x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Pearl 8100 User Reviews

7.3 Based on 24 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality10/10
Battery10/10
Reception10/10
Display10/10
Build quality10/10
Text input10/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed10/10
Camera10/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet10/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

robin123
posted on 02 Mar 2011, 05:48

10

robin

robin123 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

well what can i say this phone is great the battery life is great,the web broswer is great this phone is worth every penny email setup is quick and easy.if you know how compact your mp3s you fit about 10 songs without a memory card. the scroll ball is cool kinda works like a mouse on a laptop if you have t_mobile forget the sidekick3 or the mda this is the phone to get did i mention you can chosse what browser you ie ,openwae, blackberry etc also full html

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

William
posted on 12 Apr 2009, 14:17

7.3

Great Phone but a Few issues

I know this is late but oh well, The Concept of a Small blackberry is great i love the compact size as well as the 1.3 Megapixel Camera with flash, however the Keyboard takes alot of getting use to, and unless you clean the trackball regularly it seems to freeze up, overall i love the phone but a few bugs to work out

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • 1.3 Megapixel Camera
  • Flash
  • Compact Size
  • Colorchanging Trackball (8100 Only)
  • Opera Mini is Downloadable
  • Voicedial
  • Maps App
  • Imbedded IM Client Powered by OZ

Cons

  • Freezes up
  • Both of mine have a Memory Leak where i lose call logs
  • Trackball sticks
  • No Video Recording
  • Suretype is Tough to learn
  • Powers off for no reason

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Amberly
posted on 25 Dec 2008, 16:29

8.3

jigga what

I love my blackberry pearl. it has everything i wanted in a phone plus a  littl e bit more. the drawbacks I have are picture messaging/emails and having to download each one individually and the fact I cant do videos. which are both essential features in my book. but all in all, i would definently recommend the phone

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • color changing trackball
  • internet speeds
  • memory size
  • blackberry help
  • games
  • size
  • big screen

Cons

  • instant messanger
  • videos
  • picture messages
  • download speed

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dan
posted on 12 Oct 2008, 17:07

6

Long Term Review, as in 1.5years

About a year and a half ago I had a sidekick.  I had been stuck on that phase and had the first sidekick all the way to the third edition of it, but the phone was horrible.  I upgrade to this phone and was pleased at first, but I quickly met the phones limitations.  The built in IM client with t-mobile is horrible, I switched to Jivetalk through Beejive.  In terms of instant messaging this phone is great, web browsing with opera mini is okay, and media/pictures is horrible.  The phone slows down a great deal when any sort of application is opened, ie. opening the file browser for photos or music.  The phone had held up well until this past summer, the trackball started to not function properly.  I had to take the trackball unit apart and clean it.  This worked, but would fail and require cleaning nearly every week (Later I discovered it was not that it was dirty, the sensor was simply failing).  About a month ago the trackball simply stopped scrolling down despite my efforts it will no longer scroll down.  This essentially makes the phone absolutely useless.  I have always used a screen protector, the phone has always stayed in a nice case, and I would describe myself as someone who really takes care of their electronics.  For the device to fail after only a year and a half is a testament to how poorly this phone was constructed, I am a power user and my phone requires...  

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Opera Mini can be installed.
  • Can install Jivetalk.
  • Changeable dedicated side keys.
  • Bright screen.
  • Nice keyboard design (in theory).
  • Notification light.
  • Email.
  • Voice dialing.

Cons

  • Low quality build.
  • Keys feel cheap.
  • Low durability.
  • Freezes more than occasionally, as in once a week.
  • Slow service w/T-mobile.
  • 2.5mm Headphone Jack.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hellomoto
posted on 15 Sep 2008, 20:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Sep 2008)

4

:(u cant b serious:(

k so i got this phone and i wuz suuuuper happy bcuz i am the only one with this phone in my school. i am the only 6th grader with a smart phone and i wus all syked about having the awsum phone.  i hate this phone cuz first the earpiece broke on my first. then i got another one. the trackball on that wouldnt go right. now im back to my one with no earpiece. peice of crap. not reccomended to ANYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 7/10
Features 4/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • QWERTY keypad
  • camera
  • email
  • web browsing
  • maps
  • IM
  • powerful speakerphone
  • data transfer

Cons

  • easy pocket dial
  • trackball doesnt work
  • freezes up ALL THE TIME
  • no video
  • not able to save or delete pitures
  • tzones slow
  • slow startup
  • updates almost impossible to install

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kyle
posted on 18 Aug 2008, 17:31

5.4

Kyle

Well the only thing I really like about this phone is the QWERTY board. Also the trackball (the white white center ball) makes easy navigatioon around the menu. It is a little large in size, but still fits in my pocket. I also like all the different themes, but it's chunky. Also it's made of all plastic so if you drop it there's gonna be a scratch. Also also the screen scratched really easy. OVERALL - THE PHONE IS AWESOME ON THE INSIDE CHEAP AND PLASTIC ON THE OUTSIDE!

Design 4/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 3/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

BooHoo
posted on 26 Apr 2008, 13:53

4.8

I'm sad....

I got a great deal on this phone through Wirefly.com. Didn't cost me a penny. I was so excited to get this phone and after three days of owning it, I sent it back!
The sound quality of this phone is great. The problem that I had with it is that anytime I tried to get my emails or enter the Web, it just kept on showing that hourglass timer and it would never connect. Taking pictures was fairly easy, but deleting them was a chore. You had to go through the menu and find the delete function. PITA!!! And the voice activiated dialing was amusing at first, but it kept dialing the wrong number if the names were similiar (ke: kim vs. jim).
The phone is attractive but just not for me. I hope you have better luck with it.

Design 3/10
Features 3/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 5/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sam
posted on 30 Dec 2007, 19:12

6.4

not worth it

this phone is a good looking phone however the different plans u need for it is not worth it.within the first month of having this phone the navagational ball fell out when i called to have it fixed they said they would repair it for 180.00 or replace it for 230.00 dollars.i just bought it a month ago i hear this is an issue that alot of these pearls have. i also had some software issues with it at first.

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mikeyp
posted on 24 Dec 2007, 12:56

9.8

Nothing Better

i love this phone and everything id does, even with the spotty tmobile coverage i get sometimes at my friends house i love what it can do and i love how well you can talk on it. the suretyupe needs to be harnessed other than that its easy and fun

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

friend helper
posted on 04 Nov 2007, 18:16

10

my friend is having a problem with the camera when he trys to take a picture it says system adminastrator does not allow and he dosnt know what to do please e-mail me asap

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

M.G.
posted on 22 Oct 2007, 15:35

8.6

I'm an average joe and I love it

I'm no corporate suit walking around with my face constantly glued to my blackberry. I got a great deal on the phone, so to be honest if you think it's to costly then you bought it from the wrong place. That's your mistake. As a phone it works great, good sound, no echo, etc. I have the unlimited data plan for $19.99/mo which is really nice to have. I get all my email on it. I use the maps all the time. The applications are pretty intuitive and easy to find. It takes a few minutes of to get used to where everything is, but it overall there is a very small learning curve. The trackball is such a beautiful thing, it really speeds up navigation through the browser or phonebook.
There are only two problems I have with it.
1. It scratches pretty easy. After a week of owning it I decided to go buy an invisibleSHIELD kit. Highly recommended. It cost me $20.
2. It's got some issues with video. Videos have to be in H.263 format to work. So a lot of online videos won't work on it. There is 3rd party software that helps with this though.
I've owned the phone for two months now, and still really like it. I don't regret my purchase one bit.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nicod8
posted on 15 Sep 2007, 11:15

10

BlackBerry 8100 Pearl

This is THE phone! it's got everything, it's amazing and easy to use. Best smartphone ever. And also GPS, you can't imagine its applications, they are the best, BlackBerry 8100 ROCKS!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Dan
posted on 03 Aug 2007, 12:43

10

Amazing smartphone!

The pearl is amazing. I wanted a smartphone but nothing too big like the regular blackberrys or n61i. The pearl does pretty much about everything and it is very user friendly. The keyboard is easy to learn and the trackball is amazing.
The only thing lacking is wifi otherwise great phone!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mincho
posted on 17 Jul 2007, 16:31

10

Best smartphone ever

this is my third smartphone and since i'd get I think it's the best smartphone they have ever built, I will stay with this phone for ever, and another thing the price might be high but it's worth it.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

johnathan
posted on 19 Apr 2007, 01:17

7.8

Awesome best Blackberry

Really a great phone compared to all other data devices in the U.S at least. Although RIM better start bringing out 3G, WiFi , and some windows applications because some of the new data devices to come well really blow any Blackberry away.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

koolniadi
posted on 03 Apr 2007, 11:07

6.2

need 3g, wifi, gps, vid call and reducing the price

Beautiful phone but lack of features. No umts/hsdpa, gps, camera for vid call and wifi are major backward for today's bussiness phone, not to mention overprice. The major power of this phone is only push email, other than that, it's just simply zero. Need fast and urgent improvement unless another manufacturs will pass it in a second. I think RIM CEO need to watchout nokia after they release e61i, the only minus of that fone is no vid call and gps!

Design 10/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tra
posted on 01 Apr 2007, 13:22

7

switching from a regular to a blackberry

This device wins hands down if you are upgrading the way u use your phone. I love this the Pearl. It doens't have that intimidating look about it. It's multi-functional and it does a lot of things if you take time to learn them. The only complaint I have about the pearl is the ech feedback I get sometimes when certain landlines call me. Otherwise, this thing is not bad at all.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Badri
posted on 07 Feb 2007, 18:08

1

OK BUT NOT SO GOOD

TOOO COSTLY
TOO LESS ACCESORIES PROVIDECD WITH PHONE
NO COVER GIVEN WITH PHONE ATLEST
USB DOESN"T CHARGE
USB IS ONLY FOR DATA
TRACKBALL IS GOOD
QWERTY KEYBOARD IS BETTER THAN FULL KEYBOARD

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ganesh
posted on 07 Feb 2007, 18:06

1

SOOOOOOOOOOOOO COSTLYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

It is too Costly for these features
My friend has Moto ming a1200 and now i regret even i should have bought that instead of pearl
all features same in motorola a1200 ming except for

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Shawn Sullivan
posted on 04 Feb 2007, 00:15

8.8

:)

I really enjoyed the craftsmanship, simple style, materials. The menu is comprehensive and complete. Push email is amazing (I did hve a lot of probelms pulling the attached files off the msg). Ringer could be loud like Motorola phones. Software was easy to update as were pictures and ringtones easy to add with the included RIM software. A rubber case from RIM is a must! Mamany ways to alert of incoming call, email, MMS, and text msgs.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Dean
posted on 13 Nov 2006, 20:48

9

Blackberry Pearl

I really like this gizmo! Looks awesome too! Nice sound, you can feel the vibrate mode! T-Mobile did good. A bit complicated to operate, medium learning curve.

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

luislyricz
posted on 07 Oct 2006, 11:58

9.6

pearl!!!!!!

well what can i say this phone is great the battery life is great,the web broswer is great this phone is worth every penny email setup is quick and easy.if you know how compact your mp3s you fit about 10 songs without a memory card. the scroll ball is cool kinda works like a mouse on a laptop if you have t_mobile forget the sidekick3 or the mda this is the phone to get did i mention you can chosse what browser you ie ,openwae, blackberry etc also full html

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

andgosun
posted on 28 Sep 2006, 20:17

9.2

owner

could use a larger screen, however it is as large as can be for this small unit. Software is somewhat limited but new software is coming out almost daily. A little pricy if bought outright but very reasonable with a plan if you need this style of phone pda.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

dclay18
posted on 22 Sep 2006, 12:17

6

needs UMTS

this phone look good just needs Cingular UMTS because black berry is all about getting email and the net and the net is slow need to have the UMTS I think every phone company that makes cingular phones need to take a look at make UMTS phones

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories