x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC One (M8) User Reviews

9.7 Based on 67 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.7/10
Battery9.6/10
Reception9.7/10
Display9.8/10
Build quality9.9/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.8/10
UI speed9.9/10
Camera8.9/10
Multimedia9.8/10
Internet9.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

syedsaif
posted on 23 Nov 2014, 17:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Nov 2014)

10

Best phone of this era..

syedsaif has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

When I was deciding which phone to buy I was considering Xperia Z2 because I have heard that camera of Z2 is much better than any other phone but I selected this piece of art because of its build quality, and after I have bought it I can say that the camera of Z2 is slightly better than M8 not much better. From camera to sound , clarity of voice to accurate touch , Believe me when I say each and every thing is awesome in this phone.. i am very very happy user of this phone thanks Htc and thanks phone arena as well for providing me oppurtunity to present my review about Htc one M8..

Build quality 10/10 Aluminium body of M8 is so beautiful and it feels awesome in my palm.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Crystal clear voice .
Internet 10/10 As good as it can be in current technological phase.
Multimedia 10/10 I will rate it more than 10 if I could, because of its speakers.. excellent..
Camera 10/10 I am fully satisfied with its result camera of this device is better than lot of other company's flagship devices camera. I can say this because i have used so called top brands of today..
UI speed 10/10 Just one word.. AWESOME..
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 I am using this phone for 4months and so far no mistake has been done by this device..
Display 10/10 Colours: Excellent Sharpness: Excellent Brightness: Excellent Size: Perfect
Battery 10/10 Once fully charged can last for more than 1.5 days.

Pros

  • Stereo speaker
  • Aluminium body
  • 5Mp front facing camera
  • Duo back camera
  • Will be upgraded to android 5 lollipop

Cons

syedsaif alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

LetThereBeLight
posted on 20 Nov 2014, 15:33 (Posts: 1; Member since: 20 Nov 2014)

10

awesome phone BUT

LetThereBeLight has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

it is awesome with a lot strong feature like it is fast, very fast, awesome speakers nice line out music quality and volume. i even like the camera as well cause i think this megapixel hype is overrated since you wont go to take serious pics with a mobile, it is for instagram and facebook, but this dual camera features are quite fun, the focus speed could be better and this weird layer on the camera lens which is easily scraching is bizarr but you can remove it with a cotton tip and some toothpaste in 10 min accordng to a highly appretiated youtube video. funny. so the big BUT is the speakers. it sound awesome and facing to you even sound more clear and louder but here is the BIG BUT: when you make a VOIP call and hold the phone into your ear and you have a gsm call and this speaker is ringing directly to your ear from that close it is not so pleasent and you tend to think HTC should think this concept more carefully, there should be a safety software wall to ring only the bottom speaker when the proximity sensor sense you or always maybe... anyway however this is a serious issue the phone is great. sometimes not to often miss my first touch my first letter but it can be the third party keyboard issue as well . i dont feel the speaker that clear and loud under a normal phonecall like it was for example the lumia 1520, but, after all i really really like it as an everyday mate.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 the view angle could be better
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • fast
  • beutiful
  • notification led (exist)
  • speakers
  • ui and htc design android however they removed my beloved animated weaher feature from sense
  • line out audio dynamic and volume
  • dual camera features
  • ANDROID OS
  • microsd slot

Cons

  • speaker ear damage issue under voip call
  • only bichrome notification led
  • not waterproof
  • camera lens layer
  • onscreen buttons (just a little problem since just a couple cases when it is disapears but stil)
  • no dedicated camera button (big mistake)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Trex95
posted on 20 Nov 2014, 03:18 (Posts: 571; Member since: 03 Mar 2013)

10

Fablous phone

Trex95 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I'm rocking 2 phones the M8 and Note 4 Octa core and to be honest M8 better than Note 4 except the keyboard and camera. Yeah know that Note 4 has quad HD SupeSuAMOLED but M8 1080p has better brghtiness and better white that really looks white not pinikish like Super AMOLED , don't get me wrong I stiIl prefer Note 4 in some area like keyboard and camera.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • On screen buttons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

AgentZero
posted on 29 Oct 2014, 20:34 (Posts: 4; Member since: 16 Aug 2014)

10

best phone i have ever held

AgentZero has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

im a phone expert worked with many phones (s5 , iphone 5s/6, note 4 , g2 g3 ) nothing comes close to this and the main reason is the design and build quality ! this phone makes every other phone feel like trash ! the ui speed is as fast as it can get it will never lag and it will get the tasks u want done , the screen is fantastic (there is not much of a difference between QHD and 1080p and the performance sacrifice isn't worth it , the camera (which is a hot argument ) is good enough for a phone if u are a person that takes photos on the go without cropping and zooming more than 2 times then this camera is good , if u want the best in photography look somewhere else , the macro shots are great , the speakers are the best on the market , battery life is good enough , around 6-7 hours of screen on time and if will last u more than a day with medium/ heavy use .
All I can say is right now , this is the complete phone , it does everything in a good way and some in a fantastic way , you can never go bad with this , I had enough savings to go for a note 4 or an iphone 6 but I got the one m8 and I don't regret it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jamant76
posted on 01 Oct 2014, 13:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Sep 2014)

10

HTC ONE M8 Harman Kardon Edition

jamant76 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought the HTC One M8 Harman Kardon Edition a few months ago when I signed up with Sprint. I owned a Samsung S5 previously, and the build on the One M8 is by far better. It feels like a quality item, with good weight and nice materials. My only "complaints" would be the phone is quite slippery without a case, but that is minor in my opinion. Also, the stock charging cable is quite short. It made me feel like I bought an Apple product. Again, not too big of a deal. I love the speakers, as they are plenty loud enough to watch a video or listen to music without having to cup your hand awkwardly as you would if the speaker was on the back of the phone (like the S5). The display is great as well. I use the phone outdoors often in direct sunlight with no issues. Pictures, videos and such display in great colors like you would expect from a high end smart phone. I also use a Zagg tempered glass screen protector on my phone for extra protection from scratches and it works great without any degredation of screen viewing quality. I am not a camera pro by any stretch of the imagination, but it has been sufficient for me to use here and there. If you are an avid photgrapher I would imagine you own a DSLR and don't solely rely on your phone for taking pictures. Overall, I would say the M8 is pretty close to perfect. I think the only thing I would change is the fact that the battery isn't removable. I definitely recommend this phone to anyone who might be on the fence about buying it. ...  

Build quality 10/10 Feels great in hand and feels like it is made with top materials. A bit slippery with no case, however.
Reception 10/10 No issues at all with reception.
Call quality 10/10 All my calls have been fine. I had issues here and there with my Samsung as far as callers sounding like they were far away or talking from inside a tin can, but have not had issues so far with the HTC.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Great speakers
Camera 9/10 Kind of grainy when you zoom a distance, but still functions fine for what it is; a cell phone camera.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 The M8 does everything I need it to do. I put it through the paces daily and the battery is sufficient enough to last all day.
Text input 10/10 I didn't care for the HTC stock keyboard, so I downloaded the Google keyboard and am very happy with that.
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 The battery lasts pretty well considering I am using my M8 all day. I only gave it a 9 because the battery isn't removable.

Pros

  • High quality look and feel
  • Good battery life under moderate use
  • Display is clear and bright even in direct sunlight
  • Speakers are loud and clear for music and videos
  • Pretty nice earbuds are included

Cons

  • Phone is slippery without a case
  • Battery isn't removable

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dthomas97
posted on 30 Sep 2014, 11:31 (Posts: 2; Member since: 24 Sep 2014)

10

Best phone ive ever owned

dthomas97 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love this phone soooo much I've had the iPhone 5s and this is by far the better device I never knew how cool android was and how it does more. One thing I wish was a tad better was battery life I mean who doesn't won't more battery life now days but the battery is good though gets me thru a day easily. Well that's about it the phone is great in everyway even the camera is good even though phonearena disagrees.

Build quality 10/10 Best design and build quality ever!l
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Design
  • Multimedia
  • Speed

Cons

  • Almost prefect battery life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

WPage24
posted on 13 Sep 2014, 22:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Sep 2014)

10

HTC One M8- Harman/Kardon Edition

WPage24 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is a beautifully built phone that offers all of the advanced technology and smooth operation of the HTC One M8 combined with the supreme sound technology of Harman Kardon audio. I truly believe this phone has the best overall audio on the market right now. The front facing speakers are very loud yet still contain much depth and clarity, and Clari-Fi and LiveStage make the headphone listening incredible. It is a must have if you are an intense music listener.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Beautiful Exterior Design
  • Supreme Audio Quality
  • Advanced features

Cons

  • Battery could be a little better when not in Power Saver mode
  • Maximum screen brightness and minimum brightness could be better

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

na7noo7
posted on 12 Sep 2014, 22:56 (Posts: 271; Member since: 29 Mar 2014)

10

Best phone, behind the Galaxy Note 4 some of the prime devices, and the LG G3.

na7noo7 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have this phone right now, waiting to get a Note 4. My experience was great, having an aluminum unibody design, it could've beat the S5 (the HTC M8x and the Butterfly 2 did, so get the M8x) S-LCD screen bests the Retina screen on the iPhone 5S and the GS5. Camera needs more megapixels though. Speakers were GREAT.

Build quality 10/10 Aluminum Unibody was great, I like the wrap-around metal, and it was the most premium looking for a flagship.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Needs more megapixels, but still, a great phone.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 Gives me a full day.

Pros

  • Metal design
  • Great screen
  • Great front camera
  • Duo-rear camera (4MP + 2MP)
  • Dual-Front Stereo Speakers
  • Slim

Cons

  • Rear camera needs more megapixels.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

roberto-van-franchesco
posted on 11 Sep 2014, 06:25 (Posts: 1; Member since: 19 Nov 2012)

10

HTC M8 - Less features than an S5, lower specs than a Z2 and less intuitive than and iPhone 5s yet I still Love it the most!

roberto-van-franchesco has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I`ve been a long time HTC fan but have an extensive experience with all Galaxy devices from s2 to s5 (don`t like them : ( ) and many LG and Sony models. However the m8 trumps them all, not in specs or features but in practicality and does what a phone and media hub does best. Its fluid, snappy and always ready when you need it. You can launch the music app from the lockscreen and control media without unlocking as well as quick launch the camera, flashlight and calculator. The wake gestures work well and the phone is wonderfully contoured to sit comfortably in the hand. The buttons protrude nicely and have a crisp response, not mushy like some others. The speakers are a bliss, they are so loud and really practical if I need to show some friends or family a video clip or song. The camera is also really nice as in its versatile. The per pixel detail is great and quality hardly degrades in low light. The two tone flash also works pretty well, negating some of that nasty washout and poor white balance issues usually associated with flash, however low light is so good you rarely need to use it. Batterylife is also great. You can pretty much leave the device in powersaver mode with only conserve cpu checked which restricts cpu from 2.5ghz (I have the asian variant) to 1.1ghz. Since the soc is so fast anyway it rarely makes a difference except for ht occasional stutter stuttering fast scrolling or something, doesn`t affect game performance either and batterlife is two days easy, three...  

Build quality 10/10 But it gets scratches and dents
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Really good, earpiece speaker is richer and louder than pretty much all others and noise cancelling mic works well and as intended
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Simply the best, bright screen that is visible in broad daylight, super loud speakers with a rich mid-centric sound and audible bass at high volumes, headphone output is sublime, like having a fiio e6 connected to an iPhone, so much power and clarity, further improved with project era, harmon kardon audio is a waste of time. Headphone has background hiss despite clean readings, so be warned.
Camera 8/10 Actually a great camera, slaughters galaxy devices in low light (including s4 and 5), indoor shots look nice but shutter speed slows down considerably and blur is introduced due to lack of ois, camera is much better than htc m7 camera even though its the same sensor, lacks contrast sometimes which leads to unnecessary detail destroying bloom, overall the best 4mp camera you will likely ever see but still 4mp!
UI speed 10/10 Super fast even in powersaver mode, otherwise pretty much locked at 60, reminiscent of nexus devices
Everyday usage 10/10 Great, can share vids and songs with friends using those awesome speakers, screen is nice and bright, ui is snappy as can be and storage is super fast so copying files and opening apps/browsing is fast as well, camera is really fast in most conditions, you can open most essential applications without unlocking and wake gestures actually work pretty well
Text input 10/10 Input is fairly consistant, autocorrect is relatively unobtrusive and swipe works well
Display 10/10 Bright, well calibrated and rich yet balanced colours, I like it!
Battery 10/10 Easy one and a half days heavy use, three days light, I average around 2 days.

Pros

  • Build
  • IR Blaster is a blast
  • Speakers
  • Headphone out
  • Display is vibrant
  • UI is super fast and looks clean
  • Quick access essential apps

Cons

  • Camera, honestly HTC?!
  • ^Actually not that bad but still kinda a shame since the rest of the phone is so great
  • On-screen buttons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fadyrefaat
posted on 10 Sep 2014, 01:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Sep 2014)

9

The best phone I ever had

fadyrefaat has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I usually am not the person to easily impress, but this specific phone changed all that! this is literally a superphone, I am completely satisfied owning it and feels like I'm not gonna think of a change anytime soon, I am impressed with many features and there's a lot to love about this phone, long live HTC!

Build quality 9/10 Aluminum Chassis & excellent finish
Reception 9/10
Call quality 7/10 in-call speaker needs a bit of improvement in voice clarity
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10 Boomsound speakers rock!
Camera 8/10 Camera has good color tones and very fast focusing and image capture
UI speed 10/10 Very smooth, very responsive!
Everyday usage 10/10 Amazing, very responsive and reliable, amazing software package
Text input 8/10 Keyboards is sometimes inaccurate
Display 8/10 good display and colors, but less than the competition
Battery 8/10 Needs a higher capacity battery to last up to the competition

Pros

  • Sense UI
  • Speed & responsiveness
  • Boomsound speakers
  • fast images and video camera
  • unibody aluminum construction
  • elegant and decent physical design
  • selfie camera
  • strong and accurate flash tones

Cons

  • Battery life
  • phone is bulky

fadyrefaat alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JPWSPEED
posted on 10 Sep 2014, 00:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Sep 2014)

9

From an Experienced Owner

JPWSPEED has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

My last phone was the iPhone 4s, with experience jailbreaking. Before that poor device, I owned the HTC EVO 4G, the world's first 4G phone (With experience rooting).

The HTC One M8 takes what was great on the EVO and makes it even better, adding in surround sound. The version I own is the Harman/Kardon Edition and is an AMAZING device for audiophiles and average consumers alike.

Build quality 9/10 With solid metal surrounding the device, the HTC One M8 feels like a strong and sturdy machine. However, a plastic top end, "jiggly" volume rocker, and terrifying vibration motor keep this device from reaching a 10/10.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10 With Sprint's HD Voice, the HTC One M8's call quality is incredibly crisp and dynamic, easily the best in any flagship phone on today's market.
Internet 8/10 The stock internet app is a bit cumbersome, but can be overcome by apps like Chrome and Dolphin Browser. Internet speeds vary depending on 3G, 4G, and 4G Spark availability but tend to be just as fast as WiFi. On Sprint's Spark network, speeds easily outpace those of consumer WiFi.
Multimedia 10/10 I was very skeptical about the advantage of having dual surround speakers; however the HTC One M8's surround speakers create an immersive sound that engulfs you in the richest sound in any smartphone on the market. The Harman/Kardon Edition builds on this with special software and amplification that take this device's capabilities to a whole new playing field.
Camera 7/10 The rear camera of the HTC One M8 is sad. It's software and duo camera setup shows so much possibility, but was poorly executed. The duo camera makes focusing much faster and opens up a range of possible effects that no other phone on the market can offer as well at the M8. The two color flash creates low light images that are not white-washed or blue like many other smartphones. The issue with this camera is the low resolution that reduces the wow effect of the great images that it is capable o
UI speed 9/10 With 2GB of RAM, the UI is plenty fast. Google and BlinkFeed seem to get in the way a bit, and while both are very useful, they seem to pop up at just the wrong moment. This seems to slow even the simplest of tasks. The status bar seems to get cluttered very easily, making it impossible to read the time and your notifications.
Everyday usage 10/10 An absolute blast to use on a daily basis.
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 Full 1080HD and great color contrast make it just as good to look at as it is to listen to.
Battery 8/10 The battery will easily last a full day with heavy usage, but do not expect more that that. If you do need to go longer after heavy usage the day before, the extreme power-save mode will easily stretch it another day, but don't expect to do more than make phone calls, check your email and calendar, and send text messages.

Pros

  • Built Very Solid
  • Incredible Call Quality
  • Blazing Fast 4G Spark
  • Incredible Music Quality
  • Surround Speakers
  • Full 1080p Display
  • Plenty of Battery
  • Great Front Camera
  • Beautiful Design
  • Duo Camera
  • Up to 128GB SD Slot

Cons

  • Poor Vibration. Too loud and aggressive. It sounds like it is vibrating the device apart.
  • Rear Camera is Disappointing
  • Plenty of Bloatware
  • Status Bar is Easily Cluttered
  • Non-Removable Battery

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lirox
posted on 09 Sep 2014, 18:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Sep 2014)

10

really just an amazing phone

Lirox has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

That phone is the best ive ever had, the camera, the speed, the high resolution that are the reasons to buy it and not enough it also looks just so nice *_* :D haha
Also special is the extreme battery safe mode with them you can use the phone 3 days and more

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RK7779
posted on 07 Sep 2014, 20:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Sep 2014)

10

The benchmarks are wrong!(somehow mine got a much higher score =O)

RK7779 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Fantastic phone full stop. I've had the iPhone 4S, 5S, Galaxy S4, S5 and even got to test the LG G3 for a short time. This phone is by far the top phone of 2014 IMO. Sense is just amazing and highly intuitive. The boomsound speakers are sensational. The build quality. well, i'm speechless. The camera- i can live with(although a bit of a let down). It does perform very well in low light though. Now, to the benchmarks, i benchmarked my M8 and it managed to get very different results to those of phone arena's test. i got :

AnTuTu- 45988( #1 benchmark, higher than the M8T, G3 , Xiaomi MI3W, S5 and Note 3)
Quadrant-25751
Vellamo Metal- 1558( below the +1, higher than the G3, S5 )

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Unibody design
  • BoomSound speakers
  • Sense UI-Simple yet intuitive
  • fast overlay

Cons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TheCIScommander
posted on 14 Aug 2014, 20:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Aug 2014)

9

HTC One (M8) review and personal experience

TheCIScommander has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

After the death of my Nexus 4, which I had a love-hate relationship with, I started looking at a new phone to get. At first, I was considering the Nexus 5, for frequent software updates and great value. But I was intrigued by the HTC One, and decided for the first time, to purchase a phone that was not in the nexus line of products. I was not disappointed. I had very high hopes for the phone, as I read nothing but positive reviews for it. There are a plethora of things that this phone does really really well in, and only one thing that, by comparison to the rest of the phone, is pretty subpar. And even then, it doesn't do it poorly. The design is the first thing anyone will notice about the phone, and it gives a fantastic first impression. The aluminium unibody design is beautiful, and scratches on the silver model will not be terrible visible. I especially love the curve to the body and the speaker grilles on the front. It gives it a very slick appearance that I could stare at for ages. The next thing anyone will notice is the display, and again, this phone does it incredibly well, with fantastic sharpness, colours, contrast, gamma, and response times. The next thing most people will notice is the performance and UI of the phone, where it does it better than pretty much any other smartphone I've used. Performance is nearly lag free, and the touch responsiveness of the screen is actually faster than any other smartphone, including the iPhone 5s. It runs games well, too, because...  

Build quality 10/10 The aluminium unibody design is beautiful and nearly seamless. It is much improved from the One (M7), which had serious quality control issues.
Reception 9/10 Wifi and LTE very strong in majority of cases, with fast download and upload speeds.
Call quality 10/10 Blown away by the call quality. Incredibly loud and clear on both ends. This is probably because of the fantastic speakers in the phone.
Internet 9/10 Fast internet speeds and zippy performance all help internet browsing be a pleasant experience.
Multimedia 10/10 Probably the best smartphone for multimedia because of the great display with a commonly supported resolution and absolutely phenomenal front facing speakers
Camera 7/10 The one true weak point of the phone, pictures are usually under or overexposed, and sharpness, while good for a camera of its calibre, cannot compare to phones of a higher megapixel count. In scenes with not a lot of contrast, they look really good. But bright scenes with shadows, or even just a scene with a lot of dark and bright colours, it doesn't do as well. The Ufocus feature doesn't work all that well, and doesn't work at all for macro shots, which is what I wanted to use it for most. How
UI speed 10/10 Combination of the latest Snapdragon 801 with Adreno 330 GPU and the very light Sense 6 make UI nearly stutterless.
Everyday usage 10/10 Great looking UI, comfortable to hold, and plenty of actually useful features, such as the IR blaster and FM radio, which I use frequently, all add up to great everyday usage.
Text input 9/10 Stock keyboard is not good, but Google Keyboard and Swiftkey are available for free, and the large, sensitive and accurate touch screen make typing with the two latter keyboards very good.
Display 10/10 Unbelievable display quality. Very bright, great colours, deep blacks for an LCD, very good contrast ratio, relatively accurate colour temperature, very good gamma, good greyscales, wide viewing angles, and very fast response times for an LCD (not latency, this measures how quickly a pixel changes.LCDs usually have response times greater than 2 ms, while plasma, OLED, CRT, and projector displays have sub millisecond response times. Slower response times=motion blur) Only flaw is noticable dynami
Battery 10/10 Very impressed with battery life because of the efficient Snapdragon 801

Pros

  • Build Quality and Design are outstanding
  • Boomsound Speakers are the best in a smartphone or tablet, better than most laptops
  • Gorgeous display
  • Fantastic battery life
  • Amazing performance
  • Great software suite
  • Great Camera UI and feature set
  • The best multimedia experience on a smartphone

Cons

  • Very situational camera quality
  • Ufocus is incredibly inconsistent

TheCIScommander alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DavvyGhotra
posted on 01 Aug 2014, 06:40 (Posts: 11; Member since: 24 Jul 2014)

10

htc one m8 honest review

DavvyGhotra has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

this device is awsome its beyond words, TRUST ME. I have used each and every mobile phone but #htc i doing a really great job since they came into the markit , but i started following htc from last years htc one m7 . SO if you want to fullfil your every need then HERE IS THE CHANGE .

Build quality 10/10 beyond words !
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 what you think with BOOMSOUND speaker you gonna get? its fucking clear !
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 well ,i know its just 4 mg ultrapixel but its best for me coz its best for social networking sites even on laptop screen its best for me.
UI speed 10/10 awsome bro!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 its the best display out there , TRUST ME !
Battery 10/10 I GET 1 n half day on full charge , TRUST ME !

Pros

  • its best

Cons

  • just a displly needed that doesnt need a ugly screen protector .

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RedblackG
posted on 30 Jul 2014, 10:43 (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Dec 2011)

9

Highly satisfied

RedblackG has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

What a phone! I am an HTC lover in the first place, and they didn't fail to impress me with the M8. I was concerned having a phone with such a large screen for battery reasons but I have yet to hit below 35% after using it for a full day. I would say I am a moderate user.

The boom sound has been an adequate replacement for the Beats Audio I had in my previous HTC.

Overall, very much worth the money spent on this device. Build quality is impeccable and I am very happy with this device.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10 I can't blame this on HTC entirely as I do live in a ground floor apartment but I have had a few people who have had better reception with different phones in my apartment.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10 The size of the screen sometimes makes it difficult to reach from one end to the other with one hand.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Large display
  • High quality display
  • Fast processor

Cons

  • Non-removable battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

SilverCenturion
posted on 30 Jul 2014, 02:50 (Posts: 7; Member since: 12 Jun 2014)

10

Mind=Blown

SilverCenturion has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It feels great in Hand. Display is the best thing compared to other flagships. Fluidic UI, great Build quality, best sound. Camera is OK but not what we expect from this price. Good for daily usage... Finally ,I'm not a heart patient who need a heart rate senor :P I'm not a professional business man who want finger scanner for bank transactions and others :P.. i"m happy with my phone

Build quality 10/10 Kudos HTC
Reception 10/10 Incomparable
Call quality 10/10 Super fine
Internet 10/10 It depends on your data plan and signal strength :P
Multimedia 10/10 Have no inbuilt equalizer but thanks to play store. I recommend Bass Booster for headset users.
Camera 9/10 Fair Enough
UI speed 10/10 Sorry I can't count :P
Everyday usage 10/10 Number '1' in this category
Text input 10/10 Latest update sucks
Display 10/10 No comments
Battery 10/10 2 good... 2 days with moderate usage

Pros

  • Everything..

Cons

  • Camera - not flagship range

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TalalBafarat
posted on 15 Jul 2014, 06:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 May 2014)

9

Totally worth it.

TalalBafarat has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

An amazing phone with a great design, Amazing speakers ,Beautiful display and great software features, This is one of the best phones to come out this year, if you don't mind the only decent camera or the huge bezels this phone totally worth it.

Build quality 9/10 This phone is well built, It has a great look and feel, But it's very slippery and i dropped it ones on it's back and it got some deep scratches, That's why it drops a point.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 The default browser is great! I actually use it instead of chrome for some reason.
Multimedia 10/10 A beautiful display with great colors cobbled with those amazing Boomsound speakers make is a great choice for consuming media.
Camera 8/10 The 4.1MP camera takes good pictures for sharing on the web or for looking at it on a smartphone display, But if you want to zoom in or crop or print it go for other 8 12 or 16MP cameras, The biggest problem with it is not the resolution but dynamic range, HDR mode doesn't seem to do much, But other then that low light performance is great and the duo camera tricks look cool when they work and 1080p video looks great, The front camera is 5mp and it take 1080p video, The app is very nice, It's clean and simple and very fast, It also has a lot of options, So it's a good camera but not the best for 700$
UI speed 10/10 HTC Sync doesn't seem to slow the phone down at all.
Everyday usage 10/10 HTC Sync is my favorite skin on top of Android, I actually like it more then stock Android, It has a lot more cleaner look and it has some great features like Blinkfeed and Motion Lunch gestures, And it's a very light skin and it doesn't slow the phone down.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 It's a sharp 1080p display with accurate colors and great viewing angles.
Battery 9/10 While it's not a 3000mah battery and it's not user replaceble, It lasts me all day long and the phone is well optimized to give you the most out of a charge.

TalalBafarat alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yazid1298
posted on 14 Jul 2014, 15:42 (Posts: 2; Member since: 26 Jan 2014)

10

this phone is of a differnt age. AMAZING DEVICE.

yazid1298 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is truly AMAZING. Supreme iPhone beating build quality. The speakers are AMAZING, it's almost like having a boombox with better sound quality with you constantly. The camera is SUPREME. You can take 3D pics. They aren't just pictures that move around and look 3D. The top depth percepter camera takes pictures around the object as the normal camera takes the normal pic. The camera is great! When you're talking about which takes better pics out of the iPhone 5S and HTC One M8. The iPhone 5S takes amazing pics. But when you're talking overall camera and feautures that are actually useful and which camera saturated better. The HTC wins! If you switch to the M8. You will NOT regret it. EVER. BlinkFeed is AMAZING AND USEFUL AND FUN TO HAVE TO PASS TIME! This phone leaves the competition in the dust. It kills the S5 which might be fast but it's build quality and speakers are just lackluster. The phone just feels SUPREME. I've had the phone now and I just can't get over how nice it is built. I keep taking it out the case just to look at how beautiful it is. The "weight" is not really a bad thing. It has some weight to it but it feels amazing and premium like that. I've had the Nexus 5, Moto X, iPhone 5, etc. And this phone is just too damn good. You will NEVER regret getting this device. Thai device can also take a huge fall and beating without cracking the screen or further damage.

Build quality 10/10 Solid metal unibody phone. It's awesome!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • amazing screen
  • amazing viewing angles
  • beautiful build quality
  • very bright screen
  • amazing boomsound speakers that are front mounted
  • duo cameras are amazing
  • amazingly high quality 5MP Front Facing Camera
  • swift responsive UI
  • smooth interface
  • blinkfeed is useful and resourceful

Cons

  • honestly none that I know of and have felt.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rain017
posted on 11 Jul 2014, 05:49 (Posts: 23; Member since: 11 Jul 2014)

10

Fantastic phone!!

Rain017 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Over all performance Out weigh the cons i love the phone i did not regret changing my z2 to this phone z2 is a crap it over heats most of the time the built is fantastic boom sound is superb dual camera is fn to use low light shots are good but grainy still very tolerable problem will happens when you decided to crop your photos at night if its too far loss of quality is very evident but as a whole i love the phones performance snappy and buttery smooth

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 my only problem are the low megapixel count only small room for cropping photos but i love the camera esp. at low light to night as well as the customization that can be saved good thing I'm not into printing photos
UI speed 10/10 no UI issues Lag free
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Built
  • camera in night shots and editing tools
  • dual led
  • boom sound
  • screen
  • overall performance out weighs the cons

Cons

  • megapixel count for cropping purposes

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

zolty
posted on 10 Jul 2014, 17:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jun 2013)

10

It's the perfect smartphone.

zolty has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's the perfect smartphone. Absolutely awesome,battery life,speakers ,front cam, build quality,luxury premium feeling,Sense 6 is super smooth,awesome gaming and awesome screen.Back module camera though not the very best but still shoots above average and satisfactory shots all the time,low light shots are the best.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

techman001
posted on 10 Jul 2014, 11:28 (Posts: 4; Member since: 14 Feb 2013)

10

Another Winner. Great Overall Experience.

techman001 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love HTC phones and this phone is no exception. It improves greatly upon last year’s HTC flagship, the M7. I’ll touch on several key areas here.

SCREEN: Everything just pops out at you. Even in direct sunlight, everything is clear and bright. The main difference between the M8 and the M7 is the color reproduction on the M8 is better and more true-to-life. This is the best screen on the market right now, no question about it.

DESIGN/HARDWARE: Once again, HTC wins the best design category of any smartphone out there. When people see the phone, it turns heads. Put it in their hands and it confirms the premium look. It is made of metal unlike the others which heavily rely on plastic. You can feel confident holding this phone and walking around without a case as it has that “toughness” feel to it when holding it.

DUAL FRONT-FACING SPEAKERS: We have all been desensitized to the modern smartphones nowadays with their average mono speaker. Thankfully HTC saw this as another area where they could excel out, and they spared no expense. Your ears will thank you and you will realize all phones should have been made like this. Especially when you use ringtones/alerts that were specifically created for this phone, the sound is loud, immersive and expansive. Compared to the M7, the M8 loses the Beats audio engineering, but it actually sounds better than the M7. The new name is just BoomSound.

CAMERA: To me, the paramount function of phone cameras is the convenience/accessibility - it...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Screen
  • battery
  • design

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mojtaba_mn
posted on 03 Jul 2014, 10:49 (Posts: 199; Member since: 22 Feb 2013)

10

good job

mojtaba_mn has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

great display
great stereo speakers
great design
great quality
great user inter face fast and beauty
great duo camera options
best selfie phone in market
great cpu test fast no lag and premium feeling
fast internet browser
and suuuuuuuuppppeeeerrr beauty phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • great display and quality in hand

Cons

  • the camera can be better

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

razarahil
posted on 03 Jul 2014, 06:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jul 2014)

10

Phone to Admire

razarahil has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

My Experience with M8:

- Metallic Body not only easy on your eyes, but also feels great in your palm.
- BoomSound is loud, but at the same times easy on your ears. No distorted sounds.
- Gesture controls are pretty useful in day to day task, specially the finger up gesture
- HTC Sense TV combines multiple remote into one. Single remote works with both LED TV and Settop box.
- Everybody are fan of BlinkFeed in my office and they want the app on their phone too. BlinkFeed will bring the best of all from your fav. social networking sites and RSS feeds. Give some time to configure BlinkFeed properly and you won't regret.
- BlinkFeed is not Battery or data hogger.
- M8 battery With moderate use and 3G always ON takes you to full day.
- Activate Extreme Power Saver mode and the battery will refuse to die.
- Photos captured from UltraPixel Duo Camera is extremely good in quality.
- No match of UltraPixel when it comes to low light photography.
- Ufocus and 3D dimensional is what you'll do with every photo capture from the phone. A Perfect result.
- Use Season effects, create video and Amaze your friends by uploading it to Instgram or other sites.
- Don't forget to use Duo Capture when you're on date/trip with your dear one.
- You can also capture 360 degree photo using Pan 360 photos and if you're happy with the result not then trying Google Camera.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

EiadAjam
posted on 02 Jul 2014, 05:10 (Posts: 4; Member since: 11 Jul 2013)

10

Great Phone

EiadAjam has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this is one more great phone from htc
i had it for 3 weeks everything works perfectly nothing bother me
maybe the camera bother some zoom-users
but i think according to 4 mp camera its the best !
great sound and multimedia experience
also great screen
battery life is excellent for a 2600mah compared with the other devices with 3000mah

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Build Quality
  • Dual Boom Sound Speakers
  • Beautiful Screen
  • Excellent Battery Life
  • Great Sense UI
  • Dot View Case
  • High Performance
  • Htc Apps Can Be Updated Through Google Play

Cons

  • Screen to Phone Size
  • Some Users Maybe Care About Zooming in The Camera

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories