x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

HTC One User Reviews

9.4 Based on 119 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.4/10
Battery8.5/10
Reception9.4/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality9.6/10
Text input9.2/10
Everyday usage9.4/10
UI speed9.6/10
Camera8.7/10
Multimedia9.5/10
Internet9.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Alexa
posted on 20 May 2015, 05:57 (Posts: 20; Member since: 24 Oct 2008)

10

Amazing ONE

Alexa has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

My best phone yet. Everything about it suits my daily tasks. From build quality, to its Size, the UI does a snappy job. The processing is one of a prowess even though I have had the Phone for at least a year now, it does not lag at all. The quality of the calls is amazing. Well executed phone I would say. HTC only needs to improve the camera for me...Thats all...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Build Quality, Call quality, Sense UI and Speed

Cons

  • Camera(does not match the quality of the Phone although not entirely bad)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bintheham
posted on 16 May 2015, 20:22 (Posts: 13; Member since: 27 Feb 2012)

9

Solid smart phone.

bintheham has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Very solid phone. I think what I like best about it would be the boom sound speakers. 2nd best feature would be HTC sense. Now that HTC has added the themes app the phone is even better. The camera could be a little better but I can honestly say that it also isn't as bad as some of the reviews make it out to be.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Boom Sound speakers.
  • HTC sense
  • HTC's themes app.

Cons

  • Camera (not horrible but could be better).

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

johntheone
posted on 22 Jan 2015, 12:23 (Posts: 24; Member since: 22 Jan 2015)

9

Could have been perfect

johntheone has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I knew I made the right choice when decided between the iPhone 5c and this phone. The phone is a gorgeously initiated flagship that really pulls the punches, also apart from the aesthetics, it's nearly impossible to destroy, I've dropped it 4 times and due to the build quality it's only achieved minor dents on the corners. The fact that this phone has two front facing speakers/grills, might put people off, but it's suprisingly impressive when it comes to listening to sounds and notifications. On full volume it's so loud that the screen actually vibrates, the upside of the volume is that, there's no distortion or negative gain. The phone is awesome, and I would consider due to the power and look and feel, in your hand, this is one of the best phones ever made, you can see why it won all the awards that it did, however it's not all that fantastic behind the bells and whistles, it's a sad affair in which you can't actually enjoy the full potential of the phone. I am of course going to echo what everyone has said, the camera and the battery are very poor, the camera not so much, but the battery is dire. I can not take this phone out for a full day with out needing to charge it after about 9 hours. It's such a shame that you can't take full advantage of the gorgeous full hd screen when taking pictures, the initial picture will look good, but as soon as you attempt to zoom in, the screen highlights the efforts of the camera, and it ain't pretty. If it wern't for the camera and the battery,...  

Build quality 10/10 Solid aluminum build, looking gorgeous.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Speedy
  • Excellent Screen
  • Awesome Sound
  • Brilliant camera Software

Cons

  • Very poor battery
  • Poor Camera
  • Subject to Overheating
  • Did I mention the battery?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nghtwng68
posted on 22 Dec 2014, 23:35 (Posts: 90; Member since: 26 Nov 2009)

8

HTC One M7, Solid device outside the few drawbacks

nghtwng68 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

HTC One M7 is a good everyday phone. Pros - Great speed, fluid interface, loud speakers, good notifications, user friendly operation are all great. Cons - Battery is weak so you better keep a charger around. Photos good in bright light, low light colors are off. Phone is a little large if you are going to keep it in your pocket often. Overall, a great device from HTC.

Build quality 9/10 Solid build and great in the hand. One hand operation is a little tough due to size. Metal casing is slippery in hand so a rubber case is HIGHLY recommended.
Reception 8/10 Spotty at times. Not often, but enough to notice.
Call quality 10/10 Excellent on calls. Noise reduction could be better.
Internet 10/10 Best feature of the device. Flows remarkably well.
Multimedia 8/10 Speakers are great, signal intermittent sometimes and bluetooth connection always have to connect with ear piece. Very annoying.
Camera 7/10 Weakest feature of device. Best in day light. Bad in low light with colors off and not many details when you zoom in on photos.
UI speed 10/10 Lighting fast and very fluid. No hesitations at all.
Everyday usage 9/10 Great device day in and day out. Doesn't miss a beat in operation. Multi-tasking is great and notification are all on point.
Text input 8/10 Very good and no better than other phones. Swype is a plus. Larger screen makes it hard to text fast.
Display 8/10 Vivid display inside or on an overcast day. Horrific on a bright sunny day and very hard to see screen. Miss the clear black display of the Nokia 808 phone.
Battery 6/10 Not good at all. Keep a charger with you. 100% at 7a and even with moderate usage, I'm at 30% in about 7 hours. Constantly checking the battery.

Pros

  • Speakers loud
  • Build is solid
  • Fast and fluid interface
  • Internet
  • Screen (inside viewing)
  • Everyday operation is great
  • Camera in daylight
  • Lots of storage with 64GB
  • Snapdragon 600, a quad-core chip

Cons

  • Screen (daylight viewing)
  • Battery
  • No micro SD
  • Proximity sensor at times
  • Camera in low light and colors off
  • Bluetooth connection

nghtwng68 alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

uzbek-mobile-man
posted on 25 Oct 2014, 05:04 (Posts: 16; Member since: 27 Sep 2014)

9

HTC One M7 is the best, but it's camera is NOT!!!!!!!!

uzbek-mobile-man has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I do not know that phone manufacturers are making phones without removable battery. Even though the phone is the best one, but one day it's battery will die. So, what will you do? So, I think, phones with removable battery are good.

HTC One M7 is a cameraphone like Nokia 808 PureView and Nokia Lumia 1020 IN DAY LIGHTS ONLY. In low light situations, it's camera is horrible, everywhere is red, there is red/purple tint issue with this phone.

My M7 is working on Android 4.4.2 version. So, PLEASE, HTC COMPANY: solve the problem when updating HTC One M7 smartphones to Android 4.4.4 version!!!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Everything is the best but the camera and battery

Cons

  • Camera for photo and video in day light is the best, like Canon or Nikon photo camera, but in low light conditions: very bad, there is red/purple tint issue.
  • Battery is not removable

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Diablo2424
posted on 13 Aug 2014, 10:17 (Posts: 26; Member since: 29 Jun 2011)

9

Awesome phone!

Diablo2424 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I got this phone through my company, but it is on ATT so I can swap SIM cards between it and my personal Galaxy S4 Active. I have it running CM11 and absoultely LOVE this phone. It's dual front stereo speakers are great quality (a little quiet though), the call quality is great, the build quality is great, the screen is beaufitul and the battery lasts a LONG time. Just wish it had a MicroSD card slot.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10 Screen is narrow - I like typing on my Galaxy S4 Active better
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Screen is awesome
  • Dual speakers have great clarity
  • Fast
  • Cyanogenmod Support
  • HTC Dev support
  • Geat build quality

Cons

  • No MicroSD Support
  • Dual speakers are quiet

Diablo2424 alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RizwanYaqoob
posted on 26 Jan 2014, 13:47 (Posts: 27; Member since: 14 Dec 2013)

9

Beauty 'n the Beast!

RizwanYaqoob has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I had Galaxy Note 3 (Exynos) but in spite of 3GB RAM, Octa-Core processor, it doesn't go well with me because it lags (trust me) may be because of Samsung's bloat ware aka TouchWiz. I gave a chance to HTC One (Black) and its simply amazing. From build quality to display and more over I never expected an android device to be fast as HTC One. Camera is best in its class. I didn't have any issue with camera. Its perfect for low-light photography and takes amazing shots in day light as well. UI and processing speed seems great to me (much better than Galaxy Note 3). I just love it.

Build quality 9/10 Premium metal, matt finish and front glass makes it simply beautiful.
Reception 9/10 Better than my Galaxy Note 3 and iPhone 5.
Call quality 9/10 Better than my Galaxy Note 3.
Internet 9/10 Didn't have any issue. Fast 3G and LTE speed.
Multimedia 10/10 Display and Front facing BoomSound Speakers make it an awesome multimedia device.
Camera 8/10 Camera is best in its class. Perfect for low-light photography and takes amazing shots in day light as well.
UI speed 9/10 I never expected an android device to be fast as HTC One.
Everyday usage 9/10 One word. Perfect!
Text input 9/10 Fast and very responsive. Swype function is a plus point but there should be a redo/undo function but it's not a problem anyway.
Display 10/10 The best display I ever had in a smartphone.
Battery 8/10 With heavy usage it goes 25h with single charge but 48h with moderate usage.

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • Front Facing Speakers
  • Camera
  • Display
  • Processing Speed
  • Radio
  • UI

Cons

  • Less megapixels = Less details

RizwanYaqoob alternatives:

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Trex95
posted on 07 Nov 2013, 01:08 (Posts: 879; Member since: 03 Mar 2013)

10

The one

Trex95 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Know that it's an old phone now but still shine like a gold!. From my experience with Android high ends phone Samsung, Sony and LG the one still remain the ONE even though with dated hardware.

Excellent Job HTC

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • Screen bezel

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AppleSucks2012
posted on 24 Aug 2013, 14:09 (Posts: 6; Member since: 10 Jul 2012)

10

I love HTC One.

AppleSucks2012 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Htc One is No 1 smartphone. I love every feature of it. It looks very elegant and love the New UltraPixel Technology and Beats Audio. It would have been gr8 if that this phone would be a little bit more lighter but 143g is also ok. There is one thing I want Htc to focus on that is to improve the battery life because a phone which has so many features will automatically use the battery more than other smartphones. Secondly in the future can I wish they could add Flash with the Front Camera. This is one thing I really want in HTC Phones. Thumbs up for HTC for make such a great phone called the HTC One.

Build quality 10/10 Hats off to HTC. I love the Alminium Body and the way they have made it. It looks very attractive than the Samsung GS4 Or any other smartphone.
Reception 10/10 Reception is very clear everywhere. I love the noise cancelling feature.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 Internet Browsing is really smooth and fast on the One. Pinch to Zoom is amazing. 1 thing it lacks i wish there was an option to exit the browser. Whenever I close all the tabs the homepage loads and the browser doesn't close.
Multimedia 10/10 Ok listening Music, streaming full 1080p Videos is a dream come true. Those Boom Speakers produce the best sound and I love Beats Audio. Without it I guess it is incomplete.
Camera 10/10 Ok for those who think Megapixels should be more and produces better picture quality is not really the case when it comes to Ultrapixels. I took amazing shots with the Htc One. This is a very Unique feature by HTC So I give them a 10. & not to forget the Zoe feature. It is awesome !!
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10 The phone is nearly perfect for everyday usage.
Text input 10/10 Yes Best Keyboard. Really fast and accurate.
Display 10/10 I love the display. Many people think that the Galaxy S4 is 5'' so it's display is better than the One because it is 0.3'' bigger than the One. Honestly speaking the HTC ONE has Very High Resolution of 468ppi and a size of 4.7'' which is perfect. 10/10 to HTC. I Love the display. It is the best display when compared to any other smartphone.
Battery 7/10 Ok HTC One could have improved it's battery life. It's not bad but its not the best either.It easily gets me through the day as i am not a very heavy user. HTC needs to make batteries long lasting.

Pros

  • Love The New Sense 5, Boom Sound, Zoe and Blinkfeed. Most Amazing display among all the other smartphones.

Cons

  • Battery Life needs to be improved.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JEEPOFFROADV8
posted on 21 Jul 2013, 12:08 (Posts: 35; Member since: 01 Apr 2009)

10

THE "ONE" YOU NEED TO BUY

JEEPOFFROADV8 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i have never been this satisfied with a smartphone, the htc one bulid quality is a++ the speakers are the best speakers i have ever heard on a phone, and beats audio makes a big difference. the super lcd 3 display is outstanding in every way. color accuracy is spot on and contrast is very very good. full hd 1080p with 468ppi web pages are easily readable even when zoomed out. this phone has great reception picks up evdo where my last 2 previous phones would not. i was initally worried being a all metal phone but the reception is outstanding!! call quality is also very good sense voice works really well. the ultra pixel camera is the best in low light. dont be fooled this 4 megapixel camera takes way better pics then my freinds 8megapixel. 32gigs is plenty storage for me and with dropbox its more then enough. i easliy make it thur 2 days on battery life with this phone. using the power saver. i could go on and on really, But you really have to try this phone for yourself. its super fast with jelly bean and the snapdragon s600.

Build quality 10/10 unibody frame. all alluminum. no gaps. it really is remarkable. you have to hold one for yourself., i have the stealth black one i love it!!!
Reception 9/10 it gets sprint 3g and 4g where my last 2 phones never did. full transmit diversity, allowing it to choose between the top or bottom to transmit depending on which offers better radiative properties (no hand on it).
Call quality 10/10 outstanding! superb noise cancellation.
Internet 10/10 great browser with flash support. love the stock browser there is chrome too but the stock browser works great and you can save pages offline.
Multimedia 10/10 with stereo speakers with beats audio and a full hd super lcd 3 display what do you think? lol
Camera 9/10 great camera ultrapixels are not a gimmic. zoes are cool. takes pics super fast and in low light they look fantastic. flash works great too.
UI speed 10/10 with jellybean and a quadcore snapdragon s600 cpu its super fast and sense 5 is the fastest sense yet
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10 great contrast and color accuracy black levels are really good for a lcd display. 1080p no ghosting.
Battery 9/10 easily makes it thru a day. and has a great power saver feature where if you want you can underclock cpu. i get 2+ days out of this battery normally.

Pros

  • bulid quality. stereo speakers. sense 5
  • super lcd 3. beats audio. snapdragon s600
  • ui is butter smooth ultrapixel camera

Cons

  • some elements of ui are non intutive. only 2 capactive buttons
  • power saver always in notification bar

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bayusuputra
posted on 08 Jul 2013, 23:33 (Posts: 961; Member since: 12 Feb 2012)

9

HTC One review

bayusuputra has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Overall, I am thoroughly impressed by this phone. I definitely recommended this phone to anyone. In fact, three of my colleagues upgraded their phones to this after I showed and recommended this phone.

So far there is no other phone that screams both premium and performance like the HTC One. The hardware is a sight to behold, and the software compliments the hardware with not only look, but user-friendly operation, which are coupled with great features.

This is THE flagship of 2013.

Build quality 10/10 Sturdy construction without any creaking, The gorgeous design is perfectly executed with metal as the choice of material
Reception 10/10 No dropped calls and this is the first time I get a reception in the inner corner of my room. I don't usually get reception there.
Call quality 10/10 Crystal clear and loud. I can hear the other person distinctively.
Internet 9/10 while the default HTC browser does offer some nice tricks, the URL bar often gets hidden out and it's quite annoying. But we can always change to other browser. The default is quick, though!
Multimedia 9/10 It offers codec for many standard media file extension and so far I have not run into any problem with a file extension. Also, 3.5mm jack offers great audio output, and the front speakers are out of this world as far as smartphone is concerned. The display is also gorgeous, making viewing media content a very nice experience.
Camera 9/10 the camera gets the job done perfectly. It is lightning fast and offers some customization in terms of image parameter. The only gripe I have so far with the camera is daylight images may lose a slight image quality (a little softer) which I think is very usual in phone cameras with plastic lenses.
UI speed 10/10 It is lightning fast and I have yet to experience stutter (I hope I won't have to). The 4.2.2 update makes Sense 5 even more intuitive and brings back some old and tried UX functionality that users may have been accustomed to in Sense 4, which can improve productivity.
Everyday usage 10/10 It is very intuitive and simple. The dark and flat theme actually helps to reduce eye strain.
Text input 8/10 Actually I like the default keyboard. It offers gesture typing (swipe) and some degree of auto correct. I have some complains with the auto correct though. It is harder to register new words into the personal dictionary and the auto word completion or suggestion seem not to be working well. I really hope that HTC keyboard can match that of SwiftKey in terms of prediction and gestures. The keyboard offers something that I really like, though. It expands in the center when it is in landscape mode
Display 10/10 highest ppi rating as of today, bright, extra wide viewing angles, not-too-saturated color reproductions, are some of the reasons why the screen is at the top of the pyramid.
Battery 9/10 While it lasts about 20 hrs on a single charge with moderate usage (1hr of call, 1hr of messaging, all day Whatsapp, push emails, 6-8hrs of music, 4 hrs browsing/social media), I believe HTC can further improve its battery life. The 4.2.2 update gives me an average of 2-3 hrs more battery life. But with a better power management/software tweaks, I think it can achieve better. I average about 5 hrs of screen time. That's great, but I believe it can still be improved.

Pros

  • Very fast phone
  • Beautiful, sturdy design
  • Amazing display
  • Not many software gimmicks, just those useful ones
  • Great camera/multimedia software
  • Great low light camera
  • Awesome speakers
  • High quality sound recording

Cons

  • No memory card for media content
  • The black one gets smudge easily and can be a little hard to clean

bayusuputra alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abdane
posted on 18 Jul 2013, 03:23 (Posts: 494; Member since: 07 Oct 2011)

7

Disappointed...

abdane has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

so i chose this phone over the GS4, and i shouldn't have, this phone have a lot of problems, such as sound latency which sucks, the camera isn't that good ! it SUCKS ! i'm going to sell it and get the GS4, people over hyped this phone for no reason, only thing good about it is the build quality, still some people got poor build quality like me... oh and Boomsound ??? seriously ??? it isn't that loud !!!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Design.

Cons

  • Fast drain battery.
  • Camera.
  • non removable battery.
  • no sd card slot.
  • Software issues.

abdane alternatives:

2 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ahhxd717
posted on 01 Jun 2013, 00:23 (Posts: 332; Member since: 08 Dec 2011)

9

Simply awesome

ahhxd717 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

While I've only had this phone for a little over ac week, I can say it is an excellent phone. No lag whatsoever, extremely fluid and fast as I could ask for. The standout features to me are the speakers, the TV function, the screen, and the camera (kinda). The speakers are freaking loud and clear and blow any phone out the water (although the Lumia 920 is very good too). A great feature I wasn't expecting to utilize so much is the TV app. It's seriously awesome. It's much more pleasing and more user friendly to see the currently airing programs in this format than on your tv guide provider by the cable box. Cool feature. The screen is without a doubt one of the very best. Colors pop and the resolution is ridiculous. Ugh I sound kinda crazy about this phone but I havebt had any problems. Sometimes Sense can get in the way (especially coming from a Nexus) but the extra features make it for it, for the most part. Oh yeah, and the camera is nice. Very good outdoor shots and seem very detailed. Camera software features are nice too. However, it's not perfect. I know there'd an update that fixes some issues but sadly I have to wait for ATT to release it. I think it'll work out some of my kinks with the software. Overall, I think this is easily one of the top, if not THE TOP, phone on the market.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Brilliant screen
  • Awesome speakers
  • TV function
  • Zoe is neat
  • Camera generally takes good shots
  • Battery decent
  • Fast processor, virtually no lag
  • Sense looks elegant

Cons

  • Camera software could use some fine tuning
  • Sense gets in the way sometimes, but nothing to stress about

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hunt3rj2
posted on 18 May 2013, 01:48 (Posts: 396; Member since: 11 Nov 2011)

10

The new king of Android.

Hunt3rj2 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I'll be honest. At first, leading up to the announcement, I was not expecting the then-rumored M7 to be anything that would blow me away. I assumed it would be a modified version of the One X that launched last year, with a slightly remixed design that incorporated things from the Droid DNA in a respun manner.
I don't think I've ever been that wrong before.
This phone is unlike anything I've ever used. I remember how it used to be that an all-metal phone was impossible. I remember how people used to say that front facing speakers were never happening. I remember how people used to say HTC was finished. With this single phone, HTC has destroyed all those notions in a single fell swoop.
It is only fitting that we begin with the metal unibody. Coming from an HTC 8X, this phone is simply something else. The metal body simply feels incredible in the hand. The razor thin edge leads to this incredibly ergonomic curved back that allows it to easily rest in the hand. Even though the edge is so thin, the grip is reassuring. There's this slight outward curve that means that if you try to pinch your fingers together, the worst that can happen is that it falls into your palm, as opposed to the inward curve of other phones that can send the phone flipping out of the hand. Every single design element seems to be thought out with incredible care. Something like the IR blaster, which is awkwardly placed on the Galaxy S4, is cleverly hidden on the HTC One to appear as if it isn't there at all.
The...  

Build quality 10/10 Great aluminum unibody. Incredible precision.
Reception 10/10 Meets or beats the competition
Call quality 10/10 Speakers are great.
Internet 10/10 S600 + LTE = Great experience for internet.
Multimedia 10/10 Speakers alone make this one of the best for multimedia.
Camera 9/10 Took off a point for average daytime quality.
UI speed 10/10 Sense 5 is incredibly fast and smooth.
Everyday usage 10/10 Sense 5's software is completely tailored around day to day use.
Text input 10/10 Stock keyboard is the best for Chinese text input, bar none.
Display 9/10 One of the best displays in the industry but slight miss in panel technology and calibration.
Battery 9/10 Only decent. Not exceptional.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kingkoopa765
posted on 17 May 2013, 16:42 (Posts: 17; Member since: 22 Oct 2011)

10

Near perfection from HTC, best yet

kingkoopa765 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Being in cell phone sales, I'm pretty picky with phones. I had been watching this phone since February and it lived up to the hype. Nothing feels more quality than the aluminum body and the design of dual front facing speakers. The screen resolution is amazing and makes media experience really nice. I don't care how many pixels the camera is, it takes fantastic shots with great detail and editing options. I can't complain about the software because its customizable, if you don't like sense then root it. If you don't like blinkfeed then use a different launcher (apex is nice and free). If you don't like the battery life use juice defender ultimate. Overall this is the best phone out right now in my opinion.

Build quality 10/10 Solid quality feel
Reception 9/10 T-mobile
Call quality 10/10 Wifi calling
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 impressive realistic shots, wide angle lens, effects.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 Average

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Dual front speakers
  • 4 ultrapixel camera

Cons

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Steebie
posted on 17 May 2013, 16:51 (Posts: 9; Member since: 16 Apr 2013)

10

A Full Generation Ahead of the Other Smartphones

Steebie has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

First of all, the build is awesome. If you're geeky, like me, you'll love the fact that this phone is machined out of a solid block of aluminum. It feels great. Absolute lack of creaks like I've had with every plastic phone I've had. Perfectly rigid. I've dropped it (no case) and there was no mark at all. My wife even slid it over salt on a restaurant table and there were no marks at all. Any fear of aluminum scratching easily are unfounded. This is not like the iPhone 5. How did it take so long for someone to figure out a way to make an all metal body? It pays off in the feel and look.

The Boomsound is no gimmick. These speakers are loud and clear. My wife even listens to music on the speakers while washing dishes. They sound that good! Plus, the headphone jack has an independent amp and sounds absolutely great. The only phone that sounds better with music (on the headphone jack) is the HTC 8X. This thing is a music lover's dream...especially if you subscribe to one of those streaming music services.

On the topic of sound, the call quality is amazing! I've never had a clearer call, even on a land line. My mother in law is hard of hearing and this is the first phone that gave her no problems during calls. The noise reduction is so good that my wife can't even tell when I'm driving...even on speakerphone (which is loud enough to use without bluetooth so you don't get a ticket!). There is NO louder phone.

The screen is amazing. If you turn off powersaver mode, it is brighter...  

Build quality 10/10 No flex, beautiful aluminum. Super tight tolerances around jacks/buttons. Clever design. Perfectly balanced.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10 I have never heard a phone as loud and clear on calls and the noise reduction is incredible. Wife can't tell when I'm calling from a car!
Internet 10/10 The phone has zero lag and with a 1080p 4.7" screen, I can use the desktop version of websites. Runs faster than my tablets or any other phone I've used.
Multimedia 10/10 1080p, bright, accurate color, unbeatable sound to go with music and videos.
Camera 10/10 Low light performance allows me to catch things I could never catch before. Both my wife and I have replaced our point and shoot cameras with this phone.
UI speed 10/10 First phone I've used with zero lag
Everyday usage 10/10 Everything I need in the palm of my hand, with 20 hours on a charge with 3 hours of screen time!
Text input 10/10 HTC includes "trace" which is like swipe or swiftkey pro
Display 10/10 I have never seen anything this sharp or clear. The brightness is awesome and the color accuracy is unmatchable.
Battery 10/10 I easily make it 20 hours on a charge with 3 hours of screen on time. Try that with a phone (that doesn't have a giant aftermarket battery!)

Pros

  • Too many to list
  • Boomsound Speakers!

Cons

  • A little slippery in the hand

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

babyboy14622
posted on 14 May 2013, 17:50 (Posts: 35; Member since: 05 Jul 2012)

10

Htc 1

babyboy14622 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I say that this is the best htc device that I have owned. I don't have anything to say much because I haven't had the time to figure out of what everything does/doesn't do. you should check out the device if you want to know more about it. I recommend this device to any htc user who is wanting a new device.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

samsungapple
posted on 11 May 2013, 20:19 (Posts: 10; Member since: 30 Sep 2012)

5

htc one. disappointment

samsungapple has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

design is perfectly fine. The hardware is just phenominal but sense 5....... not there yet. comparing to the iphone or galaxy, the sense 5 isnt there yet. not laggy but still, feels like something is missing.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 4/10
Display 9/10
Battery 4/10

9 out of 45 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

techguy22
posted on 05 May 2013, 21:10 (Posts: 227; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

10

HTC ONE, THE BEST ANDROID PHONE RIGHT NOW

techguy22 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I just got my unlocked HTC ONE for 560. boy, this phone is simply amazing. nothing can beat it. everything about is just amazing. im not sure if we ever going to see another beautiful phone like this in near future. sense is meh but over its awesome

Build quality 10/10 just amazing. boomsound. dual speakers make sense.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 it has an old version
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • amazing build quality
  • boomsound, dual speakers make sense
  • great features
  • 32GB for 579 is awesome
  • awesome Display best on the market

Cons

  • sense is meh
  • having 2 buttons take time to get used to
  • camera needs some improvement
  • no SD card or removeable battery.(coming from an S3

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shobhit
posted on 04 May 2013, 11:32 (Posts: 13; Member since: 06 Jun 2012)

10

Great phone

shobhit has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is a fantaistic phone. Best build quality, snappy Ui,The 1080p screen has amazing colour accuracy and amazing viewing angles. The pictures look painted on the screen.The screen is great, super lcd has the most accurate colors and great viewing angles. a group of people can watch a video on this phone at the same time with ease.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Fast processor
  • Build Quality
  • Boom Sound

Cons

  • none

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chocolaking
posted on 01 May 2013, 15:18 (Posts: 494; Member since: 22 May 2012)

10

PERFECT PHONE!

chocolaking has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

such an perfect phone ever purchased. Beautiful user interface. easy and simple to get on with. fantastic display screenw ith full HD.
impressive speaks in the front. with very very good sound quality.
Camera is amazing. the wide angle is one of the most amazing feature of this camera.
F2.0 is awesome to take shots in low light. Would recommand this phone to anyone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Great camera quality
  • Best screen ever
  • very stunning and quality front spreaker
  • simple UI
  • aluminum unibody design
  • ergonomicly fits in hand.

Cons

  • no tengible keyboard like Blackberry

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cosimonh
posted on 29 Apr 2013, 06:36 (Posts: 12; Member since: 27 Apr 2013)

10

Near perfect?

cosimonh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This device is probably the best built phone out there right now. I haven't come across any lags on this phone after using it for 3-4 weeks now. I never had a "force close" pop for anything yet. Sense 5 is completely new compared to older Sense UI. You have to actually try the phone out before judging Sense 5. I didn't think Sense 5 was going to be that good but it proved me wrong. There's a few things that disappointed me though, i.e. the number of widget HTC proves has decreased, the panels can't be re-arranged, and also it's a hassle to change the wallpaper now. HTC also removed the skins for the UI that older sense had. Other than these minor things, this phone is really good to use. Furthermore, after reading reviews and comparisons of HTC One against Samsung Galaxy S4, I think I can say that the majority of phone reviewers prefer HTC One over the Galaxy S4 simply because HTC One doesn't have the micro lags Galaxy S4 has and it does everything simpler as well. As for the non-removable battery, it's better to buy a battery bank or whatever they are called. Buying removable batteries, when you change phones, you have to buy new removable batteries... I personally have never really removed microSD cards from my previous phones, I think 64GB is large enough. HTC provides 25GB on dropbox for 3 years as well. Unless you use your phone every second of the day, and can't allow 30 minutes for it to charge on external battery or you have over 64GB of media then the lack of microSD...  

Build quality 9/10 The build quality is near perfect but there are still fine gaps in the plastic around the edge. You can still feel the plastic around the edge still not perfectly integrated with the glass edge and and aluminum back. This is most visible around the corners. This issue on another one I looked at was not as severe. The plastic surrounding the microUSB port protrudes slightly.
Reception 10/10 The reception on this phone is excellent when in network range.
Call quality 10/10 The call quality on this is excellent as well. Other people have no problem hearing me and was clear. The output of this phone is pretty loud and clear as well.
Internet 10/10 The internet on this is the same as its reception. When in the network range, the speed can get up to 12Mbps on 3G/HSDPA. I do not have 4G network.
Multimedia 10/10 Gaming on this device is lag free so far. Video playback is amazing with the 1080 HD screen. With the BoomSound dual speakers, Gaming and movie playback is taken to a new level. Of course the music playback is good as well. Beats Audio on this actually improves the quality of the music rather than just boosting the bass like previous HTC phones.
Camera 9/10 The camera software for this is outstanding. HTC Zoe was more useful than I thought it will be. It provides the ability to remove passerby when taking photos, edit people's face to look nicer and provides the moving photo sense from Harry Potter. Low light shooting is really good as well as it can take up more light than most other cell phone cameras, though there's still quite a bit of noise. The ability to take photos while video recording is pretty good. The 4MP camera (ultrapixel has nothing
UI speed 10/10 All I have to say is I have no encountered any lag on this device yet. It runs butter smooth and everything moves at a naturally fast speed.
Everyday usage 9/10 Everyday usage on this phone, it has no trouble getting me through they day for whatever reason I need to use it. BlinkFeed cannot be disabled. The order of the panels for home screen cannot be rearranged at all.
Text input 10/10 The touch input on HTC phones is pretty good. The only down side of it is I sometimes press B or N instead of pressing the space bar. I think it's my thumb being too short.
Display 10/10 No other cell phone's screen can match HTC One's pixel density. People say Samsung's black is darker and white is whiter. Honestly, HTC's black looks black to me and white seems like white. The colours look pretty good to the naked eye. Colours don't look too saturated.
Battery 8/10 With heavy usage, the phone will just make it through the day. Moderate usage, the phone still has 30% when I go to bed at night. Still have to monitor the battery throughout the day.

Pros

  • No lags
  • Clean UI
  • Feels like a premium device
  • BoomSound

Cons

  • Lacks removable battery
  • Lacks microSD card slot
  • Battery capacity can still be improved
  • 2-3 Hours to charge via power plug/wall socket

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sharks
posted on 29 Apr 2013, 05:27 (Posts: 233; Member since: 16 Feb 2013)

10

The best phone i've ever held in my hand and ever used!

sharks has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone will make you want to keep it close and pick it up all the time! It just feels so uniquely great. It's like an orgasm every single time you touch it. The aluminium body is so awesome! It really is something special and the software is a real joy to use with the BlinkFeed being exceptionally smooth and beautiful. The scrolling is actually endless as news items are always being refreshed. Did i mention the absolutely exceptional sound!? This phone has the BEST speakers EVER. Don't try to guess how its speakers sound by tweaking youtube videos. These speakers must definitely be experienced in person! You cannot hear the full stereo and depth of the sound quality through a recorded youtube video. It would require professional Dolby sound recording equipment to properly record the sound coming out of the dual front-speakers. Just do yourself a favor and go check it out in a mobile shop. Listen to it and touch it. You'll be hooked! The camera is something revolutionary and hits the sweet spot when it comes to real-life photography. You need to overcome the marketing brainwash that has been ongoing in cameras where the number of megapixels is directly linked to picture quality. This is not entirely correct! In real-life, you do not enjoy perfect lighting conditions to take the best possible picture. Most of the time, you will be taking a picture in the spur of the moment, somewhere in the shades, or at night, or in a place where there is no studio lighting equipment giving...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Exceptional quality build with aluminium!
  • The best sound speakers ever!
  • The best resolution on any mobile screen!
  • The camera is the best in low-light conditions!
  • The Sense UI 5.0 is a joy to use!
  • No gimmicks that clutter the user experience!

Cons

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

droidluvngurl
posted on 28 Apr 2013, 22:21 (Posts: 11; Member since: 27 Feb 2013)

10

Easily best phone I've used

droidluvngurl has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm always very cautiously optimistic about buying new phones at launch because usually the first phones out are the "tester" batch. However from the first day, the HTC One has been incredible. It's fast, no bugs, no lag, just smooth quick seemless transitions. I knew how to work the phone (mostly bcuz I'm a nerd and I watch all these review videos) but everything worked. The wknd I bought it I went to Atlantic City and not only did the Ultrapixels work, they impressed all of my friends. Even my boyfriend who was a skeptic saying the phone wouldn't live up to the hype I kept giving it, now sings a new tune...tho he's not louder than my BoomSound. For the most part the battery has been much more than sufficient. I've gotten through an 18hr day and still had 11% left and that included Youtube, Temple Run, phone time, AmazonMP3, fb, Twitter, BlinkFeed, and a couple of Google searches. Clearly this phone is incredible and deserves the #1 position

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

longtian
posted on 26 Apr 2013, 02:09 (Posts: 40; Member since: 13 Apr 2013)

10

Very good a cell phone

longtian has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Its design is very beautiful, I like to see at a glance on it.Samsung S4 phone is also very good, but I do not like its design (this is my personal point of view), If I had to choose, I would not hesitate to choose HTC One.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories