x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Q5 User Reviews

8.1 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage8.1/10
UI speed8.4/10
Camera8.1/10
Multimedia7.1/10
Internet8.4/10
Call quality8.4/10
Battery8.1/10
Reception8.4/10
Display8/10
Build quality8/10
Text input8.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

colectionarul
posted on 27 Mar 2014, 05:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Nov 2013)

9

A good phone for a good price

colectionarul has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Blackberry 10 experience is very diferent from the Legacy Blackberry, it takes some time to adapt, but after a few day you will find that is the most intuitive OS on the market.

The Q5 is actually a striped Q10, the specs may not be impresive but the phone performs verry well. Never had a bug in more than a mouth since I have it, great multitasker, very fast native browser. Not ideall if you what a multimedia phone because of the small display, but in fact it was built as a social phone.

The camera is decent and Time Shift is a very good option. Built in quality is ok, the phone feels solid in your hand, al though it looks cheeap (to much plastic) it's quite solid, drop it on the street twice and it's ok, now a have a bumper case for it. The speaker is good, very loud and clear. The quality of the sound is ok, never had problems. The display is not amoled but is LCD IPS and it looks good, nice colours, good contrast.

Typing experience is fantastic just like on most Blackberry's with physical keyboards, the best part is that the phone literally lears you typing style so you can type really fast. Best typing experience that I ever had.

The baterry is ok, 2 day with no sweat, if you buy a baterry optimizer you may get 10% to 15% more juice. As for the apps, I found preatty much everyting I whanted in app store, maybe no so many games.

The Blackberry Hub is the best thing on this phone, you have all you e-mails, text message, BBM, social, watsapp in one place to manage, very...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • battery life
  • fast browser
  • Typing experience
  • Blackberry Hub
  • Time Shift
  • great multitasker
  • sound quality

Cons

  • looks cheap
  • headphones that you find in the retail box are horrible
  • non removable battery

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ameyp
posted on 22 Nov 2013, 06:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Nov 2013)

10

Silent and Happiest Phone in market.

ameyp has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It give you unique feeling of being different from whole world(which also includes other BlackBerry flagship phones). And happiness pours over and over again if you are using it for the reason you bought it! This company takes so much care of their users, that if you get used to it once, you wouldn't switch to anything else! Pricing at just half that of almost all flagship phones and remains on top list of all sorts of benchmarks, be it battery, be it display, be it browsing experience (reviewing this from phone itself), be it sound quality, and the list goes on. True that, it lack on app support front, but high frequency of OS updates is making it better every day and night! Happy after choose this phone while other phones around being so much alarming and noisy claiming themselves to the best and all !

Build quality 10/10 My phone fell thrice in first week of it's unboxing, but I can't find any sort of scratch at any edge, I couldn't even recognize on which edge on mobile it fell. And it's quality feels amazing at that price point! Amazing colors, me using black, it looks premium it feels premium, commensurate to Q10.
Reception 10/10 I never had any problem related to this.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Haha someday I compared it with S4.
Multimedia 10/10 The amazingly awesome OS!
Camera 10/10 This phone changed my perception, that lower Mega Pixel camera can beat Higher Mega Pixel camera. Amazing micro focus, f2.2 give you amazing space for exploring things. Fast at responding, thanks to its ram n processor.
UI speed 10/10 Yeh there are tons of bugs in so many applications like Watsapp n facebook. But it still manages to handle them.
Everyday usage 10/10 I am a very heavy user, I won't ber able to tolerate any other phone for so long everyday!
Text input 10/10 Haha do I need to say anything about it!
Display 10/10 Not an amoled but it's brightness is like love love love.
Battery 10/10 My battery app says that my battery lasts 27-28 hour! My phone dosnt sleep before I go to bed! What a pleasant feeling it is :)

Pros

  • Battery
  • Display
  • OS
  • Browser
  • Sound output
  • Hub
  • Predictive text
  • QWERTY keypad
  • Camera

Cons

  • bugs in applications

ameyp alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

juanpablo
posted on 15 Nov 2013, 18:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Nov 2013)

10

el blackberry Q5 es increible

juanpablo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

su navegador es super rápido, funciona muy bien con Blackberry 10, la batería le dura mucho, tiene una cámara muy buena que funciona muy bien con el modo time shift, el Blackberry hub es muy útil al igual que Blackberry balance

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kennyblack_sd
posted on 15 Nov 2013, 09:00 (Posts: 26; Member since: 15 Nov 2013)

10

very addictive

kennyblack_sd has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nice build quality, nice speakers, everything about the phone and the bb10 experience is awesome. I think people should try it first before they talk bad about bb10. I am presently running the10.2 OS and it's very smooth. The camera is very wonderful, I am so in love with this my phone!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Speaker, and sound quality and battery consumption is very good
Camera 10/10 You will never notice that the camera isn't 8MP. Very good
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 Battery last more than 16hrs everyday. On heavy usage it last about 7-9hrs

Pros

  • long battery life

Cons

  • one cant remove battery but that to me isn't need as I have never had any reason to remove it because the battery last long

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zeeya
posted on 28 Oct 2013, 05:28 (Posts: 192; Member since: 17 Mar 2013)

9

Q5!

Zeeya has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My main Phone is a Z10 which I will upgrade to Z30 asap.
I Bought also a Q5 just for fun and to test it out... I gave it later to my little sister. She loves it too after playing arround and until she learned how to use BB10 OS.

Build quality 9/10 Its pretty Solid. Too much Plastic maybe... BlackBerry is not Samsung so please dont use plastic too much...
Reception 10/10 Great.
Call quality 10/10 BlackBerry quality!
Internet 10/10 Its Fast and after the OS update even faster! Well done
Multimedia 4/10 Its NOT to 100% a Multimedie Phone (Small Sceen) but its a 110% Social Phone
Camera 10/10 Same technology like in the z10.. and after the OS update to 10.2: GREAT CAMERA!!!
UI speed 10/10 Its very good, can't really complain!
Everyday usage 9/10 For emailing, whatsapp, facebook, sms, mms, bbm, surfing, .... etc.. very good! Its horrible to use for videos and youtube! Its more a Social Phone!
Text input 10/10 Great phone for a very great Typing experience
Display 9/10 Its fine even its not the newest Technology... but I can't complain.. its very nice
Battery 10/10 Battery Life is very very Great after the newest OS Update! 15 to 18 hours.

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • OS 10.2: AWESOME
  • BBM
  • Hub & Priority Hub
  • Great Battery
  • Fast Browser!
  • Business/Social Phone! Type like a Champ!
  • Very good Call Quality!
  • Love the feeling when I hold it.

Cons

  • Small Screen
  • App Ecosystem
  • Too Much Plastic
  • Camera is OK, just OK.
  • Not a Multimedia Phone, what else?
  • Its toooo expensive! Crazy Price politic.
  • Fix Battery

Zeeya alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

EpilepticSushi
posted on 12 Aug 2013, 18:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)

8

Great phone if you want a QWERTY keyboard

EpilepticSushi has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

You might not get the most for you money compared to other competitors of similar price but for me I wanted a smartphone with a QWERTY keyboard and this was the best I could find in the UK and it has not disappointed. Once you get to know the controls they feel natural and really effective. Display and design is really nice, simple but effective. It's a real step up from my last BlackBerry especially in terms of processing power.

I like the combination of keyboard and touch screen, I much prefer typing on a physical keyboard and the alt and symbol key make typing much easier than on some touch screen phones I've tried. The rear camera is okay, not loads of megapixels but surprisingly good. Front camera is pretty good, very happy with the 2MP.

Battery is okay, could be better but suffices. It took a while to set up but once everything was into place it works really well and it's so easy to flick through emails, texts, social media and instant messages all from the Hub. There are also updates planned to add features some users thought were lacking so it should be considered the OS is very new and changes are being made.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • QWERTY keyboard
  • Simple
  • Well designed

Cons

  • Battery (sometimes)
  • Expensive

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kkothari
posted on 26 Jul 2013, 09:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Jul 2013)

1

WORST EXPERIENCE WITH BB Q5

kkothari has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have purchased a Blackberry Q5 on 18th July’13, but sorry to inform that the device is not functioning well. Every now and then it gets hanged while talking, application is very slow and moreover it is not at all user friendly.

Also the touch screen of this device is worst that I have ever seen in my life. Even the touch screen of low priced sets are much much better than this. It is really annoying after paying such a huge amount, this type of device is launched in the market.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • BAD TOUCH

2 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories