x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Torch 9850 User Reviews

8 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality8/10
Battery7/10
Reception7.5/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input7.5/10
Everyday usage8.5/10
UI speed7/10
Camera7.5/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Jzaiger
posted on 03 Nov 2014, 09:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Oct 2013)

7

A Noble effort.

Jzaiger has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Well, let's get down to business, shall we?

RIM and now Blackberry have always been iconic for the love of the fans, users, and corporate leaders alike. Some how they know and find what the people want and deliver. The 9850/9860 Torch (or Storm 3 to others) was RIM's attempt to compete with Apple for a spot in the major mobile market.

Looking at the device, you'll see a glimmer of hope with a screen. The device rocks some pretty decent specs to be honest. 1.2Ghz Single core Qualcomm snapdragon S3 Processor, 770MB of RAM and Micro SD card support up to 128GB. RIM throws in a 16GB card, thus giving 20GB user storage onboard.

Let's start with the camera. Its a 5 Megapixal shooter with flash, Autofocus, Geotagging, face detection, and multiple photo modes. But no HDR to be expected, and you expected right. I think the camera reset after a picture is a little slow, and the photos come with a little noise, and over saturation.

Next, screen. Its a 3.7in display with a PPi around 250. I personally found the display a little cheap feeling. I mean, it is VERY easy to scratch. So I reccomend purchasing a screen protector. Other than that, it gets a full fledged pass.

Now, and finally the device. Is it still worth it? Well, that up to you. BlackBerry 7.1 has some nice apps, but no where near iOS and Android. Seriously, Windows Phone has more, and that's saying something. The good news is they are all over Amazon.com and eBay for cheap. I bought mine brand new for $101.99. However,...  

Build quality 9/10 Amazing body with nice rubbers, metals, and plastics.
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 3/10 Horrible browser still, in my opinion.
Multimedia 7/10 Still, no flash support, and no dedicated YouTube app but videos played HD and standard definition very well.
Camera 6/10 As I said, photos were noisy and over saturated in my opinion. However the autofocus is a nice and needed touch.
UI speed 5/10 Oh dear, those darn hourglass and spinning logos.
Everyday usage 7/10 Email and text is a breeze, only complaint is the keyboard.
Text input 6/10 I think its better off left alone, lol.
Display 7/10 Still, not bad for today's standards. Still, could be better.
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • autofocus
  • BBOS 7.1
  • Still supported
  • beautiful design
  • amazing build quality
  • pretty good cell signal

Cons

  • Freezes
  • have to reboot to install apps.
  • Screen is REALLY prone to scaratches.
  • limited apps, still..
  • Some older apps, not updated anymore.
  • Facebook and twitter are usable but dinosaurs compared to Android and iOS.
  • Slow 3G and 3.5G

Jzaiger alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Robinb
posted on 02 Dec 2011, 14:46 (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Nov 2011)

9

Love it

Robinb has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Got a CDMA/GSM 9850. love love love it. and the hold to touch menu is like discovering the hidden gems in a right click on a mouse. They are all over the place, meaning you will be surprised how easy it is to get done what you want by just holding and touching where you are working.. Makes copying pasting, switching apps etc a breeze. I can Take a Pic, email it with a message and get on a new phone call with speaker phoen while i browse in less time that than i used to take just to type a message with my curve. Havent missed a physical Keypad at all, and i been using one from the Treo 280 came out. I especially like the full/reduced keypad option in portrait mode. Generally the touch interface is just faster, and easier on the fingers. and teh processes is fast enough that i dont notice any lag time. Useful Apps to down load though are Lock Plus, and a battery Monitor.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Light weight, bright sharp display, ease of use yet familiar UI is light years ahead of previous BBs.

Cons

  • Portrait Keypad, a little cramped especially on left and right.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories