x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Pure User Reviews

8.3 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Display8.3/10
Reception6.3/10
Battery5.3/10
Call quality6.7/10
Internet8/10
Multimedia7/10
Camera6.7/10
UI speed6/10
Everyday usage5.3/10
Text input6/10
Build quality8.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

sKourge
posted on 03 Mar 2011, 10:03

3

Crap phone

sKourge has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Constant freezing, and bugging out, calls fading in and out, texting is damn near impossible.

"Keyboard" is too small in that you NEED the stylus to text and look like a tool.

I restart the thing atleast 5 times a day because it always freezes when texting or receiving a text. I have no "custom" apps or anything. Everything on this phone is stock the way it came, other than the patch updated I downloaded directly from ATT. This is the first Windows OS phone I ever had and because of this first impression, I likely will not go back. Goes to show the same amount of work they put into their computer OS.

Internet explorer doesnt work, Firefox is "ok", runs really slow and does not display Flash content at all... and neither does IE.

Camera is horrible in low light areas. Even in lighted areas, its very dark. Unless you are outside and the sun is directly on top of you, you will not get a good picture at all.

Speaker is horrible, too bad it cannot be equalized. Sound has WAAYYY too much treble and sounds like constant hissing. Same goes for recording video. No matter what you record, it sounds like a high pitched hiss.



Stick with Android OS.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 3/10 Reception clarity is good, but its pointless if every 10 seconds your volume lowers for about 5 seconds and the other caller cant hear you.
Call quality 3/10
Internet 5/10 Only Firefox works, very slow browsers and does not display a majority of content it should.
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 1/10 Camera flat out sux
UI speed 2/10 Slow, buggy
Everyday usage 1/10 Giving a 1 because I shouldnt have to restart it 5 times a day to get it to work properly for awhile
Text input 2/10 lol @ stylus. Are we in the 90s? Texting sux in general, always freezing and locking up.
Display 6/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Its a phone

Cons

  • Camera
  • speaker
  • OS
  • Internet browsers
  • Horrible texting experience
  • This phone

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MarloThaMartian
posted on 27 Dec 2010, 22:31 (Posts: 41; Member since: 27 Dec 2010)

7

Hate it

MarloThaMartian has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

At first I loved this phone. I got it way before windows 7 was anounced. After it was announced this phone started acting up. It froze, The text message notifications wouldnt go away, my social networks wont update like they're supposed to. The camera is pretty cool on this phone. The memory in this phone sucks. I have nothing in this phone and I dnt know where all my memory is going. They dont update this phone so dont bother buying!!!!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Camera

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ZEKE
posted on 19 Nov 2010, 10:35

9.3

PIMP PHONE

ZEKE has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

FAST SMALL I CAN OVER CLOCK IT RUN AND ANDRIOD 

Battery 6/10
Display 10/10
Text input 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Camera 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Internet 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Build quality 10/10

Pros

  • DUAL BOOT
  • WINDOWS MOBILE 6.5

Cons

  • SOME TIMES IT FREEZS

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 25 Jul 2010, 17:44

8.3

ive owned this phone now for about 2 months and i like it alot..but there are some downsides. would i recommend this to a friend??? Yes i would...it has a nice screen size on it..but the keyboard is really small and you have to use the stylus almost all the time to text...other than that and the low sound volume its a really nice phone

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • nice looking, screen size, camera, windows mobile 6.5

Cons

  • confusing at first, sound volume, bit laggy at times.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

futureray
posted on 17 Dec 2009, 14:20

9.3

HTC Pure - Fits me Perfectly

This a great basic Windows Mobile Phone. I had it now for two weeks after waiting for the Omnia II. When it came down to it my final decision had more to do with contract and the network than the phone. The Pure has all the items I felt was a must to justify the cost of a data plan. And coming from using a Blackberry Pearl, this is a major leap forward.

SOFTWARE
The things I love, 6,500 + FREE applications to customize a nice smartphone platform. Many of the things I was interesting with the Omnia II I have been able to download on to the Pure, include the Swype. GPS programs are plenty and free, though if you like the navigation of the Driod it is available for Windows. Even the TouchFlo (HTC interface) can be disabled or altered, Dixv player installed, works well with facebook and Windows Live. Love having MS Mobile Office on board. Even a free trial of next Office version available from MS Marketplace though I have yet to try. Phone needs to be soft boot once a day, takes about 30 secs, if you are like me and really use the phone, otherwise it slows down a bit.

HARDWARE
I love the screen, and the fact AT&T provided a free screen protector to start. It right size for me, not to big and not too small. Stylus is in the right location. Camera the software needs improvement, hard to take great pictures, but they are not terrfible neither. Volume rockers lacks a positive feel. Calls are clear in Central NY. 3.5mm...  

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Windows mobile 6.5, easy to use, customizable, nice screen

Cons

  • Needs flash and/or software update for camera function

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Nov 2009, 14:23

10

great phone

 This phone has been great and I've loved it ever since i received it. I've used many Windows Mobile phones and this one has to be the easiest and most problem free phone i've had. The screen resolution is AMAZING and the graphics look really nice, especially the weather tab. 
HTC has done an EXCELLENT job with this phone and the other phones they have look just as nice

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Touch screen is very responsive, High resolution screen!

Cons

  • The screen is smaller then some people may like but its not really a con for me, i actually like the small screen.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jake
posted on 11 Oct 2009, 21:04

9.7

htc pure review

150 dollar upgrade price for a phone with this many features, stability, and mobile office is hard to complain about. the only problems i've had with the phone is the lack of a multi-touch screen. other complaints would be just weird build, why put such a good speaker on the right side? it sounds like a stereo that the left speaker went out on, lol. other than that, no problems with software(and i like 3rd party apps like skyfire, s2u2, ect. going from an lg incite to this i really didn't realize what i was missing out on. i downloaded all my favorite apps and then turned around and deleted them all because of touch flo 3d. the only other complaint i could come up with isn't actually against the phone but the carrier att throwing so much junk on it. you only end up with half your memory...

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • internet, keyboard, sound, voice, display, battery life...nevermind i'll just goto cons ;)

Cons

  • speaker on side sounds weird, multi-touch screen almost required these days. stop throwing crap on your phones at&t!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dylan_Snow
posted on 10 Oct 2009, 15:26

10

HTC PURE

this is a great phone!
A More Intimate Conversation
In today’s world, a conversation can take many forms, from voice to text...but there’s always a person on the other end. The HTC PURE arranges your conversations by people, not just by how you speak with them.
When looking at your contacts, you now can see a history of your conversation in whatever form it took place. It doesn’t matter if you get asked about a recent email while you are talking on the phone, or if you’re in a café reminiscing about a friend’s recent text — all your interactions are neatly laid out for viewing and follow-up in a tree of communication with that person.
Broaden Your Vision
One indisputable fact about smartphones...a big screen on a small phone is good. That’s why we’ve stretched the display on the HTC PURE to its very limits, while still keeping the same compact size. Enjoy videos, websites, photos and any other images on the ultra sharp wide screen display. The high resolution screen will reveal every minute detail in the most vivid way.
Beautiful Yet Capable
 
These days, a phone is one of the few items that never leaves our side. It not only helps us keep connected with friends, business partners and world events, it also helps complement who we are. The HTC PURE is your perfect companion in both the way it helps you keep in the loop and the way it accentuates your sense of style.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Stylish, and basically everything else

Cons

  • NOTHING! overall good phone ment to be the successor of the diamond:)

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories