x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

BlackBerry Curve 8520 User Reviews

8.5 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.8/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality6.8/10
Text input8.9/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed8.4/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia8.8/10
Internet6.9/10
Call quality9.4/10
Battery7.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Nasheer_B
posted on 08 Nov 2012, 12:20 (Posts: 9; Member since: 05 Nov 2012)

4

Blackberry 8520

Nasheer_B has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

You would feel better holding a pile of crap to your ear and calling it a phone. The camera flash is not necessary because the camera quality is so poor you wont even use it. The Internet is so slow it doesn't even have 3G. The operating system alright but gets irritating after a while. The phone cover automatically disassembles after a while of use.

Build quality 2/10 looks like something the cave man used as toilet paper!
Reception 8/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 3/10 Where is the 3G?
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 1/10 Preforms like VGA Quality
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 1/10 Cheap plastic buttons makes your fingers pain
Display 2/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • BBM
  • BIS

Cons

  • No 3G
  • Extremely bad OS
  • Useless Camera
  • Feels like a pile of scrap plastic
  • Ugly
  • Slow charging
  • No camera flash

Nasheer_B alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

raludial
posted on 27 Jul 2011, 17:44

10

perfect for everyday usage

raludial has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Blackberry 8520 has been the perfect phone for my everydaY usage... i only wish the screen was bigger or with more dpi, but it works fine... Buy it. there will be no regrets ,........................................................................................................................................................................

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • The Phone itself

Cons

raludial alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shahu Miskin
posted on 23 Jun 2011, 00:53

9

Great value for money phone

Shahu Miskin has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Blackberry Curve 8520 is a great phone. The optical track pad is very handy than the track ball. The OS is very fast and smooth but the display is not that good. Browsing speed and usage is very easy and the OS is very User Friendly. the phone itself is all plastic but it feels sturdy and light. the screen is nice and so is the camera. only thing i wish is that the camera had a flash.

Build quality 9/10 Good feel when you hold it.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Sound quality is crystal clear.
Internet 8/10 Good speed but not that fast because it doesn't have 3G.
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10 The quality of the pictures is Satisfactory.
UI speed 9/10 Very good OS.
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10 QWERTY keyboard works very well.
Display 8/10 QVGA display looks very pixelated.
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Great call Quality, great reception.

Cons

  • Display, Battery life, No flash Support

Shahu Miskin alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

john
posted on 20 Feb 2011, 05:40

7

Good but i did'nt like it

john has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Good Mobile but lacks some qualities mentioned below...the camera is good without a flash in daytime.display is great..but battery life is too short..in data connectivity the battery life is worse...about an 1/2 day it remains and drained out.no music from it as the volume buttons are no more...thinking to get an HTC HD MINI..

Build quality 1/10 the rubber panel is breaking into bits and pieces
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 1/10 in india internet costs around 100rs a week...which is too much
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • good OS
  • great display
  • still good looking without buttons!!

Cons

  • rubber panel
  • internet activation in india

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Asif
posted on 17 Feb 2011, 09:36

8

Great phone overall

Asif has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Love this phone and the trackpad is excellent.Makes scrolling through menu very easy and the operating system is perfect for people who dont like flashy stuff as its warm and to the point. Since there's no extra frills the operating system feels extremely snappy and u should try out this phone if only for the trackpad and the incredible qwerty keyboard.

Build quality 3/10 the logo on back rubs off after some time and the rubber buttons around the edge are not durable at all, my volume button and secondary button broke Didnt rate build quality zero because its still pretty stylish
Reception 10/10 Never had any problems
Call quality 10/10 Good
Internet 5/10 No multiple tabs, and its tough controlling pointer with track pad
Multimedia 7/10 Music is great and videos are not bad either
Camera 9/10 Incredible and i still cant believe how it manages to take great pictures with such low megapixels
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Great for everyday usage as it is very snappy with no nonsense operating system
Text input 10/10 Being blackberry excellent qwerty keyboard, i can actually type faster on mine than on a real keyboard,dont even have to look btw
Display 10/10 Very clear and the wallpapers are stunning, download some wallpapers and see how crystal clear they are
Battery 10/10 Very Good

Pros

  • Camera is very clear
  • Snappy and no frill operating system, great for everyday usage
  • Display Screen is great
  • Trackpad is incredible, u should purchase this phone if only for the trackpad

Cons

  • The rubber buttons surrounding it break away after some time
  • The logo on back rubs off very quickly
  • Wifi browser is very bad,doesnt support multiple tabs

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

parth
posted on 24 Nov 2010, 13:40

9

easy

parth has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it is user friendly phone it is easy to use and blackberry app word is good.the sensitivity of optical track pad is very high so it is comfortable to use it's a handy mobile.screen and camera is not good and it's not only business phone it have good multimedia functions.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ashfaque
posted on 07 Nov 2010, 23:18

10

Blackberry curve 8520

Ashfaque has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its a good phone & easy for your business activities. BB has unique features too,
what i feel is BB curve should get a better battery life & a original leather case, anyways I'm really happy with my BB & I simply love it............................................................
Thanks

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Angel N
posted on 27 Oct 2010, 13:15

9

Great phone!

Angel N has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought a BlackBerry Curve 8520 in white and I have to say that it's amazing. I love the fact that it has an optical trackpad instead of a trackball but the battery life could be better for a phone that was made to endure heavy usage. I also upgraded my OS to OS5 and the formatting and display look great. I'm a little skeptical on the camera, as well. I wish there was a flash but the resolution looks crisp and clear enough for good picture quality. Very satisfied with my phone, recommended.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MKS
posted on 16 Mar 2010, 16:45

8.3

Curve 8520 is great

Great Phone. Very comfortable to hold. Good media support.
Works great for email/sms/chat. Great for easy communication for office work and the media centre is good for your personal use. Internet is fast with wifi connections. I would recomond this model to all.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Easy access of email
  • Mouse tracker is easy
  • Great Speaker phone

Cons

  • No Flash support

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lenroy
posted on 25 Dec 2009, 17:26

7.7

CURVE 8520 ROCKS

This phone is by the far the best phone I have ever owned.  It is very fast, it has great email capabilities, and so much more.  The only thing I am dissatisfied with is the camera.  If it had a flash, it would of been so much better.  I would recommend this phone to anyone.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Great email capabilities, WIFI, Fast processor,great music experience and much more.

Cons

  • NO flash

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vishaakh bhalla
posted on 01 Dec 2009, 12:44

9.3

best phone money can buy, forgive its camera.

 it is a very very good phone using this after using top end nokias such as nokia n97 and this is definitely better. the only flaw is the not so good(a bit on the bad side) camera and the fact that theres no flash. also, blackberry should start putting fm radio into its phones. otherwise it is the best you can get for its money.. highly highly recommended. better than the best nokia or sony that is in the market, better than xperia and n97, and if a basic blackberry is soo good, whats the need to buy a more expensive one? simply the best!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • great OS, very fast, amazing emailing experience, too much fun to use, great music playing capabilities, amazing user experience

Cons

  • camera could have been much much better, no flash. BB should market the phone better so that a wider audience knows about its product. too much fun to use.
  • Caution- Using this blackberry can be highly addictive.

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

timbobracing
posted on 14 Nov 2009, 15:29

9

great phone

i have had this phone for a month now and i have to say it is my favorite out of all the phones i have owned.  you can personalize it, sound is great, and looks great.  after downloading a theme creator program i am now able to make custome themes for my phone.  love this phone and would reccomend it to anyone.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • small, lite, looks great. speaker phone is loud and clear, can personalize, trackpad instead of ball, outside edge of phone has a rubberized feel

Cons

  • no flash for the camera

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Fairooz Moosa
posted on 12 Nov 2009, 04:15

9

A good value for money BB. With enough media features. A flash would have made it better. The size and the trackpad is what attracted this to me. I think this BB is targeted to people like me who needs some business but more media functions.
The bluetooth works (sending/recieving) with all other phones, headsets I tried so far. I heard this was not possible with older BBs.
Overall very happy with it so far.

Regards

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Slayor721
posted on 11 Aug 2009, 14:39 (Posts: 43; Member since: 27 Dec 2008)

9.3

I got the 8520 a  few days before lauch date. and i can tell u this is a very good BB. i like the new trackpad. more responsive the the old trackball. the phone itself is all plastic but it feels sturdy and light. the screen is nice and so is the camera. only thing i wish is that the camera had a flash. I also like the media controls on the top. Very handy. The OS is the same. nothing different really. I would recomend this BB to anyone. Especially first time BB users.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Trackpad
  • Weight
  • Size
  • Camera quality(despite there being no flash)
  • Media Controls
  • Speaker quality and loudness

Cons

  • No camera flash
  • The Send,BB,Back,End buttons r flush so there a little harder to press. not that hard but it can get annoying sumtimes

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

truelefty61
posted on 08 Aug 2009, 16:44

9

this phone is sweet. the optical track pad is super responsive, no more track ball issues. the processor is the same as the 8900 so internet browsing is quick and seemless. expandable memory up to 16gb micro sd.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

27 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories