend any Hwawei product in the future.

Build quality 3/10 Not durable
Reception 4/10 Hit and miss at times; sometimes could not hear caller on other line even with 3+ bars signal strength
Call quality 4/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 3/10 Too limited; video playback choppy
Camera 3/10 Camera sometime cuts out in middle of video taping
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

Cons

  • Less than optimal call quality
  • Limited app storage space
  • Poor design/durability
  • No flash on camera; inconsistent picture quality

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

rmls34
posted on 29 Nov 2012, 09:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Nov 2012)

6

Huawei ascend II

rmls34 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I wish straight talk would include a better manual that told you how to use/find all of the options of the phone. The internal memory is pathetic, and not all of the options are user friendly. That being said I think the phone is a decent entry into the Android market, and a fair price. It has most of the features and options of phones that cost 4 times as much. Battery life is poor.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 4/10
Display 8/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Cheap

Cons

  • Internal memory is horrible!

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

gigaware
posted on 06 Jan 2012, 13:07 (Posts: 2; Member since: 14 Aug 2011)

4

The Ascend 1.5 is what it SHOULD be called!

gigaware has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is just a little better than the Ascend 1 ( will call it the A1). The phone is built nicely and solid feel but has a cheap backplate. CPU speed is not the adverstised 800Mhz. It is actually running at 566Mhz at best. Check Huawei's site...it gives the specs. Screen is vibrant but not multi-touch. texting is a nightmare and isnt very accurate. Internet is ok (better in WIFI mode) but no pinch zoom or Adobe FLASH. It can be tethered with a computer to get internet. Camera is very crappy and no way is it 5MP. No flash either. Video camera is just as poor and soesn't record sound very well. Call quality really stinks and very muffled. This is my 16th Cricket phone and this one drops the most calls so far. Also loaded with bloatware. Photobuck always runs in the background, eating up resources. This phone also resets itself quite often. Battery life is ok at first but it does wear down quickly. I have had it for about 4 months and I have to charge it 3 times a day. There aren't very many pros to this phone. Spend a little extra money and buy a better phone...Optimus or Indulge.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 4/10
Display 8/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • Solid build
  • can be tethered to computer
  • Vibrant screen

Cons

  • CPU is sluggish
  • Poor camera with no flash
  • Not muti-touch
  • No Adobe Flash
  • Inaccurate screen when texting
  • Random reseting
  • Poor call quality
  • Too much Bloatware

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cher
posted on 10 Aug 2011, 15:24

7

Huawei Ascend II Camera is Laughable, Very Disappointing

Cher has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone is sleek, user friendly, customizable and fun. But the biggest factor in deciding to purchase the Huawei Ascend II for me was the 5.0MP camera (I am a graphic designer and I use the heck out of a phone camera for all sorts of reasons). Imagine my surprise when my first photo, on the highest quality settings in broad daylight, looked like a watercolor painting. It's a flat-out falsehood. There is no flash, but it's irrelevant. The picture quality is completely worthless. I am mislead and have to purchase another new phone with money I don't have because the phone provider blocks service that would allow me to use my perfectly functional Blackberry Storm II. It's angering.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Easy, attractive interface
  • Customizable
  • Lightweight, sleek

Cons

  • WORTHLESS camera, picture quality is laughable
  • Call quality / reception is spotty

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories