x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Desire Z User Reviews

8.5 Based on 6 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera8.8/10
Multimedia9.2/10
Internet9.7/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery5.8/10
Reception8.7/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality8.2/10
Text input10/10
Everyday usage8/10
UI speed8.3/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Vioner
posted on 03 Dec 2012, 14:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Dec 2012)

10

The best looking phone ever with great performance and hardware keyboard

Vioner has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone, to me is the most good-looking one.

I don't mind that it's thick - it's actually a pro for me - I feel it in my pocket
Performance is quite nice, however 367 (or something like that) MB of RAM is a little bit too less to keep the multitasking well working.
Hardware keyboard is great and ergonomic.
It's tough - falled so many times in mountains on bike rides and nothing severe happened.
This model has a malfunctioning intermal memory chip - a series of devices have it, but not all of them. It can stop working anytime, whenever u don't expect it to.
Battery is too weak to handle this device IMO.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great look
  • Hardware Keyboard
  • Quite nice performance and reception
  • Great organiser device

Cons

  • Battery could be a bit better
  • Too little ammount of RAM

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Shane_IL
posted on 02 Jul 2012, 14:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jul 2012)

8

A good phone, with some issues

Shane_IL has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This was a great phone overall, does everything expected of it and excells against most contemporaries. I liked having a solid keyboard, I use my phone for emails a lot and this makes life easier. The build has some weakpoints as stated. Somehow the capacitative buttons at the bottom (home, back, search, menu) got overloaded and stopped working. There is no way to replicate their functions with software and now the phone is somewhat useless.

Build quality 5/10 Good materials bit the opening mechanism is loose and feels flimsy. The battery door also doesnt fit snugly.
Reception 9/10 Usually good, one or two cuts
Call quality 6/10 Sometimes the in call sound would have a horrible tinny ring to it.
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 4/10 Even with a properly charged new battery it would die after 1.5 - 2 days

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

stodman
posted on 23 Jul 2011, 04:44

5

the good the bad and the ugly..

stodman has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i made the leap from a nokia e97mini to the htc. After 4 months of use, i hate it. I have problems with signal strength compared to my old phone on the same network. It drops calls all the time, the battery life is less than 1 day( with autoupdate options off!). It has NO bluetooth voicedialing support ( this is an android limitation). The phone is fast to respond, load apps etc, the screen is good quality altho very hard to see in sunlight. the build quality while not bad, feels very flimsy with the keyboard flipped out.

Build quality 8/10 good over all. but some dodgy button placement, and flimsy when keyboard is flipped out
Reception 3/10 pretty crap compared to my nokia on the same network. constantly drops calls, or takes a long time to jump from mast to mast as u travel
Call quality 5/10 again so so. picks up alot of background noise, also the volume wont go high enough if u need to use where there is noise
Internet 10/10 fast, easy. job done
Multimedia 10/10 again simple and intuitive. no complaints
Camera 8/10 its good. can be very good at times. seems a bit hit and miss with image quality sometimes ( altho that could be me)
UI speed 9/10 fast, does the job very well. only slows down when using those active wallpapers but even then pretty good
Everyday usage 2/10 I drive all day, everyday. with the reception issues/call quality and total lack of bluetooth voice dialing. its a total chore to use in my line of work
Text input 10/10 via screen or keyboard its good!
Display 10/10 good screen, big and easy to read
Battery 2/10 battery life is pretty crap after 4 months im down to about 8 hours with average to high call useage

Pros

  • Screen is nice
  • fast interface
  • good web browsing
  • good camera with easy share options

Cons

  • NO blutooth voice dialing support
  • Battery a bit pants
  • Poor reception compared to my old phone
  • poor call quality compared to my old phone
  • touch button sensitivity is random

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dollar_2080
posted on 11 Jul 2011, 20:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Jul 2011)

10

a very good phone

dollar_2080 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

just if it had a better battery it will be a perfect device.
very good quality in every thing, i am waiting for the update of android from 2.2 to 2.3
it will be just better and better if you are a practical person you shoud have this phone immediately you won't regret it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FlareBlitz
posted on 17 May 2011, 06:12

9

Great Phone

FlareBlitz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is my first smartphone and it's by far the best phone I've had. Took a while to find out how to access everything, but now I'm used to it it's brilliant. Had a couple of problems - firstly, after having the phone for about a week, it decided to delete all of my texts. It's not happened again since but I don't understand why it happened at all. Secondly, the gallery sometimes decides not to show more recent pictures - don't know why it does this. Apart from that it's a great phone - looks smart, Z-hinge is a bit of a novelty, internet access is great - would definitely recommend.

Build quality 9/10 Looks awesome, only concern is the Z hinge, doesn't look very solid, but not had any problems so far.
Reception 10/10 I live somewhere with bad signal, but the reception is nowhere near as bad with this phone as it was with previous handsets.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Internet access is great.
Multimedia 8/10 Pictures and videos are unbelievably clear, however sometimes the gallery decides not to show more recent pictures (no idea why) so I can only access them by connecting the phone to my laptop.
Camera 8/10 Camera is pretty good, but last phone was a Samsung Tocco Ultra (8 megapixel camera) so used to better photos. Camera display is brilliant.
UI speed 7/10 Generally pretty fast but occasionally it takes a while for the phone to register that you've selected something.
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10 Text input on the qwerty keypad is great, nice sized keys, even the text input on the touchscreen is not too bad either.
Display 10/10 Display is the best I've seen on a phone. Definition is brilliant.
Battery 3/10 Awful battery life - have to charge every day. Shame as otherwise the phone would be near on perfect.

Pros

  • Awesome display
  • Love the keypad

Cons

  • Poor battery life

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

legionista
posted on 16 Apr 2011, 11:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Apr 2011)

9

Not so scary

legionista has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's my first smartphone and now I feel ashamed, that I was scared of this transition. Battery can last 2-3 days (about 2-4 hours of wi-fi, mail & weather synchronization, 1 hour of Angry Birds), physical keyboard is graet. I am only afraid, that Z-hinge won't last long.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories