x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Legend User Reviews

8.2 Based on 11 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia7.6/10
Internet8/10
Call quality9.4/10
Battery7.8/10
Reception9/10
Display9.2/10
Build quality10/10
Text input7.6/10
Everyday usage8.2/10
UI speed6/10
Camera6.8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Jamosoma
posted on 23 Feb 2012, 01:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Feb 2012)

7

Meh

Jamosoma has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Look, it's not a BAD phone if your not using it for anything except for a couple apps and phone calls. Other than that it sucks crap... The one of the best things about it is that it is damn near impossible to break. You can drop it from my height (5"10" or 180cm) onto concrete and you lose no data or phone. You may have to go hunting for bottom which flies off.

Build quality 10/10 Very durable, good lock down feature to protect your data.
Reception 8/10 Good, but not great.
Call quality 7/10 Nice and loud but on speaker, the quality goes down about 5-10%
Internet 5/10 Not very fast at all
Multimedia 7/10 The music you play is clear and loud to listen to. The video quality could be improved on though.
Camera 5/10 Sorry to say, but it's crap. The resolution is great but the camera MP probably effects it a bit.
UI speed 5/10 Fast when you don't have much stuff on it. As soon as you are using it a lot with lots of apps and games (would NOT recommend putting games on) it just fails.
Everyday usage 8/10 On of the good points of the phone.
Text input 6/10 Solid but it's an Android keyboard... So not as good as it could be
Display 9/10 Changeable brightnesses, good colours and generally a nice touch.
Battery 7/10 Decent battery life even on full brightness still requires a charge every 1 or occasionally 2 days.

Pros

  • Almost impossible to break
  • Great screen
  • Great for phone calls
  • Curved bottom (where the microphone is located) for better sound quality for the reciver

Cons

  • Bad social networking
  • Typical Android keyboard
  • Totally lags out if there is too much stuff

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

arminius75
posted on 28 Jan 2012, 22:05 (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 Jan 2012)

7

Worst Phone I ever had

arminius75 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Need to restart this phone on average ever 2 days, It will only support the bare minimum of apps cause of the small amount of system memory, if I wasn't locked into a 2 year plan I would have brought it back within a few weeks of getting it.
I'll never buy anything from HTC again.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 1/10 Slowest phone I ever owned.
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 5/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Durable
  • Good Internet Connection, so far as the worst network in australia will allow.

Cons

  • To few memory
  • Slow response
  • Slow keyboard imput
  • Needs to be reset often.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cdh3
posted on 22 Jun 2011, 00:23

9

Bang For Your Buck

cdh3 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall this phone is better than I expected. I bought it for the price and durability, but I ended up getting a very capable android phone. The htc sense interface is very nice to look at and play around with, although experiences a little bit of stutter at times. Games run fine as long as you install a task killer to free up memory on the phone. The internet browser is better than my iPod touch's and it supports flash! The screen is a little cramped for typing but it doesn't matter because I can type so quickly due to the predictive text engine being so accurate. Screen is very responsive and aluminum body makes it feel indestructible I wish felt a little heavier in my hand, but that may be a plus to some people. Camera takes surprisingly nice photos also for a point and shoot, but remember it's still a phone camera. Reception could be better, used to get full bars in the basement with my Lg Rumor 2, but now in one part of the basement I don't get any on the Legend still with the same carrier.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • extremely durable body and screen
  • looks sleek
  • screen is very nice and visible in sunlight
  • price - $250 from Virgin Mobile
  • predictive text makes smaller screen keyboard very speedy
  • battery life is decent- be very lucky to get through 2 days
  • nice camera

Cons

  • reception not bad but not as good as my old "dumbphone"
  • could a tiny bit faster but good enough for daily use
  • gps takes a while to connect, but never used on on any other phone before
  • could feel heavier for me

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

omalley
posted on 01 Apr 2011, 18:09

8

My experience

omalley has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The phone is very cool ..........but it has some disadvantages .......like you cant install all games on it because most games work slow cuzz of it's CPU, and the internal storage is too low you can only install 20 applications on it even with the ffoyo update when you install on the sd card it gets really slow and boring, and not supporting the ad hoc networks is a really big problem for me,in the end if you are a guy who looks for a fast phone to play all games on it install too many programs this is not the right phone for you

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • screen colors are close to super amoled
  • sense UI is very nice and fast
  • scratch resistance design
  • The optical trackpad is very fun to use

Cons

  • No (ad-hoc) wifi support
  • No Divx video support
  • internal storage is too low
  • no 720p video recording
  • The screen gets invisible in front of sunlight....Which is very hard to see
  • applications get slow when you install more than 10 apps
  • no Multitasking

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

João Oliveira
posted on 16 Mar 2011, 07:42

9

A superb phone with the ideal size

João Oliveira has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

In my opinion, the size of this htc legend is perfect. The build quality is awesome, all people look to my legend when i use, because its a beautiful phone. Call quality is the better i have had, the display is very god, but at the sunlight is bad. one of the cons is that not many people have a legend, so the community its not very active

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

himanshu sarda
posted on 16 Jul 2010, 07:27

7.7

HTC Legend.

 it is a very nice cell phone. just love the android 2.1 eclairwaiting for the upgrade version which is 2.2 froyo. amazing appsvery well builtbut not easy to find covers for this phoneits is very slippery because of the all metal body.Just love the phoneit is a iphone competitor 

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Victor Gordin
posted on 27 May 2010, 06:30

7

Mr

Well, got this phone for two weeks now. It has a lot of toys and it's nice looking. Sound quality is better than my old Nokia 6300 and the ring volume is good enough to hear in noisy environment. Read some comments about the speaker being too close to the edge causing uncomforting feelings - didn’t caused problems for me. There are some issues with this HTC however. 1. AMOLED screen is nearly impossible to see in direct sunlight, brightness needs to be at the max for the screen to be barely readable. 2. Battery drains with a lightning speed, even with a very moderate use it does not last for more than a day and the unit switches off at 14% battery capacity. 3. Bluetooth is a big problem, the Legend refuses to connect to any of my Bluetooth devices (which perfectly work with each other) and, especially, to my car hands free – which is bloody important for me. Looks like its HTC Bluetooth implementation issues since this problem was reported by a lot of other people. Well, overall it’s more like “work in progress” rather than the final product.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • Nice looking phone, good size for carrying in a pocket, good customization capabilities, good sound quality, adequate reception.

Cons

  • 1. Bluetooth is the biggest problem, does not work with many Bluetooth devices of more than 1 year old and many new ones as well.
  • 2. AMOLED screen is nearly impossible to read in direct sunlight
  • 3. Battery life, drains to nearly zero even with modest use within 10-14 hours

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rasmus Hj. Andersen
posted on 20 May 2010, 06:46

7.7

Apple Lossless NOT supported!

 I love my HTC Legend and the Android system, and the camera kicks *** and make me so happy that I switched from Iphone.But it's an error to claim m4a as the same as Apple Lossless.m4a is a container, which is supported by Android's mediaplayer, hence also supported by HTC Legend.Apple Lossless is using ALAC (I think the name is) which is NOT supported by Android or HTC, even though stored in m4a.So in short, Android and HTC Legend is NOT playing Apple Lossless out of the box, but the format can be played by the very limited application "andLess" available for free download. Played yes, but sure with hope for some development progress...

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Everything seems to be working out of the box, just as expected.

Cons

  • Very limited (none) sysnc options with osx/apple.
  • Apple Lossless is NOT supported :(

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 18 May 2010, 09:27

9.3

Beautiful well made phone. A bit steep on the price for the average user, but well worth it. The pros:
well built
fast operation
sleek design
great rich functionality
responsive screen
excellent overall weight/size balance

Nothing bad to say about the phone really, it is an excellent choice for every geek.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • well built
  • fast operation
  • sleek design
  • great rich functionality
  • responsive screen
  • excellent overall weight/size balance

Cons

  • none

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anchor96
posted on 28 Apr 2010, 12:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Mar 2010)

9.7

Amazing Phone!!

I've been using this phone for about three weeks now and I love it.The first thing is its great looks, fits perfectly in the hand and is quite light. The user interface on the legend is great and it has seven homescreens on which you can put many widgets and heavily customize it.The camera is great on the  Legend( 5mp ) and it is extremely good with LED Flash you can easily see photos in darkness. The maps are also great with a built in GPS.The Legend runs android 2.1 which is extremely fun to use and the android market has lots of apps.One thing I dislike about the Legend is that it is very hard to see the AMOLED screen in direct sunlight although it is one of the best and brightest screens  i've seen in normal lighting conditions.The Legend is a very fast phone with 600 mhz processor which is great for browsing the web. The phone itself is very responsive and easy to use.Another thing that the legend doesn't have is:live wallpapers.Overall I like the htc legend and I would recommend anyone to buy it.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Stylish Phone
  • Looks Great
  • Nice Camera
  • Android 2.1(with HTC Sence)
  • Good battery life.
  • Great colors
  • very responsive touchsreen
  • very fast phone.

Cons

  • Quite hard to see in direct sunlight
  • No live wallpapers

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sarah S.
posted on 27 Apr 2010, 04:31

9

HTC Legend - the name says it all

Well, I adore the phone, it's very easy to use.. it fits perfectly in your hands& it's extremely light. I'm a Hero user& comparing them together you feel the legend is much lighter& more stylish. As the review says, it's a very successful sequel to the Hero, since the lip is much smoother& the top part of the phone is very well designed for perfection& style. You get the feeling that the looks of the Legend is very well made, sharp on the internal edges (facing the screen) yet very smooth on the outside (to comfort your hands). The rubber parts stops the phone from slipping your hands even though they look a bit better on pictures. This is the first phone that has this shine that I've ever seen, it's taking a bit to get used to it but it's very unique and I wouldn't replace it for any other phone (well except maybe for the nexus one:))The screen is amazing, full of colors& very sensitive to your touch.  HTC Sense UI is amazing, full of colors& very much customizable, I even downloaded "Color notes" where you can pin sticky colored notes on the wallpaper. Even though I've used all Android devices (starting Dream), HTC and Google have gone a long way, doing a great job& jumping a 100 milestones with each step.This is the 5th Android device for HTC, I don't think any other company manufactured that no. of Android phones so far, which is a reason why HTC is always on the lead with experience& innovation (Rock ON HTC...  

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Very sleek design, fits perfectly in hands
  • Excellent response Touch Screen
  • Great colors
  • Very fast, excellent performance
  • Adorable and addictive millions of applications that can be downloaded from Android Market

Cons

  • Too glossy, a bit odd but the overall design is really stylish& looks expensive
  • The rubber parts are not as high quality as the aluminium body still it gives a special feel& provides a safe grip
  • No built-in office documents editing software

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories