x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Storm 9500 User Reviews

5 Based on 11 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed1/10
Camera1/10
Multimedia1/10
Internet1/10
Call quality1/10
Battery1/10
Reception1/10
Display1/10
Build quality1/10
Text input1/10
Everyday usage1/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

WORST
posted on 03 May 2011, 00:48

1

NEVER BUY IT

WORST has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Worst fone i'hv ever had... The worse phone for me in the last 10 years...
Company bought them for us instead of old palm Treo's. I tried to get used to it for a few weeeks, but I can't. Every time I have to use it, my words were something like "what a f..ng idiot designed that piece of cr..p".
Extremely slow.
Horrible microphones. Speech is not clear, every time my colleagues call me I have to ask what they just said.
You need both of your hands to use it. Keyboard is not precise, I always press the wrong button, even when my fingers do not look like sausages.
You cannot talk and put it bettwen your cheek and shoulder, it is falling down or your ear press something on keyboard.
And so on... Please do not get me wrong, I'm a tech, I deal with different equipment all the time, but this monster is beyond my abilities...
Finally I get my old Treo connected and I'm so happy :)

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • none

Cons

  • everythng

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 13 Dec 2009, 09:48

4

After having this phone for one year I'd have to say it is the worst.  Slow connections.  80% of the time you have to click a button twice to three times to get it to respond.Browser is the worst, just use Opera.  Much easier to use then BB browser.Battery pulls are constant thing you have to do.Software Version 5.0 update screwed up more than it cured.  Had to reload older version to get it all working again.Leaving this phone this month for the new Nokia N900.

Design 4/10
Features 4/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • none

Cons

  • everyhting

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Michael1000
posted on 06 Dec 2009, 16:39

1

Horrible phone

 This is by far the worst phone i have ever had. In the first 3 weeks of owning the phone i already went through 2 of them. The first one kept shutting off every 10 seconds and all of the buttons stopped working properly. The second storms touchpad got stuck making it useless. Now on my third one after having it for 6 months the touchpad cracked from me pressing the talk button making the talk button stuck. Also at least once a day i have to take the battery out of the phone due to the phone freezing. Every conversation i have on the phone, the person i talk to complains saying that they cannot hear what i am saying. The battery life sucks. it is overall a bad phone.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • None

Cons

  • Battery
  • Screen
  • People can't here you
  • Freezes all the time
  • Doesn't last

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dreww
posted on 12 May 2009, 20:09

4

I gave this a try for the 30 days and returned it on the last day possible as I could not get used to it.  It was my 4th Blackberry in about 8 years as I use them so much they give out.  Screen quality is good but the typing aspect of it for business users is too hard to get used to.  It really slows down your productivity and good luck trying to correct a mistake within an email.  
Previous comments were correct about the camera - it takes forever.  Further the sound quality is no where near as good as what I had on AT&T despite limited coverage areas.  

Design 3/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • apps over other Blackberrys
  • screen quality

Cons

  • screen input is impossible to get used to
  • sound quality on speaking and hearing
  • camera is only good for complete still shots

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

eugene
posted on 08 May 2009, 02:41

1

Horrible phone

The worse phone for me in the last 10 years...
Company bought them for us instead of old palm Treo's. I tried to get used to it for a few weeeks, but I can't. Every time I have to use it, my words were something like "what a f..ng idiot designed that piece of cr..p".
Extremely slow.
Horrible microphones. Speech is not clear, every time my colleagues call me I have to ask what they just said.
You need both of your hands to use it. Keyboard is not precise, I always press the wrong button, even when my fingers do not look like sausages.
You cannot talk and put it bettwen your cheek and shoulder, it is falling down or your ear press something on keyboard.
And so on... Please do not get me wrong, I'm a tech, I deal with different equipment all the time, but this monster is beyond my abilities...
Finally I get my old Treo connected and I'm so happy :)

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • no

Cons

  • Extremely slow.
  • Horrible microphones.
  • You need both of your hands to use it. Keyboard is not precise,

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

coodudes1234
posted on 14 Mar 2009, 21:24

7.3

The service for verizon is great!! The storm is a great phone and emial device but its just super slow. The click screen is hard to get use to they shoulve just stuck with the normal touch. I use to have the curve and i think i like that a little better :) its just hard to switch over i might take it back.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • camera
  • internet
  • verizon :)
  • design

Cons

  • click screen
  • slow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Jan 2009, 01:26

10

Not having a Blackberry before and hating the nipple fondlers like the bold, curve, etc... I went through two phone to get to the Storm.. the iPhone which was more of a iTouch since the phone lost connections more than it made calls. It needed applications to substitute for the lack of phone connectivity.  The Samsung OMNIA which had a screen for 5 year old fingers.. Finally after $100 of return charges between carriers - I finally got the Storm.  It works all the time and has been great.  My contacts downloaded from google over the air along with my calendar.  The Maps are sharp and right on target.
The push to click is a little frustrating since I find myself inadvertinetly pushing when I was not ready.  Typically touch pad issues.. Overall this is a great phone, camera, mp3 player and PDA.  The more you use it - the more intelligent it is as it learns your data entry points.   Again unlike the iPhone you can actually get to the battery and the memory card for future upgrades.  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Battery access, memory card access, 3.2 meg Camera, easy to read screen and excellent applications - office products, calendar, maps, etc.

Cons

  • New product with a strong following for the older RIM legacy products. Some folks like the old model and this is something new and not better for the trackball fondlers.

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jan
posted on 04 Jan 2009, 00:18

8

Storm review

Wow, where to start? Yes, there are problems with this phone, but overall I like it. The screen is easily seen in bright daylight. I like the fact that you light a key before pressing it to type as I tried the iphone and went nuts trying to type on it. With the storm you know ahead of time if you're going to press the right key. The battery life is in serious need and there are times I charge my phone twice a day. At first that was blamed on too many applications being open at once, but when most are closed, there's no excuse left other than PLEASE get that problem fixed RIM. Redialing a call isn't a snap. At times the phone locks up without you knowing it and your calls go to voicemail without you knowing someone is trying to call you and you find that out when you try to make a call and can't. That is what bothers me the most about this phone. This seems more of a computer than a phone to me. I get notified instantly that I have email yet forget the notification that I missed a call. Since the screen can jump around, answering a call can be a challenge. Oops, sorry, I just hung up on you seems to be words that I say a lot. I'm told by Verizon that getting the bluetooth solves 90% of the problems with the phone. They are probably 50% right about that. The camera gives you pictures that are from the stone ages and working the camera is a challenge unto itself. How many times should you need to press the button to take ONE picture? As many times as the camera decides has been...  

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Awesome screen. Great email delivery. Can be easily seen in bright sunlight. Good web service for the most part although some features the phone can't handle.

Cons

  • Battery life, keep a charger close. Changing between speaker phone and handset by itself on low battery. The camera. Redialing a call. Since it's new, forget getting help from Verizon as they haven't figured the phone out yet.

13 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ChrisH
posted on 01 Dec 2008, 23:17

4.7

Don't believe the HYPE!

I called Verizon today and asked to exercise my "worry free guarentee."  This phone is a flop (in my opinion).  The clickable keyboard is not bad, but it's not good.  That's not my big problem though. 
1)  Camera is worse than a 19th century camera.  First, when you turn the camera on, it can take anywhere from 1 to 25 seconds to load.  Then, when you click the button, the screen goes black (no more looking through the viewfinder), count one thousand one, one thousand two, one thousand three, and then you hear a click.  Then one thousand one and the picture is back.  Let's see!  I have a 3 year old and a 18 month old.  Can you imagine me saying "Hold still for 3 seconds?"  Give me a break.
2)  Battery life is super weak.  One reviewer said he had power until 5 PM.   Really?  I made it to 2 PM and didn't start until 9 AM. 
3)  I have had the phone 4 days and it has frozen/rebooted 6 times. 
4)  I hate the dialing system.  You can't redial without activating the call log.  HUH?
On the good side, the screen is amazing quality.  The internet browser is good and the media player is nice.  The RIM email push is always a nice touch.  I would say that this is a nice prototype that should have never made it to market in 2008.

Design 7/10
Features 4/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Picture Quality
  • Media Player

Cons

  • Redial
  • Speed Dial
  • Camera
  • Battery Life
  • Software Reboot

17 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 28 Nov 2008, 13:33

8

Solid, but needs work

I've had this phone for almost a week now.  I have to say I was a little worried when I first started using it because the transitions were slow and it would freeze up from time to time.  After a bit of tweaking (read: deleting VZ Navigator and a few other memory hogs) the phone is running 110% better.  The accelerometer is more responsive, although still not perfect, and the transitions are much more rapid.  PhoneArena's review said that the clickable screen made the device feel cheap, but I have to say that I like the fact that I can highlight an icon with a soft touch and then only execute it with a click.  That being said, you will never be able to type as fast on this virtual QWERTY keyboard (the horizontal one) as you could with the older physical keyboards, because the entire screen has to rebound instead of only one key.  I think that the future of this device is in the SureType entry mode, where after a bit of practice, your typing speed greatly improves.  The clarity of the screen is amazing and watching videos on it is very pleasant.  Overall I think that the Storm is reasonably solid, although a tad underwhelming with the software glitches.  Currently, BlackBerry is in the process of finalizing build 4.8 which will (hopefully) fix many of the software glitches that the Storm is having today.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 25 Nov 2008, 10:06

6

I have had this phone for 4 days, it does everything right but it is in desperate need of a key pad. The software has frozen up a couple of times and the battery only gets me till 5pm. I am thinking Curve with an extended battery....

Design 3/10
Features 10/10
Performance 5/10

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories