x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Desire CDMA User Reviews

9.3 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera9.5/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.7/10
Call quality9.7/10
Battery6.5/10
Reception9.7/10
Display9.5/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input8.8/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed9.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Irishjim7
posted on 10 May 2011, 17:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 May 2011)

9

Great phone

Irishjim7 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The desire is a great phone even more so now that it has the 2.2 Froyo update. The battery life can be a little bad depending on what your doing. I have ATK (advanced task killer) installed and I only have to charge it once a day unless I get bored and play lots of games. The camera is great as in the camcorder. Phone size and weight is one of the best. Even with a impact series otter box on it. The case doesn't over power the phone at all and make it akward. The reception for the desire is one of the best for HTC.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

N2Wind
posted on 19 Apr 2011, 09:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Apr 2011)

8

Love the phone, hate the memory

N2Wind has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought this phone to replace my BlackBerry Bold that was not working properly. The phone is nice and light. It has a beautiful screen. It did take me a while to adjust to the Android operating system, but I now love it.

My biggest problem with the phone is the memory... or lack of memory. The phone has 512 MB of memory. The problem is less than 180 MB is available to the user. It is taken up by HTC applications and also how the memory is formatted. Once I installed a few applications, connected my GMail, Twitter, and Facebook accounts, I started receiving low memory warnings.

The battery life is okay with me getting 6-8 hours of normal usage on the standard battery (WiFi and Bluetooth both enable). I did but and extended battery and now I can go for a full day without recharging.

Over all it is a decent phone but if you are wanting to use a lot of applications, I would look to another phone with multiple GB of internal memory.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Light weight
  • Beautiful Display
  • 5 MP camera

Cons

  • Lack of memory
  • Battery Life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

drb1213
posted on 27 Jan 2011, 10:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jan 2011)

10

Best

drb1213 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If your a texter, deleting big conversations takes forrrever. Thats the only downfall. Other than that all the other features are great. not too big not to small size. touch screen is responsive. Never lost a call. Battery is good if you turn internet off when not in use

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10 Battery is good if you turn internet off when not in use

Pros

Cons

  • Deleting Messages

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Auntie
posted on 28 Dec 2010, 22:56

10

good phone

Auntie has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i love this phone. i cant put it down. the screen is perfect size. i also love the physical keys. my battery lasts all day. htc makes the best phones and this is just proof of that! i bought one for my mother for christmas. she loves it too! i havent ever had a better phone than this one.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything!

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AnonymousDesireReview
posted on 28 Dec 2010, 22:41

10

Amazing Phone

AnonymousDesireReview has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is the best phone I have ever had. I had switched from a Blackberry Curve to this and I have not had any regrets. It is a very solid phone. It is the only phone I have ever had that hasn't had issues or problems. The perfect phone in my opinion.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 It's a decent battery when you think of the power of the hardware running on it.

Pros

  • Great build
  • Sense UI
  • Very fast

Cons

  • Battery life could be better

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jey
posted on 11 Dec 2010, 08:16

8

Desire Review

Jey has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Htc Desire! like people say, a Nexus One but better. Well the 1Ghz processor and the 2.1 UI runs both together making a slightly fast phone. The 5.0 MP in the camera takes impressive pictures that can easily tell you where the picture was took with the A-GPS. There's a built in AMOLED display that displays astonishing images and videos in a 3.7 inch display that has 480 X 800 in his resolution.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 3/10

Jey alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 10 Sep 2010, 01:20

9.3

good phone with all of the htc perks, but the speaker phone, battery and zoom on camara aren't very good. i know it's a phone not a camara but i want a phone that can zoom in close on something from far away. speaker phone is very poor, can;t really use it sound is bad. the battery is poor too, i'm use to flip phones where battery last a week, you can get a bigger battery but it makes the phone a lot thicker.i do not like the seven home screens, really only need oneweather update doesn't work right all the time, don't know whynot the phones faught but 30 extra dollars a month for android is alot to pay for me 360 extra in a year.but if you want the best smart phone out there this is probily it, it runs like a dream

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • SIZE OF PHONE
  • FEEL OF PHONE IN HAND
  • SCREEN IS SHARP
  • PHYSICAL BUTTONS
  • FAST

Cons

  • SPEAKER PHONE
  • ZOOM ON CAMARA
  • BATTERY

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

travis ayres
posted on 02 Sep 2010, 09:11

10

HTC Desire is a great phone

This is a great phone, it is very responsive and the screen looks great. The web browsing is very nice. It feels really good to hold, very solid. The camera is very nice. This is by far the best phone US Cellular is ever had. The android market is full of great apps and a good many are free.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • This phone has a very nice screen and is very fast. the web browsing is very good.

Cons

  • The battery will drain pretty fast if you use it heavily.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories