x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Titan User Reviews

9.2 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality8.7/10
Battery9.1/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.5/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.1/10
Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed10/10
Camera9.5/10
Multimedia9.5/10
Internet9.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

MelbTrain
posted on 26 Aug 2012, 00:48 (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Aug 2012)

10

Windows Phone at its Best

MelbTrain has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Having this phone for about a month, I've had little problems, the only problem is the screen going black during a call, which I don't mind, because I don't call often. The screen is amazing, the big display makes everything easy to read and navigate the phone easy. The build quality is fantastic, the uni-body is really nice. In the hand is does slip, but a cover is no problem. Reception on the phone is great, in Australia it beats Telstra. Call quality is decent and does the job smoothly. Internet 9 is super quick and browsing on the huge 4.7" is no problem. Using this as a business phone I find really does the job really good. Syncing all your emails and calendars was super easy, and with Office it just makes the phone even better. I have also the HTC 7 Trophy and that phone was quick, but the Titan is even quicker, it loads and opens apps so fast. Taking snaps with the camera is a really good experience, it takes stunning pictures, and the front facing camera isn't all that bad. Using the phone day-to-day I had no problems, the battery life would just make a day with heavy usage.
Overall the HTC Titan is an amazing Windows Phone and would easily recommend it to people.

Build quality 10/10 Easy grip and feels nice in the hand.
Reception 10/10 Beats Telstra in Australia.
Call quality 10/10 Easy to hear calls.
Internet 10/10 Speedy internet browsing with IE9
Multimedia 10/10 Loud speaker and lots of sharing options .
Camera 10/10 Nice camera with heaps of cool features.
UI speed 10/10 Opens things really quickly and gets things done fast.
Everyday usage 10/10 Heaps of basic features and easy to use quickly day-to-day.
Text input 10/10 Easy to type with.
Display 10/10 Clear quality and really sharp colours.
Battery 9/10 Struggles to make one day of heavy usage on a single charge.

Pros

  • Awesome OS
  • Great build quality
  • Never lags
  • Super quick performance
  • Fast app switching
  • Great features such as Xbox Live and MS Office
  • Loud Speaker
  • Nice music experience with Zune
  • Beautiful Screen
  • Light

Cons

  • Lacks microSD card storage (same with all Windows Phones)
  • Bluetooth File Transfore
  • Proximity sensor option

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

rsiders
posted on 11 May 2012, 12:00 (Posts: 199; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)

9

Great unlocked HTC Titan

rsiders has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone brand new off eBay when I sold my HTC Radar(also a nice phone). I love this phone so much. T-Mobile really missed out by not offering this phone to its customers. This phone has everything you want in a phone with a beautiful 4.7" screen. It doesn't sport the highest pixel density but all that goes out the window when you rent movies like 300 and The Dark Knight from the HTC Watch for only 49 cents! The HTC Watch is also a very nice addition to HTC phones that differentiate their products from the Nokia and Samsung Windows Phone offerings. I have no problem with the 12gb of storage that come with the phone. I have enough space for my music, movies, and podcasts. Everything looks better on the 4.7" screen. Perfect for web browsing, Bing maps, and the People hub. The 8mp camera is nice as well and being a video chat fan myself, Skype is perfect for a big screen. Call quality is right on the money and the speakerphone has strong and clear output. The HTC Titan is a sexy, sleek, and durable device you'll be proud to show off to your friends.
*Please note for T-Mobile customers, you will only get Edge network and will not be able to use the Internet sharing option. Video skips while loading(think this is an isolated issue) even though Wi-Fi speeds are incredible. Had some issues getting Connection Setup to get MMS configuration correct but eventually worked.

Build quality 10/10 Titan made of durable material. Feels really good in the hand and sleek for a big phone. Like how the back comes off to access the battery as well.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Never had a dropped call and never experienced problems with earpiece. Voices came through clear and consistent.
Internet 7/10 Being that this is an unlocked phone, at this time you will only get Edge network on T-Mobile. But everything works well when loaded.
Multimedia 10/10 Did I mention HTC Watch? Zune is beautiful. Need I say more?
Camera 8/10 Not the top rated camera but I am taking some really nice shots with the Titan. Front facing camera is good in decent lighting.
UI speed 10/10 It's Windows Phone. No lag!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Still waiting for update for disappearing keyboard bug. Otherwise, perfect keyboard.
Display 10/10 The 4.7" S-LCD is much improved over past efforts. Colors are vibrant and sharp.
Battery 9/10 Great usage out of this phone on a day to day basis.

Pros

  • 4.7" S-LCD screen
  • 12gb storage
  • Nice camera
  • Great battery life

Cons

  • Only gets Edge on T-Mobile
  • Experienced skips and stutters while video loads

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

OlliesLGO7
posted on 10 Mar 2012, 16:37 (Posts: 2; Member since: 10 Jun 2011)

10

The best phone out there at the moment !

OlliesLGO7 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Really do love this phone. Since June of 2011 I have had 3 windows phone 7 handsets. The LG Optimus 7 got run over by a car, and the Smasung Omnia 7 got submerged in water :/ Both devices I really enjoyed. However I wanted to raise the steaks a little of my next handset. As I don't buy phones on contract finding one proved hard. I came across the HD7 and fell in love with it. The soon realised that it was predeceased by the Titan, so i got the Titan. Everything is listed below. Overall best phone I have ever owned and I can name at least 25 in the last 4 years or so. One thing that isn't mentioned below is music. Other than the brilliant Zune experience the SRS enhancement is the best it is on any phone out there. With HTC Flat cable earphones the sound is deep, powerful and bassy, very clear with good midtones. Loud as well to drive larger headphones and speakers.

Build quality 10/10 Seamless panel gaps, aluminium construction, no squeaks or rattles. Feels solid in the hand. Anti - scratch coating on the display and a battery cover with a built in case design which I find fantastic. Buttons work with a reassuring click and a rubber coting on the bottom for increased comfort and grip.
Reception 10/10 Depends what network you chose. Initially I had Vodafone PAYG but the signal was terrible. Then moved to Orange who use T-Mobile masts and the single is sound, even in underground parking lotts.
Call quality 10/10 Clear, crisp voices on each ends of the phones. Noise cancelation works well.
Internet 10/10 Typical WP7 experience. Smooth, sweet and easy to use. Very very fast and efficient.
Multimedia 10/10 Other than the brilliant Zune experience the SRS enhancement is the best it is on any phone out there. With HTC Flat cable earphones the sound is deep, powerful and bassy, very clear with good midtones. Loud as well to drive larger headphones and speakers. However having this on will produce graphic lag on certain apps and games. HTC knwos about this and says and update is in the works.
Camera 10/10 Clear crisp images with a very good photo enhancer offered by HTC. Photos are natural and bright but I only use the camera for quick point and shots, self-portraits and group photos. Not much else so I’m not an expert, but more than good enough for me. LED flashes work very well, also doubling up as a very powerful flash light.
UI speed 10/10 Flawless. Android can learn a lot hear. The previous two WP7's i had had 1 GHz processors, the Titan has 1.5 and to be honest I can’t tell the difference, only when playing games. WP7 doesn’t need fast processors, explains why they are lower the regulations for tango devices.
Everyday usage 10/10 The phone is 100% reliable. No lags, never crashes. Everything works fast and efficiently with no fuss, yet it always keeps making me smile. WP7 is a phone for the more professional person in my mind.
Text input 10/10 Predictive text is actually quite poor. Microsoft should sort this. However the input is precise and accurate and shouldn't be too much of a bother.
Display 10/10 4.7 inch super LCD is beautiful. Glorious to use and easy to read. Can use the phone for long periods of time without getting tiered. Display is bright, clear and crisp, and I don’t know what people are talking about when they say the Titan has low pixel density. It is fine.
Battery 10/10 Considering the battery is powering a WP7 OS, 1.5 GHz CPU and a 4.7 inch display, I have had 2 days use out of one charge while listening to music for 2 hours, and periodically checking my Facebook news feeds and emails every half an hour or so. I’m happy with the battery life. No different to my Omnia 7 with a smaller, 'energy efficient' AMOLED display.

Pros

  • High quality construction and good use of materials
  • Stylish but reserved
  • Display clarity and size
  • Battery considering *
  • Camera and useful flash/ Flash light
  • WP7 Mango
  • Music soudn quality
  • Call quality

Cons

  • Known fault by HTC - SRS enabled resaults in graphic lag on certain apps and games.

OlliesLGO7 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

evolutionqy7
posted on 20 Feb 2012, 11:08 (Posts: 38; Member since: 27 May 2011)

10

HTC Thumbs Up

evolutionqy7 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

So far really good, everything working fine, its fast, battery life is only getting better by the day, no real problems in the operations. Build quality got 9 cause the metal part is slippery as hell and makes me shiver from the feeling of touching it. Internet can be a little bit slow sometimes, camera really good compared to HD7, display is awesome but still no AMOLED.

Awesome phone. Though wish we had Focus S in Ireland. Would definetly opt in for that over the Titan

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Screen Size
  • Extremely fast
  • Fluid operation
  • Interface is easy to understand and use

Cons

  • Slippery metal coating (or none)
  • HTC's SRS WOW Enchancement App reduces performance
  • Sometimes hard to connect to WiFi

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

devon613
posted on 11 Feb 2012, 12:47 (Posts: 38; Member since: 13 Oct 2011)

8

great phone but mine keeps shutting off by its slef and my keyboard keeps disappearing

devon613 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

when the phone works right its great but lately it has been rebooting by itself also when im typing my keyboard keeps dissapearing...............also dont like it inturrupting me while on bluetooth and im playing a song.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 5/10 no one can ever hear me and its hard to hear other people
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 2/10 keyboard keeps going away
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • size
  • software
  • quickness
  • games
  • local search

Cons

  • call quality
  • text dissapears
  • multitasking not that great
  • no save option on videos

devon613 alternatives:

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yodanim
posted on 23 Jan 2012, 15:25 (Posts: 7; Member since: 16 Sep 2011)

10

Best phone I've ever used, coming from previous iPhone user, and owner of ICS Motorola XOOM

yodanim has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

awesome phone. awesome playform. has built-in facebook, twitter, windows live, and LinkedIn integration. Awesome camera with, once again, built in - panorama mode, auto-fix, face detection, effects, filters, facebook and other social uploads with BUILT-IN facebook tagging and geo-tagging. It's not app-centric. it's just built in. People will ask you about it's the smartphone best kept secret!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • it's a windows phone
  • great camera
  • front facing camera
  • good to excellent battery life for heavy users like me

Cons

  • muffled call quality
  • no gorilla glass
  • tricky to reach power button

yodanim alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

eyup_aydin
posted on 15 Mar 2012, 04:06 (Posts: 13; Member since: 23 Sep 2010)

10

Very good work...

eyup_aydin has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nothing to say, Just HTC TITAN.
Really excellent phone ever from HTC.
Its already beat all other phones and also other WP7 phones.
Design: Large screen and very good.
UI: very speed.
Internet: IE9 very fast and as on desktop version.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

eyup_aydin alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

snowgator
posted on 16 Jul 2012, 09:48 (Posts: 3159; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)

6

Edited from December review- cannot recommend it anymore...

snowgator has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The screen sits at 4.7", and is a very good experience. The live tiles of the UI are a joy to use on this screen, although it seems the stand out better against a white background than the black. One of the huge advantages of WP is the smooth experience, and the Titan is fine. But it is not the best performer in this regard- I have found the Samsung Focus S a little better on the responses. The portrait keyboard is very roomy. A lot of screens only work in portrait mode. The landscape keyboard is a joy to use.
Solid aluminum build, fantastic eye catching design, good heavy feel without being too cumbersome, and yes it will fit in most pockets comfortably. The only gripe, and I am splitting hairs, is the strange button layout. Why is the power button all the way at the top of such a large device? Why put both the camera button and volume rocker on the same side and leave the left side empty when both could have been centered in more natural positions? Any owner would get used to this in a matter of days, so it is not much of a concern. The Camera may be among the best on the market right now. Amazing reproductions both outdoors and indoors, wonderful macro (close in) details, wonderful extras like burst mode which takes several shots with one push, an amazing panoramic setting which is a breeze to use, wonderful edit options for a mobile phone and a dual flash. HTC really has stepped up the game here.
Multimedia loads really well, but remember WP does not support flash....  

Build quality 5/10 Just a solid, balanced, well designed phone. On third unit. Just disappointing.
Reception 4/10 The last two units have had unacceptable reception. The first unit was great.
Call quality 5/10 Speaker phone is average, ear piece is strong but not as clear as other devices. First unit developed an echo for callers so bad they stopped calling.
Internet 10/10 Loads up without hesitation or lag. Great experience.
Multimedia 8/10 Without memory options, hard to give any WP a 10. But the experience is great, videos are a joy to watch on the big screen, and the Zune player is great. Audio suffers a little from the speakers.
Camera 10/10 Only gave it a 10 because I couldn't type in a 11. Tremendous camera.
UI speed 10/10 Only the hardware would could take away from the WP Metro UI experience, and the Titan has great hardware.
Everyday usage 6/10 Hoping for better luck on unit #3.
Text input 10/10 Great, spacious keyboards in both modes. WP also has a great predictive mode.
Display 9/10 Great, huge display. I have found some of the colors do not "pop" as great as they could, but it will not disappoint.
Battery 7/10 Kinda unpredictable, so a little unreliable.

Pros

  • Elite camera.
  • Wonderful screen.
  • Smooth experience.
  • Eye catching design.

Cons

  • Call quality should be better and reception are just plain bad.
  • Battery life has been tough to predict for us.
  • Be sure to understand memory limitations.
  • OS is still maturing.
  • Not all screens work in landscape, which can be inconvienient.
  • HTC has not released any software updates.
  • Originally gave it a "9". So disappointing.

snowgator alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

JesterB
posted on 30 Nov 2011, 18:45 (Posts: 16; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)

9

Love it

JesterB has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

In a world today where Iphone's and Droids rule the market its great to have another option. People who don't give this phone a chance are crazy. The large screen makes typing a breeze and watching video's amazing. The processor powers through any obstacle with no lag or delay and games are flawless. Windows Office on this phone is also great because now you have a screen big enough to do it justice. Now i know most people are immediately thinking its probably too big... I have had many devices and this is one of the lightest ive ever owned. The phone is also not intrusive when you have it in your pocket. Overall I am very impressed with windows and it will be very hard to go back to IOS or Droid with the simplicity i have learned to appreciate with windows.

Build quality 10/10 Flawless
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 I had a few dropped calls but i switched my sim card and havent had a problem sense.
Internet 10/10 very responsive. Large screen.
Multimedia 8/10 No true youtube App is a little frustrating but Supertube is more than enough.
Camera 10/10 Best camera I have used so far.
UI speed 10/10 No Lag or issues
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 It doesn't get any easier
Display 9/10 400x800 is not bad with this device but if it only had a higher resolution....
Battery 8/10 Its better than i thought it would be but you cant expect 30+hours on a device with this big of screen

Pros

  • Great Build Quality
  • Amazing Camera
  • Windows Phone Mango surprised me
  • Light and thin

Cons

  • No True Yotube App
  • 400x800 Resolution

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

oldhamletman
posted on 26 Nov 2011, 13:48 (Posts: 23; Member since: 03 Sep 2011)

10

top notch with 80% bigger screen than iphone 4s

oldhamletman has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have the Titan.... it's a top flight product... wp7 works fantastic, syncs calendars email contacts etc perfectly etc. so I'm sold on the OS... this review is thus re: hardware

pro:
-very good performance, never lags ever, smooth zoom and pan in every app
-stable, I've been a windows phone guy since day one and I've never had a hang or app crash... the OS works perfect no matter what you are doing...
- build quality is like a museum piece.... very solid, perfect feeling product
- huge screen... 4.7 inch is awesome, much better view-ability for web pages and video is incredible... like a tablet
- battery life is great... more than a day with heavy wifi and bluetooth use
- size... for a 4.7 screen, it is surprisingly thin and only about 1/4 inch bigger than other smartphones... very pocketable
- screen brightness is very high... when compared to focus s side by side with both screens on max, the Titan is FAR brighter and more vibrant, no contest best screen I've ever seen
- crazy loud speakerphone... I like having the volume if necessary... . great feature

con:
- none, really, none

Myths:
- the screen resolution is too low at this large size... this is not true... the 199dpi is still very high, and I find it very sharp and usable.. I think that browser optimization is needed for high zoom on pages with this resolution, but pixel density is still high, so it's not a hardware thing.... there are other browsers available and more win phone updates coming, so I'm not worried,...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories