x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC One (M8) User Reviews

9.7 Based on 52 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.7/10
Internet9.8/10
Call quality9.8/10
Battery9.6/10
Reception9.8/10
Display9.8/10
Build quality9.9/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.7/10
UI speed9.9/10
Camera8.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

RedblackG
posted on 8 hours ago (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Dec 2011)

9

Highly satisfied

RedblackG has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

What a phone! I am an HTC lover in the first place, and they didn't fail to impress me with the M8. I was concerned having a phone with such a large screen for battery reasons but I have yet to hit below 35% after using it for a full day. I would say I am a moderate user.

The boom sound has been an adequate replacement for the Beats Audio I had in my previous HTC.

Overall, very much worth the money spent on this device. Build quality is impeccable and I am very happy with this device.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10 I can't blame this on HTC entirely as I do live in a ground floor apartment but I have had a few people who have had better reception with different phones in my apartment.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10 The size of the screen sometimes makes it difficult to reach from one end to the other with one hand.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Large display
  • High quality display
  • Fast processor

Cons

  • Non-removable battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

SilverCenturion
posted on 16 hours ago (Posts: 6; Member since: 12 Jun 2014)

10

Mind=Blown

SilverCenturion has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It feels great in Hand. Display is the best thing compared to other flagships. Fluidic UI, great Build quality, best sound. Camera is OK but not what we expect from this price. Good for daily usage... Finally ,I'm not a heart patient who need a heart rate senor :P I'm not a professional business man who want finger scanner for bank transactions and others :P.. i"m happy with my phone

Build quality 10/10 Kudos HTC
Reception 10/10 Incomparable
Call quality 10/10 Super fine
Internet 10/10 It depends on your data plan and signal strength :P
Multimedia 10/10 Have no inbuilt equalizer but thanks to play store. I recommend Bass Booster for headset users.
Camera 9/10 Fair Enough
UI speed 10/10 Sorry I can't count :P
Everyday usage 10/10 Number '1' in this category
Text input 10/10 Latest update sucks
Display 10/10 No comments
Battery 10/10 2 good... 2 days with moderate usage

Pros

  • Everything..

Cons

  • Camera - not flagship range

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

TalalBafarat
posted on 15 Jul 2014, 06:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 May 2014)

9

Totally worth it.

TalalBafarat has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

An amazing phone with a great design, Amazing speakers ,Beautiful display and great software features, This is one of the best phones to come out this year, if you don't mind the only decent camera or the huge bezels this phone totally worth it.

Build quality 9/10 This phone is well built, It has a great look and feel, But it's very slippery and i dropped it ones on it's back and it got some deep scratches, That's why it drops a point.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 The default browser is great! I actually use it instead of chrome for some reason.
Multimedia 10/10 A beautiful display with great colors cobbled with those amazing Boomsound speakers make is a great choice for consuming media.
Camera 8/10 The 4.1MP camera takes good pictures for sharing on the web or for looking at it on a smartphone display, But if you want to zoom in or crop or print it go for other 8 12 or 16MP cameras, The biggest problem with it is not the resolution but dynamic range, HDR mode doesn't seem to do much, But other then that low light performance is great and the duo camera tricks look cool when they work and 1080p video looks great, The front camera is 5mp and it take 1080p video, The app is very nice, It's clean and simple and very fast, It also has a lot of options, So it's a good camera but not the best for 700$
UI speed 10/10 HTC Sync doesn't seem to slow the phone down at all.
Everyday usage 10/10 HTC Sync is my favorite skin on top of Android, I actually like it more then stock Android, It has a lot more cleaner look and it has some great features like Blinkfeed and Motion Lunch gestures, And it's a very light skin and it doesn't slow the phone down.
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 It's a sharp 1080p display with accurate colors and great viewing angles.
Battery 9/10 While it's not a 3000mah battery and it's not user replaceble, It lasts me all day long and the phone is well optimized to give you the most out of a charge.

TalalBafarat alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

yazid1298
posted on 14 Jul 2014, 15:42 (Posts: 2; Member since: 26 Jan 2014)

10

this phone is of a differnt age. AMAZING DEVICE.

yazid1298 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is truly AMAZING. Supreme iPhone beating build quality. The speakers are AMAZING, it's almost like having a boombox with better sound quality with you constantly. The camera is SUPREME. You can take 3D pics. They aren't just pictures that move around and look 3D. The top depth percepter camera takes pictures around the object as the normal camera takes the normal pic. The camera is great! When you're talking about which takes better pics out of the iPhone 5S and HTC One M8. The iPhone 5S takes amazing pics. But when you're talking overall camera and feautures that are actually useful and which camera saturated better. The HTC wins! If you switch to the M8. You will NOT regret it. EVER. BlinkFeed is AMAZING AND USEFUL AND FUN TO HAVE TO PASS TIME! This phone leaves the competition in the dust. It kills the S5 which might be fast but it's build quality and speakers are just lackluster. The phone just feels SUPREME. I've had the phone now and I just can't get over how nice it is built. I keep taking it out the case just to look at how beautiful it is. The "weight" is not really a bad thing. It has some weight to it but it feels amazing and premium like that. I've had the Nexus 5, Moto X, iPhone 5, etc. And this phone is just too damn good. You will NEVER regret getting this device. Thai device can also take a huge fall and beating without cracking the screen or further damage.

Build quality 10/10 Solid metal unibody phone. It's awesome!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • amazing screen
  • amazing viewing angles
  • beautiful build quality
  • very bright screen
  • amazing boomsound speakers that are front mounted
  • duo cameras are amazing
  • amazingly high quality 5MP Front Facing Camera
  • swift responsive UI
  • smooth interface
  • blinkfeed is useful and resourceful

Cons

  • honestly none that I know of and have felt.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rain017
posted on 11 Jul 2014, 05:49 (Posts: 2; Member since: 11 Jul 2014)

10

Fantastic phone!!

Rain017 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Over all performance Out weigh the cons i love the phone i did not regret changing my z2 to this phone z2 is a crap it over heats most of the time the built is fantastic boom sound is superb dual camera is fn to use low light shots are good but grainy still very tolerable problem will happens when you decided to crop your photos at night if its too far loss of quality is very evident but as a whole i love the phones performance snappy and buttery smooth

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 my only problem are the low megapixel count only small room for cropping photos but i love the camera esp. at low light to night as well as the customization that can be saved good thing I'm not into printing photos
UI speed 10/10 no UI issues Lag free
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Built
  • camera in night shots and editing tools
  • dual led
  • boom sound
  • screen
  • overall performance out weighs the cons

Cons

  • megapixel count for cropping purposes

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

zolty
posted on 10 Jul 2014, 17:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jun 2013)

10

It's the perfect smartphone.

zolty has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's the perfect smartphone. Absolutely awesome,battery life,speakers ,front cam, build quality,luxury premium feeling,Sense 6 is super smooth,awesome gaming and awesome screen.Back module camera though not the very best but still shoots above average and satisfactory shots all the time,low light shots are the best.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

techman001
posted on 10 Jul 2014, 11:28 (Posts: 4; Member since: 14 Feb 2013)

10

Another Winner. Great Overall Experience.

techman001 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love HTC phones and this phone is no exception. It improves greatly upon last year’s HTC flagship, the M7. I’ll touch on several key areas here.

SCREEN: Everything just pops out at you. Even in direct sunlight, everything is clear and bright. The main difference between the M8 and the M7 is the color reproduction on the M8 is better and more true-to-life. This is the best screen on the market right now, no question about it.

DESIGN/HARDWARE: Once again, HTC wins the best design category of any smartphone out there. When people see the phone, it turns heads. Put it in their hands and it confirms the premium look. It is made of metal unlike the others which heavily rely on plastic. You can feel confident holding this phone and walking around without a case as it has that “toughness” feel to it when holding it.

DUAL FRONT-FACING SPEAKERS: We have all been desensitized to the modern smartphones nowadays with their average mono speaker. Thankfully HTC saw this as another area where they could excel out, and they spared no expense. Your ears will thank you and you will realize all phones should have been made like this. Especially when you use ringtones/alerts that were specifically created for this phone, the sound is loud, immersive and expansive. Compared to the M7, the M8 loses the Beats audio engineering, but it actually sounds better than the M7. The new name is just BoomSound.

CAMERA: To me, the paramount function of phone cameras is the convenience/accessibility - it...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Screen
  • battery
  • design

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mojtaba_mn
posted on 03 Jul 2014, 10:49 (Posts: 159; Member since: 22 Feb 2013)

10

good job

mojtaba_mn has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

great display
great stereo speakers
great design
great quality
great user inter face fast and beauty
great duo camera options
best selfie phone in market
great cpu test fast no lag and premium feeling
fast internet browser
and suuuuuuuuppppeeeerrr beauty phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • great display and quality in hand

Cons

  • the camera can be better

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

razarahil
posted on 03 Jul 2014, 06:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jul 2014)

10

Phone to Admire

razarahil has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

My Experience with M8:

- Metallic Body not only easy on your eyes, but also feels great in your palm.
- BoomSound is loud, but at the same times easy on your ears. No distorted sounds.
- Gesture controls are pretty useful in day to day task, specially the finger up gesture
- HTC Sense TV combines multiple remote into one. Single remote works with both LED TV and Settop box.
- Everybody are fan of BlinkFeed in my office and they want the app on their phone too. BlinkFeed will bring the best of all from your fav. social networking sites and RSS feeds. Give some time to configure BlinkFeed properly and you won't regret.
- BlinkFeed is not Battery or data hogger.
- M8 battery With moderate use and 3G always ON takes you to full day.
- Activate Extreme Power Saver mode and the battery will refuse to die.
- Photos captured from UltraPixel Duo Camera is extremely good in quality.
- No match of UltraPixel when it comes to low light photography.
- Ufocus and 3D dimensional is what you'll do with every photo capture from the phone. A Perfect result.
- Use Season effects, create video and Amaze your friends by uploading it to Instgram or other sites.
- Don't forget to use Duo Capture when you're on date/trip with your dear one.
- You can also capture 360 degree photo using Pan 360 photos and if you're happy with the result not then trying Google Camera.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

EiadAjam
posted on 02 Jul 2014, 05:10 (Posts: 2; Member since: 11 Jul 2013)

10

Great Phone

EiadAjam has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this is one more great phone from htc
i had it for 3 weeks everything works perfectly nothing bother me
maybe the camera bother some zoom-users
but i think according to 4 mp camera its the best !
great sound and multimedia experience
also great screen
battery life is excellent for a 2600mah compared with the other devices with 3000mah

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Build Quality
  • Dual Boom Sound Speakers
  • Beautiful Screen
  • Excellent Battery Life
  • Great Sense UI
  • Dot View Case
  • High Performance
  • Htc Apps Can Be Updated Through Google Play

Cons

  • Screen to Phone Size
  • Some Users Maybe Care About Zooming in The Camera

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cmatej000
posted on 01 Jul 2014, 15:50 (Posts: 13; Member since: 22 Jan 2013)

10

Excellent

cmatej000 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Moved from S3 to M8, love everything about it.
Camera could be better if you want to crop later, otherwise its excellent.
Speakers are great, loud and crisp.The battery also performs well despite its capacity.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Speakers
  • Build quality
  • Camara
  • Performance

Cons

  • Low resolution back camera

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hasantheflyhero05
posted on 01 Jul 2014, 01:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jul 2014)

10

The best phone 2014. Love it!

hasantheflyhero05 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

HTC One (M8) is great. Alumunium body, fast processor, sound quality, camera technology, great UI, and much more! Only 1 problem with HTC One (M8). It's camera resolution only 4 Megapixel. HTC should make this phone with 8 or 13 Megapixel WITH UltraPixel camera. UltraPixel is good. You can shoot at low-light conditions.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Aluminium body
  • Boomsound™ technology
  • Great UI (HTC Sense 6)
  • UltraPixel™ technology
  • 5MP front-facing camera
  • Great battery life
  • Fast Processor
  • Duo Camera™ is great
  • Dual flash
  • Great Blinkfeed™

Cons

  • Camera only 4 Megapixel

hasantheflyhero05 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lennesama
posted on 30 Jun 2014, 19:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Feb 2013)

10

Incredible Device

Lennesama has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Coming from an HTC One (M7) i must say, without a reason of doubt that, that the Best just got better! HTC managed to create a even more premium looking device. The phone design is incredible and it just feels great in the hand, it's amazingly fast and very responsive and takes amazing photos. The Duo Camera features are a must, giving our photos that professional finish. The screen has incredible resolution and awesome color. I feel proud to own such a device. Best phone i ever owned!

Build quality 10/10 Amazing feel in hands!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 I love this camera, takes amazing photos and the Duo Camera features are a must that gives our photos that professional finish
UI speed 10/10 Amazingly fast devive
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Amazing resolution and true colors
Battery 10/10 The battery lasts, and lasts...and lasts...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baraasaad93
posted on 29 Jun 2014, 21:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Jun 2014)

10

very good mobile phone

baraasaad93 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I think its a great phone ,, battery is very good and become excellent when using power saving mode ,, camera is perfect for personal use ,, performance is more than perfect ,, sound is great ,,, the worst thing is that the sound buttons are not firm

Build quality 9/10 i put 9 because the sound buttons are not firm !
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • everything is good

Cons

  • i didnt like that the buttons are loose

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lunniey
posted on 25 Jun 2014, 09:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Apr 2013)

10

Yeah, I Think I Have Found My SoulM8 ;)

lunniey has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Okay, I know that everyone have already raved about HTC One M8 design, but I just have to express my own opinion because when I finally get my hands on it I was literally stunned, I was speechless for a while, seriously, for me M8 is not just a beautiful smartphone but it's a metal artwork. and I'm not exaggerating, if you are a person that is into design as much as I am, there's a good chance that you'll agree with me. Its curves, its colors, its buttons and every single details just fall perfectly in your palm. So it's not only wonderful to look at but it's also a marvelous thing to touch.

Okay, enough about the design, if you are not the type of person that cares about 'looks' and just wanted to know about this phone performance, well, here's what I can say - M8 is fast and fluid, there's no such thing as 'lag', multitasking experience on this phone is very satisfying. it's a very reliable smartphone and that's just exactly what I want. Kudos for the 6th Sense!

Talking about the 6th Sense, Blinkfeed is getting better and better, it seems to load quicker and have smoother scrolling experience. Not only that I could mash-up all of my social media update in the front page it's also useful to help you learn new languages. Why? Because you could also mash-up news stories from other country such as France - since I'm currently learning French right now.

And when talking about the audio experience on this phone, I must say that, until now there is no other smartphone that has a...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10 M8 battery life is incredible, I could get 2 days with 6+ screen on time on a light use (meaning, I used it for chat, browsing, twittering + full WiFi) and I could get 1 day easily with 5+ hours heavy use (watching videos, chat, browsing, music, taking photos, play games).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ManasiSMJ
posted on 18 Jun 2014, 12:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Jun 2014)

10

The Beauty I have!

ManasiSMJ has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

No need to tell about its awesome compact design! But you MUST know it has the best battery life any other smartphone can offer! Once fully charged, my phone goes for 2 days with active social apps such as facebook, twitter, linkedin, pininterest etc, frequent calling, 1 to 1.5 hours of playing music twice in a day, 1 or 2 hours of playing games and gesture / motion based features.

Build quality 9/10 Splendid! As a part of my habit have dropped it thrice but didn't matter!
Reception 10/10 I would NOT exchange it for any other brand! Don't even mention the brands please!
Call quality 9/10 Speakerphones are way CLEAR!
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 Speakers are LOUD! Full HD videos, photos! I love the pictures turn out even cam being 4 UltraPixel. front cam is 5 MP which is great!
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Earlier I had swiftkey. With this phone, never needed to install it.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 once again, BATTERY IS HIGHLY IMPROVED!! You can use all sorts of features, apps without worrying about phone dying!

Pros

  • Looooo...oong lasting battery
  • Great grip due to its design and shape
  • Super fast processor
  • Blinkfeed - personalization

Cons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HamdiR
posted on 17 Jun 2014, 04:55 (Posts: 3; Member since: 07 Feb 2013)

9

The best looking phone and most flawless Android device around

HamdiR has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The M8 is my 1st Android since the Nexus One where simply there's nothing to fix, the devices works flawlessly, insanely speedy & virtually bugs free, I had habit to always root my Android to fix the things that bothered me, like applying screen-on gestures as the power button was always annoying or to boost the CPU in order to play games with no lag (unlike iPhones) but alas out of box HTC for the 1st time after 7 Android flagships fixed all of these issues, gaming? incredibly smooth if you disable Power Saver (there is even a faster hidden HPM mode) just try Asphalt 8 & you'll instantly be impressed by the ultra smooth speedy graphics but also the incredible loudness & clarity of those speakers, the UI flaws like water as I have never used a screen so responsive to the touch & then we have motion gestures which virtually eliminates any need for physical buttons. The camera enjoys a manual mode allowing you to control your shots, for example you can decouple focus from exposure & control shutter speed. So I find myself with a Dev Edition unit, unlocked bootloader out of box & no reason to root the OS!

While the new battery is only rated 300mah over the previous it can actually give you 2x the battery life of the M7, my M8 lasts me between 24 & 48 hours, I have also measured 8 hours of screen-on time using the phone purely for wifi browsing with auto screen brightness & standard power saver. The fooling numbers continue with the 5” SLCD screen: despite having lesser PPI than...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • highly reliable camera for point and shoot in all conditions
  • insane design and build
  • super smooth UI and touch response
  • surprising battery endurance
  • gorgeous floating screen
  • best thermals on Android, hard to throttle
  • super smooth gaming out of box
  • hidden high performance mode
  • screen unlock gestures

Cons

  • lack of camera megapixels (hopefully HTC will introduce a super resolution mode)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mol_m
posted on 16 Jun 2014, 05:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jun 2014)

9

The Most Beautiful One

mol_m has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

HTC One (M8) is probably the most beautiful smartphone on the market today. It looks premium and luxe, and feels really great in the hand. The build quality is top notch, thanks to nearly all-metal construction. The hairline finish on the back significantly adds pleasure to the eyes. The subtly curved back improves the grip. M8 comes with a 5" 1080p display, a slight upgrade to the predecessor but retains the usually beautiful, vivid colors of S-LCD. M8 turns heads from some distance, and sparks wows-and-aaahs upon closer inspection.

Sound quality ranks M8 among the best (if not the best of the best) smartphones on the market today. Audio output through headset is satisfyingly crisp—listening to Norah Jones' Come Away with Me before sleep feels like a hypnotic experience. The front-firing BoomSound speakers are much improved compared to those on the previous models.

M8 comes with Duo camera—yes, two cameras on the back: one 4 MP ('ultrapixel', to be precise) and one to detect depth of field. The second camera enables users to create bokeh effect on some pictures after the shooting (there are some pictures of which the effect isn't applicable e.g those taken with macro mode). To put simply: refocusing. There are more 'fun' features e.g foregrounder, seasons, dimension plus, in-built filters which some people may find useful. It also comes with Smart Flash—two flashes of different colors that reproduce more accurate skin tone in low light shot. Imaging is a department where M8...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Gorgeous design, solid construction
  • Feature-rich camera
  • Top notch audio output

Cons

  • Availability at some markets

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

umangpilot
posted on 14 Jun 2014, 11:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Jun 2013)

10

Beautifully designed Quietly Addictive

umangpilot has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

First and foremost what I like about the HTC One M8 is the strong bold metallic body and the way it shines makes me feel holding something very premium and ultimate in my hand.The first impression when having a feel of HTC ONE M8 is that it is very light weight and classic smartphone.It has curved edges which makes the smartphone look elegant and feels like a high end premium mobile in my hand.
I like the camera dual capture and selfie mode feature specially in low light conditions and the editing plus special seasons affect feature which are very artistic and creative.About the battery endurance I feel that battery comes with enough power even when using 3g internet for the day or playing games over the net,you still have enough power left before getting dried out.Also add on is HTC One M8 extreme power saver mode which extends the battery time and smartphone can last longer than u think.
Sense 6 is one of the best platform from HTC and certain features which impress me a lot are motion launch and accessing blinkfeed updates with a single click.While listening to songs on HTC M8 ,it is much better when using speaker mode as it is loud and very clear as M8 comes with dual speakers.
Sense TV feature is something very unique and impressive in HTC ONE M8 if you want to use your HTC phone as a remote.
The screen is very solid and no need of using a screen guard plus HTC M8 comes with a packed accessory cover which is added benefit but dot view case is recommended for best utility...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nikeshhs
posted on 14 Jun 2014, 06:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Jun 2014)

10

HTC One M8 Screams Quality !

nikeshhs has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

At first I was skeptical as to how HTC was going to improve M7, the best smartphone of 2013. This year I think it is safe to say they did it again !

The M8 has 20% more metal than the M7 and this gives the M8 such a remarkable premium feel to hold with its aircraft grade aluminum. The wrap around edges shows that the metal casing has been designed to perfection, to make the device fit the palm of your hand. This device has beautiful rounded corners that is not just incredible to look at, yet this gives the device much better stress concentration on impact. This is why M8 prevails on drop tests. Engineering wise this takes detailed manufacturing processes yet HTC crafted a masterpiece.

I'm sure you get the idea on how well build the M8 is. I will talk about how optimized Sense 6 is, this is currently the best UI out there! No wonder that a lot of people seem to prefer Sense 6 over Vanilla Android on Nexus or GPE devices. Everything is smooth, sleek, elegant, basically extremely fast and simple and does not consume much battery life. Kudos to HTC for that. I love all the color combinations and the themes, the colors blend in perfectly and nice to look at. I, every now and then, swipe to the right to open blinkfeed, and just scroll continuously, which is great and timekiller, plus the addition of offline reading capabilities is well appreciated.

Although some would want higher MP, the 4 MP Up on the M8 is great for me as I don't really crop images or zoom in on pictures a lot....  

Build quality 10/10 Aircraft grade Aluminum with curved back feels solid in the hand !
Reception 10/10 Excellent signal reception. Never had a single issue.
Call quality 10/10 Great call quality. The voice sounds clear all the time.
Internet 10/10 With flagship specs, expect no lags whatsoever with the internet.
Multimedia 10/10 BoomSound speakers spice up your multimedia entertainment !
Camera 9/10 8 for the rear facing camera. I really like the uFocus and Dimension plus effects. 10 for the front facing camera. One of the best front facing cameras out there ! Overall a 9 for the camera experience.
UI speed 10/10 Sense is the most optimized/the best UI out there. Even with 2 Gigs of Ram there is no lag at all, especially if you compare with competitors having 3 Gigs of Ram. The UI really makes Sense !
Everyday usage 10/10 The fastest & really reliable smartphone really ensures best day to day usage.
Text input 10/10 Text input works perfect on the beautiful 5 inch screen.
Display 10/10 5 inch S-LCD 3 screen produces very nice colors and not cartoony like it's competitors.
Battery 10/10 Battery performance is incredible even with 2600 mAH. Fantastic job by HTC.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

comparun
posted on 14 Jun 2014, 01:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Feb 2013)

10

It’s not just an upgrade it’s much more. Designed with excellence, crafted with premium metal, Sense that makes sense. #HTCOneM8

comparun has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

1. Look n feel of HTC One M8 is the best as on date in 2014.
2. HTC One M8 comes with a premium metal body.
3. Very sleek to hold, no slippery at all.
4. Crisp & bright LCD3 5’’inch display.
5. Yes HTC One M8 comes with an SD card slot supporting upto 128GB + internal memory + 50 GB Google drive space.
6. Sense6 is just awesome, no lag at all. HTC Sense rocks..!!
7. Connectivity is great.
8. Duo camera * dual LED on back captures in depth pics with awesome quality.
9. Battery life has gone far away in an economical use and extreme power saving mode has given a new life to HTC One M8.
10. QualComm 801 SOC with 2GB RAM provides enough memory to play very high end games with no lag.
11. Boom Sound has on HTC One M8 is now 25% louder and clear.

Build quality 10/10 HTC One M8 comes with a premium metal body makes it unique from all others phone
Reception 10/10 No problem with reception at all.
Call quality 10/10 Call quality works really great, very clear sound.
Internet 10/10 Internet is really very fast with HTC One M8 connectivity.
Multimedia 10/10 It's a multimedia beast in all sense.
Camera 10/10 Duo camera with dual LED flash captures really great pics with very high in depth quality.
UI speed 10/10 With 801 Qualcomm SOC having 2GB RAM and sense6 makes UI like a butter smooth. No lag at all.
Everyday usage 10/10 I am pro user, always on phone..!!
Text input 10/10 All the time on whatsapp, Telegram, Hangouts...keep texting
Display 10/10 5" inch crisp and bright display with LCD3 gorilla glass provides high quality full hd screen.
Battery 10/10 With 2600mAH having power saver mode + extreme power saver mode gives a new life to extend your battery like never say die.

Pros

  • Premium Metal Body
  • Boomsound
  • Sense6
  • Duo camera with dual led flash
  • crisp & bright display
  • Connectivity

Cons

comparun alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

roadzilla
posted on 13 Jun 2014, 16:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Jul 2013)

10

Owners Pride, Neighbors Envy!

roadzilla has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Early 2014, HTC won the most pretigious and coveted award in the Mobile industry. The award was " GSMA device of the year 2013" . For those who know, GSMA is the world Mobile operators association. In 2013, HTC One won the best smartphones awards in numerous categories. After having set the benchmark so high, I was wondering what will HTC do in 2014 to raise the bar. The answer was there on March 25th 2014 - The HTC One M8.

One look at this sheer beauty and the first word to erupt from your mouth shall undoubtedly be " WOW" .

HTC took the bar it set with HTC One to a whole new level in 2014. HTC One M8 surpassed its predecessor in every angle, every aspect.

After having used the HTC One M8 for month, here are what I feel about it:

Design: HTC took the One and bettered it. From 70% metal to 90% metal. The phone has brushed metallic finish which complements its size. These brushed design are smoother.The sides are gripper. The phone has 5" qHD display unlike the 4.5" of HTC One. The display is crisp and brilliant.

Sound: No second doubts about the Boomsound speakers. They are "THE MOST LOUDEST" mobile speaker setup right now. No unwanted noises in the speaker. Pure music experience.

Battery: 2600mAh battery is the powerhouse of this cell. They are highly effective. They are optimised for high performance. A full charge for me lasts upto 12-14 hrs with a good usage of 3g and calls. The cell supports quick charge. upto 70% of battery charges in first 1 hour. One of the best...  

Build quality 10/10 90% metal with brushed finish makes it a premium mobile.
Reception 10/10 The phone's holding to network even in lifts and basement.
Call quality 10/10 crisp and clear calls.
Internet 10/10 Its pretty fast .
Multimedia 10/10 Boomsound adds to the experience. 5" screen looks good.
Camera 10/10 Ultrapixels FTW!
UI speed 10/10 Awesome! Pretty fast.
Everyday usage 10/10 Too good. Phone is fast and doesnt lag.
Text input 10/10 Nice. Doesnt hang or lag.
Display 10/10 Brilliant. qHD are good . It is tough too.
Battery 10/10 Superb! Last longer with the new optimization that HTC has.

Pros

  • Premium Body, BoomSound, Camera, Battery, UI
  • Dot View Cases

Cons

  • Price on a higher side

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

apexpredation
posted on 10 Jun 2014, 14:25 (Posts: 2; Member since: 14 Feb 2013)

10

Best Smartphone I Have Owned So Far.

apexpredation has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had the HTC One M8 for over a month now and I feel this is the most premium device I have ever owned. “Smooth” is the way to best describe the design aspects of this device. It is stylishly wrapped in a brushed aluminum body that seamlessly curves up to the sides of the device. There is not a sharp edge on this beauty. It is a true pleasure to hold. The “smooth” theming doesn’t stop at it’s appearance either. When I use my device I feel that it is almost aware of the tasks I am thinking about completing. The response time in interacting with the screen is compared to nothing else I have used, and there is not an app out there that has managed to slow down or hinder my experience. It is obvious that HTC has packed the HTC One M8 with tons of power from its very fast processor to its booming stereo speakers. This device has it all. Speaking of the speakers, HTC has officially made it so I cannot buy a new smartphone unless there is the front facing speakers on it. I like to watch videos on my device and the speakers truly complete my entertainment needs giving me wonderfully clean sound quality. One thing that many ask me about is the camera. Just raising the device to snap a picture sparks interest due to the twin cameras. HTC has pulled another fun feature out of their bag of innovations with this new camera set up. It gives you the option to refocus the image after you have taken it without having to first select a special mode. There are also many other creative filters...  

Build quality 10/10 This is the best example of how a premium smartphone should be built.
Reception 10/10 Never have less than 3 bars, most of the time its full.
Call quality 10/10 Chrystal clear sound while in calls and as far as I can tell the person on the other end never has a problem hearing me.
Internet 10/10 gets me everywhere I need to go on the net.
Multimedia 10/10 Stereo Speakers Rock! Plays all of the files I need it to, from music to videos.
Camera 9/10 the camera makes beautiful images. The only way this camera setup can be better is if it was a bit higher resolution. Even just 6 or 8 mega pixel with the larger pixel size will be hard to beat.
UI speed 10/10 Fastest response time I have encountered so far.
Everyday usage 10/10 I use it every day without a single issue.
Text input 10/10 The keyboard is smooth, responsive, and intuitive.
Display 10/10 The display is gorgeous! Crisp clean colors and nearly impossible to see the pixels.
Battery 10/10 it gets a 10 because it gets me through the day with normal use, but it will never hurt to have a more power for those heavy use times.

Pros

  • Beautiful Metal Design
  • fast smooth UI
  • Fun Camera
  • Fast Updates
  • Amazing sound quality
  • Stereo Sound onboard
  • Motion Launch Features

Cons

  • Printing Large Posters doesn't turn out as clear

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zincou31
posted on 10 Jun 2014, 09:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Jun 2014)

10

The best phone

zincou31 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

After a great experience with HTC ONE M7 and M8 ONE HTC does not disappoint at all on the contrary still pushes the limits on the design is fabulous, the phone is beautiful, autonomy is perfect three days without problems and quality the screen is amazing, and of course the photo with UltraPixel are truly a rare quality.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shahdhiraj
posted on 09 Jun 2014, 13:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Jun 2014)

10

This is the most AMAZING phone ever built!!!

shahdhiraj has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone feels very good to handle. The brush metal finish also gives it a very premium look. The reception is very clear and people have complimented me that my voice sounds good and clear over calls.

Even though M8 has a the large 5 inches screen it can be easily handled with one had. There is no lag when using apps and also high graphic games. The phone has the best speakers which are loud and clear. Very amazing sound quality with a equally complimenting screen takes multimedia to a whole new level. I love watching movies and playing games on my M8.

Well the camera is great and lowlight photos come out very good to. The photo quality match any entry level DSLRs.

One of the best thing that I like is the Blinkfeed and now this can be customised to my liking.

The battery is great even with many voice calls and lot of gaming the phone lasts me an entire day. With the extreme power saving mode, 5% battery can easily last over 10 hours. This means no tension at the end of the day with regards to battery.

I just can't stop flaunting my HTC One M8 and I love using it.

Build quality 10/10 Feels very good in hand. Very premium feel too.
Reception 10/10 Reception is good. My secondary phone with the same carrier does not work in some elevators but the M8 does.
Call quality 10/10 Clarity of calls is better. Even people have told me that my voice sounds very clear over the phone.
Internet 10/10 Steady connection
Multimedia 10/10 Graphics are very crisp and clear. I love playing racing games on this phone and there is no lag
Camera 10/10 Good pictures. The manual mode is very handy too. The low light pictures are just out of the world. I love the camera
UI speed 10/10 very smooth and friendly. Love the Blinkfeed
Everyday usage 10/10 I am very happy with this phone
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 very crisp and clear. the colour look very vibrant.
Battery 10/10 Amazing battery life. Lasts one whole day even with game play and lots of talk and texting too.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories