x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Wildfire User Reviews

8.7 Based on 18 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.5/10
Text input8.5/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed8.4/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia8.8/10
Internet9.1/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery8.7/10
Reception9.1/10
Display8.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Laura4cake
posted on 13 May 2014, 17:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 May 2014)

4

Didn't like

Laura4cake has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

To be fair I had incredibly high expectations but the htc was slow, the camera wasn't the best, listening to music for a long car journey was impossible. To be honest I probably bought a phone that wasn't specifically what I needed. tl;dr Basically I bought the wrong phone for the job.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 6/10
Display 5/10
Battery 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

nilanjan.gm
posted on 26 Nov 2011, 12:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Nov 2011)

9

My experience with Wildfire

nilanjan.gm has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Value for money.
Good response from the processor.
Screen resolution displays good quality picture.
Camera is worth.
I've now just around 10M ROM space left, and a lot of apps running; it goes a bit sluggish now, but that is understandable. :)

Build quality 10/10 Excellent design.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Low price
  • Good performance
  • Nice design
  • Hardware tracker and capacitive keys

Cons

  • A bit sluggish with many apps
  • Low-end graphics

nilanjan.gm alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ksilva
posted on 29 Oct 2011, 14:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Oct 2011)

8

Good phone.

ksilva has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It is a great entry level phone. I've owned it since Feb'11. Now I look forward to playing games but it lacks the 3D chip .... so I'm upgrading since not even Angry birds will run. It is stable and everything works. HTC did a great job. The Wildfire S does not make any sense to me, even if it has gingerbread (which is not that different to froyo). Becasue of the CPU speed and lack of 3D graphics chip, you should not install too many widgets, and you should be fine. Also you can remove predictive text to speed up typing messages, but I actually like predictive text especially when using multiple languages. If you want simple and no brains system, then buy an iphone. But if you want the best OS for mobile and are not afraid to install endless apps and explore a whole new online experience, then Android offers just that.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Stable and all Apps works.
  • Screen is clear. Even though it is low resolution, it is still easy to read internet, news, etc... Android adapts excellently.

Cons

  • Missing 3D graphics chip, so most games won't work.

ksilva alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Lewis Jarman
posted on 12 Jul 2011, 00:52

6

Ok phone

Lewis Jarman has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It's an ok cheap smartphone. Very slow if you have Android 2.2.1 (froyo) installed. Trackpad is there just for the sake of it unless you have to edit text very often. Screen resolution is very poor. The 5 mp camera is the worst camera i've had on a phone for a long time.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 5/10
Display 3/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • It's cheap
  • Fits nicely in pocket

Cons

  • Not very good camera
  • Slow
  • 3.5 mm jack not very good... you can't fiddle with the jack or it will disconnect itself
  • Slow browsing, no integrated flash
  • poor Wifi signal

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sheikh Ishtiaque
posted on 02 Jul 2011, 05:05

9

HTC Wild(est) Fire

Sheikh Ishtiaque has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am a HTC wildfire user for past more than one month. This phone is compact with great looks. It has everything what i always look for in a phone like Android OS, Standard display 3.2 inches, Multi-touch, Torch-light, 5mp camera with flash light, You Tube Video support, Comic reader support, Office Doc Support and Worth every penny I spend...And its worth every penny. All in all i'm satisfied....But i'm planning to buy Desire/ Desire S/ Desire Z/ Salsa. Bcoz I love to change models. Lets c.....I think i don't need i phone. And this is for sure i'm not gonna switch from HTC.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Very much handy
  • Good touch sensetivity
  • Great look
  • Compact
  • Great price value
  • User Friendly
  • Makes me Happy :)

Cons

  • Poor display sharpness
  • Very little internal memory
  • Ram only 384
  • Very liitle effective use of track pad
  • Photo with flash not that much good

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ishaari
posted on 23 Feb 2011, 09:08

9

HTC Wildfire: positive overall

Ishaari has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It's important to keep in mind that this smartphone is aimed at the lower end of the market and therefore cuts have to be made somewhere. In this case, it's the Wildfire's screen that suffers although users may still find its resolution just fine. The camera isn't as good as other high-end smartphones and sometimes leaves pictures slightly blurred due to shaking. Bright, outdoor areas make it difficult to see the screen and the battery life is short if heavily used, which means it needs to be charged daily. The optical trackpad isn't necessary to navigate and is rendered a little useless. The touchscreen is fast and responsive and little things like fingerprints can be solved by buying a cheap screen protector. The Wildfire is very well designed and browsing the internet is a real joy. Overall, it's a very capable phone for its price, packed full of useful features and using it is a positive experience.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Build quality feels high
  • Compact and well designed
  • Support for a variety of applications
  • Excellent browser experience
  • Quick and responsive touchscreen
  • Perfect for everyday/medium use
  • Superb value

Cons

  • Low resolution display
  • Optical trackpad is of little use
  • Some lag with certain functions
  • Hindered display outdoors
  • Battery life poor for heavy use

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

do7a
posted on 16 Feb 2011, 03:11

10

do7a

do7a has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

wonderful super phone i really love it. small ,low price ,good camera,andriod,nice smart phone ana the internet is wonderful i bought it 7month ago with 250£ wonderful wonderful wonderful ican't say it is really wonderful super phone
but the display quality not very good it is good htc should change the screen into amoled screen with higher resolution and there is no laging at all

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

do7a alternatives:

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vnews7
posted on 20 Jan 2011, 04:11

9

best phone

vnews7 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i like htc wildfire so much. compare to my previous hanphone nokia e71.
android os is great, because of large screen, battery not lasting at all..but, i enjoy using it..the sound quality is very good..value for your money, easy to use, and lot of function...

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sam Smith
posted on 13 Jan 2011, 21:42

8

WIldfire Lover

Sam Smith has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I just love the way it is designed and the functionality of it.
Overall... I must say it's the best phone and I will forever love it.
The resolution is fine. The speed of the internet is awesome.
The physical look is elegant. What can I say, it really amazes me! :)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lifeonward
posted on 12 Jan 2011, 04:09

10

Amazing Device!!! Wildfire!!!

lifeonward has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have owned a ton of smartphones, but this one is truly the best one by far. My Wildfire is my baby and I must say a major improvement from the HTC HD2. I really don't like the 1 GHz processor for a phone it is way too much. I remember my hands being cooked by the HD2. The design of this phone and the exceptional battery life are just the beginning. The speed is very good, but does lag a tiny bit with certain functions. The camera is also very good for a phone. I have been with Apple several times, but Android offers a lot more flexibility and with this phone it's %100 pure magic!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery life
  • Music playback
  • Browsing experience
  • Compact and stylish
  • Build quality

Cons

  • None

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mircea2983
posted on 19 Dec 2010, 14:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Dec 2010)

9

Nice, interesting phone for it's times

mircea2983 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Having the phone for more than 2 years. Except for changing the sliding mechanism after 1 year child "worked" with it (after 1y 7mo of owning it) no other problems occured. Though, it restarts every once in a while, let's say 2 times/month, but not every day. Dropped it like thousang times, still works OK. Very nice Walkman Music Player (in comparison to Nokia players, for example). Fast Internet with Opera Mini 5.0. Works perfect with 4GB M2 card (don't forget it's a 2008 phone...). Very satisfied with it.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Walkman Music Player
  • Internet capabilities
  • 2.2 inch pretty good display with auto-rotate
  • Supports with no problems 4GB Memcard
  • User friendly UI
  • Logical structure of the menu

Cons

  • Absent camera focus, flash light
  • GPS
  • restarts every once in a while (probably UI bugs)
  • Not excelent sound through loud speakers
  • At the begining, difficult text input

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sid
posted on 16 Dec 2010, 17:35

9

Wow !!!! Wild fire !!!!

sid has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

One word to describe Wildfire is Wow !!!
A must want for all you gaget lovers...
Slim, very attractive... very nice feactures... expecially with the 5 MP camera with flash and the 3.2 inch display with Wifi and most of all only for a price of 15 grands its a master piece truly... If you want the battery to last long, make sure you charge for atleast 12 hours for the first charge
Audio quality is not as expected for me as i had sony ericsson before...
display is a little dull when brought it to sunlight or during the day
On the whole 9/10 for the Wildfire !!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Arjun
posted on 14 Dec 2010, 05:19

9

wildfire

Arjun has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

htc wildfire.. a small budget phone from HTC...
this phone is definitely a good buy....considering the budget, the features in wildfire are good..
this phone has been compared with HTC desire and hence there are many confusions regarding the phone..
wildfire's gt all most all the features if desire.. desire being almst twice expensive gives a better display clarity and processor speed..
if u have a small budget then go for desire..
i feel its much better than samsung galaxy(models in this range ) and LG optimus one p500...
the photos taken in htc wildfire are a bit shaky sometimes...
speaker sound and clarity is not upto the mark.. sony ericsson is a much better choice if u want a multimedia phone.
connectivity,internet and battery back up is good..

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • stylish

Cons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lolwow
posted on 01 Dec 2010, 09:57

9.6

wasdasdas

lolwow has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

THis phone is very good. I was having 5800 but i was hating it touch screen. Wildfire is best smartphone with touch screen i ever have. Buy this phone it has a little price than other android phones and its very fast and for everyday usage. I think its better than IPHONe 3gs or nokia 5800, 5530 and others touch screen phones from nokia withou N8 and n900. Thats from me.

Battery 10/10
Display 10/10
Text input 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Camera 7/10
Multimedia 10/10
Internet 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Build quality 10/10

Pros

  • GOOD DISPLAY
  • Very good build for smarphone
  • BATTERY LIFE IS LONG
  • BEsT phone

Cons

  • not very good camera
  • IDK

lolwow alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sirish
posted on 13 Nov 2010, 07:09

9

Wildfire:Good package

Sirish has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I think its the best phone by HTC in terms of catching the crowd with the low cost phone with high quality features, the mobile is the best package for youth right now instead of going for a iphone which is costlier compared to it and Blackberry which has a stereotype software. The phone has amazing features like the 5MP camera but with a little flaw in it(shaky image),good design, impressive browsing experience which is expected from HTC and the sound quality is amazing, but touch pannel can be improved a bit. I think thats more than enough you can get for that price from HTC. I hope you will feel the same when you buy it. Go and grab one right now!


Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Browsing
  • Design
  • Excellent user interface

Cons

  • Shaky image
  • Display a bit lay down

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

katie
posted on 30 Oct 2010, 07:39

10

wildfire

katie has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

same as the review gave by 'luke' but would like to add.....
the phones feel and quality is at very high standard, but its a shame that the screen can get covered in finger prints in a matter of a few hours, i think htc should have put a few quid onto there price and added a finger print free coated screen like whats on the iphones........a anti-shake for the camera would have also been a plus........over all i love this phone and friends thats seen it, have gone out and bought it within a day :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • everything ;)
  • lush looking phone
  • looks and feels v high quality
  • battery life is brill

Cons

  • video camera...naff in poor light
  • finger prints

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

luke
posted on 30 Oct 2010, 07:07

9

HTC Wildfire

luke has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is got to be the best 'all round' phone that ive had yet and ive had almost everything from all of the iphones/android to the most basic phones..........the camera is very good as long as you have a steady hand, but the video recorder is very hit and miss (not good for dim light recording....but goodish in daylight) everything seems to work fantasticly/quickly and very easy to set-up with minimal fuss........email set-up is 'as good' if not better than the blackberry and thanks to the speedy browser it retrieves your mail quickly.
what i dont understand is, what everyone is going on about because of the low res screen.......it looks the same quality as all the rest of the screens out there on the market of the mobile world.........my motto is, unless the screen does not measure over 15" from corner to corner, dont worry !!! after all its a mobile phone, its there to make and receive calls.........and to only act as a secondary camera/ mobile entertainment system.
The battery life, is extreamly good on the wildfire, giving me a whole 3 days medium usage.........but beware, make sure that you charge the battery for at least12hrs on the very first charge, otherwise you might experience a shorter battery standbye.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 very easy and quick to txt on via the qwerty
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10 very good battery life for a smartphone

Pros

  • excellent for everyday use

Cons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Renganathan
posted on 21 Aug 2010, 03:25

9.7

Wildfire

 I am a HTC wildfire user from past 2 weeks .This phone is amazing sleek ,stylish &compact...Plus pointsAwsome broser with flash supportNice interphaceCompact and stylishWorth every penny you spendruns lots of allplicationFair enough battry life3.2 inch display is fair enough for this phone...Negative pointsCamera is poor not upto standards and give shaky pics.Display has poor visiblity on outdoors..Loves finger prints...No Sec camera.All around this phone gets 9/10 on my rating.Its a steal for the offerd price.. The best cheapest coolest user friendly Androd phone ever....

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Awsome broser with flash support
  • Nice interphace
  • Compact and stylish
  • Worth every penny you spend
  • runs lots of allplication
  • Fair enough battry life
  • 3.2 inch display is fair enough for this phone...

Cons

  • Camera is poor not upto standards and give shaky pics.
  • Display has poor visiblity on outdoors..
  • Loves finger prints...
  • No Sec camera.

57 out of 69 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories