x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Touch Diamond CDMA User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

wes white
posted on 18 May 2010, 23:26

8.7

Great with Android 2.1

i loaded mine with android 2.1 on dual boot and now i will never part with this phone

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

douchka
posted on 12 Mar 2010, 13:17 (Posts: 4; Member since: 12 Mar 2010)

5.3

Almost it...

It would have been the perfect phone for me if the form remained that of the Touch. All these new nice features with the form of the Touch, it'll almost be a Palm Pre. Too bad they had to change the form factor so drastically. New is not always best. Really too bad.

Design 3/10
Features 7/10
Performance 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Juke Box Hero
posted on 12 Jan 2010, 16:03

8.3

Great handset...

Been using this handset for a year now.  Pretty much has every feature you could ask for in a handset, except for a lack of a physical keyboard (but having that would have probably taken away from the compact form factor).  The stock Sprint ROM is usable, but could use some improvement.  Unlocked the handset and loaded custom ROMs and settings, now this is way more usable.  The newer HTC interfaces (Manila and Sense) are much nicer and featured than the shipped Sprint Manila variant.  Reg tweaks included on these ROMs have gotten my battery life to at least 24 hours of light/medium use (major up from 10 hours on the stock ROM).I don't listen to music on my phone so the fixed 4GB storage is just used for pictures, videos and random downloads, so for me it's more than enough.  But still, a micro SD slot would be nice.The 3MP camera actually takes pretty good pictures...as long as there's plenty of light (is a simple LED flash really that hard/expensive to add?).  One of the keys for me for better pictures was to change the shoot option from "touch and press" to "full press".  I had a hard time steadying the camera while lightly touching the button to focus and then having to fully depress to shoot (maybe because the camera reacts so slow).  Full press allows me to steady the camera while it handles the focusing and shooting.Windows Mobile is a love/hate thing.  Love how tweakable it is.  Stability can be...questionable at times. ...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Great screen
  • Wonderful functionality
  • Nice and compact
  • Tweakability (if that's a word)
  • Sleek looking handset (in my opinion at least)

Cons

  • Battery life (with stock ROM)
  • No physical keyboard (but I don't think they could fit one and retain the compactness)
  • No micro SD slot
  • No camera flash

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nikole
posted on 12 Dec 2009, 19:25

8.3

Not Horrible

I got my Diamond about a month ago. No huge issues, battery life is quite a pain but other than that the only other issue that I have is that when I use the WiFi and have the phone on the charger (which, of course, is necessary), it can get really hot and cease charging. The interface is a little slow, but still nice. A decent phone on the outside, the software that people can make for Windows Mobile phones is amazing, and it gets a nice signal in most places. Definitely a step up from the Touch. My boyfriend has the TouchPro2 and you can clearly see when you compare the two how the TouchFlo has improved since the Diamond was made. Overall a good phone, but if anyone who has Sprint is considering this phone, I would wait until the Diamond2 comes out in a few months. Had I known Sprint was going to get it I would have waited. 

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Interface
  • WiFi
  • Virtual keyboard has nice size keys, easy to type with
  • Internet loads very quickly
  • Windows Mobile 6.1

Cons

  • Battery life is TERRIBLE
  • Overheats quickly
  • Windows Mobile 6.1 (haha)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Eric Jacobs
posted on 07 Nov 2009, 11:08

5.3

Good for a flash to friends

This phone only did me good for showing it off to friends.It's pretty, and does neat things.A bit quicker than the HTC touch, but that won't last as it too gets sluggish after a couple of weeks, if you can tell through the fingerprints.A bit more durable than the HTC touch, but still probably a gonner if you drop it.

Design 5/10
Features 9/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • FLASHY (but that seems the best aspect of this phone)
  • A nice camera
  • A half-step up in class from the HTC touch.

Cons

  • Not the fastest, and after a few weeks, slow as heck.
  • No very durable. A drop and it's probably a gonner.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RUJELEN
posted on 01 Jul 2009, 19:58

8

Great Phone overall

All I have to say overall that this is a great phone, the only downfall is that the battery does not last, and there is no memory slot. besides that, its worth buying

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • No Memory Slot

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 25 May 2009, 02:07

7

I hate the maroon back. I didn't know they'd replaced the pretty back when I ordered. The front is still sleek, but the back really ruins it for me.
 
Battery life is awful, as with all HTCs. I barely use it during the day and it's just about zapped on my drive home.
 
Otherwise, it's a kickass phone.

Design 4/10
Features 10/10
Performance 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Julia Baik
posted on 14 Feb 2009, 17:14

9.7

great phone"

one word, just great phone in everyway.
You will like it.
but one thing, it seems that battery life is shorter than other phones' but charging hours much faster than that of others also.
Except this, I'm totally in love with my phone. I like everything about my phone.
You'll know what I mean when you get yours.  
 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mark Burnett
posted on 29 Oct 2008, 13:54

9.3

HTC Touch Diamond...Great

One word..Wonderful!! I love the phone. There are only a few things that im not okay with, 1. The battery life doesn't last long at all..And The camera has no flash. But other than that i'm in love with the phone.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • 4GB Internal memory
  • Beautiful Phone
  • Fast everything, Including Wi-Fi
  • Features are great
  • And display is wonderful!! Awesome display!!!

Cons

  • No Flash
  • The battery life sucks!
  • Doesn't have diamond back

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bionik
posted on 23 Sep 2008, 19:25

9.3

(Sprint) HTC Touch Diamond CDMA

This phone is so awesome, although it shouldn't be called the diamond because it is missing the back that the GSM region was so lucky to get, but who knows there might be some future releases to replace the maroon backing, on the design of the phone it is truly an amazing phone it feels good in the hand and has an amazing VGA screen the colors and the brightness on it is so vivid, there are a couple of tweaks that need to be made to make this phone over the top for instance when you make a phone call the speaker volume whilst in call is low, you can't go into landscape keyboard mode while texting, and the touch screen pressure needs to be more sensitive and the neon theme i don't like that much but this was all fixed with a couple of registry edits and a brand new rom this phone is such a leap for HTC another great thing about this phone HTC acutally built a youtube application into the phone the display of this is so amazing! its a bit choppy when your not in evdo areas but other than that it's a great application there is a wifi function included but i never had to use it the phone gets amazing speed without having to connect to wifi, google maps on the diamond is amazing also! sometimes i can get up to 11 GPS signals, i personally use tomtom on the diamond, there are other great applications out there there is just so much innovation to come to this phone and future htc products i think htc hit the nail with this phone and hopefully it will just keep getting better, also this...  

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Full VGA touch screen
  • Youtube app
  • Upgradeable
  • Google Maps
  • Outlook
  • Weather
  • LOTS of possibilities for applications
  • Design
  • T9 Input and Compact QWERTY
  • Ease of Use
  • Feels good in hand
  • Light
  • Great GPS Signal
  • Almost all hardware problems can be fixed with a reg edit

Cons

  • No diamond backing
  • Maroon Back/Stylus/Usb Port Area
  • No 3.5mm headphone jack (in phone)
  • No Memory Slot

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

digital
posted on 21 Sep 2008, 20:57

10

HTC Touch Diamond

When i got this phone the other day from UPS and opened the box, firs thing i said was Wow! Having this phone for a few days now i have to say this is one of the best phones i have ever had. It is easy to use,fast and has so much multimedia capabilities.
Htc makes good phones and this is one of them.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Wifi
  • 4GB internal storage
  • Ease of use, fast processor speed.Good signal bright sharp screen touch flo 3D is awsome on this phone

Cons

  • No MicroSD card slot so your only limited to only 4GB of internal memory.
  • Battery life is not that good i don't get a a full day's use with the battery on this phone since i do alot of emails and texting and web browsing. Bring a car charger with you and your home charger for work.
  • Gets warm fast when you are using it.

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 18 Sep 2008, 17:17

9.7

HTC Touch Diamond is a REAL DIAMOND!

There is very little, if any, not to like about it. I have tested just about everything on it, and it works almost flawlessly. If I were to pick 1 thing lacking, it would be an external memory storage capability.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • EVERYTHING works great, and great speed!! And WOW...superb display!!! TV, INTERNET, GPS, PHONE, MESSAGING

Cons

  • No memory card slot

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JohnBoyYea
posted on 15 Sep 2008, 19:16

9

WOW

I have got to say this phone is your life. It has everything possible in it. Great signal strength, Tv, Music, And everything else. Drop it 5 times. you will only have probably a little scratch. Im proud of HTC! Thank you!

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Good signal strength
  • Tv, Music
  • Nice and easy to bush buttons

Cons

  • A little slippery
  • Touch screen you have to push a little hard but not that hard.

19 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories