x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Apple iPod touch 5th generation User Reviews

8.8 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.7/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage8.9/10
UI speed8.6/10
Camera8.7/10
Multimedia9.6/10
Internet8.6/10
Call quality8.2/10
Battery7.8/10
Reception8.9/10
Display9.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

tylerienmam
posted on 23 Aug 2015, 17:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Jul 2015)

6

Don't buy an Ipod touch 5th gen is you want performance!

tylerienmam has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I Have a Ipod touch 5g for a year now! I'm my question why would i buy that? first of all I thought that a5 chip would be very fast and not difference than A6! but i'm Wrong! it Very s**tty Performance! Youtube crashed every time because of lack of memory! 512mb ram DDR2! are you kidding me it 2015 man! and Still using a LPDDR2! it a worst mistake to get an iPod touch 5! i should get ipad 3 instead. A5x have a Gigabyte of ram! When i Look up Mortal Kombat X it said not support mine!
And Every they in High school most of my friend have an iphone 6 and i Jealous every days!
So i have to Jailbreak so i can disable launch demon and overclock and Not beable to use Facebook and Messenger app so i can save the battery life!so guy beaware for the performance! I Recommend Nvidia Shield Over Nexus 9 because Nexus 9 doesn't have an sd card and nvidia shield! thanks for reading!

Build quality 9/10 The design is fine but it So slipperly (-1 star for that)
Reception 10/10 I don't know what it is but i'll give it a 10
Call quality 1/10 No call in Ipod
Internet 6/10 it use older style N wifi it slower down
Multimedia 9/10 Music and movie is okay
Camera 5/10
UI speed 4/10 THe lag! youtube crash easily! and the price is not worth the performance! even typing in Instragram is lag!
Everyday usage 4/10 ugh! i can't Handle the lag!
Text input 6/10 Keyboard is lag somehow and is too small for my hand
Display 8/10 4 inch screen is Too Tiny for 2015
Battery 2/10 The Battery is Drain so fast once you have Instragram or social media app! when i check with battery doctor they eatinf some battery! Even an Iphone 2g have more Battery Capacity

Pros

  • Cheap today
  • Good for kids
  • Fit in pocket easily
  • Lightweight at 88Gram
  • Good for Delevoper or Tester

Cons

  • Sound is Bad nor Quiet
  • A5 in 2015? they should have a6x in it!
  • Lag!
  • Battery life Drain fast iphone got 440mah more capacity
  • It not Durable and crack easily even 1st Gen ipod touch did better at the Drop test and it not cracked

tylerienmam alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

BlackberryKnight
posted on 15 Jul 2015, 12:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Jul 2015)

8

Cool little gadget

BlackberryKnight has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have had this iPod and I love it. It is excellent for storing movies and episodes and music. What I really dig is its very slim size. If you are working out or walking around it is perfect fits in your pocket and is super slim. The UI is eh, pretty laggy but it pics up the pace fast after it lags for about a second or two.. so no worries. The battery runs out with heavy use fairly fast but the iPod charges back up VERY fast. It is a very good little machine to have. The Camera is very crisp I really like it

Build quality 9/10 Build is good its very slim and sleek.
Reception 9/10 Picks up wifi
Call quality 10/10 NA.. it does have a mic though
Internet 7/10 Internet is decent. Can be a bit laggy but runs good
Multimedia 9/10 Handles multimedia very well
Camera 9/10 Camera is actually pretty great for 5MP!
UI speed 7/10 UI is laggy wish it had a stronger chipset. Compared to the iPhones it is laggy but you get used to it
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10 Texting is easy sometimes lags a bit. Compared to iPhones it is not as smooth
Display 8/10 Very bright display very clear
Battery 6/10 It has a small battery so it begins to run out pretty fast.. that being said it charges VERY Fast

Pros

  • Storage is great
  • Runs as good as an iPhone
  • Slim build and design is perfect

Cons

  • Laggy UI
  • Battery runs out fast
  • Not bad thing but feels cheap and plastic

BlackberryKnight alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

maylou06
posted on 02 Jul 2015, 10:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jul 2015)

10

iPod Touch 5th Generation

maylou06 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Great item :) I LOVED IT
Also has features like a tablet / iPad

Build quality 10/10 Great!
Reception 10/10 It doesn't have a calling thing, otherwise skype reception is great
Call quality 10/10 Same as last time
Internet 8/10 It's alright
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Elroy_Goh
posted on 12 Mar 2015, 04:24

9

A great entertainment device

Elroy_Goh has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have a history of using iPod touches as a entertainment device, starting from the 1st, 4th and finally 5th generation. I really like the upgrades to the new iPod touch, with a taller display identical to the iPhone 5, 5C and 5S, and faster graphics with the outdated A5 chip (wished there was a more powerful SoC) and a slim design. Basically an iPhone 5C without cellular data and phone and SMS functionality. But be careful, this device, with the laggy A5 chip, will start to lag after a few months of usage, and it did so on mine.

Build quality 10/10 A great improvement from the previous generation, with a taller 4" screen.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 The cameras should be upgraded as they are low-res. More features are welcome.
UI speed 8/10 May lag after usage for a few months. Be warned.
Everyday usage 8/10 Like the similar iPad 2, not made much for long-term sustainability
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Taller 4" display
  • Slim and sleeker design compared to previous generations
  • Faster but slower A5 chip
  • Great entertainment device

Cons

  • Not made for long-term sustainability, lags after many months' usage
  • Cameras can be upgraded
  • Chip can be more powerful (ie. A6 chip)

Elroy_Goh alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lhtbinh1909
posted on 23 Nov 2014, 01:56 (Posts: 89; Member since: 02 Apr 2013)

9

Good product

lhtbinh1909 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Bought it just for entertain with music but soon fought out it's really an iPhone's clone. Great build quality, great camera, very fast capturing. But sometime microphone doesn't work well. My cousins usually complain that she hardly hear me (facetime)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Camera
  • Music

Cons

  • Small screen
  • iOS 8.1.1 show some lags

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

salaal
posted on 03 Jul 2014, 18:29 (Posts: 109; Member since: 08 Dec 2013)

9

Ipod touch

salaal has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The iPod is great! Although the UI speed isn't that great but more then enough the display is really sharp battery is also a bit on the Low side but still it's great. I've been using it for 2 weeks no such problems till now.

Build quality 10/10 Great build quality!
Reception 10/10 Wifi recpetion is great
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Great for a 5MP model
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Great build

Cons

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JulianGT
posted on 29 Dec 2013, 16:53 (Posts: 86; Member since: 15 Oct 2012)

9

iPod touch 4S

JulianGT has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It has a gorgeous design and build quality. Display is so-so. The processor is showing its age and I don't know why apple didn't equipped it with the A6 for future-proofing. With iOS 7 it lags if the animations and transparency are turned on.

Build quality 10/10 Beautiful design
Reception 10/10 not a phone
Call quality 10/10 not a phone
Internet 9/10 Its antenna is not strong enough.
Multimedia 9/10 Display is small for movies and shoeing pictures to other people.
Camera 8/10 Average quality
UI speed 8/10 iOS 7 slowed it down a lot!
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10 Small display, small keyboard
Display 8/10 Good PPI but very small and low resolution for 2012 (and 2013)
Battery 9/10 It lasts a day with a lot of usage.

Pros

  • Good app count

Cons

  • Display

JulianGT alternatives:

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alex12
posted on 21 Oct 2013, 16:57 (Posts: 3; Member since: 21 Oct 2013)

8

ipod touch 5th generatoin

alex12 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Very good device but a bit expensive for what you are paying for. There could have been a slightly bigger display maybe a 720p display. The device could be better for gaming as i do often see lag especially while playing Asphalt 8

Build quality 9/10 solid build made from aluminium
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 9/10 very fast loading times
Multimedia 8/10 plays games well with occasional lag
Camera 6/10 image is not very sharp and video has alot of noise
UI speed 9/10 rare lag but somtimes lags while running a heavy game
Everyday usage 8/10 very good experience
Text input 7/10 keyboard is a bit small
Display 7/10 display is too small and when i look close enough i can see some pixelation
Battery 6/10 battery not great

Pros

  • lightweight

Cons

  • battery
  • lags often in gaming

alex12 alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Salehqaseer
posted on 05 Sep 2013, 10:04 (Posts: 3; Member since: 24 Jan 2012)

9

best iPod Touch yet!!

Salehqaseer has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

best iPod Touch till now , i have been using it for 5months !! it doesn't lag . iOS 6 runs amazingly Fast!! games are great .. amazing 4inch Retina display for movies ..!! amazing Music Quality .......

Build quality 9/10 Build Quality is great , but corners can be damaged
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Camera shot amazing pix and videos but need some features
UI speed 10/10 iOS runs amazingly fast!
Everyday usage 9/10 Great for listening music , watching movies & playing some games
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 display is lil bit small but really amazing
Battery 8/10 battery is little disappointing

Pros

  • Very Thin
  • Very Light weight
  • amazing speed
  • great display
  • great camera

Cons

  • battery needs improvements
  • sometimes it overheat

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

waris
posted on 19 Aug 2013, 11:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Aug 2013)

10

it is nice

waris has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i have a nice experienced nice speen nice disply nice camera flash ios7 a the same as iphone 5 in low price and cheap apple with nice colors amaze from apple i really wanted it and i got it and very nice experienced

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jordanlnk
posted on 02 Jul 2013, 13:34 (Posts: 5; Member since: 02 Jul 2013)

9

iPod touch 5th generation Review

jordanlnk has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The new iPod touch is far superior to my previous iPod touch 4th generation. It has a way better camera, 5 MP. The build quality is better on this iPod because the back is not mirrored, which caused a lot of scratches and fingerprints. It also comes in cool colors, which is a fun feature. The UI Speed is speedier and faster on the new A5 processor, which is new to the iPod touch. It comes in 32/64GB variants, as well as a dedicated 16GB variant. I would definitely recommend this

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ymcmb
posted on 06 Jun 2013, 04:40 (Posts: 1; Member since: 06 Jun 2013)

9

Best iPod touch yet.

ymcmb has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had second generation iPod touch, I can say this generation is so much better even compared with the fourth generation. It's thin body makes it the thinnest iTouch. IPS display is also an edge. Feels like you already owned an iPhone 5 without the 3g capabilities tho.

Build quality 10/10 Solid build unlike any iPod Touch in the previous generations.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10 I use Chrome
Multimedia 10/10 Rich audio codecs. Videos are great too.
Camera 9/10 Superb camera. comparable to iPhone 4
UI speed 8/10 An ovarhauled design would be great in the iOs 7 update.
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Brilliant retina display.
Battery 9/10 Superb 1030 mAh Battery

Pros

  • Multimedia powerhouse
  • Memory Capacity(32gb for base model)
  • Available in different colors

Cons

  • iPhone is still better
  • Loop is pretty much useless if you use cases

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

andrewl15
posted on 03 Jun 2013, 18:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jun 2013)

8

solid product

andrewl15 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had previous iOS devices, and this is better than the iPhone 4S. It's snappier, has a commendable retina display (although underwhelming in size), and is comparable in several respects to the iPhone 5.

Build quality 10/10 screen could be set in more to the frame, though if you're like me and get a case, you'll be fine. Unique design.
Reception 7/10 for a device like this, it doesn't get bad wifi reception at all.
Call quality 8/10 Facetime and other calls made in free calling apps sound great.
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 10/10 intended for multimedia, right?
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10 even if you don't like apple (ahem other reviewer), you have to admit that ios is an extremely smooth experience.
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10 a little small compared to the market.
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • exceptional build quality
  • reasonably fluid graphics
  • snappy UI
  • can hold all of my 450+ apps without a hiccup
  • Unique design
  • good for everyday usage
  • much more capacity per $

Cons

  • amount of RAM is underwhelming
  • Would've been nice to have gotten an A5X chip
  • small(ish) screen size

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

codeblue00
posted on 27 Mar 2013, 08:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Mar 2013)

10

Very proud owner :)

codeblue00 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

really pleased to have this,the features like tablet but in micro size,it does everythng tablet does and it does have GPS :) lot of apps(games,productivity tools,multimedia,etc) from apple store.surf the internet via safari is good experience too,camera does improved a lot from previous version.the display is superb,same quality as iphone5,battery really good,give you plenty a time to surf the internet,play games,music.
build quality pretty good,very slim,and its light as well

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • very thin
  • easy to use
  • plenty of apps
  • GPS

Cons

  • none so far

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories