x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC 7 Trophy User Reviews

8.9 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9/10
UI speed9.6/10
Camera7.7/10
Multimedia8.7/10
Internet9.1/10
Call quality8.9/10
Battery6.9/10
Reception8.1/10
Display8.7/10
Build quality9.1/10
Text input8.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

MelbTrain
posted on 26 Aug 2012, 01:27 (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Aug 2012)

9

Nice Windows Phone 7 Device

MelbTrain has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Having this phone for a bit over a year, it has had me impressed. The screen is really nice with the blacks being black and sharp colours. Reciption isn't that great but is decent, the camera needs work, but apart from that this handset is pretty decent. Mango of course is great but doesn't get updates as often as my HTC Titan. The battery life is decent but could be improved. The build isn't that great because my lock button doesn't work anymore and have to unlock my phone by the camera button, but still a decent phone.
I would recommend this Windows Phone, but there are still slightly better WPs with bigger screens and quicker processors.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Great OS
  • Fluent Usage
  • Email is great
  • MS Office and Xbox are great features
  • Great colour display

Cons

  • Lock button
  • Touch buttons too close together

MelbTrain alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

onggeo
posted on 01 Apr 2012, 06:27 (Posts: 30; Member since: 20 Mar 2012)

9

Great phone

onggeo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Good phone. Interface is great if you do your research beforehand. There are decent number of apps and games in the Windows Marketplace to make it significant. Battery life is so-so. Mine lasts 9-14 hours depending on usage.

Build quality 10/10 Feels good in the hand and doesn't feel cheap whatsoever
Reception 10/10 Never had a dropped call
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 Great browser even without Flash, text reflow would make it perfect
Multimedia 9/10 Screen is good enough for watching shows but not long movies
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10 No lags whatsoever
Everyday usage 10/10 If you know your way around the UI, basic functions are a breeze
Text input 10/10 Love the keyboard, perfect spacing and suggestions are good
Display 9/10 Falls just short of SAmoled
Battery 7/10 Battery generally lasts me through a whole 12 hour day before needing to charge. Ordered a Mugen 1800mAh battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

rist88
posted on 06 Oct 2011, 14:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Jul 2011)

8

rist

rist88 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Thanks to a neat design and relatively low cost, this is definitely one of the choice Windows Phone 7 handsets out there.

However, i still not entirely convinced that Windows Phone 7 is in fact the best choice of mobile OS

Build quality 9/10 Solid design
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Good Processor
  • 3.8 inch Super LCD
  • upgradable to mango

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Haikal_Sykes
posted on 09 Feb 2011, 22:27

8

Good enough to be called a smartphone, even in a couple of years to come

Haikal_Sykes has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

As HTC 7 Trophy is running on WP7, there's nothing much that differenciates it from other WP7 phones except its hardware. Hardware wise, the Trophy is great, just like many HTC phones. The only disadvantage in terms of hardware is the camera and battery life. The 5 megapixel shooter is just standard and so is its features. I've seen 5MP camera that has better camera quality. It's not bad, just not great. If you don't take photos often with your phone, than you can live with it. Battery in the HTC Trophy is bad. Really bad. With normal usage, you can only use for a day. You are lucky if you used it for 2 days. But that's it. No more than that. I thought this was because of the live tiles consuming alot of power but other WP7 phones does not experience this problem.

The UI on WP7/HTC Trophy is interesting and brings something new. However, it has its flaws(hope the upcoming updates would solve them). The applications menu will become long after you downloads many apps. There's no way of searching the app (there is no universal search). No alphabet jumping too like in the Contacts and Music/Video Player.

All in all, i feel that HTC Trophy is a great phone but not spectacular. It all comes down to wether you want WP7 as your choice OS or not.

Hope i helped :)

Build quality 9/10 Feels solid in the hand. The hardware buttons feels good to press too.
Reception 8/10 The reception rarely reaches full bar but it rarely reahces none too. It's good enogh for calls though.
Call quality 8/10 Might be a little listen to the speaker when in noisy enviroment.
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10 Nothing impressive from a 5MP camera. It's adequate for everyday shooting only.
UI speed 9/10 Fluid and intuitive.
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10 The landscape qwerty doesnt fill up the screen horizontally. It would be more comfortable if it does.
Display 8/10 SLCD is better than conventional LCD but falls short of S-AMOLED or even AMOLED.
Battery 5/10 Poor battery life.

Pros

  • Build Quality
  • User-Friendly
  • Sleek and fluid UI
  • SNS Integration (Facebook & Windows Live)
  • Email usage is a breeze

Cons

  • No flash support for now
  • Poor battery life
  • No app switching for now
  • Limited customization

Haikal_Sykes alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Haikal_Sykes
posted on 09 Feb 2011, 22:11

8

Good enogh to be called a smartphone

Haikal_Sykes has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

As HTC 7 Trophy is running on WP7, there's nothing much that differenciates it from other WP7 phones except its hardware. Hardware wise, the Trophy is great, just like many HTC phones. The only disadvantage in terms of hardware is the camera and battery life. The 5 megapixel shooter is just standard and so is its features. I've seen 5MP camera that has better camera quality. It's not bad, just not great. If you don't take photos often with your phone, than you can live with it. Battery in the HTC Trophy is bad. Really bad. With normal usage, you can only use for a day. You are lucky if you used it for 2 days. But that's it. No more than that. I thought this was because of the live tiles consuming alot of power but other WP7 phones does not experience this problem.

The UI on WP7/HTC Trophy is interesting and brings something new. However, it has its flaws(hope the upcoming updates would solve them). The applications menu will become long after you downloads many apps. There's no way of searching the app (there is no universal search). No alphabet jumping too like in the Contacts and Music/Video Player.

All in all, i feel that HTC Trophy is a great phone but not spectacular. It all comes down to wether you want WP7 as your choice OS or not.

Hope i helped :)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10 The landscape qwert doesnt fill up the screen horizontally. It would be more comfortable if it does.
Display 8/10 SLCD is better than conventional LCD but falls short of S-AMOLED or even AMOLED.
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Build quality
  • User-friendly
  • Sleek and fast UI
  • Email usage is a breeze
  • SNS(Facebook/Windows Live) integration

Cons

  • Battery life
  • No flash supprt
  • No app-switching
  • Limited customization

Haikal_Sykes alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KieranW
posted on 06 Nov 2010, 05:13

10

Eat you're heart out, Android

KieranW has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I will admit here and now to being a bit of a gadget nerd. I've already got a HTC Desire that I run the pants off of, My family are all the same. We work our phones to the bone.
Can winphone 7 compete?

By George, it can.

The User interface is ridiculously intuitive, far more so than any other system I have ever used (and I've used them all). It's smooth, responsive, simple and cleanly styled. Everything is in a rather logical place, where you'd expect it to be. There's absolutely no lag and slow down in the interface anywhere, it's completely seamless. It shows that windows phone 7 devices are powered by some meaty hardware, and this is probably one of the baby devices of the OS' range. Text entry is the best I have ever had. HTC's sense keyboards are wonderfully intuitive to correct mistakes, but you make quite a few. The Windows phone 7 keyboard is so good, I rarely if ever make a mistake and this is typing at a rather fast, text-teen generation speed (at which I belong too). Social elements are seamlessly integrated. It's all so quick and smooth. In many ways this system is what the iPhone was before they tried to bring limited innovation. But I think this is a far more complete package than that of the original iPhone. The only niggles I have is that occasionally heavy duty apps like the facebook app are laggy, and that you cant change ringtones or text tones even through the market. Otherwise, great phone!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Smooth UI
  • Flawless text entry

Cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

digidevil4
posted on 30 Oct 2010, 17:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Mar 2010)

10

Mr Harry A.O Billington

digidevil4 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

WP7 is a great operating system, very easy to use.
The phone itself is very fast, very responsive touchscreen, extremely powerfull flash great for dark scenes such as clubs and as a torch.

The only bad things I can say about it is that occasionally you press the touch screen buttons by mistake and exit what you are doing or open bing. (Would prefer physical buttons.) The other thing is that the battery life isnt very good.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • WP7
  • 720P recording
  • Powerful Flash doubles as torch
  • Fast UI
  • HTC apps are very nice

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • Annoying touch buttons

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories