x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Desire 816 User Reviews

9.6 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.9/10
Battery9.3/10
Reception9.9/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.8/10
UI speed10/10
Camera9.8/10
Multimedia9.9/10
Internet9.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

KHPower
posted on 01 Oct 2014, 11:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Dec 2010)

10

For 200? there is no No contract phone that compares

KHPower has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I picked up this phone actually on the Home shopping network website because they were 100 dollars off of anywhere online.. I replaced my desire 601 because i had issues with signal in the area im in... first this phone at the 200 price range is insane... the screen is just fine regardless of it being 1280 x 720 and the speed is out of this world... also Id like to mention when I first received this pgone I charged it all the way up and used it a ton! im am on my 36th hour without a charge and I have 1/4 battery left... maybe its my settings but I have not changed to power saving or anything ...Im very impressed.Id recommend this to anyone!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery , speed , 5.5 inch screen and ease of use

Cons

  • None dude to its price

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

roquibul79
posted on 09 Sep 2014, 01:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Sep 2014)

10

mid range phablet packed with high end specs

roquibul79 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's more than I seek in a smartphone. Moreover, its phablet for its more than wide display. Boom sound rocks. The provided headphones didn't provide quality as the smartphone did. The touch is super sensitive. Wearing gloves or clothes in your finger will not effect in touch. 128 gb external memory capability is worthy. Do not use cache cleaner, it has its own. Never rebooted automatically till date.

Build quality 10/10 Plastic material is high quality
Reception 10/10 Reception is nearly perfect , no echo or noise.
Call quality 10/10 Crystal clear and loud, I have to decrease the volume which I never did in Sony smartphones.
Internet 10/10 With airtel 3g , the speed and site rendering is remarkable. Letters are prominant. No noticeable lag. Best renderer Google chrome without any need to update.
Multimedia 10/10 Automatic volume level, True ambience, state of the art stereo sound both internal and external. Quite loud, less noisy. Fastest Bluetooth connect. Dolby digital like sound, gallery is awesome . Default metroska and xvid video container player. Nescube games are played without any glitch and lag. 3d apk games like galaxy on fire 2 hd are fluid. Gigantic ram and 60 fps helps games look like they were never before. In addition , adreno 305 proves it's worthyness by executing the game with cutting edge graphic
Camera 10/10 Flawless, noiceless, neat and perfect. Both the cameras do their job like electron. Pixels never touch me but the effect and print quality. They are nice. I love the high dynamic rate takes. They are more than real
UI speed 10/10 Lag free, True refreshing 60hz, easy and with superannuated motion.
Everyday usage 10/10 Battery is quite good, not perfect to accompany this set. But everyday usage do not require reboot or shutdown to free memory. No difficulties found in continuous usage
Text input 10/10 Fastest, smooth, both swipe and type with HTC' own qwerty is more than brilliant. Super responsive as if the real sixth sense is working behind
Display 10/10 True hd, glare free, more than wide, anti sunlight reflecting, more than 10 simultaneous touch input. Extraordinary viewing angle nearly 180° , on-screen android buttons. Brilliant and true colors representation, pixel perfect.
Battery 10/10 Not the best but solid and fine.

Pros

  • display, camera, sound, gaming

Cons

  • hardware back is oil and dirt addictive

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kolonitakoki
posted on 06 Aug 2014, 09:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Aug 2014)

10

perfect

kolonitakoki has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this phone is awesome
the only thing i hate about is that the kitkat doesn't support movingd apps and files from internal storage to external sd :(
must find a solution for it
no lags :D fast enough

Build quality 8/10 very slim little big feels like fragile
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 with normal usage without gaming and internet it would last about 2 days with wi fi and gaming about 21 hours with mobile data network max 18 hours

Pros

  • speakers,camera,smooth,fast,no lags

Cons

  • all buttons near to each other, low memory, can't move data from internal to external storage

kolonitakoki alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ravikarthick
posted on 01 Jul 2014, 06:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jul 2014)

9

Good Mid-range Phablet

ravikarthick has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its looking very slim and light weight.
1.Awesome Camera quality.
2.Boom Speakers Rocks.
3.No lacking in HD Games.
4.Dual SIM Support
5.Battery backup not bad!!..
6.HTC Blinkfeed, by that you can get all country versions of latest Tech Magazines.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Boom Speaker
  • Camera
  • HTC Blinkfeed

Cons

  • Low Internal Memory
  • Big Screen

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kallaji
posted on 25 Jun 2014, 02:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Jun 2014)

10

killer of grand 2

kallaji has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

good phone only thing need to give mat finish in back cover to use openly roughtough .any how cover provided so enjoying a lot..2 type of battery saver is provided so just use it and convert ur battery in the booom

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

007morshed
posted on 12 Jun 2014, 11:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jun 2014)

9

Best midrange device I have ever seen

007morshed has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is one of the best and greatest midrange device I have ever seen and I think this can beat many now-a-days falgships easily with its build quality, awesome camera and blazing fast speed and performance. I really love it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alizareiaa
posted on 03 Jun 2014, 17:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jun 2014)

10

best 5.5 inch phablet

alizareiaa has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

If you want this phone, I'd recommend you get it. it easily replaced my need to take my laptop on short business trips.hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh​hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt​ttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttcccccccccccc​cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc​cccccccccc

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AlHaptismMY
posted on 01 Jun 2014, 01:06 (Posts: 2; Member since: 16 Aug 2013)

9

HTC Desire 816 - The Next Breakthrough in Mid-Ranger Smartphone

AlHaptismMY has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

when i looked to this phone, i saw some potential within it. it comes with Qualcomm Snapdragon 400, giving us blazing fast speed in everyday usage. plus it does support dual sim (eventally it's nanoSIM) with 4G LTE CAT3 support. then, the 13 MPx rear camra and 5 MPx front camera with HDR, auto focus, and f/2.2 aperture giving some high quality picture.

in the other side, the battery were not removable. plus, the bezel should be narrow, not thick.

lastly, i'm impressed with this mid ranger but if HTC can improve the performance and beautify the phone, maybe it would be more fun to use especially with heavi games

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

AlHaptismMY alternatives:

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories