x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Touch CDMA User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

WORTHLESS
posted on 07 Nov 2009, 11:03

2.7

DOWNGRADED TO A LOTUS AFTER BUYING THIS P.O.S.

I hated this phone. It was slow out of the box.I had this phone for a few weeks before it started REALLY slowing down. HTC's touch-screen phones just don't seem to have enough memory.If you can see through the fingerprints on the screen, then you may see how sluggish this piece of hardware is.Not worth a second look.

Design 4/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Would have been VERY flashy back in 2005

Cons

  • EXTREMELY SLUGGISH, and just gets slower over time.
  • The whole things is basically a monitor, so once it's dropped, your money is gone.
  • Only really good for showing to friends, but for that it's kind of old.

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 15 Jul 2009, 17:13

8.3

Not bad, not good.

This is actually a pretty decent device. Nothing works perfect out of the box and this is no exception! The touch screen is pretty responsive but using the stylus is a good idea if you have big fingers or no nails. Texting on the suretype style keyboard isn't awful - just a learning curve. Call quality isn't that great and the reception bars were always changing which usually doesn't happen where I live. I loved the pre loaded games! Battery life wasn't super.. good idea to get an extra battery or car charger. The camera wasn't the greatest: no flash and 2.0 megapixels. I would reccomend this device but with warning that it is in no way perfect!

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • touch screen is responsive
  • doesnt feel cheap
  • games
  • comes with 2 stylus
  • three hardware buttons

Cons

  • battery life
  • camera

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kyle
posted on 11 May 2009, 09:02

6.7

not bad

Typing on it is a pain unless you have a decent keyboard application. Down load PCM Keyboard. It emulates the iPhone keyboard and works great! For better navigation I purchased the Pro version of PointUI (there is also a free version). Extended life batery gets me about 3 days with 500+ texts/pics, camera use, phone calls, and push email. It locks up every once in a while but i think it is just some of the applications that I am using.  Next I'll probably get a Pre or Storm.

Design 5/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • good high cap battery
  • wm 6.1 pro
  • opera
  • sleek

Cons

  • occasional lockups
  • removing the SD card is a HUGE hassle

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 09 Apr 2009, 00:12

8.3

It's nice to look at.  Hate the digital clock face that most of these WinMo phones have but the phone itself is pretty cool looking.  Works well but not especially fast as you might think.  A bit cumbersome to navigate but I'm not a big fan of touch.  Applications are nice and functional.  Would make a nice organizer but as a phone it mainly just looks good.  All pocket pc and if you like windows you will like this for a windows phone.  Highly customizable.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Sleek
  • PDA Functionality
  • IE
  • Transcribe is cool.

Cons

  • Resets
  • Freezes Up
  • Always hit the on/off or camera button by mistake.
  • I hate trying to type on this phone. Finger touch does make it a little better.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Peter12434
posted on 03 Apr 2009, 13:11

6.7

Great PDA, Poor phone

I swithed to this from a palm treo about a year ago. It is a great device fro work. Its fast, stable and I have come to depend upon it heavily for my work. However, as a pure phone, it struggles. I have been with verizon for 10 years and could count the number of dropped calls on one hand. Since getting this phone, it drops at least one or two calls every day. The only other minor annoyance is that it lacks WiFi connectivity so you have to rely on verizon's EVDO nework even in places where you have wirleless available.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Excellent features and stability.

Cons

  • Very poor phone and no WiFi.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kdz
posted on 25 Mar 2009, 15:01

5.3

Done With It

I'm going to be quick. Bought this phone in august with a contract. I returned it the first time when the battery only lasted an hour. I returned the second phone in February when the screen totally died on me. I am now returning my 3rd phone since text messaging freezes the screen about 3 times a week.
All that aside, the phone is pretty decent but beware the battery life(awful. 2.5 hours of talk time at best. i have to charge it twice a day if I plan on going out at night), the QWERTY keyboard is a cruel cruel joke(too small for human fingers), poor recepton(my gf's motarola q phone out reception-izes me all the time),  and lack of customization unless you want to buy 3rd party sofware. Also the media player is virtually usless due to the battery consumption and works slowly. Word, excel work great tho.

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Word
  • Excel
  • Opera
  • Works great with Gmail pop

Cons

  • QWERTY keyboard is the worst I've ever seen
  • Active sync is buggy at best
  • BATTERY LIFE IS TERRIBLE!!!
  • Drops calls at random even with several bars
  • Home screen is rather lame and difficult to customize
  • Did I mention the battery life? geez

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 08 Nov 2008, 12:04

10

I absolutely love this phone!  The transcriber took me about 2 days to get used to and it works great!  I use the transcriber to do everything from writing my list of things to do for the day to creating new contacts and sending text messages.  I would not ever go back to another phone.  PLUS it is on the 3G network for Verizon and the download speeds are fab!  I am so happy.  Seems like this phone works the best on Verizon's network!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Transcriber
  • Lightweight
  • Battery life lasts a long time

Cons

  • none so far!!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

seth epstein
posted on 09 Sep 2008, 10:20

4

PHONE SUCKS

If you dont need a cell phone to make calls, then this is the coolest phone ive ever owned.....It does EVERYTHING, EXCEPT make, receive and send calls on a regular basis.
For some reason it wont open YOUTUBE video's either
If you want a PDA, buy this piece of shit, if you want a cell phone DONT BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 10/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • great features, camara, video

Cons

  • phone dosent work very well as a phone

4 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Martin Tremblay
posted on 06 Sep 2008, 02:16

10

Amazing technology and functioanlity in a compact package

I have had the CDMA version from Bell since Nov, this phone is amazing for the amount of features it has packed into succh a small package. It has an amazing messagaing center where my outlook enmail and all my other emai accounts Gmail, Yahoo, and MSN also are easily accessed. in this same center are all my SMS messages. I can run all microsoft apps including word, excel, and powerpoint. and does Zip files, and Adobe, pretty much everything I can throw at it. the multimedia is amazing, on the 3G network I can download or steam videos from virtually any site, not just Youtube, and it takes 3-5 seconds for 10-20meg of video - amazing! I have downloaded emulators for Gameboy, for NES and for SNES, and can play thousands of my classic old games, including earthworm jim, battletoads, galaga, etc etc.  I listen to audio bools and music through a bluetooth STEREO headset (something iPhone forgot about) and can control all my calls, music, and audio via the headset. the customizable homescreen with integrated weather, SMS, time, outlook calendar, contacts, message center, email, and virtually anything else you want is fantastic. I like having a few buttons, more could be better when dialing calls or playing games. and the battery life is not as good as I would like, but it does last a full day of heavy use. The camera could us a flash, the reception and call quality are superb.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Call Quality
  • Messaging center
  • Multi media/video download speeds
  • 3g web surfing speeds
  • capability and compatibility
  • Bluetooth Stereo

Cons

  • battery life
  • Camera flash

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Save your money
posted on 23 Jul 2008, 18:55

5

Horrible as a phone... but does other things

I've owned this phone for 6 months now... I hate it. I would never buy another phone with a Windows Operating system on it... its like being back in the days of windows 98 first edition. Random problems just happen and I have to reboot quite often... which takes forever. Sometimes buttons just stop working. The caller ID never shows up right. I have re-flashed it several times. It woks great as a phone as modem I use it all the time for that... but other than that I would save your money. Just my honest opinion it looks like a lot of other people love this phone. Maybe part of the problem is Sprint I dunno. But never ever again.

Design 3/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 4/10

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

none
posted on 15 Jul 2008, 21:22

5.2

Not worth it man...

I wanted this phone to work out so bad! i wanted cool touch phone sort of like the iphone, but it's just not the same. I had so many positive thoughts about this phone when I first got it. Its been about 2-3 months now and I just can't deal with it anymore.

- terrible reception compared to all other alltel phones I've had. I constantly get voicemails without missed calls.
- This is probably the weirdest thing... I was at school (5-6 hrs from home) and I activated phone, then downloaded new version and it wouldn't let me call out! I could send txt and receive calls but not call out!!! I called alltel 10 times and spent hours on the phone and they never fixed my cell phone. They told me my phone was running off of the sprint towers in the area. WTF?! Well, I happen to be driving back home the next day. My phone works! BUT only within a Hr. of my hometown. After I leave that area I can't call out! I Know, I don't have a ^*&^ing clue what is going on. I made it 2-3 months with my phone b/c i was in my hometown most of the time and in europe the rest of the time. I could go on about this but I'm too lazy to type.

- when touching the screen there is a delay. Dialing numbers is the worst. I swear there is like a 1 second delay after touching a number
- Outside scratches very easily if you drop your phone. They arn't microscopic scratches, these are big gashes in the phone that you can peel off with ur fingernail.
This phone sucks, bottom line.. My dad also got this phone and...  

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 3/10

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jai
posted on 07 Jul 2008, 09:14

7.4

Getting the Dare

I had to comment on this phone. Ok I got this phone from Verizon because I AM looking for the next best IPhone. I have to admit. I have been a loyal customer for like 15 years so thus why I have not gone to AT&T. Anyhoo, let it be know that I have had almost every phone out there… ie Treo, Blackberry, etc. Ok so I have this phone, Verizon only offered it in white (yuck). So anyway I was not pleased that you have to hit the top button to lock the phone during the call. Needless to say many calls are lost even when this button is hit. Seems like the screen is so sensitive it does what it wants when it wants. My camera always comes on; typing a text can be difficult if you don’t use the styles. My top button wore out less than a month and I had to replace the phone. Speaker quality sucks and this phone locks up frequently. Not pleased with the web viewing.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 8/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

matt
posted on 17 Jun 2008, 20:07

9.2

mr

Bought the phone two weeks ago.
Very satisfied with this phone. I got it for the great calendar and touch features. I continue to be impressed how well it works(really intuitive). Could have been priced a little better but it has been worth it so far. Texting (without stylus) just took a day or two to get used too but really easy now.

Only things I can of as Con's: price, signal reception not quite as strong(but still good) and I get an error once a week saying something can't execute(I just hit ok 4 times).

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Solarjuju
posted on 04 Jun 2008, 10:47

9.4

Great phone

Having had the agony and torture from the Treo 700 WM, this Touch is remarkably stable! I was actually surprised that this little thing could do so much without freezing. Much lighter than the Treo.

I was going to get the new Treo with Palm OS but the sales person talked me into the Touch and I am glad he did.

The only thing I miss is the QWERTY keyboard. The touch screen keyboard is difficult to use without the stylus.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Paul
posted on 22 May 2008, 16:08

9.2

Love it so far

I ordered this phone the first day back on April 16th online and received it the very next day UPS.... So far so good....I didn't even crack into the potential of this phone yet, i haven't gotten the package yet for unlimited online and email or any of that yet and i still love this phone

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

madden08
posted on 12 May 2008, 16:30

10

ive owned a Sprint Touch and I didnt like it. I've owned a Treo 750wx, 680, and i was planning on getting the Samsung glyde, but then I found a coupon in my mailbox. it gave me $100 off the phone. i went straight to verizon and upgraded from a Blackberry Pearl CDMA, my old phone, to this. One thing i like is that the UIS is very simple. i cant find my contacts in less than what my brother can with his glyde and my sister with her voyager. i like this phone, im never going back~~~

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Graeme
posted on 11 May 2008, 23:03

9.2

Excellent

I have owned the vx6700 and the vx6800. I have also owned Treos from the beginning to the 750. This is the best phone I have owned. I didn't use the keyboard on the other two htcs and they just took up space. This has all the features I want and need and it works great. I would buy another or recommend it to anyone.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Daryl
posted on 06 May 2008, 21:12

9.8

uh-huh?

its a dang good phone from a technician that works at the store, personally the treos are the number one device we see in withb trouble, its horrible, i wish that phone would burn....it ranks to us reps that it is so horrible it compares to the first chocolate!!! this 6900 is blowing up in our store its a great phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rikimaru
posted on 06 May 2008, 12:25

9.2

Verizon fix it all

This phone just came to Verizon. I use to have this phone on the SPrint network, however, after having issues with hidden fees i left and found out Verizon carried it. I quickly signed up. NOt only am i paying less per month but the issues i had with this phone before are all taken care off. First of all they fixed the randomly turning off glitch. They also fixed the lag problems, its blazing fast now, i had a little tear come down when i saw how fast it was. A+ Verizon

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

joes
posted on 29 Apr 2008, 01:58

4.4

touch

i went to a verizon store to play with it...not impressed at all

very small, much smaller than my treo 700 it looks like a compact a woman would carry with the white color and small size. stylus was very small and hard for me to use. on screen keyboard....joke and the model they gave me had no touch flo menus just plain wm6

what stinks is that my 2 year old phone is still #1 or 2 on the market a new one would cost me $499 guess I am staying with the treo another few years until something with that form factor comes out....and no at&t gsm service for me thanks....wonder what sprint has..

Design 2/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 3/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JR
posted on 28 Apr 2008, 13:20

7.4

good...

"Coming from someone who actually owns the phone, blah, blah, blah..." Come on CHRIS!!!

The Phone's good... I own it TOO.. It's great for scheduling but sometimes I wish that I would have gotten the I760 over it though...

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 7/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chris
posted on 22 Apr 2008, 20:47

8.8

AWESOME PHONE

Coming from someone who actually has the phone, this is the incredible phone I have ever seen. Tho I have only played with the iphone for about a half an hour or so, I would take this phone over the iphone ANY DAY. Just my opinon. Navigating through the phone took me a little bit because I am not took tech savy. But, it was a joy going through the phone itself and very easy to understand where I was in the system. There are additional "shells" you can purchase to make your experience even more enjoyable, productive or entertaining. Including a larger size keyboard that makes texting or writhing a document much easier if you like to use your fingers vs. the stylus. This cell phone is only slightly bigger than the Razor (about 1/16" taller and wider and NOT NOT NOT any thicker). And that is with the Razor flip phone closed!!! You WIL NOT regret buying this phone! VERIZON has knocked it out of the park on this one, especially since the $399 price has a $100 instant discount on-line and a $50 mail in rebate...$249.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Brett Olsen
posted on 21 Apr 2008, 12:03

8.2

Great phone

I got this phone for Verizon and I love it. Its about the same size as my razr was when it was closed. The screen in large and has just about every feature you could want. I would have preferred that Verizon didn't disable the Wi-Fi but its an easy thing to do without.

The customization that can be done with this phone is what makes this a hit. I got this phone for 199.00 after a $50 mail in rebate and my $50 equipment upgrade bonus.

The touch screen is really cool and the transcriber works great. Just about anything I write on the screen is recognized. I would prefer that the screen be able to rotate by moving the phone (like I-phone) instead of having to manually go in and set that feature each time.

All in all, its agreat phone with great features and for a lot less $$ than you would expect.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

k1a2s3
posted on 19 Apr 2008, 10:13

8.8

verizon's lovely little gem

I preorded this phone last week, and now i have it! Its so good, Verizon changed the phone up INCREDIBLY. I swiched from Sprint's HTC Touch, and guess what? VERIZON IS BETTER! The price though is a bit high. I think it was like $400 or something, plus my activation, blah blah fees totaled up to like $590. That's a bunch. But I'll tell you one thing. Verizon Wireless is the best phone company in the world. NEVER switching from my lovely touch, since its so amazingly good.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 6/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tim
posted on 18 Apr 2008, 22:33

7.4

Hmmm

Alright so I got XV6900 two days ago with Verizon. Its a very cool phone and I like all the features however there are some things Im not a huge fan of. All in all I maybe returning and waiting for the LG Dare(VX6700) instead.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 8/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories