x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Google Nexus 7 User Reviews

9.2 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality8.6/10
Battery9.4/10
Reception9.1/10
Display9.1/10
Build quality8.3/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed9.6/10
Camera8.1/10
Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ekaant
posted on 30 Dec 2013, 07:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Dec 2013)

10

Great Tab so for with a good price tag

ekaant has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Excellent tab with maximum usability, Excellent gaming console, Good for Emailing, best for chatting, superfine touch, lag free performance. Good at battery backup, New Andorid update with looking to manufacture side like other brands.
Packet size and easy to carry.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Very fast process
  • Good at gaiming
  • Good Connectivity

Cons

  • No Memory Slot
  • No OTG Support
  • Dead on deep discharge

ekaant alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

waris
posted on 19 Aug 2013, 12:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Aug 2013)

8

nit much good

waris has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Any content submitted to PhoneArena, becomes the sole property of PhoneArena and cannot be used in parts or in whole without PhoneArena’s consent. All such content expresses the views and opinions of their authors and PhoneArena will not be held responsible for any offensive or racist materials posted.

While the administrators and moderators of this site will attempt to remove or edit any generally objectionable material as quickly as possible, it is impossible to review every message. Therefore you acknowledge that all posts made to these forums express the views and opinions of the author and not the administrators, moderators or webmaster (except for posts by these people) and hence will not be held liable and further are not the official view of Phone Arena unless specifically stated.
You may only post a work if you are the copyright holder. By posting any written work here, you grant us a non-exclusive, perpetual right to reproduce that contribution, to edit or alter as needed and use it as we see fit. You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening, sexually-oriented, political topics not directly of a religious nature or any other material that may violate any applicable laws are not permitted. Doing so may lead to you being immediately and permanently banned (and your service provider being informed). The IP address of all posts is recorded to aid in enforcing these conditions. You agree that the webmaster, administrator and moderators...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aniallation
posted on 16 Aug 2013, 22:52 (Posts: 3; Member since: 16 Aug 2013)

9

Cheap fun tablet

aniallation has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great performance for great price. Feels real good in hands, screen looks nice, fast processor. Graphics look amazing as powered by nVidia which makes high end PC graphics and it definitely refects here as well. Quad core CPU with 12 core graphics. Runs every game you throw at it. Battery life is really good as well. As with previous Nexus devices does not have MicroSD slot or HDMI output but does support USB OTG and NFC which is nice on a tablet.

Unlike common conception phone apps DO work better on tablets running Android as opposed to iOS. Because Android phone apps on tablets actually use the extra screen space to display more content, so although everything may look really small and out of place for a tablet, it's MUCH nicer then the iPad's implementation of either running the iPhone app in native resolution in a little window, or scaling it up to iPad size and making it look terrible. Also, you get to use the normal keyboard to enter text as opposed to a scaled up iPhone keyboard which is just horrible to use in tablet mode. May not seem like much in a review but when you actually use both it makes a HUGE difference. Most Android apps though, are tablet optimized by now.

Build quality 9/10 Feels really good with rubber-like backing. Gorilla Glass screen
Reception 8/10 WiFi reception is pretty good however doesn't reach as far as some other tablets such as Galaxy Tab 2. Not dual band WiFi. Only 2.4GHz
Call quality 9/10 Not sure how this would apply on a tablet for cellular calls, but Skype calls work great. As do Tango calls.
Internet 10/10 AOSP browser works wonders but also has plenty of horsepower to run Chrome browser without issue. AOSP browser does support Flash however (from sideload) unlike Chrome which runs really good on a tablet and does wonders for the whole web experience.
Multimedia 9/10 Watching movies or playing games. Nexus 7 does it all without any lag or shuddering.
Camera 5/10 Webcam quality isn't good. Looks worse then most phone front cameras and laptop webcams. Would not call it sufficient for even taking self portraits. Only for the occasional video call. No rear camera either, however thats what 2nd gen is for (has 5mp rear camera)
UI speed 10/10 It's pure Android. That's all that needs to be said. No skin means UI might look ugly but it absolutely flies. Project butter takes full advantage of the massive graphics power and everything seems to run at the full 60fps with no lag whatsoever.
Everyday usage 10/10 Really practical tablet. Can take it way more places then an iPad and way more easily as well. Perfect for casual video watching and gaming as well as productivity and note taking on the go.
Text input 8/10 It's a tablet keyboard. What else can be said. Can feel a bit awkward at first but you do get used to it. Swype does feel better but doesn't provide much speed advantage on such a big screen. Can't touch-type in landscape like on iPad/Nexus 10 or other bigger tablets
Display 8/10 1280x800 IPS LCD looks nicer then most other 7 inch tablets that use 1024x600 panels. However it is 16:10 aspect ratio which means that 720p/1080p videos have black horizontal bars. However this makes a wider display which can be nicer for web browsing and making documents. Nothing compared to the 1920x1200 panel of the new Nexus 7 however.
Battery 10/10 Big battery will easily last a full day of intense usage. Light everyday usage will see 2-4 days of battery life and if you don't use it super frequently then you might get a week out of it. Definitely lasts longer in comparison to iPad 3. With brightness on half, will easily get 9-10 hours web browsing or watching 720p video. About 5-8 hours playing 3D games, possibly 24 hours of eBook reading but haven't measured specifically.

Pros

  • Tegra 3 is FAST, graphics by nvidia are amazing
  • Excellent build quality, built by Asus, rubber-like back doesn't scratch
  • Updates direct from Google
  • NFC
  • Display looks great, Gorilla Glass IPS panel
  • USB OTG support
  • 3G model available
  • Headphone port on the bottom. YES
  • Cheap

Cons

  • No MicroSD slot
  • No HDMI out
  • No dual-band WiFi
  • Older Bluetooth technology (v2.1)
  • Boring design

aniallation alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RodolfoS4AND
posted on 17 May 2013, 20:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 May 2013)

10

NEXUS DEVICE

RodolfoS4AND has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

SO GREAT TABLET FOR PROCESING AND SO GOOD FOR PLAYING GAMES LIKE DEAD TRIGGER, SHADOW GUN, DEAD SPACE, CAUSE IT HAS A 12 CORE FOR GRAPHICS, TALKING ABOUT THE DISPLAY IS EXCELLENT CAUSE HAS A HIGH RESOLUTION 1280* 800 AND 216 PPI

Build quality 10/10 SO GOOD
Reception 10/10 THE MULTI TOUCH INTERFACE IS GOOD
Call quality 10/10 IS SO FAST AND EXCELLENT
Internet 10/10 IS EXCELLENT
Multimedia 10/10 DOESNT HVE REAR CAMARA
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10 SSOOO FASSSTTT...!
Everyday usage 10/10 10 hours of continious usage
Text input 10/10 EXCELLENT
Display 10/10 SO GREAT HD DISPLAY 1280 by 800 216 ppi pixel per inch
Battery 10/10 10 hours sufing the web 9 hours of HD video playback 48 hours of play music

Pros

  • QUAD CORE CPU
  • 12-CORE GPU
  • VERY FAST
  • HIGH RESOLUTION DISPLAY 1280 by 800
  • HD VIDEO PLAYBACK
  • SO GOOD MACHINE FOR INTENSIVE GAMES LIKE DEAD TRIGGER
  • THE NEWEST VERSION OF ANDROID 4.2.2

Cons

  • NOTHING

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JojoGo101
posted on 07 May 2013, 16:16 (Posts: 211; Member since: 17 Dec 2012)

9

A cheap alternative to iPad Mini, but the iPad mins overall.

JojoGo101 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Value is on the Nexus 7.. I mean, nothing can beat the price for its internals. But at this day and age, wait for the new Nexus 7. Its really worth buying the next gen cause this one already has started to show it's lack of performance against new competitors. I think you will regret buying this cause the new one is coming.. very soon.

Build quality 7/10 Screen is EASILY scratch-able, get a screen protector before you even touch it!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10 Chrome was dissappointing
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 The front facing sucks at the hands of an iPad Mini
UI speed 9/10 Fast but can stutter at times, maybe cause of the 1GB of RAM and ancient GPU.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10 After in joying 300+ ppi on phones, you hate seeing pixels.
Battery 10/10 It lasted more than I could want.

Pros

  • Still Speedy, has no slowdowns, are at least most of the time not
  • Can still play new games, but will not be a powerhouse.
  • A neat little tablet that looks like a book, but thinner.

Cons

  • Can't live without 300+ppi
  • No Gorilla Glass screen
  • Camera is a poor escuse
  • Android tablets have WAY more optimized apps now, but more is too come!

JojoGo101 alternatives:

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pdshunter2001
posted on 05 May 2013, 08:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 May 2013)

9

very good tablet

pdshunter2001 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Very good tablet for 200 dollars I love it would definitely buy the next one wish it had a least a 3 megapixel camera. So overall it is a very good tablet for 200 dollars hopefully Google will keep updating it.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • fast
  • android 4.2.2
  • fast ui

Cons

  • play store should have more apps
  • none are tablet optimized

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NokiaFTW
posted on 18 Mar 2013, 16:28 (Posts: 705; Member since: 24 Oct 2012)

9

Best Tablet out there . Period !

NokiaFTW has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great tablet for 200 $. A lot of value for the buck and a very compact tablet. Being a Nexus product it gets the updates very fast. Crisp and great looking display and smooth and fast performance. A great functioning OS in the from of Android 4.2 (after update).

Build quality 9/10 Build quality is fantastic with the Nexus 7. Sturdy and compact with a nice finish on the back.
Reception 9/10 Great WiFi connectivity. No issues.
Call quality 1/10 ...
Internet 10/10 Chrome is fantastic and so is the web browsing experience.
Multimedia 9/10 Games and movies look great on the display. Only thing is that is the speaker is not the best and could have been better.
Camera 5/10 Front camera is OK for video calls and self potraits but it lacks a rear camera.
UI speed 9/10 The Tegra 3 powers the Nexus 7 flawlessly and I barely experience lag on the tablet.
Everyday usage 10/10 Android as a whole is a great OS and the Nexus 7's hardware compliments very well.
Text input 10/10 The stock JB keyboard is great and no complains.
Display 10/10 Dislpay is great and is one of the best tablet display's out there.
Battery 8/10 Battery life is good but not the best.

Pros

  • Great build quality
  • Sharp and crisp display.
  • Fast processor and smooth performance
  • Android as a whole is a great OS.
  • Latest software updates as it is a Nexus product.
  • Fantastic pricing at only 200 $ !
  • Compact and form fitting tablet

Cons

  • Lack of expandable storage
  • No rear camera
  • Lack of third party optimized tablet apps.

NokiaFTW alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

techguy22
posted on 09 Feb 2013, 19:27 (Posts: 226; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

10

my favorite android tablet..so far

techguy22 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

amazing tablet with great price, display, quadcore, good community support and support from google themselves. no one cant beat it. for 200 dollars you get 16GB and if you like me who bought it around October so you'd get free 25 dollars from google.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • awesome build quality
  • good support
  • amazing price and display
  • easy to root and do what you want with it
  • quad core monster powerful( now outdated lol)
  • beat everything on the market.

Cons

  • google play still needs more apps( hardcore android fan here)
  • lack of storage is a big problem( got a 16GB but i know nexus dont have SD card)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

3andala
posted on 04 Jan 2013, 07:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jan 2012)

10

Perfect with its price

3andala has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i love it NeXus 7 3G 32GB this what i need u can root it easily and put any custom ROM
the stock ROM is great too anyway i advise u to buy it
Regards
i love it NeXus 7 3G 32GB this what i need u can root it easily and put any custom ROM
the stock ROM is great too anyway i advise u to buy it
Regards

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NeoSin
posted on 28 Nov 2012, 14:20 (Posts: 2; Member since: 27 Nov 2012)

10

Ah, Google, how do you do it!?

NeoSin has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I never believed in Tablets. I thought they were a fad, something that would pass with the times. Well, they said the same thing about laptops didn't they? So after from coercing from my mother (yes, my mother!), I decided to go ahead and give a tablet a try. I did my research, looking for a good budget tablet that would suit my needs.I saw the words "Google," and then "Nexus 7," and I was in love!!!

Build quality 8/10 Lets be fair here, my Nexus's charging port is already loose and if its slightly jostled while charging it could slip out of its charging state. No bueno. Otherwise I haven't had the screen rising problems other have reported, and I have dropped it a few times with no scuffs or breaks. The glass on mine has scratched a bit, but nothing that makes the screen unbearable.
Reception 10/10 Its a tablet, but the Wi-Fi radio is nice and strong, keeps signal and rarely EVER drops its.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Chrome is smooth, rarely shudders, and the stock android interface is pleasing.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 A nine to a non-back mounted camera? What!? Lets face it, I don't use my tablet to take pictures. For Skype, which I do use my camera for, it works great!
UI speed 10/10 Stock Android. Need I say more?
Everyday usage 10/10 I bring this thing EVERYWHERE, and I can't imagine a day not using it now.
Text input 10/10 Swiftkey is my keyboard, but I have used the stock keyboard and it works very well.
Display 10/10 Though not mind boggingly beautiful, the display is handsome and crisp, and still manages to keep an HD quality. I enjoy watching video game streams, and they look just as good as they would on a TV.
Battery 10/10 This thing is a CHAMP! It easily works with me through the period of time that I use it until I plug it in, and it still has some juice left over!

Pros

  • Quad Core
  • 249.99?? Whaaaat?
  • Crisp Display
  • Android 4.2, and steady FAST updates

Cons

  • No expandable storage
  • Build Quality leaves a bit to be desired

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Vishesh
posted on 04 Nov 2012, 09:44 (Posts: 1; Member since: 04 Nov 2012)

9

All round! if you don't wanna click pics using this

Vishesh has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It's actually the best budget tablet,yet available in the market.A great combination of hardware and software as well. Built pretty well,it's back feels rubbery.Solid gaming tablet.Battery life is just a delight.Most importantly, now it's cellular too. Few letdowns like neither HDMI output nor microSD expandibility .Other than that ,it could have had a better display though.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10 No call feature in my version.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Solid Hardware
  • Lots of RAM
  • Android v4.2 /v4.1.2 on board
  • Value for money
  • Stands Out the competition
  • 3G version to be available soon

Cons

  • No expandable storage
  • No HMDI otuput
  • No camera app pre-installed
  • No 4G LTE

Vishesh alternatives:

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wendygarett
posted on 01 Nov 2012, 02:34

10

nice affordable tablet

wendygarett has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The 7 inch tablet is kinda awkward, but the ui is as good as you can feel holding it like a phone. An absent of camera, microSD and 3g is not a deal breaker at all, and the project butter is really blazing fast, which is almost zero lag on tablets. A lot of negative comment on nvidia chip, the chips is awesome and you can play a lot of tegra game exclusive on this device . you can't complaint the performance of this chips, it just cost you $199 what do you expect? Lol

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Eventhough it has no rear camera but I think it deserves to get 10 lol
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • the display is still unsatified and it is still very dimmed compared to other

wendygarett alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kuczewski
posted on 17 Oct 2012, 13:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Oct 2012)

10

Amazing

Kuczewski has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Nexus 7 is an amazing tablet. For $200 you get many great features like the HD resolution, the build quality, and the Google ecosystem fits very well with this tablet. Not only does it beat 7 in. Tablets, but it also beats more expensive tablets in my opinion. Love it!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • HD IPS display
  • Google ecosystem
  • 4.1 Jellybean

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

neowiz73
posted on 01 Oct 2012, 03:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Sep 2012)

9

Great tablet

neowiz73 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great all around tablet, I really like being able to do most everything with one hand. even playing games is great do to how light it is. Display is nice and the speed of tablet is very good.
For all those with issues with the screen lifting up, it is under warranty and Google has really good customer support and will have them fixed or replaced.

Build quality 8/10 Some have had issues with the screen, so far mine has worked great with no problems. Touch response is a little laggy at times.
Reception 10/10 wifi works great
Call quality 10/10 it's a tablet, so skype and other internet calling apps will only work.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 sound quality with built in speakers are ok, works best with headphones or a bluetooth speaker.
Camera 10/10 seems to work fine, don't really use it much.
UI speed 10/10 it's android 4.1, it's very fast and responsive.
Everyday usage 10/10 awesome tablet, i can go 2 or 3 days without charging it.
Text input 10/10 works great also, I use swiftkey 3 for tablets. The default keyboard is ok.
Display 9/10 IPS LCD display, it is a little dim compared to my Galaxy Nexus. But overall not bad at all.
Battery 10/10 2 to 3 days without having to charge it. depending on what all you do with it, could get even more out of it.

Pros

  • Google Tablet, always up to date with latest android build
  • good support for the device
  • long battery life
  • light weight easy to carry around even in the back pocket
  • great functionality of the new UI
  • Google Now is very helpful
  • fast nvidia graphics processing

Cons

  • color quality not quite as good as AMOLED displays.
  • some early units experienced poor build quality
  • touch response is a little laggy at times

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

daymler
posted on 14 Sep 2012, 15:42 (Posts: 12; Member since: 09 May 2012)

10

The Best Tablet

daymler has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love the Nexus line...love my samsung galaxy nexus and now my asus nexus 7! The stock android is amazing and i love that i feel special from having the most new android update! The tablet is compact and perfect for everyday use.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Stock Android 4.1
  • Display
  • Price
  • CPU

Cons

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Seymour
posted on 09 Sep 2012, 12:46 (Posts: 10; Member since: 10 Aug 2012)

6

Nexus 7

Seymour has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great tablet made by ASUCKS. Very fast, but I don't want to carry 300g in my back pocket. I can‛t have "tablet experience" with it. Screen lifts. I already broke WiFi antenne while trying to open backcover. This is what you get for $199.

Build quality 1/10 Very bad quality.
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 10/10 Very fast.
Multimedia 7/10 Poor speaker.
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10 Amazing.
Everyday usage 6/10 Not so useful.
Text input 9/10 Good
Display 9/10 Good
Battery 8/10 Not bad

Pros

  • fast quadcore processor.
  • amazing design.
  • good price.
  • android 4.1.

Cons

  • Build quality is very bad.
  • no MicroSD slot.
  • no 3G.
  • Tablet UI would be better.

4 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cha7520
posted on 17 Aug 2012, 00:40 (Posts: 200; Member since: 31 Oct 2010)

9

Excellent Tablet

Cha7520 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is my first Tablet and I have to say I am really enjoying my Nexus 7. For $199 you get a lot of Bang for your buck! The tablet is very fast since is has a Quad Core Processor and the Display is 1280x800 which gives you a really nice picture. The only draw back is no back camera and SD card slot to add more memory, but for $200 you get a powerhouse of a tablet!

Build quality 7/10 In order to create a cost effective tablet, google and asus had to cut some corners. The only issue I have is that the screen on the left side is actually lifted up above the metalic frame. I took the back off and tightened the screws, but the screen is not glued all the way down. I bought a cover and hope that will help.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Cost
  • Quad-Core processor
  • Disply

Cons

  • No back Camera
  • No SD slot

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories