x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Q10 User Reviews

9.9 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia8.9/10
Internet9.7/10
Call quality9.7/10
Battery9.7/10
Reception9.7/10
Display9.1/10
Build quality9.7/10
Text input9.9/10
Everyday usage9.7/10
UI speed9.9/10
Camera9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

karlsson95
posted on 30 Jun 2014, 14:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Jun 2014)

10

Blackberry 10 is THE operating system, and the Q10 is a great mix of classic and modern

karlsson95 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is not a phone for someone who relies on apps and whatnot for the majority of their phone use. The communications on this phone are great. Texting, BBM, calling, email, twitter, Facebook, etc. are all viewable from the hub, which saves a lot of time and effort. The screen is smaller but very nice, colours are very sharp and the ability to change the colour temperature is a great addition, makes browsing at night a lot easier on the eyes if set to warm. The internet browser is very fast and works very well. My number one complaint would be the keyboard double-typing, and occasionally when SMSing (not BBM or anything else), the last word of the previous text will remain in the text box and cannot be deleted, just randomly disappears. The battery speaks for itself. I have gone full days, 6am to 12am, using it the entire day, and having it still be at 30% when I get home. I suggest putting a business card in the back case between the battery and the case to make it fit a bit tighter to avoid the random restarts. The multitasking is great on this phone, switching between apps is seamless and has no lag whatsoever. I can have 4 apps open (usually Twitter, internet, Alien Flow, and weather) and experience no reduction in performance. The quick access pull-down menu was recently added and is great, can customize which settings are available to you in this menu, but you have to unlock the phone to access it. Should be accessible from the lock menu.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Square resolution is somewhat odd but it takes nice pictures.
UI speed 10/10 BB Hub is far and away the best part of this phone
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Keyboard is great but has a few issues, thankfully covered under warranty
Display 10/10 AMOLED display is even nicer than the iPhone 5S
Battery 10/10 Have not had a single issue with the battery life. Hasn't died on me once, except for when I don't charge it overnight.

Pros

  • Extremely good battery life
  • QWERTY keyboard
  • AMOLED display
  • BlackBerry hub is very intuitive
  • New internet browser is fantastic

Cons

  • Occasionally random restarts due to the back cover
  • Keyboard tends to double-type after approx. 6 months of use
  • Apps are not good, even when sideloaded
  • Texting sometimes glitches, but nothing major

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jaffz9
posted on 16 May 2014, 04:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 May 2014)

10

Great phone!!!

jaffz9 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If both hardware & software quality is a factor when you buy a phone go for Q 10, I have been using Blackberry devices for more than 3-4 years and never had any issues with it. Q10 has a great buld quality and its good for multi tasking!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 Great quality materials used when compared to Samsung and other android devices.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 10.2 Browser is ultimate!!! Better the IOS and Android, Opera.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • 10.2 Browser
  • Build Quality

Cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

seananon
posted on 07 Jan 2014, 22:39 (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Jan 2014)

10

Right phone at the wrong time

seananon has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've been through my share of phones. I've owned iOS phones, Android and Blackberry phones. I decided to buy the Q10 for the QWERTY keyboard and the for the BB calendar. I was absolutely fed up with touch screen keyboards and the inconsistency of both Android and iOS.
I've had this phone for almost a year now and I've never been happier. I use my phone heavily on a daily basis and have very little complaints. It's easy to use, fun to play on and above everything it's consistent. The only flaw I feel this phone has is the apps - but to be honest I use my phone for calls, e-mails and texts.
I feel bad for BB. I honestly think this is one of the best phones on the market right now, but people are to ignorant and stubborn to by a BB. Its as if its "not cool" to have one. Instead people unload hundreds on apple products that have looked the same from day one and Android phones that break the bank. If you're looking to buy a reliable phone that is essentially flawless, here ya go.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Physical QWERTY
  • Easy multi-tasking
  • Incredible battery life
  • Smooth OS
  • Beautiful design

Cons

  • Apps aren't great

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zeeya
posted on 15 Dec 2013, 09:11 (Posts: 162; Member since: 17 Mar 2013)

10

Great Business Phone!

Zeeya has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I was a owner of a Bold 9700 for more than 5years after I switched to Z10 and upgraded it later to a Z30, beside of my Z30 I'm using a Q10.

I've to say I love my Z10/Z30 more.. I just felt in love with touch-phones.

But the Q10 is also a very awesome Phone that just keeps you moving in Business and Work life and is also very usefull in common/everyday life.

Build quality 10/10 Very robust and high quality. I love the feelin of holding it. Wow-effect³!
Reception 10/10 BlackBerry is in my opinion the leader in Reception. Q10 does a very great Job! Bravo.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Browser Speed is very great
Multimedia 7/10 Contra is the small Screen. Its great and maybe enough for Business and Working but not for multimedia/game junkys.
Camera 7/10 It's Ok. I wish for more features and maybe more megapixels in the next generation of Q.
UI speed 10/10 FAST AND FURIOUS
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10 MASTER!
Display 7/10 Too small :/ But Super Amoled <3
Battery 10/10 Not bad, A whole day! (extreme usage)

Pros

  • AWESOME OS: BB10.2.1
  • Hub & Priority Hub
  • BBM + BBM Channel
  • Fast Browser!
  • Great Keyboard
  • Very good Call Quality!
  • Great Battery
  • Good feeling
  • AMOLED Screen

Cons

  • Lack of good working Apps
  • Camera is not good enough
  • Display is too small
  • BB10 only need Dual Core but still: Why not Quad?

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lkkkk
posted on 12 Dec 2013, 13:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Dec 2013)

10

Best Phone in market

lkkkk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great phone for business Very Smooth and Responsive 10.2 Os. Great qwerty keyboard and no more apps problem with 10.2.1 update you can install 99 percent android apps without any bugs. battery is also great I can get a one day & half on a single battery with heavy use.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Qwerty Keyboard
  • Great battery Life
  • Great Design

Cons

  • Not having Speed dial as in bb os 7
  • white color phone is a little bit slippery

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tony686
posted on 01 Nov 2013, 15:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Nov 2013)

10

Amazing Smartphone

Tony686 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is amazinggg, nice camera with time-shift, nice applicationss (+you can sideload everything (android app)) work great and very smooth, 10.2 is amazingggggggg ! unlike any other cell !!! the new UI is amazing and bbm works very good !

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MickLuvHP
posted on 29 Oct 2013, 04:39 (Posts: 9; Member since: 26 Oct 2011)

9

Overall a good phone with some flaws. (Proud user of it)

MickLuvHP has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Firstly, the build quality of the phone is good, solidly build! It have a sense a premium when using it, with the solidly construct high quality plastic and a "leather" back ( As I am using the Black version) . The design of the keyboard is also nicely constructed . . The phone comes with Micro-SD card & Micro-sim card slot with removable battery
For the user experience , basically the new OS 10 is fairly easy to learn. Instead of having the home button on the iPhone, u just need to learn a few simple gesture to operate this phone , from going back to the main screen to the peek & flow function.
BBM is as great as ever, with screen sharing and video calling , without the need of a BIS plan.
Compare to Android , this OS works fluidly smooth even though its only have a Dual Core 1.5Ghz processor with 2 GB ram. Compared to my Note 2 with Quad core 1.6Ghz processor with 2GB ram , Q10 works better in terms of responsiveness and the speed of the UI.
The 3.1 inch Super Amoled display provide sharp and clear details with a resolution of 720x720, ppi of around 330. The screen is small in the days of phalet but it still gets things done quickly (and with a QWERTY keyboard)
BlackBerry Hub works like a charm, with tight integration from Calls , emails to whatsapp without opening several apps, which allow me to look everything at one glance . It’s a dream come true for me as you won't be able to get this function on other phone (except other BB10) I am sure with the rolling out of 10.2...  

Build quality 9/10 The best build quality phone that I have use.
Reception 9/10 Able to get good reception most 99% of the time
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10 On par/ faster than iPhone 5S
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Works very well overall
  • QWERTY text in-put
  • Good battery life ( 1.5 days of moderate usage)
  • OS10
  • 4G connectivity
  • BlackBerry Hub
  • BES

Cons

  • Small Selection of apps available
  • The screen is still a bit small
  • Some occasional bugs on BlackBerry Hub

MickLuvHP alternatives:

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories