x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Touch Pro CDMA User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

PhoneGuru4.0
posted on 06 May 2010, 19:00

8.3

Great Phone Overall

 I have had this phone for 2 years and I'm a very heavy user. The keyboard is the best I have ever used and probably ever will. The size is nice but could be a little slimmer. The Windows 6.4 OS is alright at best but doesn't compare to Android. Overall look of the phone is nice. Durability I will have to say is so-so. I'm on my 2nd one in about 18 months but thats not to bad. Battery life is the worst I have ever seen, I have to charge this beast 3-4 times a day with avg use!

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Keyboard

Cons

  • Windows OS, Battery life is the worst, Space key.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Antoniog395
posted on 13 Oct 2009, 22:37

5.3

HTC Touch Pro

I have had this phone for over a year now and I have had the screen replaced twice and Sprint has gave me a new phone twice so I guess this is my forth phone. I like the phone but if you need a phone that will last you through the day forget about it. I work the graveyard  shift and I can talk on the phone for twenty mins and three to four hours later my phone is completely dead. I also have been getting my text messages late I mean the next day late. I don't know if it's the phone or the network. I get error messages from microsoft and my phone locks up or bumps me out of  the program i'm in. I will be getting the Hero next and I hope its better or I'll be going to the Iphone.

Design 7/10
Features 4/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Youtube
  • Touchflo
  • Camera is nice

Cons

  • Battery life totally sucks
  • Freezes up
  • Screen keeps going out
  • Speaker phone sucks

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RobTouchPro
posted on 19 Aug 2009, 17:34

8.3

Good and bad

I'm on my 5th one & finally got a good one through the warranty replacement. I had/have high hopes for this phone. I love the screen, though I cycle back and forth between Touch Flo and WinMo standard main screens. Theres pro and con points to both. The standard WinMo screen shows all email folders and how many new emails in each account, the Touch Flo only shows how many total with no breakdown unless you go into the mail menu and it's still not terrlbly intuitive though pretty. I've had a couple of keyboards freeze up and quit working even after performing a hard reset. On 2 unit's when changing the home screen from TouchFlo to MinMo, it takes 10min to 4 hours to do it. The speakers vary from rather quiet to acceptably loud. The camera is pretty decent providing you hold the phone still while you're taking a picture. I use the camera for work, sending pictures of watches to clients. It makes my job easier in that respect.
For messaging, it's great for sending emails and text's and the threaded format is awesome. The onscreen keyboards suck for the most part. HTC really should be doing tactile onscreen keyboards by now. I use the calendar a lot and the old WinMo calendar set up is ok but needs serious updating. In TouchFlo mode the calendar only displays 3 dates, one current, one upcoming and one all day. There is no variances, if you have 3 upcoming dates for the next day but no all day events or current, it only displays one of the upcoming events for the upcoming events...  

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Size, messaging options and ease, vibrant screen, keyboard (when it works) camera. Touch Flo (for weather features, music) Opera mobile is WAY better than IE.

Cons

  • Battery life, flakiness, freezing up, Touch Flo, (pretty but not configurable or flexible)

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sweeny Russ
posted on 21 Apr 2009, 15:04 (Posts: 2; Member since: 21 Apr 2009)

9.7

Mobile PC in stylish, sexy fashion

I've been waiting for a windows mobile device that is dependable as the new touch series ever since I had my dell axim 6 years ago.  HTC wasn't waiting for Microsoft and hit a home run with this device.  This device has unimaginable capabilities that is unmatched by any other device currently in the United States.  The Omap 11 processor boasts a snappy very responsiveness.  And win mo 6.1 and 6.5 run seemlessly.  Tflo 3d is a beautiful powerful way to access everything in this device in an inuitive way.  The screen is gorgeous and text, pics, and videos are extremely sharp.  Opera pairs with this device seemlessly with scroll wheel, g sensor, and finger operations for a rich mobile internet experience in the palm of your hand.  Push and exchange email are standard.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Performance, beauty, functionality, unsurpassed technology

Cons

  • Need two batteries to get through the day

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

adam89
posted on 14 Apr 2009, 19:27

10

this phone is an investment (not for the average user)

If you're willing to take the time to search for the appropriate software, learns the ins and outs of flashing to new ROMs as they are developed, (basically learn to utilize the online community) etc, this phone is simply not beatable by any other device right now. You're buying hardware, not software. Software can be corrected, and already has, you just have to be willing to search for it. If you don't want to go through that, you're better off going with an i-phone or more simple, user friendly device - ready to run as is.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • capability
  • gps
  • opera mobile
  • office mobile
  • online community

Cons

  • battery life
  • d-pad is inaccurate, although you almost never use it
  • requires software customization to reach potential

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dale Isbell
posted on 22 Mar 2009, 19:25

9.3

Great Sprint - windows phone

I have used or owned many cellular phones and this is my forth smartphone, by far the HTC Touch Pro is the best. Great design and size. It will do everything and more than the iphone with all the benfits of Window mobile.
Would like to see an improvement in the battery life.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Style, look, features

Cons

  • battery proformance

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CJPK
posted on 19 Jan 2009, 19:16

7.7

Has its ups and downs

The touch pro is a mixed bag.  It has this nack of slowing to a crawl at critical moments regardless of how little software you're running. The lack of external buttons can be a pain as well.  Trying to access the camera in a timely fashion while using the sometimes sluggish touchflo 3d can be very irritating.  The battery life is bad, nay, horrible.  Best to buy the car charger up front you're going to need it.  Expect the occassional complete lock, good thing they made the hard reset button very accessable  On the up side this phone is feature rich and can perform the full gammit of expected smart funtions, email, text documents, PDF's etc.
If this thing just ran a little less sluggish I'd be in love

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • feature rich, great full QWERTY keyboard, nice display

Cons

  • Performance, it gets sluggish, lock ups are common
  • battery life
  • lack of buttons

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

samuel stinson
posted on 30 Dec 2008, 05:37

8.7

best phone, hands down.

i have used every phone out there at least once, and let me tell you, this is the phone to beatr all others. not only is it capable of everything and more as the apple iphone, but it is far more comfortable in the hand.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • full keyboard, good camera, great design, awesome youtube app.

Cons

  • battery life is terrible, im a serious phone person, i text basically one text per minute so this phone goes fast. opera mobile = got to go. IE all the way.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sprintuser28
posted on 29 Dec 2008, 19:37

8.7

Best sprint phone so far!!

Frist I got the diamon after having it for 20 or so days I went ahead and took it back to get the pro.  Love this phone.  Alot of things that people say the phone doesn't do all you have to do is look in the right place for software.  Its windows so you know there's someone out there writing software for it.  They are also other touch flow 3d software out there to as well. I have mine to where it vibrates everytime I touch the screen.  I never really use the pull out keyboard but it's nice to have when I have time to sit out and use itto text.  I also did as much research as I could and read reviews before buying this phone.  Witch suggest you do to, are you'll be stuck with something you dont like for 2 years.......

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • - Screen. There is no other phone so far that has as many pixels as this does.
  • -Able to add memory
  • -Windows Pro
  • -Run fast
  • -Touch flow 3d
  • -Video records at 30fps

Cons

  • -Batt runs out quick when using gps. So have that car charger with you.
  • -freezes sometimes not often ( mabye once or twice had it for 2 weeks.) I also download alot of programs.
  • -Sprint only has one case to pick from.
  • (Also do not buy the verzion version it has less memory witch = slow
  • -When using the wifi for a while it gets hot.
  • -screen will scrach easy so make sure you use that screen protector. ( Leaned that from the touch diamond.)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gregory 1
posted on 28 Nov 2008, 17:20

9.7

SPrints Best phone ever

As an executive I need a phone to be reliable, bulletproof reliable.  This is it.  Got it on the first day and it has never let me down.  I put it on the charger whenever possible and push mail, wifi, etc going constantly.  If you are a professional this is the phone for you.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mobo
posted on 28 Nov 2008, 17:17

10

Fantastic Sprint Touch Pro

This phone works, it has been configured by HTC and Sprint with the future in mind.  VGA screen is crystal Clear, WIFI works, Camera works great, there are no real cons, if you are getting a PPC this is the one for you!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rew216@yahoo.com
posted on 16 Nov 2008, 15:27

10

very happy nice phone

i have been waiting for another phone a better phone since i bought the mogul phone from sprint. the mogul is ok but it freezes a lot and i wanted better technology. then i heard about the htc touch pro and i wanted to try it. I have had the HTC touch pro for about a week now and i must say it is a really nice phone. I couldnt ask for anything better right now. sometimes it lags a little but over all i am impressed with the phone. i added sling player and it look great. i am over all very happy with my purchase.
 
 
 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • full querty keyboard
  • the screen looks great
  • nice interface
  • loaded with programs & features
  • love the touch screen
  • speaker is loud and clear

Cons

  • once in a while it freezes
  • had to pull battery out once
  • battery life isnt that great

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

frostino
posted on 05 Nov 2008, 14:11

7

Disappointed

Let me start by saying I stalked this phone and had high hopes for it.  I've always heard good things about HTC and wanted to get the Tilt until I was told they had new phones coming out.  Everything I read about the Touch Pro looked very good.  I bought it on Oct 26 when Best Buy got it in. 
I spent time getting to know the phone, the TouchFlo, and WinMo6.1.  I decided to disable the TouchFlo because it seemed to run slowly.  WinMo6.1 is definitely an improvement over 5 but is still a bit buggy.  The phone was designed pretty well overall but there are things I feel are missing.  My Treo 700w had a switch at the top to switch the phone to Vibrate.  When I switch to the slider (horizontal) view, sometimes it takes a while to switch and sometimes it doesn't switch to horizontal at all because the program or page isn't designed to (I assume).  I had to reset the phone at least once the day I got it because it froze, and a few more time throughout the week.  Battery life is pretty bad.  I get in to work at 7am and by 11 or so, the battery is about to die.  I now keep a charger at my desk at work.  Speaking of chargers, it's very nice that the data/power port is mini-usb.  I bought 2 extra usb cables, a usb wall plug, and usb car plug all for $10 shipped and now I have 3 chargers for my phone (including the one that came with it).  Usually chargers are 30 or 40+ each.
I would like to see a firmware update...  

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • - Charger can be cheaply made (bought 2 more usb cables, a usb wall plug, and usb car plug for $10)
  • - GPS isn't bad at all. A little slower than standalone units but works well with the traffic option
  • - Supports 32GB MicroSDHC. I currently use an 8GB MicroSDHC card.
  • - Threaded text messaging (courtesy of WinMo6.1)
  • - Full QWERTY keyboard

Cons

  • - No Physical keyboard button for Start Menu
  • - Battery Life
  • - Freezes
  • - Lags (even without using the TouchFlo)
  • - No physical button/switch for switching to vibrate
  • - Swapping between vertical and horizontal views doesn't always work smoothly
  • - The screen randomly turns on even when sitting flat on a tabletop
  • - No headphone/headset jack (only bluetooth headsets)

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 02 Nov 2008, 11:28

8.3

I've been through a lot of touch phones through the summer from the Instint, the Glyde, these phones were all toys with no real function. I even tried a BB Curve, all were dissapointing. until I got a HTC Touch, finally a phone that was a functional tool. I got My touch Pro a few days ago and the full Qwerty keyboard did add some girth, but is a breeze to use.This phone packs plenty of features, and unlimited ability. I did experience some lag in switching tasks and also had the phone lock or freeze 3x two with an incoming call and once in a call. hopefully a limited issue.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • full qwerty keyboard
  • SD card
  • MMS
  • The touchflo UI is great

Cons

  • WM- but where really isn't a better option
  • The power button is poorly located and when using the full keyboard gets hit.
  • the stylus should come out the top not the bottom if not fully inserted can fall out.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sam0606
posted on 01 Nov 2008, 23:04

8.3

Alittle Overrated

This phone is a pretty nice phone with just about everything you can think of in it. The interface take a little bit of getting use to because of the many menu options and hidden menus. The phone have a lot of extra menu features that may  be alittle too much for the average joe.(lol). overall Good Phone
       
 
 

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • amazing 3.2 mega pixel camera
  • sliding keyboard is awsome
  • exceptional speaker phone volume
  • Shape and size is good
  • external micro SD slot
  • lots of features to play with

Cons

  • Theres a lag in interface.
  • Freezes a little bit when navigating through menus sort of fast
  • have to take off battery cover to reach external slot
  • menus are a litttle difficult to navigate through if ur not use to HTC Windows Mobile interface
  • ear piece volume on phone is extremely low, almost have to strain the ear to hear person on the other end

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories