x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Desire 816 User Reviews

9.2 Based on 16 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet9.9/10
Call quality9.8/10
Battery9.5/10
Reception9.8/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality9.6/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.8/10
UI speed10/10
Camera9.5/10
Multimedia9.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

idrisbarack07
posted on 26 Mar 2015, 23:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Mar 2015)

10

htc desire 816 4g lte orange (unlocked)

idrisbarack07 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

£179.95. I paid for the phone. If I am reviewing by rating each section, it's based by comparing the above mentioned price range. The only reason I have replaced my previous LG G2 with this new device is because of the richer audio experience through speakers and foremost headphones.

Build quality 10/10 There are better built devices out there, e.g. Sony Xperia Z Ultra, Nokia Lumia 830, Nokia Lumia 1020. Remember, I have rated it according to the price range in which this phone sits in.
Reception 10/10 Excellent. Better overall experience compared to HTC One S, Sony Xperia Z, Nokia C7, LG G2. Phone's which I have personally owned for a good period of time in the past.
Call quality 10/10 Excellent. Better overall experience compared to HTC One S, Sony Xperia Z, Nokia C7, LG G2. Phone's which I have personally owned for a good period of time in the past.
Internet 10/10 Fluid, no hiccups or lags experienced.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • External Speakers
  • Audio Quality via Headphones.
  • Phone Colour range availability
  • UI fluid experience.

Cons

  • None - for the amount paid. Seriously

idrisbarack07 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kabhijeet.16
posted on 24 Mar 2015, 01:00 (Posts: 726; Member since: 05 Dec 2012)

9

This is the best (out of HTC One V, Samsung galaxy S2, Xiaomi Redmi 1s, Oneplus One which I have had) I have purchased till date

kabhijeet.16 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is the best I have purchased till date. Till date I have had HTC One V, Samsung galaxy S2, Xiaomi Redmi 1s, Oneplus One as my daily drivers. But I find HTC desire 816 much better in terms of speed, reliability, stable OS+UI, Sense features, sound, & display. I also have Oneplus One. But Even My Oneplus One cant beat this device. It is on Sanpdragon 400 (1.5GB RAM) + Kitkat & Oneplus one is on Snapdragon 801 (3GB RAM) + Kitkat. But Desire 816 feels & performs faster & snappier because of Sense UI & better optimization. Moreover, HTC Sense UI is far more stable than stock android/cyanogen's version.
the UI is better than Lollipop. The color & style of HTC sense is already like Lollipop. And those who have used will know that Lollipop is derived from HTC sense.

Build quality 9/10 Its solidly build. Feels awesome in hand.
Reception 10/10 No issues here till date.
Call quality 9/10 Very good reception & sound
Internet 10/10 Excellent experience
Multimedia 10/10 Booomsounds.. super awesome
Camera 8/10 Its good. But could be better. front cam is awesome.
UI speed 10/10 Even My Oneplus One cant beat this device. It is on Sanpdragon 400 (1.5GB RAM) + Kitkat & Oneplus one is on Snapdragon 801 (3GB RAM) + Kitkat. But Desire 816 feels & performs faster & snappier because of Sense UI & better optimization. Moreover, HTC Sense UI is far more stable than stock android/cyanogen's version.
Everyday usage 10/10 Performs excellent. Its reliable, fast, fluid & I have not had any app crash/lag whatsoever. Thats why I'm saying this is very stable UI.
Text input 7/10 Sense Keyboard is great (responsive & stable) but autocorrect is annoying & there is no option to turn it off. Using google keyboard.
Display 9/10 With only 720p, this display still looks crispy & feels as if it is 1080p. very good hardware. Only sunlight legibility is average.
Battery 10/10 The battery life is better than Oneplus one. With power saving mode (which actually works as intended unlike on other devices), this phone gives me 1.5days easily even on heavy use.

Pros

  • Battery life awesome
  • very good Screen
  • Excellent Boomsound,
  • Stable, fast Sense UI, feels faster than my Oneplus One.
  • Super cool design & feel
  • Great front & back cam

Cons

  • only con, HTC keyboard's autocorrect is annoying coz I cant turn it off.
  • Back camera could have been better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yenkywor
posted on 03 Mar 2015, 20:38 (Posts: 6; Member since: 03 Aug 2013)

10

HTC Desire 816 perfect midranger

yenkywor has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I use HTC desire 816 for last 4 months,it simply amazing phone with affordable price.Performance vice it compete with high end smartphones,HTC desire 816 is a great performer in every field, most I like about this device is its big display and HTC BoomSound.

Build quality 10/10 HTC desire 816 is looks so stylish ,slimy and attractive,looks better than any other plastic made smartphone
Reception 10/10 Great
Call quality 10/10 Very good
Internet 10/10 Very good
Multimedia 10/10 Just great with. HTC BoomSound and amazing 5.5 inch display
Camera 9/10 Cameras are great in day light but little lack in low light,selfie 5 MP is great
UI speed 10/10 HTC sense 6 is just great very smooth
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 5.5 inch display is great
Battery 9/10 Battery is very good,easily run one day with normal to heavy use

Pros

  • HTC Boomsound
  • Battery
  • Display
  • Cameras

Cons

yenkywor alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

preston.epler
posted on 01 Mar 2015, 17:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Mar 2015)

10

Great phone!

preston.epler has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is the best phone on Virgin Mobile. The price tag is very small, and the specs aren't bad at all. Virgin Mobile coverage is a little on the bad side, but the phone is just great. The only con is the 1.5 gb of RAM and the 8 gb of on borard storage, but you can expand that to 128 gb.

Build quality 10/10 I think that the plastic is great because it doesn't over heat.
Reception 10/10 I think the reception is great because the phone is plastic.
Call quality 10/10 With boom sound, the quality is better than great.
Internet 10/10 It was fast for me!
Multimedia 10/10 Great
Camera 10/10 Excellent at 13 MP.
UI speed 10/10 Very snappy.
Everyday usage 10/10 It was great.
Text input 10/10 Great on the Sense 6 keyboard.
Display 10/10 Excellent at 5.5 in, but ppi is a little low.
Battery 10/10 Great

preston.epler alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tamriko
posted on 03 Jan 2015, 12:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jan 2015)

10

Excellent mid-range phone

tamriko has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I switched from the htc one mini (m4) to the Desire 816.
At first I thought, it will be a downgrade, cause I loved my one mini. I loved the metal unibody, the dual BoomSound speakers, BlinkFeed,...
I was wrong.
The Desire 816 has the most of my beloved features and is extraordinary cheap (at least for this high end specs).

Build quality 9/10 Cause I owned a htc one mini and I'm a huge fan of the aluminium unibody od the One series. But for a non-metal-phone is the desire 816 an awesome device
Reception 10/10 Never had problems with the reception
Call quality 10/10 the app of my provider said in the time where I called friends, I could ride with the bike from Berlin (Germany) till Leipzig (also Germany) 554 Minutes in the last month.
Internet 10/10 It's super fast I also used 9426 MB mobile data volume
Multimedia 10/10 With this huge Display and the BoomSound front speakers it's fun to use multimedia.
Camera 9/10 It's good but I saw better devices like the HTC Desire Eye
UI speed 10/10 super fast... but I'm not a technic geek
Everyday usage 9/10 I'm a power-user but the desire has more power
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 I love the display quality of the htc devices. Don't want to change the brand in the near future
Battery 10/10 I'm charge the battery daily, but I'm an extrem power-user

Pros

  • 5,5" Display
  • BoomSound frontspeaker
  • BlinkFeed
  • 13MB Main Camera
  • 5MB Front Camera
  • Sense
  • On screen buttons
  • SD Card slot

Cons

  • the european version don't have NFC
  • On screen buttons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hasank94
posted on 27 Dec 2014, 20:40 (Posts: 4; Member since: 26 Jan 2014)

10

Awesome device!

hasank94 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The HTC Desire 816 is an awesome device! I'm proud to own this amazing device. The key features for me are HTC BoomSound, 13MP/5MP Camera and the battery.

The 13MP camera is really good. You can find my pictures on Instagram (taken with my Desire 816): http://instagram.com/hasank94

I really recommend this device!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • HTC BoomSound
  • 13MP Rear-Facing Camera
  • Big Battery
  • 5.5inch Screen
  • HTC Sense 7 Update

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rubaid
posted on 19 Dec 2014, 05:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Dec 2014)

10

Great Phone

rubaid has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

HTC Desire 816 looks very slim and light weight. Awesome Camera quality (both cameras are excellent) and the Boom Speakers just Rocks. Battery backup is really good. Excellent phone for everyday use which takes great selfies too

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Big Display
  • Great Audio Quality
  • Good Battery Backup
  • Excellent Camera
  • Take Great Selfies

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

F1Rumors
posted on 28 Nov 2014, 13:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Nov 2014)

1

Awesome phone - crippled

F1Rumors has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is an awesome phone. No two ways about it - the very best mid-range phone you can hope to drop your hard earned cash on. Very good screen, great battery life, decent camera, quick responses, good memory, decent performance. It's a nicely assembled package, and delivers.

So, why the bad score? Simple: HTC and Virgin Mobile have installed some nasty applications: without so much as a by your leave, they have permanently running applications that have full access to all your data [spyware!], can be updated without your permission, and update your home screen. My background and icons have been reset so often I have lost count.

I contacted Virgin Mobile about disabling "Mobile ID" [Case #56224637] - they were very polite, but basically informed me it is not possible to disable it, let alone uninstall. Helpfully, when it first starts, it asserts that installing this application constitutes acceptance of the terms and conditions and the privacy policy -- even though there is no choice on installing the application. The privacy policy makes for an interesting read.

I contacted HTC about disabling the "BlinkFeed" feature [T#11446100777]. They, too, politely informed me that it isn't possible to disable, let alone uninstall... and if it is a problem for me, it is resolved by never connecting to WiFi or mobile data.

In summary, this is an excellent phone, crippled by Virgin Mobile & HTC's spyware that has egregious permissions and privacy violations.

Build quality 9/10 plastic, but solid
Reception 8/10 usually good reception, but not as good as a landline
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10 4G LTE is almost as quick as wifi around Chicago
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10 As good as some cameras near this price point, but no replacement for an SLR. Nice camera, imperfect interface
UI speed 10/10 HTC sense is very responsive
Everyday usage 10/10 Best value for money phone from Virgin Mobile
Text input 9/10 Crisp.
Display 9/10 Crisp, but nothing special. Nice size. Not Gorilla Glass...
Battery 9/10 Finally, a phone that lasts the day.

Pros

  • phablet
  • value for money
  • screen
  • sound

Cons

  • spyware

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KHPower
posted on 01 Oct 2014, 11:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Dec 2010)

10

For 200? there is no No contract phone that compares

KHPower has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I picked up this phone actually on the Home shopping network website because they were 100 dollars off of anywhere online.. I replaced my desire 601 because i had issues with signal in the area im in... first this phone at the 200 price range is insane... the screen is just fine regardless of it being 1280 x 720 and the speed is out of this world... also Id like to mention when I first received this pgone I charged it all the way up and used it a ton! im am on my 36th hour without a charge and I have 1/4 battery left... maybe its my settings but I have not changed to power saving or anything ...Im very impressed.Id recommend this to anyone!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery , speed , 5.5 inch screen and ease of use

Cons

  • None dude to its price

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

roquibul79
posted on 09 Sep 2014, 01:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Sep 2014)

10

mid range phablet packed with high end specs

roquibul79 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's more than I seek in a smartphone. Moreover, its phablet for its more than wide display. Boom sound rocks. The provided headphones didn't provide quality as the smartphone did. The touch is super sensitive. Wearing gloves or clothes in your finger will not effect in touch. 128 gb external memory capability is worthy. Do not use cache cleaner, it has its own. Never rebooted automatically till date.

Build quality 10/10 Plastic material is high quality
Reception 10/10 Reception is nearly perfect , no echo or noise.
Call quality 10/10 Crystal clear and loud, I have to decrease the volume which I never did in Sony smartphones.
Internet 10/10 With airtel 3g , the speed and site rendering is remarkable. Letters are prominant. No noticeable lag. Best renderer Google chrome without any need to update.
Multimedia 10/10 Automatic volume level, True ambience, state of the art stereo sound both internal and external. Quite loud, less noisy. Fastest Bluetooth connect. Dolby digital like sound, gallery is awesome . Default metroska and xvid video container player. Nescube games are played without any glitch and lag. 3d apk games like galaxy on fire 2 hd are fluid. Gigantic ram and 60 fps helps games look like they were never before. In addition , adreno 305 proves it's worthyness by executing the game with cutting edge graphic
Camera 10/10 Flawless, noiceless, neat and perfect. Both the cameras do their job like electron. Pixels never touch me but the effect and print quality. They are nice. I love the high dynamic rate takes. They are more than real
UI speed 10/10 Lag free, True refreshing 60hz, easy and with superannuated motion.
Everyday usage 10/10 Battery is quite good, not perfect to accompany this set. But everyday usage do not require reboot or shutdown to free memory. No difficulties found in continuous usage
Text input 10/10 Fastest, smooth, both swipe and type with HTC' own qwerty is more than brilliant. Super responsive as if the real sixth sense is working behind
Display 10/10 True hd, glare free, more than wide, anti sunlight reflecting, more than 10 simultaneous touch input. Extraordinary viewing angle nearly 180° , on-screen android buttons. Brilliant and true colors representation, pixel perfect.
Battery 10/10 Not the best but solid and fine.

Pros

  • display, camera, sound, gaming

Cons

  • hardware back is oil and dirt addictive

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kolonitakoki
posted on 06 Aug 2014, 09:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Aug 2014)

10

perfect

kolonitakoki has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this phone is awesome
the only thing i hate about is that the kitkat doesn't support movingd apps and files from internal storage to external sd :(
must find a solution for it
no lags :D fast enough

Build quality 8/10 very slim little big feels like fragile
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 with normal usage without gaming and internet it would last about 2 days with wi fi and gaming about 21 hours with mobile data network max 18 hours

Pros

  • speakers,camera,smooth,fast,no lags

Cons

  • all buttons near to each other, low memory, can't move data from internal to external storage

kolonitakoki alternatives:

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ravikarthick
posted on 01 Jul 2014, 06:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jul 2014)

9

Good Mid-range Phablet

ravikarthick has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its looking very slim and light weight.
1.Awesome Camera quality.
2.Boom Speakers Rocks.
3.No lacking in HD Games.
4.Dual SIM Support
5.Battery backup not bad!!..
6.HTC Blinkfeed, by that you can get all country versions of latest Tech Magazines.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Boom Speaker
  • Camera
  • HTC Blinkfeed

Cons

  • Low Internal Memory
  • Big Screen

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kallaji
posted on 25 Jun 2014, 02:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Jun 2014)

10

killer of grand 2

kallaji has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

good phone only thing need to give mat finish in back cover to use openly roughtough .any how cover provided so enjoying a lot..2 type of battery saver is provided so just use it and convert ur battery in the booom

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

007morshed
posted on 12 Jun 2014, 11:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jun 2014)

9

Best midrange device I have ever seen

007morshed has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is one of the best and greatest midrange device I have ever seen and I think this can beat many now-a-days falgships easily with its build quality, awesome camera and blazing fast speed and performance. I really love it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alizareiaa
posted on 03 Jun 2014, 17:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jun 2014)

10

best 5.5 inch phablet

alizareiaa has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

If you want this phone, I'd recommend you get it. it easily replaced my need to take my laptop on short business trips.hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh​hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt​ttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttcccccccccccc​cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc​cccccccccc

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AlHaptismMY
posted on 01 Jun 2014, 01:06 (Posts: 2; Member since: 16 Aug 2013)

9

HTC Desire 816 - The Next Breakthrough in Mid-Ranger Smartphone

AlHaptismMY has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

when i looked to this phone, i saw some potential within it. it comes with Qualcomm Snapdragon 400, giving us blazing fast speed in everyday usage. plus it does support dual sim (eventally it's nanoSIM) with 4G LTE CAT3 support. then, the 13 MPx rear camra and 5 MPx front camera with HDR, auto focus, and f/2.2 aperture giving some high quality picture.

in the other side, the battery were not removable. plus, the bezel should be narrow, not thick.

lastly, i'm impressed with this mid ranger but if HTC can improve the performance and beautify the phone, maybe it would be more fun to use especially with heavi games

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

AlHaptismMY alternatives:

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories